Stats: 3,329,402 members, 8,440,441 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 July 2026 at 02:31 AM

Governor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half A Million Disable Persons - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsGovernor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half A Million Disable Persons (545 Views)

1 Reply (Go Down)

Governor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half A Million Disable Persons by Emelcee(op): 8:06pm On Apr 30, 2019
More than 500 Persons With Disabilities were Monday empowered with start-up grants and financial assistance by the Akwa Ibom State Governor, Mr Udom Emmanuel.

The empowerment programme organized by Governor Udom through the Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Welfare had over 500 persons with disabilities smiling home with different work tools and financial aids to boost their businesses.

The event was held at the Women Development Centre, IBB Way, Uyo with persons living with disabilities from across the 31 local government area of the State.

Addressing the people, the Commissioner Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Welfare, Dr. Glory Edet, eulogized the people for keeping faith and believe in the vision of Governor Udom Emmanuel.

Dr. Edet explained that the items doled out was in fulfilment of the Governor's promise which he made to them during the International day of People living with disabilities and to show them that he is a man who matches his words with actions and holds everybody in high esteem including the neglected in the society.

While thanking the Governor for making sure the items were available to alleviate the people's condition, the Women Affairs Commissioner emphasized that Akwa Ibom State is a 'state where people living with disabilities are given a place of honour as governor Udom is committed to carrying every cluster of the community along in his administration.'

Dr. Glory who described the Governor as a God-fearing man whose human side is compared to none, maintained that Governor Udom is committed to putting more smiles on the faces of people living with disabilities as incentives, financial assistance and empowerment items will be provided to ameliorate their standard of living.

She charged the people not to use their condition as a yardstick to underestimate their abilities, feel inferior in the society or let anybody think less of them but rather should uphold a sense of pride as everyone possess same mental capability.

She appealed to the beneficiaries to make judicious use of all the empowerment items doled out to them as her ministry will ensure follow-up are conducted to see their level of progress in the different empowerment fields.

Also, she thanked the wife of the governor, Mrs Martha Udom who she said is vehement on taking the disabled persons off the streets and giving them hope to live again.

State President, Joint Association of Persons With Disabilities (JONAPWD), Deaconess Offiong Bassey, in her remarks thanked Governor Udom for fulfilling his promise to the disabled persons in the State.

Deaconess Bassey narrated that when the Governor made the promise of giving them wheelchairs and financial assistance during their endorsement of the governor for a second term a lot of persons mocked them saying the decision was to score a political point. She added that the association was grateful to the governor for keeping to his words and ensuring the neglected in the State were raised from the dust and dirt and given a pride of place in his administration.

She lauded the Women Affairs Commissioner for her continuous support, assistance and programmes initiated through her ministry to help the disabled and less privileged in the society and Mrs Martha Udom for always looking out for them in prayers and financial aids.

The JONAPWD State President noted that the community were grateful to God for bringing Governor Udom to Akwa Ibom at a time when they needed help, adding that his re-election is a proof that "when the righteous is on the throne, the people rejoices."

Speaking on behalf of Physically Handicapped persons, the Chairman, Mr Edmund Ekanem explained that 'handicapped persons from the state were in the limelight in the country and given respect courtesy of the leadership of Governor Udom Emmanuel and Dr. Glory Edet.

Mr Ekanem who expressed appreciation to the Governor for standing by his words and proving people wrong, encouraged the beneficiaries to show heart of appreciation to their benefactors. He added that those who did not benefit from the programme should not lose hope as Governor Udom and the Commissioner will ensure they are carried along and given a sense of belonging in subsequent empowerments.

Chairman, IDEA, Mr Timothy Itam on his part thanked the governor for passing through his wife to renovate the Qua Iboe Church Leprosy hospital and giving hope to the 'hopeless'.

Mr Itam opined that for many years the disabled community had sort for help to live a normal life but found none but the 'administration of Governor Udom Emmanuel came and gave them a place in the society.

While speaking on behalf of the deaf, Chairman Association of the Deaf, Mr Anietie Jackson thanked governor Udom for putting smiles on their faces through the ministry of Women Affairs and for considering them part of the society. He expressed satisfaction that their votes for Governor Udom will translate to more dividend of democracy.

Meanwhile, Permanent Secretary Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Welfare, Mrs Margaret Edem in her vote of thanks praised the Commissioner for touching lives and giving back to the society through her ministry.

She thanked Governor Udom for ensuring the items were available for the people, adding that his continuous help for the common man on the street is a pointer to his rare personae and love for humanity.

She praised the wife of the governor, Mrs Martha Udom for playing a motherly role in the lives of Akwa Ibom people and all the staff of the ministry, directors and members of JONAPWD for their co-operation and support.

Also speaking to newsmen shortly after the event, Mr Francis Bassey, Secretary, Joint Association of Persons with disabilities in Ikono local government area and a beneficiary of the programme disclosed that he was excited to see Governor Udom fulfill his promise, adding that it was a 'testimony of his sincerity and magnanimity in ensuring the well-being and welfare of persons with disabilities is taken care off.'

Another beneficiary of the programme, Mr Enobong Tom on her part said she was excited at the items given to them. While expressing shock at the gesture, she said she had taken the governor's promise as a mere political promise not knowing he meant his words.

Mrs Tom in appreciation to the State governor for recognising that persons with disabilities were humans, called on the State government to create job opportunities for them as most of them are unemployed graduates.

Highpoint of the event was the presentation of the empowerment items to the people which include; set of hair dryers, sewing machines, weaving machines, 100 wheelchairs, barbing kits, clutches, generators, provisions, financial/ business grant, transport fare among others.

Read Further Here:
Governor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half a Million Disable Persons http://akwaibomdaily.com.ng/governor-udom-emmanuel-empowers-over-half-a-million-disable-persons-2/

Re: Governor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half A Million Disable Persons by popsy2(m): 8:07pm On Apr 30, 2019
Don't expect an applause sir. It is your duty. You should do better even.
Re: Governor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half A Million Disable Persons by Emelcee(op): 8:08pm On Apr 30, 2019
popsy2:
Don't expect an applause sir. It is your duty. You should do better even.
What have you done for people before?
Re: Governor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half A Million Disable Persons by Emelcee(op): 8:09pm On Apr 30, 2019
Effective representation

Re: Governor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half A Million Disable Persons by popsy2(m): 8:10pm On Apr 30, 2019
Emelcee:
Have have you done for people before?
Yes and I didn't brandish it on social media for you to see. I will surely do more when i become a governor in a few years time.

Next question please.
Re: Governor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half A Million Disable Persons by amaniro: 8:13pm On Apr 30, 2019
popsy2:
Yes and I didn't brandish it on social media for you to see. I will surely do more when i become a governor in a few years time.

Next question please.
Do you know most of this our governors once said what you're saying?, well lemme keep quiet

Re: Governor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half A Million Disable Persons by Emelcee(op): 8:23pm On Apr 30, 2019
popsy2:

Next question please.
You can lie my brother
Re: Governor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half A Million Disable Persons by Emelcee(op): 8:24pm On Apr 30, 2019
amaniro:
Do you know most of this our governors once said what you're saying?, well lemme keep quiet
Don't mind him, he will soon recover from what he drank
Re: Governor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half A Million Disable Persons by popsy2(m): 8:27pm On Apr 30, 2019
Emelcee:
You can lie my brother
That's not a question.
Re: Governor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half A Million Disable Persons by Emelcee(op): 8:37pm On Apr 30, 2019
popsy2:
That's not a question.
Is this what you want to hear?

Re: Governor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half A Million Disable Persons by popsy2(m): 8:43pm On Apr 30, 2019
Emelcee:
Is this what you want to hear?
All I see is an elected governor doing his job. He is not doing Charity, it is not his money. It is his job for crying out loud.
Re: Governor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half A Million Disable Persons by Emelcee(op): 9:01pm On Apr 30, 2019
popsy2:
All I see is an elected governor doing his job. He is not doing Charity, it is not his money. It is his job for crying out loud.
Your god Akpabio, was he using his money to do what he did?

Try and be grateful for once Sir
Re: Governor Udom Emmanuel Empowers Over Half A Million Disable Persons by popsy2(m): 9:37pm On Apr 30, 2019
Emelcee:
Your god Akpabio, was he using his money to do what he did?

Try and be grateful for once Sir
In your warped assumption, you thought i was an Akpabio stooge. You couldn't have been more wrong dear. As a matter of fact, I am not even from Akwa-Ibom neither do I stay there. I only visit occasionally.

In case you are still wondering the locus of my grief, it is because I feel terribly bad when the electorates get overly excited when an elected officer does a job he was elected to do. That is why they keep taking us as fools and think they are doing us a favour by doing their jobs.

I understand that you idolize Udom but please, watch it.
1 Reply

Nigerians Spend Over Half Of Their Earnings On Food, Worst Globally – PicodiGovernor Udom Emmanuel, IGP Idris Visit Emir Of Zazzau (pictures)Governor Udom Emmanuel Stops His Convoy To Buy Pears From A Roadside Seller234

Buhari Shuts Door On Oshiomole And TinubuAs E Dey Hot; Gov. Dickson Snubs Goodluck Jonathan, Ignores His Phone CallsNAWWON Public Announcement- Wailers' Applications Closed Till October 1st.