Stats: 3,326,360 members, 8,426,224 topics. Date: Saturday, 13 June 2026 at 09:46 PM

Seized $5.7m: Nobody Complained I Stole Money, Says Patience Jonathan - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsSeized $5.7m: Nobody Complained I Stole Money, Says Patience Jonathan (621 Views)

1 Reply (Go Down)

Seized $5.7m: Nobody Complained I Stole Money, Says Patience Jonathan by deji17(op): 7:58pm On May 24, 2019
Seized $5.7m: Nobody complained I stole money, says Patience Jonathan
Published May 24, 2019
KINDLY SHARE THIS STORY

Oladimeji Ramon

Wife of former President Goodluck Jonathan, Patience, on Friday urged the Federal High Court in Lagos to order the release of the $5.7m and N2.4bn seized from her by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission.

Her lawyer, Chief Ifedayo Adedipe (SAN), urged Justice Mojisola Olatoregun to dismiss the application by the EFCC, praying that the money be permanently forfeited to the Federal Government.

Adedipe argued that it was wrong for the EFCC to tag the money as proceeds of crime, when Patience had committed no crime and when nobody complained that their money was missing.

The SAN said the funds were cash gifts which Patience received when her husband was in office.

Adedipe said such gifts were normal, pointing out that even the wife of President Muhammadu Buhari, Aisha, was seeking to build a university.

READ ALSO: Police beef up security in Zamfara

The lawyer contended that Section 17 of the Advance Fee Fraud, which EFCC relied upon to seize Patience’s funds, was only applicable to fraudsters.

“It is not the law that if the EFCC finds money in an account and it doesn’t like the owner’s face, it comes to court and says ‘forfeit it’.

“The government is at liberty to apply for forfeiture but the offence must be stated.

“The first respondent is a wife to a former deputy governor, governor, Vice President, and President.

“Even the current occupier of the office of the First Lady wants to build a university.

“In this country, First Ladies enjoy a lot of goodwill. She (Patience) stated that governors gave her money. Nobody wrote that she stole their money,” the SAN said.

Adedipe said there was no justification for the money to be forfeited to the Federal Government as the EFCC had not proved that Patience stole money from the government or any individual.

https://punchng.com/seized-5-7m-nobody-complained-i-stole-money-says-patience-jonathan/

Re: Seized $5.7m: Nobody Complained I Stole Money, Says Patience Jonathan by livelymatilda22: 11:56pm On May 24, 2019
Lol..This woman is a Comedienne... I don't blame.her though..

Re: Seized $5.7m: Nobody Complained I Stole Money, Says Patience Jonathan by aremuforlife(m): 12:17am On May 25, 2019
Where did she get the money from?
Re: Seized $5.7m: Nobody Complained I Stole Money, Says Patience Jonathan by Atlanticfire: 4:21am On May 25, 2019
aremuforlife:
Where did she get the money from?
Read the story again. This time slowly.

She says it is a gift. That first ladies get lots of goodwill from politicians while in office and that nobody complained that she stole from them or defrauded them.

In law someone does not need to prove his innocence, it is efcc to prove that she defrauded someone since they are hinging the case on advance fee fraud.
Re: Seized $5.7m: Nobody Complained I Stole Money, Says Patience Jonathan by aremuforlife(m): 10:44am On May 25, 2019
[/quote]9[quote author=Atlanticfire post=78694652]Read the story again. This time slowly.

She says it is a gift. That first ladies get lots of goodwill from politicians while in office and that nobody complained that she stole from them or defrauded them.

In law someone does not need to prove his innocence, it is efcc to prove that she defrauded someone since they are hinging the case on advance fee fraud.
And you believed that $5.7m was a gift and she can't disclose the giver of the money.
That means you can also believe Buhari is a Sudanese
Re: Seized $5.7m: Nobody Complained I Stole Money, Says Patience Jonathan by deji17(op): 5:38pm On May 27, 2019
aremuforlife:
And you believed that $5.7m was a gift and she can't disclose the giver of the money.
That means you can also believe Buhari is a Sudanese
You dey mind defender of corruption?
1 Reply

IGBOS: Nobody Complained When You Dominated 90% Of Jonathan’s AdministrationUK Parliament: Gowon Stole Money 'Half Of The Central Bank Of Nigeria'Nobody Complained I Stole Their Money – Patience Jonathan234

SEC Orders Oando GCEO Wale Tinubu, Others To ResignOIC: CAN, Others Need Anti-islamophobia Vaccine – MURICAnti-graft Agency Recommends Suspension Of Emir Sanusi Over Alleged N3.4bn