Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic - Politics - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Politics › Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic (2377 Views)
| Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Buterflyle0(op): 12:15pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
Today Donald trump shared a tweet about the latest deal he signed with China and the new focus of his government and guess what? This deal was not about electronics or imports but all about productions and exports of Agricultural produce. China just signed a deal with USA to buy Agricultural produce from them. Why then are Nigerians frowning at Agriculture? Many have this warped sense of reasoning that farming is for the poor and its dirty and does not pay well. This is so sad and misinforming. According to our CBN governor, Pre 2015, Nigeria had an agriculture import spending need of $1.6b and as of today, that import need has been slashed to $160m. This means that home grown farming and farmers have largely shared the $1.440b which is the difference. $1.440 has gone into the pockets of Nigerian farmers. They are becoming richer while lazy people in Nigeria are becoming poor as they proudly tag farming as something for the poor and that it is dirty. Trumps tweet shows that Buharis aggressive drive into Agriculture and desire for many to embrace it, is something that would pay much More than oil in the nearest future because as we say, MAN MUST WACK! No human can go without food. So for every farmer, you have a potential billions of mouths to feed and billions of pockets to be paid from. Naija youths, Get busy. Tweet below Mynd44 let's discuss
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by docadams: 12:19pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
Hmmm Food security is the best security. All good leaders know this including many of our past ones. OBJ instituted OFN, Shagari Green Revolution, IBB DFRRI, Abacha, partially through FSP. Only the PDP that governed this country for a whopping 16years saw no reason to invest in agriculture; in fact they didn't invest in any futuristic venture that could promote our well being. They dwelt on the insane-share the money God bless PMB for returning Nigeria to the path of greatness and food security. |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Racoon(m): 12:32pm On Dec 04, 2018*. Modified: 8:05pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
While the government of the day in Nigeria refused to diversified from non-oil economy to agriculture but have rather choose to desperately go searching for oil in the Lake Chad & other unfeasible areas up north. |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Buterflyle0(op): 12:33pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
[quote author=Racoon post=73542473][/quote]USA hasn't moved from oil either. You cannot totally shut down one area of dependency while the other area is still growing. Thats economics 101. Learn it, live it. |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Racoon(m): 12:35pm On Dec 04, 2018*. Modified: 3:42pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
[s] docadams:[/s] Guess you've heard of the giant strides of Mr.Akinwunmi Adeshina-the current president of Africa Development Bank(ADB) and former Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development under the last regime? The Agriculture policies of the last regime is one of it remarkable achievement that can only be denied by fellas like you.Pls do it with some dignity.
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Buterflyle0(op): 12:39pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
docadams:You are very correct. Even those who were busy shouting grow Nigeria and buy Nigeria are also the ones criticizing home grown agricultural produce. Isn't PDP simply mad? |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by docadams: 12:46pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
[quote author=Racoon post=73542473][/quote]Loose talk from PDP Stable. Name one agricultural program instituted by PDP in 16 years that can rival the rice revolution of PMB of 3years.
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by trillville(m): 12:59pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
Buterflyle0:Why many are against focusing solely on agriculture is because modern agriculture requires a lot of technical knowledge, infrastructure, and funding. Nigeria lags behind on these issues. Secondly, agriculture products are commodities which means the price of corn in Nigeria should be the same in America, save for transportation cost. This means that if technologically advanced countries can produce products that are cheaper even when imported into Nigeria than when produced locally here, it makes no economic sense to grow such crops. Nigeria has lots of strengths and comparative advantage even in some agricultural products. Take cashew, cotton, rubber, and cocoa for example. The reason they are cash crops is because other countries do not have an abundance of these products. This is our Edge, our one true agriculture gift, but the government only focuses on rice because we eat rice. Enough said. |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by docadams: 1:00pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
Racoon:See this man. We are talking of policies and the palpable effects on the society, you de bring giant strides without footprints. Adesina, a man with good intentions but found himself in the midst of PDP wolves. PDP's avarice ensure Adesina's hard work didn't become productive. If you disagree state the gains of those policies. |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Racoon(m): 1:11pm On Dec 04, 2018*. Modified: 7:19pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
docadams:So Adeshina as a technocrat appointed & served himself in the then government of Jonathan? Just as VP Osinbajo joined this present government & lost his reputation. You're just shameless to acknowledge that the PDP appointed a technocrat in the person of Dr.Akinwunmi Adeshina unlike the outspent giariatic granny the APC have today. Pls reason objectively.How much were you buying a bag of rice comparable to now.Think well first.Meanwhile; Women farmers under the umbrella of Small-Scale Women Farmers Organisation in Nigeria (SWOFON) have called for restoration of scrapped Growth Enhancement Scheme (GES) scheme. |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by docadams: 1:15pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
trillville:@bolded, is not correct, the CBN sponsored ABP covers a wide range of crops for both local consumption and export "According to CBN, the targeted agricultural commodities include, cereals (rice, maize, wheat etc.), cotton, roots and tubers (cassava, potatoes, yam, ginger among others), sugarcane, tree crops (oil palm, cocoa, rubber etc.), legumes (soybean, sesame seed, cowpea etc.), tomato, livestock (fish, poultry, ruminants) "https://www.google.com.ng/amp/sunnewsonline.com/why-we-set-up-anchor-borrowers-scheme-cbn/amp/ We are self sufficient enough in some of the crops that some quantities are currently being exported |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by docadams: 1:34pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
Racoon:2 questions for you 1.What were the products from that scheme? 2.How much was a 50kg rice when PDP took over and how much rice was Nigeria producing when PDP handed over To your question, where I am a bag of rice traded for between 12k to 15k in 2014 December |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by FarahAideed: 1:36pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
And How can Agriculture grow when Buhari supports killer herdsmen to sack farmers foe their ancestral lands..stop deceiving yourself , when Atiku come our Agric revolution will take flight because this rètard below can't proffer badly viable solution from that failed brain of his https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1Y18fwd7Tw&feature=youtu.be |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by docadams: 1:39pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
FarahAideed:Fantasy doesn't kill, last last it sends you to Yaba left |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Racoon(m): 1:48pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
Buhari’s Agric Policy Fails As Unemployment, Agrihttps://m.guardian.ng/features/buharis-agric-policy-fails-as-unemployment-agribusiness-failures-rise/ |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Racoon(m): 1:48pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Racoon(m): 2:06pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
docadams: Food securityhttps://m.guardian.ng/features/buharis-agric-policy-fails-as-unemployment-agribusiness-failures-rise/ |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by docadams: 2:10pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
Buterflyle0:PDD madness knows no bound. Atiku went to Dubai with 1690 in his entourage to grow UAE. The uncommon senseless senator went to Texas to grow U.S.A.. Meanwhile, their suffering minions back home are shouting ObiAbubakatiku |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by brown116: 2:17pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
Buterflyle0:how will jubril grow agriculture when Fulani will not let our farmers harvest their crops. |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Nobody: 2:19pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
docadams:You are very tribalistic when it comes to national issues. |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Buterflyle0(op): 2:19pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
Racoon:You are simply being childishly ignorant. An average crop cycle is how long? We are a nation of over a hundred million already. How many large scale farmers do we have and how long does it take for one to experience jus one planting and harvest cycle? How is storage ? Regarding Agriculture, consistency causes a catch up syndrome and then the issue of surplus food comes into play. Why do you think that in a state like Benue for example, a crop like Yam is ridiculously cheap? Its simply because its in massive production in Benue. So for Benue people its in surplus which then makes it cheap but when it is released to the generality of Nigeria its not anywhere being enough which makes it expensive. A yam tuber of 1000 naira outside Benue is about 200 naira inside Benue. Thus a lot of farmers because of desire to make more money prefer to send their yams outside Benue. Agriculture is self empowering and with consistency, makes food surplus everywhere in the nation. I personally do practical farming unlike you who enjoys copying and pasting silly articles from people who sit in their offices and assume Agriculture is a form of white collar job assessment carried out in an air conditioned room. |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Nobody: 2:21pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
docadams:And your buhari when to uk to grow their economic and zombies like you were yelling him |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by docadams: 2:24pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
Racoon:Oga Raccoon! How much rice was produced during 16years of PDP reign? I can bring a counter article but just answer this simple question first. |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Buterflyle0(op): 2:26pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
brown116:Herdsmen have always been with us even as far back as the days of Obasanjo. Benue people have lived with herdsmen for years and sometimes they have conflicts but they have largely lived in peace. The average Benue man knows that the Fulani isn't their enemy. Feel free to interview a Benue man and he would educate you on the truth. Perhaps you think Benue is a local government and that these so called Fulani herdsmen where numbering in their millions and released Into Benue to harass all farmers. This was a systematic and targeted incident with the governor Ortom in full knowledge of it and full support of it because he was the one sponsoring it so he could get more security votes from the fg and loot it. This is why Benue indigenes as at today detest him and would vote him out at the polls. You think you know more than they do? |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Buterflyle0(op): 2:27pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
beamtopola:You can type in your native tongue or in pigeon English since English is giving you serious headaches |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by adem30: 2:41pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
Racoon:Let me reminds you that Akinwumi left N65b fertilizer debt for Buhari government to pay. Now tell us the remarkable achievements from the debt
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by brown116: 2:41pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
Buterflyle0:so Orton is sponsoring the heldsmen to kill his people. so what solution did the president take to stop the problem. |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Buterflyle0(op): 2:44pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
brown116:Wait until he is removed from office and his immunity removed then you will know what will happen to Ortom. It was the FG who ordered an Investigation into what was happening in Benue and the head of Ortoms so called Livestock guard was discovered to be a former Boko haram commander whom Ortom was paying 20million naira monthly to and that he was behind the targeted attacks. The moment he was arrested, the so called herdsmen issue in Benue as good as vanished. Also, the factional head of miyetti Allah is a special adviser to Ortom. You don't need to look far to understand what I am saying. This is why Ortom will do anything to remain in power and why he was quick to defect to PDP hoping to get an elongated immunity if he reemerges as governor but its too late. His people already know the truth. He felt that by blaming buhari and APC regarding the staged herdsmen crisis he would get people to reject APC in Benue so that as he moves to PDP he would get votes to return him to office. His people got to know the truth and it is him they want removed |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by brown116: 2:48pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
Buterflyle0:what about miyetti Allah faction that is in support of buhari. |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Buterflyle0(op): 2:50pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
brown116:Are they in his cabinet? Ortom has a factional head in his cabinet and besides Goodluck Jonathan who is a PDP man like Ortom now is, was made LIFE PATRON of miyetti Allah by the same factional head who is a special adviser to Ortom. You are free to draw your deductions |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by brown116: 2:55pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
Buterflyle0:Oga stop given excuse to failure. buhari has fail all Nigeria including u. |
| Re: Even 1st Class Nations Like USA Are Agriculture Focussed. Pic by Buterflyle0(op): 2:57pm On Dec 04, 2018 |
brown116:Now when you have all your stories debunked you begin to sing Buhari has failed Nigeria ![]() Buhari has not failed me. In fact he has made me better today than I was pre 2015. Go and work on yourself and perhaps childish reasoning will depart from you |
Sim Fubara, A "1st Class Student" (Photo) • Election Denials Like USA Like Nigeria Never Quit • I Just Like Usa Unlike The Corrupt Uk • 2 • 3 • 4
I’ll Continue As Baba Go Slow Until I Retrieve Every Stolen Money – Buhari • FAILED STATE: Nnamdi Kanu Reacts To Sowore's Maltreatment By DSS • Tinubu's 82nd Birthday Is Today