Stats: 3,143,201 members, 7,780,351 topics. Date: Thursday, 28 March 2024 at 12:53 PM

Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE - Travel (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE (16400 Views)

Assault Of Nigerian Passengers At Togo Airport: Minister, Envoy Intervene / UAE Stops International Airlines From Boarding Nigerian Passengers To Dubai / British Airways Stewardess Made Racist Comments About Nigerian Passengers(Video) (2) (3) (4)

Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by phace89: 12:12pm On Aug 19, 2018
what do you mean by milking us
take am east ooo
its all about sai baba

Just2endowed2:
Africa: they are milking us dry

Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by Buffalowings3(m): 12:12pm On Aug 19, 2018
M
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by BedLam: 12:14pm On Aug 19, 2018
This it not limited to just air travel.
Every manner of travel including hotels! For instance, a 4 star hotel in ME or Europe cost less than 80 dollars a night but these same hotels will go as far as 150 dollars a night.

Some of the 5 star hotels in Accra, Nairobi, Lagos cost an arm! Their chains somewhere else cost less than what they charge. All these owing to lack of competition, high risk of running business.

You can get a nice apartment on Airbnb for 20$ or less, that is really serene and top notch somewhere in the world but these dirty homes in Lagos will charge 50 and above.

It's ridiculous, one of the reasons people dont travel much from this side of the world.

Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by ednut1(m): 12:17pm On Aug 19, 2018
VampireeM:
apt write-up concerning the travel fare. Same thing a friend said when I told him i plan vacationing in Kenya/Morocco and he advised I go to Europe or Asia. Even travelling to some part of Dubai is even cheaper. Africa is so bleeped up tufiakwa undecided
fake prices jor.
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by ItzBIM(m): 12:18pm On Aug 19, 2018
PUSSYBBQGRILLS:
Experts have said the reason why airfares within Africa is ridiculously higher than other continent is because there are lack of competition, connectivity and enabling environment to make air fares affordable for an average African.

Corruption is the reason.

No lack of competition. Which means they can do whatever they like.
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by ednut1(m): 12:18pm On Aug 19, 2018
Just2endowed2:

Which airline?
use google. In 2015 na 70k i book am
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by Pavore9: 12:19pm On Aug 19, 2018
BedLam:
This it not limited to just air travel.
Every manner of travel including hotels! For instance, a 4 star hotel in ME or Europe cost less than 80 dollars a night but these same hotels will go as far as 150 dollars a night.

Some of the 5 star hotels in Accra, Nairobi, Lagos cost an arm! Their chains somewhere else cost less than what they charge. All these owing to lack of competition, high risk of running business.

You can get a nice apartment on Airbnb for 20$ or less, that is really serene and top notch somewhere in the world but these dirty homes in Lagos will charge 50 and above.

It's ridiculous, one of the reasons people dont travel much from this side of the world.

For security reasons I can't Airbnb in Lagos!

Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by Nobody: 12:20pm On Aug 19, 2018
That is true. Check return flight ticket via KQ to Uganda, same fare will take me to Dubai and back with change.

Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by Nobody: 12:25pm On Aug 19, 2018
safetyInspector:
I think it is more about distance. What is an average return ticket between Lagos Nigeria and Accra Ghana?

About 150-170k return via KQ
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by Nobody: 12:35pm On Aug 19, 2018
Blue3k2:

Source: https://www.businessdayonline.com/news/article/nigerian-passengers-pay-higher-african-countries-within-europe-uae/

I once flew virgin Atlantic from Heathrow to JFK for 250 pounds, distance of over 4k miles and 7.5 hours flight time compared to Heathrow to lagos, at just over 3.5k miles and 5.5 to 6 hours flight time. Guess the ticket price!!
Africa is run mostly by senile gorillas who lack the common intellect to pluck banana from a tree let alone run a country. We are being ripped off by white people and it will take another lifetime for us to get our justice.

Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by nawtyme: 12:38pm On Aug 19, 2018
ednut1:
use google. In 2015 na 70k i book am
Simple question. Which airline? Did you refer us to Google when you stated the above price?
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by safetyInspector(m): 12:41pm On Aug 19, 2018
That is why I said that distance will be part of the problem. Kenya Airways will connect passengers from Kenya to Ghana. For direct flight like Air Peace, it will cost approximately 86,000 Naira.
OkaNaUbe:

About 150-170k return via KQ
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by Nobody: 12:43pm On Aug 19, 2018
safetyInspector:
That is why I said that distance will be part of the problem. Kenya Airways will connect passengers from Kenya to Ghana. For direct flight like Air Peace, it will cost approximately 86,000 Naira.

N86000 for return flight or one way?
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by gidimasters(m): 12:50pm On Aug 19, 2018
Pavore9:

Hello, I will like to ask some questions from you. I see you live in Kenya. Not related to the topic tho.
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by Nobody: 12:51pm On Aug 19, 2018
I had recently planned on a vacation to Tanzania or one of the African Islands but mehn, when I look at the tfare alone, I realized that it would be cheaper going to Europe or the Mediterranean countries.
@ednut1, wherever did you find a Lag-SA plane for <N120k? Don't coman tell us that you're referring to one way flight o, we all know that the article is about round tripping.
The attached is a search made for off peak travel period. Let alone during the peak summer travel period.

Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by Gmajor(m): 12:53pm On Aug 19, 2018
safetyInspector:
I think it is more about distance. What is an average return ticket between Lagos Nigeria and Accra Ghana?
Did you even read the article?
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by Pavore9: 12:54pm On Aug 19, 2018
gidimasters:

Hello, I will like to ask some questions from you. I see you live in Kenya. Not related to the topic tho.

Send a PM.
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by Nobody: 12:55pm On Aug 19, 2018
safetyInspector:
Seriously broh, why would I travel to Ghana and have to fork out >85k? I'd take a cross county for 1/4 of that amount. Traveling through the country side and taking in the view of Benin and Togo is part of the vacation experience.

Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by ifiokjohn(m): 12:58pm On Aug 19, 2018
Underdevelopment is the cause.
When i become president things will change, So manna,saarki, midolian,senatordave and all Bmc pls vote for me.
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by BedLam: 1:03pm On Aug 19, 2018
Pavore9:

Lol you sound like security is peculiar to Lagos. You read too much bad news online too. AIRBNB has reviews and no one would review these listing if there was cause for concern and I usually take a whole apartment instead of shared room. But I wont he opposed to a shared apartment. What can possibly go wrong ?things aren't the way we read online sometimes.

Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by writeprof(m): 1:03pm On Aug 19, 2018
Pavore9:
Return ticket for Lagos to Nairobi is about N265k!

Thanks for this. I expected the OP to give cost from Nigeria/African cities to Europe instead of that within Europe.

Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by chubbygal(f): 1:10pm On Aug 19, 2018
Sooooooooo true
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by romenna: 1:15pm On Aug 19, 2018
the fares r quite no doubt, owing to low traffic.
more than 70% of africans r trying ti survive.
however, some pipo dnt know d diff btwn return ticket n one way ticket
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by Pavore9: 1:16pm On Aug 19, 2018
BedLam:
Lol you sound like security is peculiar to Lagos. You read too much bad news online too. AIRBNB has reviews and no one would review these listing if there was cause for concern and I usually take a whole apartment instead of shared room. But I wont he opposed to a shared apartment. What can possibly go wrong ?things aren't the way we read online sometimes.

Born and raised in Lagos. I have to be truthful here like I discussed with my brother fews days ago, if I have an apartment in Lagos and listed on Airbnb , I will be reluctant to have fellow Nigerians based in Nigeria as lodgers becsuse we don't have a reliable identification system in place. I have helped some Nairalanders who were visiting Nairobi to get nice airbnb space during their stay.

Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by giles14(m): 1:21pm On Aug 19, 2018
Nigeria
una nagging tire me
1,from Lagos to Nairobi is 5000+km,not to talk of Lagos to jborg.
while Milan to France is just 700+km and you want the price of air ticket to be less.

2,the distance between most EU cities is less than 1500km above all they have other means of transport such as fast trains, bullet train ,cruise liners,unrestricted borders.

Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by joyfullyjoyous(f): 1:26pm On Aug 19, 2018
We are still far from civilisation.
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by safetyInspector(m): 1:27pm On Aug 19, 2018
My Dear I did. The point they made is clear but I believe that major problem we have in Africa is that we have less direct flight which in turn increases the travel distance. I once worked in In-Amenas Algeria, it normally take me 11hrs on air to get to my destination. I do Turkish Airways to Istanbul, Istanbul to Algiers, Algiers to Hasimamudi, Hasimamudi to In Amenas. If I should fly from Lagos direct to In Amenas, I doubt if it will take more than 5hrs. If there is direct flight from Nigeria to Algeria it will definitely cost less for 5hrs than 11hrs of connecting through Turkey.
Gmajor:

Did you even read the article?
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by ednut1(m): 1:37pm On Aug 19, 2018
EsotericMonk:
I had recently planned on a vacation to Tanzania or one of the African Islands but mehn, when I look at the tfare alone, I realized that it would be cheaper going to Europe or the Mediterranean countries.
@ednut1, wherever did you find a Lag-SA plane for <N120k? Don't coman tell us that you're referring to one way flight o, we all know that the article is about round tripping.
The attached is a search made for off peak travel period. Let alone during the peak summer travel period.
169k for round trip. Bt d article said 450
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by UncleJudax(m): 1:42pm On Aug 19, 2018
Blue3k2:
Read the article and find out.

You don't know him? Nigga is a robot. cheesy
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by buchai: 2:00pm On Aug 19, 2018
Ethiopian airline and south African airline are ripping Nigerians and the other African countries their hard earn money this is not good to be honest.
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by Originalsly: 2:19pm On Aug 19, 2018
No doubt.... some of the points raised will in erase overhead costs which will be passed on to the passengers. What I disagree with is comparing flight prices without stating distance...that's unfair and biased. ...comparing the long flights in Africa to short flights in Europe...but here we are...swallowing without chewing and as per normal....ready to condemn Africa.
Re: Nigerian Passengers Pay Higher To African Countries Than Within Europe, UAE by BedLam: 2:50pm On Aug 19, 2018
Pavore9:

Born and raised in Lagos. I have to be truthful here like I discussed with my brother fews days ago, if I have an apartment in Lagos and listed on Airbnb , I will be reluctant to have fellow Nigerians based in Nigeria as lodgers becsuse we don't have a reliable identification system in place. I have helped some Nairalanders who were visiting Nairobi to get nice airbnb space during their stay.
You are right. Some Chinese guests don't take foreigners at all, doesn't matter what country you are coming from.
They say they can't register you to the local police which is required by all visitors once you arrive

LASG To Close Pen Cinema Axis For Construction Work / Applying For Nigerian Passport Reissue In Us / Zimbabwe Visas From Nigeria

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 40