Stats: 3,158,043 members, 7,835,512 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 May 2024 at 11:08 AM

FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations - Politics (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations (20531 Views)

After Saving Governors From Embarrassment, Buhari Gets Betrayed - Bashir Ahmad / Coronavirus: FG Blocks Five Governors From Flying Out Of Nigeria / Governors From Niger Republic Join Buhari’s Campaign In Kano (2) (3) (4)

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by Wheezdwisdom(m): 1:00pm On May 07, 2019
I remember that year in my local government that the youth lock the chairman in his office on account of corruption. The chairmen can't escape lynching because they are closer to us. If they try rubbish they see any how.
omenkaLives:
My fear is that the chairmen themselves are another class of corrupt individuals. We are most likely going to start witnessing them building palaces in Abuja in an event this succeeds. Nevertheless, it is our hope they apply the funds specifically to what they are meant for.

Just a little project here and there is what Nigerians are asking for. We are the least demanding citizens in this world if you ask me but our politicians are just too lazy and corrupt to meet even the tiniest of demands.

So unfortunate.

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by JusticeSeeker: 1:07pm On May 07, 2019
Optional09:
Sowore is putting these guys on their toes. Credit goes to Omoyele Sowore
Not Sowore, in his acceptance speech when he won in first tenure, he mentioned this but did not implement it because of the fear of been blocked from coming for 2nd tenure.

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by RALPHOW(m): 1:18pm On May 07, 2019
The best decision by this administration.
Useless Governors will stop taking stupid loan ( that they will embezzle) using local government allocation as collateral.

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by raymondele86(m): 1:23pm On May 07, 2019
My fear is that the chairmen themselves are another class of corrupt individuals. We are most likely going to start witnessing them building palaces in Abuja in an event this succeeds. Nevertheless, it is our hope they apply the funds specifically to what they are meant for.

Just a little project here and there is what Nigerians are asking for. We are the least demanding citizens in this world if you ask me but our politicians are just too lazy and corrupt to meet even the tiniest of demands.

So unfortunate.

You are right but this will enable the people in each local government to directly monitor the allocation and also hold their leaders accountable.
Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by dukie25: 1:26pm On May 07, 2019
Guidelines To Reduce Vulnerabilities Created by Cash Withdrawals from LG Funds throughout Nigeria, Effective 1st June 2019, is said to have been prompted by threats by the international financial watchdog to sanction Nigeria because of abuse of financial abuse

It was not Buhari's idea, I knew it.
Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by 5starMan: 1:58pm On May 07, 2019
Proudlyngwa:

Actually, no one will be willing to go to EFCC for one useless governor.
Yes actually there is sense there...but I still think the power to appoint a transition lga chairperson or to even supervise their elections should be completely removed from the state governments.A situation where the EFCC will overwhelmed in their bid to monitor the 774 lga chairpersons is not needed here.I prefer blocking the loopholes of curruption than fighting it when it has excalated.That way we would have saved the resources.

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by Gaddafithe2nd(m): 2:05pm On May 07, 2019
This is one of the best news I have read. It is left for the chairmen/chairperson to do their jobs or else EFCC will pick them and use them as scape goats.

Well done PMB.

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by SocialJustice: 2:06pm On May 07, 2019
Lagosfinder:
Not sure all the governors we like this. Good one though
They won't like it all, it is the reason local government autonomy bill was frustrated.

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by Simsid: 2:07pm On May 07, 2019
omenkaLives:

So unfortunate.
proper accountability will be effected because funds are coming directly to the council without state mediating in between. Any erring local govt chairman will face the music

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by hassymo5(m): 2:10pm On May 07, 2019
kudos to APC but to make it complete INEC should conduct election for LGA, if not Governors will certainly install caretakers and mandate them to give certain percentage to them,

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by Lordknowz: 2:23pm On May 07, 2019
roca47:
won't work in Cross River

Why
Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by Nobody: 2:33pm On May 07, 2019
for the past 4 years, no LGA chairmen or council
Lordknowz:

Why

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by grandstar(m): 2:39pm On May 07, 2019
This may bankrupt states as many have already imputed local government funds as part of their expenditure
Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by wanger50(m): 2:47pm On May 07, 2019
kcubani:
What happens when there issue cheque to the Governors, since they are their stooge
The Chairman gets tracked down and prosecuted.Remember they enjoy no immunity
Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by wanger50(m): 2:48pm On May 07, 2019
Lordknowz:

Why
Probably because Cross River is above naija and her laws

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by godlyguy(m): 2:49pm On May 07, 2019
Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by wanger50(m): 2:53pm On May 07, 2019
JusticeSeeker:
Not Sowore, in his acceptance speech when he won in first tenure, he mentioned this but did not implement it because of the fear of been blocked from coming for 2nd tenure.
Guy u get sense.That was just it

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by Stealthwaterz(m): 2:56pm On May 07, 2019
Ya Ya Bello How Market?
Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by mapet: 3:27pm On May 07, 2019
omenkaLives:

So unfortunate.

I guess one area to trace the use of such funds is why daily withdrawal limit is set to 500k, and every other expenses through cheques and wire-transfers. Let's see how it plays out.
Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by mapet: 3:28pm On May 07, 2019
cola:
This is a very very good development.

It would have far reaching effects on grassroots development. More serious individuals might now want to show interest in local govt governance.

In fact I think this is one of the issues at the core of restructuring with no noiṣe nor fanfare.

Strangely though, a lot of interest is not being shown to this news on this forum, in spite of it being a watershed development.
One would have thought people here would be excited.

This second term that's even yet to start, eh... One can't help but look forward to great developments like this.

I hope the govt sees this through.

True dat
Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by mapet: 3:31pm On May 07, 2019
eedriyz:

omenkaLives: :
My fear is that the chairman themselves are another class of corrupt individuals. We are most likely going to start witnessing them building palaces in Abuja in an even this succeeds. Nevertheless, it is our hope they apply the funds specifically to what they are meant for.

Just a little project here and there is what Nigerians are asking for. We are the least demanding citizens in this world if you ask me but our politicians are just too lazy and corrupt the meet even the tiniest of demands.

So unfortunate.

Yes, at least EFCC will see easier fishes to fry

in addition, they have no immunity from arrest and prosecution while in office

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by Proudlyngwa(m): 3:35pm On May 07, 2019
5starMan:
Yes actually there is sense there...but I still think the power to appoint a transition lga chairperson or to even supervise their elections should be completely removed from the state governments.A situation where the EFCC will overwhelmed in their bid to monitor the 774 lga chairpersons is not needed here.I prefer blocking the loopholes of curruption than fighting it when it has excalated.That way we would have saved the resources.
When they use two or three people as scapegoat, others will sit up, moreover it is the collective responsibilities of everyone to ask questions and this is easier at the grassroots, without immunity, whoever is handling local government money will tread with caution, all he needs is enter into the bad books of a wealthy man, opponents , groups organisations and a court injunction will simply grant application for audit, we should be more concerned about judicial rascality and orchestrated assassination.

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by mapet: 3:40pm On May 07, 2019
Proudlyngwa:

shigoslim: :

You be mumu. Local government die under APC government ..... Check all the state govern by APC , how many of them conduct local government election? all they do is to impose chairman on the masses who we dance to their tones .
Kaduna state says Hi

Lagos State says Hello

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by naijajobx: 3:58pm On May 07, 2019
Good
Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by deji17: 5:54pm On May 07, 2019
roca47:
But the Governor is restricted by this new policy in spending the money. First he has to release it to the LG's account. Second the LG cant withdraw more than N500,000 a day. The rest of the transaction has to be through cheques and bank draft.
Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by deji17: 6:02pm On May 07, 2019
roca47:

But the Governor is restricted by this new policy in spending the money. First he has to release it to the LG's account. Second the LG cant withdraw more than N500,000 a day. The rest of the transaction has to be through cheques and bank draft.
Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by Ayasayas(m): 6:11pm On May 07, 2019
very good idea, this one Buhari tryoo

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by Nobody: 7:49pm On May 07, 2019
that means he can't spend it.. and people will agitate for chairmen to be elected
deji17:

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by Okoroawusa: 8:34pm On May 07, 2019
I LOVE PMB

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by budaatum: 8:43pm On May 07, 2019
Hector09:
To be honest i dnt even knw the functions of local governments
I like your honesty. Start here, and here.

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by budaatum: 8:44pm On May 07, 2019
deji17:

It would make for accountability. Now they just need to follow up with audits.

Re: FG Blocks Governors From Monopolising Local Government Allocations by lastdon5: 6:37am On May 08, 2019
Bolustical:
PDP is the most useless party in the history of Nigeria.

This state-local government joint account nonsense has been going on since 1979 and for 16 years, OBJ, Yaradua and GEJ didn't deem it fit to do something about it.

The 'incompetent illiterate from Daura' did in 4 years what 2 PhD holders (OBJ & GEJ) and Chemistry lecturing president (Yaradua) didn't do in 16 years.

The good thing is Nigerian will now be able to see their LG Chairmen in action with their monies.

God bless PMB.

My brother you have not been exactly correct. It has not been going on since 1979, it was Gov, Orji Uzor Kalu that started this madness when he got a judge interpretation of law to the effect of what we have now, all the other governors followed suit.

This same Orji Uzor is today a chieftain of APC and also their senatorial candidate.

Also, almost all of the governors then from 1999 that followed suit are mostly in APC today.

Jonathan tried to rectify it by following constitution amendment by getting a 2/3 of the 36 states, to agree on financial autonomy for the local council but couldn't get it cos the last state to vote against it was Edo state by Gov, Adams.

Even this Buhari also started the same constitutional amendment, how far has it gone? I know it'll still fail cos our governors won't allow such and have successfully pocketed their state's legislature.

I am particularly happy that NFIU have taken this initiative under this regime, atleast I and others will see something good in this regime.

World Bank To FG: Reform Now To Stop Further Slide Into Extreme Poverty / You Are Only Fair To Northern Nigeria – Abaribe Tells Buhari / 2023: South-West APC Leaders Decry Intra-Ethnic Gang-Up Against Tinubu

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 44