Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars - Car Talk - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Car Talk › Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars (14730 Views)
| Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by Lazyreporta(op): 9:47pm On Aug 28, 2018 |
Uber says it plans to focus more on its electric scooter and bike business, and less on cars, despite the fact it could hurt profits. Boss Dara Khosrowshahi said that individual modes of transport were better suited to inner city travel. He also forecast users would make more frequent shorter journeys in future. "During rush hour, it is very inefficient for a one-tonne hulk of metal to take one person 10 blocks," he told the Financial Times. "Short-term financially, maybe it's not a win for us, but strategically long term we think that is exactly where we want to head." The ride-sharing firm has invested in a number of bike firms in the last year. Its Jump electric bikes are now available in eight US cities, including New York and Washington, and are soon launching in Berlin. It also teamed up with Lime, an electric scooter company, while forging deals in other areas such as public transit and freight. Mr Khosrowshahi admitted that Uber makes less money from a bike ride than from the same trip in a car, but said this would be offset as customers used the app more frequently for shorter journeys. "We are willing to trade off short-term per-unit economics for long-term higher engagement," he told the FT. He also acknowledged that Uber drivers could lose out from the plan, but said over the longer term drivers would benefit from more lucrative longer journeys. Under pressure Uber, which lost $4.5bn (£3.5bn) last year, is under pressure to improve its finances ahead of an anticipated public listing. Revenue from its taxi business is rising but the cost of expansion into new areas such as bike sharing and food delivery has meant losses have grown rapidly. Regulatory pressure is also threatening growth in some markets. This month New York voted to impose a temporary cap on new licences for ride-hailing vehicles to tackle congestion, while the mayor of London has said he will seek similar restrictions. ALLROUNDGIST.COM.NG |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by BabbanBura(m): 9:50pm On Aug 28, 2018 |
Lazyreporta:Good one |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by Lazyreporta(op): 9:52pm On Aug 28, 2018 |
why is it good ![]() BabbanBura: |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by veekid(m): 11:56am On Aug 30, 2018 |
I'm afraid they won't be able to plight all roads in Lagos |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by Nobody: 11:58am On Aug 30, 2018 |
Watch out for bajaj on uber soon, uber that can send you driver with golf or celica. veekid: |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by Yourbest(m): 11:58am On Aug 30, 2018 |
Go kada things |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by Uchenaija: 11:58am On Aug 30, 2018 |
Eyah, Gokada would be like
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by sKeetz(m): 11:58am On Aug 30, 2018 |
![]() |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by jeff1607(m): 11:59am On Aug 30, 2018 |
as in okada tins? |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by papalbulI: 11:59am On Aug 30, 2018 |
sorry not available in SE |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by ghettowriter(m): 12:01pm On Aug 30, 2018 |
Okada on the beat. |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by flex04(m): 12:01pm On Aug 30, 2018 |
They want to rival Gokada and MAX.ng ![]() Check out this car already being tested Oyinbo and sense are like eeeh ![]() just hope we adapt fast, me i call it water way taxi www.nairaland.com/attachments/7570182_rsz5affc12fb80b4620x413_jpeg8b6597d0f3d2eb278fdf71261e109507 |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by Nobody: 12:02pm On Aug 30, 2018 |
Bikes are dangerous in Nigeria... the death rate is mind bogling an unreported. Obviously for saner countries. |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by toyzeal(m): 12:02pm On Aug 30, 2018 |
Nice move bt bad market 4 d real owner of Lagos road |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by sexymoma(f): 12:03pm On Aug 30, 2018 |
You mean Bikes this was how BBN sold out their priorities to android phones, abeg where dem dey now ![]() how can you think of initiating bikes into uber, it's simply dangerous... their accident dey bad gan and they can speed for africa. taliking about bike men, if you tell dem oga small small o, that's when their brain go charge... i just pityy them. |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by Nobody: 12:05pm On Aug 30, 2018 |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by taxiappguy: 12:09pm On Aug 30, 2018 |
Get ready for more regulation issues Uber. |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by AlphaStyles(m): 12:09pm On Aug 30, 2018 |
oya na uber self wan join okada association make dem hire aboki dem dey go get profit die but ready to buy fuel or recharge battery because aboki speed no be for here oo ![]() |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by Jyde89: 12:12pm On Aug 30, 2018 |
Uchenaija:On the contrary bro, they'll be smiling to the bank, all they need to do is position them self for a stake out or a buy out by uber. |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by AJOT99(m): 12:18pm On Aug 30, 2018 |
Let us see how it goes. |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by Durchmann(m): 12:42pm On Aug 30, 2018 |
![]() In other words, Uber wants to put okada on the road as well. Shebi there's a Nigerian company that started something of that sort recently. I wonder if they are still alive though. This should be an encouragement to that business man who came up with that idea. However, Lagos state government and the ban on okadas no go allow the business survive sha. PS: Isn't it funny that when we keep following the tracks of the western world in our quest for technological advancement, their track still heads back to the past thereby making our pursuits and chase look futile. We believe that Rapid Bus Transit is the future but you can see an innovative business like Uber thinking about running bikes through traffic congested gridlocks in the USA. It tells you that you fashion innovation to your own peculiar needs and not what Johnny is doing at his own backyard. |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by Youngsage: 12:51pm On Aug 30, 2018 |
Jyde89:Exactly! I actually envisioned this competition, sooner or later |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by wman(m): 1:06pm On Aug 30, 2018 |
Max.ng and others in Nigeria will be crying now. |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by FitnessHomme: 1:13pm On Aug 30, 2018*. Modified: 7:56am On Oct 07, 2018 |
. |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by seunoni34(m): 1:22pm On Aug 30, 2018 |
Durchmann:gokada is sti very much alive though.. BTW There are different class of bikes. Lagos state didn't ban all. The ones used inside estates are different from the ones used by dispatch riders & other higher grade ones like power bikes. |
| Re: Uber To Focus On Bikes Over Cars by Durchmann(m): 1:42pm On Aug 30, 2018 |
seunoni34:Ok. That's good to know. Thanks for the update. |
2007 Ford Focus. (Station Wagon): Do You Know About This Car? • Between A Peugeot 206, Kia Rio And Ford Focus, Which Will You Recommend • Emeka Akaezuwa Gets Presidential Applause For Inventing Electric Bikes In Uganda • 2 • 3 • 4
Explanation On What You Need To Know About The Cruise Control Of Your Car • Identifying The Year Of Your Vehicle • Audi Reportedly Made Thousands Of Vehicles With The Same VIN