Stats: 3,325,622 members, 8,422,888 topics. Date: Tuesday, 09 June 2026 at 12:34 AM

I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ - Education (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralEducationI Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ (49153 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Reply (Go Down)

Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by uncjay(m): 10:51pm On Nov 24, 2019
generationz:
You won't blame him.

When you set your mind to something and can't achieve it despite all the hard work it can be depressing.

He actually has a good attitude towards success. This is the attitude expected of him right now in school.

When he comes out that will take care of itself.

Let us not glorify mediocrity.

There are many bright students looking for jobs yes, but also many more who have achieved things faster than their peers with sheer determination and will power.
I didn't even know when I liked this your comment. One of the best I read this night.

Looking at things from different but logical perspectives help our judgement a lot. Everyone here must have probably, in one way or the other, felt bad about underperforming in one area of their lives in the past. mine is even worst, because I can't count the different areas I've felt bad.

The fact that he is concerned with his academic success doesn't mean he is blind to the nation's economic predicament. He's just being focus on one at this point.

As much as I wish the op well, I can't but advise him to be thankful for what he's got. No need for depression. With that grade, he can still obtain the scholarship. He just need to put forward an optimistic attitude, (even in failures), and work harder/smarter.

Good luck.
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Nobody: 10:52pm On Nov 24, 2019
No problem. But you have to be certain that's the path you really want to take, and not "Let's try it and see if it works" thing.
babtoundey:
Oga, can I get in touch as regards info and directives on scholarships?

ma koja mi olug ala o ki n se Orin akunleko ( "Do not bypass me, O Lord" isn't a song you sing while on your knees)
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by AlphaT1(m): 10:54pm On Nov 24, 2019
Ithream:
Just about yesterday after speaking with my Class advicer, I was left in a depressed state.

I am currently on my 400level IT and I am to return back to school this coming new year by January. He told me about my result. He said my CGPA is the highest so far. Which makes me his best student. I asked him for the exact CGPA which he replied with with a *4.06*. My God I wondered why he was glad to break such a sad news to me. I thought I had chances of making it a 4.1+ the previous semester. I told him thanks. But I know I wasn't Happy sad

I did the maths...and I found out that the highest CGPA I can make is 4.2+ after my final year(2 semesters left) I feel terrible right now. How can I shift it to 4.3+ Cgpa? I have heard of students borrowing courses but I don't really know if this could be one of their reasons for doing such.

NB: I am not in anyway trying to make it look like having such a CGPA is bad or I am ungrateful. It's just that I have plans of applying for scholarships to study abroad but won't such a Gp hinder me?

Pls I need someone to placate me with motivational words. I feel like a looser. After all these years of studies! What if I loose the passion for school or studies after returning next year? I feel real bad sad sad

What if I might even loose the chance of being the best graduating student of my set like my class adviser had said
sad sad
A 4.0 CGPA is very cool and shouldn't get you depressed. After graduation, study hard for GRE and IELTS and use those to get a scholarship.
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by babtoundey(m): 10:56pm On Nov 24, 2019
bizme:
No problem. But you have to be certain that's the path you really want to take, and not "Let's try it and see if it works" thing.
I am certain I care for it. but I don't see it a do or die affair.

Thanks. I will message you.
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Nobody: 10:57pm On Nov 24, 2019
Ithream:
Just about yesterday after speaking with my Class advicer, I was left in a depressed state.

I am currently on my 400level IT and I am to return back to school this coming new year by January. He told me about my result. He said my CGPA is the highest so far. Which makes me his best student. I asked him for the exact CGPA which he replied with with a *4.06*. My God I wondered why he was glad to break such a sad news to me. I thought I had chances of making it a 4.1+ the previous semester. I told him thanks. But I know I wasn't Happy sad

I did the maths...and I found out that the highest CGPA I can make is 4.2+ after my final year(2 semesters left) I feel terrible right now. How can I shift it to 4.3+ Cgpa? I have heard of students borrowing courses but I don't really know if this could be one of their reasons for doing such.

NB: I am not in anyway trying to make it look like having such a CGPA is bad or I am ungrateful. It's just that I have plans of applying for scholarships to study abroad but won't such a Gp hinder me?

Pls I need someone to placate me with motivational words. I feel like a looser. After all these years of studies! What if I loose the passion for school or studies after returning next year? I feel real bad sad sad

What if I might even loose the chance of being the best graduating student of my set like my class adviser had said
sad sad
4.2 is a good CGP dear.
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by eugenesmalls(m): 10:59pm On Nov 24, 2019
You are a very very big fool for posting this, idiot.. (common sense is not really common) keep on feeling depressed fool
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by moonbender(m): 11:04pm On Nov 24, 2019
Come let's exchange depression.

Give me your 4:2 and take my 1:2

You ain't seen nothing.
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Joystark(f): 11:05pm On Nov 24, 2019
chinwezdasilva:
You will more depressed when You don't get a job with this your high cgpa
Lol... C'mon man!
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by adesokan149: 11:06pm On Nov 24, 2019
Really don't know y people keep disturbing themselves over split milk... Making 4.3 and making 4.0 had no difference all is still second class upper... It is high time you use this time for depression you put yourself to think about life after your graduation....
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Alphaeli1(m): 11:08pm On Nov 24, 2019
Las las sch sef na scam
adesokan149:
Really don't know y people keep disturbing themselves over split milk... Making 4.3 and making 4.0 had no difference all is still second class upper... It is high time you use this time for depression you put yourself to think about life after your graduation....
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by StudyCrestLtd: 11:08pm On Nov 24, 2019
My friend if you are looking for scholarships you are good as even those with 3.5 are getting it. If you hope to study in Canada or USA write GRE or GMAT and have an outstanding score.

Ithream:

sad sad
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Nobody: 11:09pm On Nov 24, 2019
Rasmega:
Some people are just annoying. cry sad
How old are you, please?
Guess another teenager who found their way to university....I just couldn't hold the immaturity, after wasting my time reading this post..
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Saintsquare(m): 11:09pm On Nov 24, 2019
You can get a full tuition waiver+ monthly stipends with that CGPA
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Nobody: 11:13pm On Nov 24, 2019
because u are afraid and a coward who thinks he cant make it by himself unlesss u r employed by government or someone
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Peter887: 11:18pm On Nov 24, 2019
[quote author=Ithream post=84318764]Just about yesterday after speaking with my Class advicer, I was left in a depressed state.

I did the maths...and I found out that the highest CGPA I can make is 4.2+ after my final year(2 semesters left) I feel terrible right now. How can I shift it to 4.3+ Cgpa? I have heard of students borrowing courses but I don't really know if this could be one of their reasons for doing such......bro ur CGPA of 4.06 wil miraclously increase or decrease in jesus name amen
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Orhevus: 11:19pm On Nov 24, 2019
Kennywagz
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Nobody: 11:20pm On Nov 24, 2019
chinwezdasilva:
You will more depressed when You don't get a job with this your high cgpa
i think he will commit sue......
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by rottennaija(m): 11:24pm On Nov 24, 2019
Ithream:

sad sad
I graduated with 4.10 at the end of the day. And I wasn't the best no doubt. What I think you also also consider is the skills you need after graduating. Soft skills like programming, robotics etc.
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Egisokoinspire1(m): 11:24pm On Nov 24, 2019
Ithream:

sad sad
lol you feel like a loser. Just wait until the guy with the lowest CGPA becomes the greatest ever from your department. Channel your energy into life after your final year and not worry about having it all!!!! Hope you are wise enough to understand.

Note: it’s good to aim high in life but it pays to do it smartly
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by kcaller: 11:30pm On Nov 24, 2019
No mind am.... na Small pikin de do am.... school still de shark am..... when him graduate, him go see real life.... him think say Na that telemundo wey him de do for school
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by kcaller: 11:38pm On Nov 24, 2019
Ithream:

sad sad
Them still de feed you for house, na why you de worry about your G.P..... when you graduate and Naija sun melt your folder wey your CV de, you go know Wetin depression really be.....
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Offpoint: 11:42pm On Nov 24, 2019
chinwezdasilva:
You will be more depressed when You don't get a job with this your high cgpa.

In this country you need a high cgpa in mental stability if not....... Make I no talk

Don't depend on a high cgpa quoting His Excellency

Lastly a country is where we are supposed to be living and not surviving...
fact
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Forward77(m): 11:46pm On Nov 24, 2019
femi4:
I know many abeg. They relocated to Nigeria only to join those looking for govt jobs out of frustration

Scholarship will only give you/fast track your academic success not WEALTH
I know a lot of them!
One of my cousins is a victim of that.
He was paraded like a thief in countries like Lithuania, Greece and Hungary.
Now he has joined the labour market even using his expired passport with stamped visas of those countries where he was paraded like a thief that won a world cup to go from firm to firm seeking employment. He’s a first class graduate.
I’m doing better that him and I’ll soon be rich, he’s still searching for a job.
I didn’t graduate with a first class but I’m very smart and skilled.
All he knows is school this and school that.
I’ll go do my M.SC in à developed country soon while my cousin is a patron of “We Will Call You” organization.

People be wise!
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Dickson44: 11:48pm On Nov 24, 2019
Your depression dey learn work
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by chinwezdasilva: 11:51pm On Nov 24, 2019
Offpoint:
fact
Actually
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by chinwezdasilva: 11:52pm On Nov 24, 2019
OwoukoUrua:
knockout punch
Bitter truth
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by chinwezdasilva: 11:53pm On Nov 24, 2019
Arthur02:
may God bless you for this kind reply, ungrateful people everywhere, some are even praying for 3+ he/she is saying 4+ CGPA is small.
Alot of first class out there driving taxi and keke, some are already in farm.
Grade don't determine one's destiny and future.
It depends if you rely on grades.
God bless Nigeria God bless Africa
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by edoairways: 11:58pm On Nov 24, 2019
eugenesmalls:
You are a very very big fool for posting this, idiot.. (common sense is not really common) keep on feeling depressed fool
Is that how to encourage or criticize someone?
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by manga5: 11:58pm On Nov 24, 2019
My brother, the height you will get in life is not dependent on 4+. What you have is good if God blesses it. I am speaking from experience. After my last result in school I though life was over. After many years, it never mattered.
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Youngsage: 11:58pm On Nov 24, 2019
falcon01:
oga your CGPA doesn't determine your success, if you like depress and die it in as much you fall under first class, 2.1 or 2.2 you are good to go.. even third class and pass can and will make it in life.
No mind the guy. He's not serious at all.
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by edoairways: 12:01am On Nov 25, 2019
kcaller:
No mind am.... na Small pikin de do am.... school still de shark am..... when him graduate, him go see real life.... him think say Na that telemundo wey him de do for school
Easy !
Re: I Feel Depressed With A CGPA Of 4.2+ by Youngsage: 12:05am On Nov 25, 2019
With the content of your post @O.p, you don't appear as 'smart' as you might think!
Yes, brilliant, maybe, but not smart. If you feel like a loser cos of a cgpa of 4.2, then you probably are.
There are definitely much more smarter students in your class and I sincerely hope one of them beats you to it, that is the best graduating student in your department since you have failed to learn that the goal is to compete with yourself rather than with others.
This attitude of yours won't take your far at all, you will be on the road to some serious depression unless you change it.

Improve the quality of your mind. Graduate as an all round, sound student. That is all that matters. Cheers
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Reply

3 University Of Ibadan Postgraduate Students Graduate With Perfect CGPA Of 7.0Can I Go For Masters Degree With A Cgpa Of 2.93?My Mum Is Making Me Depressed With What She Said To Me234

Meet Joseph, Man Who Has Repeated Primary 1 For 15 Years (Video)Secondary School Prom Party In Benin City Gets People Talking (Photos/Video)Mmesoma Ejikeme Gets Scholarship Sponsorship To The UK From Bitcoin Chief