Stats: 3,154,182 members, 7,821,993 topics. Date: Thursday, 09 May 2024 at 12:13 AM

Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa (850 Views)

Fuel Price Crashes: Petrol Now 560, Diesel 920 (Fake News) / Petrol Now N600 Per Litre, Modular Refineries Or Nigeria's Destruction / Petrol Now Dry Fast...is It Only Me That Noticed This. (2) (3) (4)

Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by yinchar(m): 5:33pm On Oct 04, 2018
JOHANNESBURG - The record petrol price announcement has fuelled frustration as motorists come to terms with having to fork out more than R17 (N408) for a litre of petrol.

From Wednesday, both grades of petrol will increase by 99 cents (N23) and R1 (N24) per litre, respectively, while diesel will set you back R1.24 (N30).

Paraffin is going up R1.4 (N33.6) while LP gas will cost you R1.79 (N43) a kilogramme more.

The Automobile Association’s Layton Beard has described the hikes are catastrophic for motorists and consumers.

“It’s catastrophic for all road users because as you rightfully say, it’s going to filter into the economy in some way or another. Maybe not immediately, but over a period of time. We will see an increase of costs, in terms of food and other services we use.”

I can only guess if Nigerians can withstand the cost of fuel (N400/Litre) without government subsidy?

Inasmuch, we all enjoy petrol subsidy directly or indirectly, full deregulation of the downstream sector is the way to go.

South African government always increase the price of petrol for every $5 increase in the price of crude oil.

Nigerians which way?

https://www.msn.com/en-za/money/news/motorists-frustrated-with-latest-fuel-hike/ar-BBNNdBY?ocid=spartandhp

Re: Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by Daviddson(m): 5:42pm On Oct 04, 2018
And their minimum wage is $243 while ours is $50. And they have uninterrupted power supply while Aso Rock uses diesel generator. And their railway service compares favourably with European and Asian standard while we are just starting to get serious with ours. And....

Re: Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by 93Miles: 5:43pm On Oct 04, 2018
And a pig from biafar will com and insult our dear President when things goes south in Nig...
Re: Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by NextGovernor(m): 6:04pm On Oct 04, 2018
93Miles:
And a pig from biafar will com and insult our dear President when things goes south in Nig...

I pity you my boy. Someone earning about minimum of 90k monthly as minimum wage can easy live on #450 per litre of fuel. No GEN fuelling, Good road and railway transportation system.

Nigerians with #18k minimum wage. Fuel at #145 is expensive comparing fuelling of GEN, expensive transportation system and no adequate railway system.

And to crown it all, we are oil producing nation why South Africa isn't an oil producing country. They buy from the likes of us.... So there price should be high since they buy...

9 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by 93Miles: 6:09pm On Oct 04, 2018
NextGovernor:

I pity you my boy. Someone earning about minimum of 90k monthly as minimum wage can easy live on #450 per litre of fuel. No GEN fuelling, Good road and railway transportation system.

Nigerians with #18k minimum wage. Fuel at #145 is expensive comparing fuelling of GEN, expensive transportation system and no adequate railway system.
What have u done for Nig since u were born? If u ain't, pls keep mute.

Stop complainin

Re: Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by 93Miles: 6:11pm On Oct 04, 2018
Daviddson:
And their minimum wage is $243 while ours is $50. And they have uninterrupted power supply while Aso Rock uses diesel generator. And their railway service compares favourably with European and Asian standard while we are just starting to get serious with ours? And....
what have u done for Nig?

Re: Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by oluspencer(m): 6:20pm On Oct 04, 2018
Daviddson:
And their minimum wage is $243 while ours is $50. And they have uninterrupted power supply while Aso Rock uses diesel generator. And their railway service compares favourably with European and Asian standard while we are just starting to get serious with ours? And....

We are producing oil while SA is not producing

Op is MAD

Re: Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by buhariguy(m): 6:21pm On Oct 04, 2018
The jobless aggressive lazy idiotic pigs of bia-fra terrorist will not see this

Re: Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by oluspencer(m): 6:22pm On Oct 04, 2018
93Miles:

He schooled and paid fee in Nigeria. What are you talking about ?

Re: Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by buhariguy(m): 6:24pm On Oct 04, 2018
Daviddson:
and so,
When your ineffectual buffoon received $400b from OPEC report in 4yrs, what did he do with the money? Nothing
Railway is zero, power zero, refinery zero.

Re: Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by 93Miles: 6:46pm On Oct 04, 2018
oluspencer:

He schooled and paid fee in Nigeria. What are you talking about ?

he schooled and paid fees to acquire knowledge for the betterment of himself not for Nig.

If it's for Nig, what has he used his acquired knowledge to do for Nig?

PS.. In SA, don't d pay fees for study? If they do, why is his own a big deal?
Re: Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by ignant: 6:50pm On Oct 04, 2018
The impact index on the consumers in SA will be lower than when compared to Nigeria.

Compare the standard and cost of living in Nigeria with that of SA.

Compare the minimum wage in Nigeria with that of SA.

Now compare the welfare index in Nigeria with that of SA.

The most disturbing thing about the zoo called Nigeria is that it has a mono economy. This means that any thing that impacts the mono- product affects the economy.

Over 91% of Nigeria's GDP is from crude oil export, and is an import dependent economy. This is not so at all for SA which has net export of three times of import, which includes oil which they refine and export.

So don't compare the impact of this and begin to imagine it compares favourably with the zoo.

Re: Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by Daviddson(m): 7:16pm On Oct 04, 2018
93Miles:
A lot. cool cheesy
Re: Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by rejoice4eva(m): 7:28pm On Oct 04, 2018
Seriously, the sentimental, political, tribalistic and myopic response of some people on this trend is shocking. When are we going to get it right and hold our wicked and selfish leaders accountable?
Re: Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by 93Miles: 8:00pm On Oct 04, 2018
Daviddson:
A lot. cool cheesy
List 50..
Re: Petrol Now N408 (17 Rand) In South Africa by gaby(m): 8:21pm On Oct 04, 2018
Una want make our government increase fuel again Abi?

Dem no suppose let dem hear dis kind news o..

Breaking: PDP Replaced Kwankwaso's In-law With Salihu Sagir Takai / BREAKING: ‘EFCC I’m Here’ – Fayose Announces His Arrival As He Enters With Bed, / Top 10 Countries With Highest Military In The World (2018)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 23