Stats: 3,149,801 members, 7,806,231 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 April 2024 at 01:19 PM

Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria (756 Views)

Yeye Osun River Goddess Runs As Police Use Water Cannons On Protesters (Pics) / #EndSARS: Tinubu Justifies Use Of Force On Protesters / EndSARS protests: Police Assist Protesters With Their Vehicles (2) (3) (4)

Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by joelobi: 11:45am On Oct 18, 2020
Former minister of Aviation, Femi Fani-Kayode has warned the Federal Government to handle the ongoing protest against police brutality with “utmost maturity and restraint and in a peaceful, rational and reasonable manner.”

Fani-Kayode said this in a post on his official Facebook page on Sunday in reaction to the announcement by the army to launch operation crocodile smile on Tuesday.

He said that the resolve of the youths to achieve a better Nigeria cannot be defeated with military force.

Thousands of youths across the country had taken to the streets over the past week demanding for an end to police brutality and highhandedness. The disbandment of the Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS) by the IGP has done little to quell the demonstrations as it continues to garner support globally.

The statement in full:  

We will not wait before more blood is shed before we speak and before we send out this warning.

We will not wait until there is another mindless and needless massacre and massive shedding of innocent blood by our security forces before we shout out.

We say this today, we say it without fear or favour and we say it for everyone, both friend and foe, to hear loudly and clearly: the determination to use brute force and to kill innocent young men and women in an attempt to crush this protest comes with a very heavy price tag and butchers bill.

The plan to deploy soldiers in our streets and to slaughter #EndSARS protesters in the same way that the Shiite Muslims and IPOB youths were once slaughtered by the military and security forces will be Lt. General Tukur Burutai and President Muhammadu Buhari's biggest mistake and gravest error.

This must NEVER happen and if it is true that they are seriously contemplating it then they should reconsider and think again!

If for ANY reason whatsoever, they go ahead, it will turn the #Endsars movement into the #EndNigeria movement and no force or power in hell or on earth will be able to resist or stop it.

We warn again: do not unleash the dogs of war and demons of hell on these protestors. Do not kill these INNOCENT, HARMLESS and DEFENCELESS young men and women who have courageously embarked on a LAWFUL and PEACEFUL protest and who are doing nothing more than exercising their constitutional right of freedom of speech and freedom of association.

The consequences of going ahead and doing so, amongst much else, will be that you will end up in the International Court of Criminal Justice and be prosecuted for crimes against humanity and genocide in the not too distant future.

I say it again, do not bite off more than you can chew, do not beat the drums of armed conflict and do not let slip the dogs of war!

This matter can and must be handled with the utmost maturity and restraint by the Federal Government and in a peaceful, rational and reasonable manner.

These young men and women are fighting for their future: they cannot and will not be intimidated. The threat of mass murder or genocide or its actualisation will not stop them: rather it will embolden them and turn them into martyrs for democracy.

A word is enough for the wise!

Source: https://africannewstoday.com/politics/attempt-to-clamp…ment-fani-kayode/

Re: Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by SLAP44: 11:46am On Oct 18, 2020
The country needs just someone to light a matchstick in this petrol doused country. The army can strike the match so we can see what will happen. grin

Re: Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by Freestainworld(m): 11:51am On Oct 18, 2020
Just laughing at the federal government, they will soon realise what they have done to themselves

Re: Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by MrsRighteousness(f): 11:55am On Oct 18, 2020
IT GOES BEYOND # ENDSARS
Are You Happy That A Bag Of Rice Is Now N35-40k?
Are You Happy That Drivers License Cost Between 25k-30k?
Are You Happy That N1500 Cannot Buy You 10Liters Of Fuel And N10k Can No Longer Fill You Car Fuel Tank?
Are You Not Angry That Every Nigerian Home Depend On Personal Generating Set For Electricity?
Are You Happy That Small Sachet Tomato Paste Is Now N100?
Are You Happy, That The Average Nigerian Home Now Spend Between N10k-N25k Monthly On Epileptic Power Supply?
Are You Not Worried That Our Minimum Wage Can Not Buy A Bag Of Rice or Beans Or Any Staple Food?
Do You Ever Wonder How Poor People Survive In This Nation?
Are You Not Mad At The Insane Number Of Extortion Points Called Checkpoints Allover Our Roads?
Are You Not Mad That Police, FRSC, Civil Defence, VIO, Customs, LASTMA, OCHA BRIGADE, Ndi Mpiawa Azu, Govt Sponsored Touts and Hooligans ETC Are All On Our Roads and Markets Harassing And Extorting Innocent People In Broad Day Light?
Are You Not Bitter That SMSE And Budding Entrepreneurs Spend All Their Profit And Even Capital On Diesel And Are Frustrated Out Of Business By Different Business Permits, Multiple Taxes And Insane Levies?
Are You Not Sad That You're Forced To Bribe Your Way Through Life If You Need Anything Done In This Nation?
Is Your Car Comfortable On Our Pot Hole Ridden Death Traps Called Roads?
Are You OK With The Fact That 90% Of Nigerians Are Stuck With Poorly Equipped Hospitals While Our Elite 10% Junket Around The Globe For The Best Medical Attention?
Ever Ask Your Self Why Over 70% Of Nigerians Survive On Less Than A Dollar Daily?
Do You Ever Wonder Why Over 60% Of Our Graduates Are Jobless?
Are You Not Mad That NLC And NANs Has Been Compromised?
Are You Not Mad That Buhari Just Appointed APC's Lauretta Onochie Into INEC To Serve As Commissioner?
Are You Not Sad That Honest Hardworking People Die Broke In This Nation While The Shady Thrive?
Are You Not Tired And Angry?
I Am Tired
Nigerians Are Beyond Angry
#TheUncomfortableTruth
#EndSARS
#Endbadgoverance
Culled
11 hrs · Facebook for Androi

Re: Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by Nobody: 11:56am On Oct 18, 2020
If the army gets involved, Nigeria would end.

Re: Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by Marine54(m): 12:08pm On Oct 18, 2020
A word is enough for the wised Indeed !
Re: Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by haryorbarmie83(m): 12:11pm On Oct 18, 2020
He has given is own piece of advice. Him who have ears let him ear.
Re: Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by gidgiddy: 12:20pm On Oct 18, 2020
When it is unnarmed IPOB or Shiites being shot and killed, they look the other way

But if ENDSARS are shot and killed, they suddenly remember it is bad for unarmed defenceless protesters to murdered

Hypocrisy
Re: Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by judecares1(m): 12:30pm On Oct 18, 2020
Please my dear people,let's protest holding Nigeria flag no matter how small it may look like or try and sing the national anthem whenever you see uniform people,they can't shoot you

#EndSARS

Re: Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by Onuhgabriel(m): 12:58pm On Oct 18, 2020
Like for #endsars
share for #endpolicebrutality
Re: Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by priapus(m): 1:12pm On Oct 18, 2020
judecares1:
Please my dear people,let's protest holding Nigeria flag no matter how small it may look like or try and sing the national anthem whenever you see uniform people,they can't shoot you

#EndSARS

Bro you are absolutely on point. Holding the national flag while protesting peacefully will make the soldiers only serve as escort. Except they are hell bent on genocide.

Re: Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by IduNaOba: 1:50pm On Oct 18, 2020
MNK is patiently waiting for this one.
A lot of southern youths dey wait
IPOB dey wait
Re: Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by samunaka: 2:13pm On Oct 18, 2020
There is no need to deploy the military, the government should just squeeze those rebellious governors that are supplying them with resources to a tight corner, once the refreshments stop coming in every one will start for his father's house
Re: Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by sammysmiles(m): 2:14pm On Oct 18, 2020
Is he not part of the government,,,, which government is he warning against
Re: Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by majemuoluwa28869: 3:08pm On Oct 18, 2020
Just laughing at the federal government, they will soon realise what they have done to themselves
Re: Clamping Down On Protesters With Soldiers Will Turn #endsars Into #endnigeria by Abasman008(m): 3:17pm On Oct 18, 2020
IduNaOba:
MNK is patiently waiting for this one.
A lot of southern youths dey wait
IPOB dey wait
yeah ipob, but not members of the Online Republic of BIafra led by nnamdi kanu

Kaduna Covid 19 Palliative Warehouse Bursted / Kemi Olunloyo Proudly Repping The South West / Prayers And Worship Conducted For Chief Sunday Igboho