Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army - Politics (2) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Politics › Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army (3541 Views)
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by theFilmtric: 12:53pm On Feb 01, 2021 |
nairalandankrah: ![]() theFilmtricsay |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by theFilmtric: 12:57pm On Feb 01, 2021 |
thebosstrevor1:you seem like a buharist theFilmtricsay |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by hater34: 1:11pm On Feb 01, 2021 |
Dedetwo:Look at this half cast Jews from know where claiming northerners are not smart, northerners are not smart and we always lead you and think 10 steps ahead of the so called Igbo who think they are the best thing that happen after slice bread and butter. Northerners no smart but all una Governors and leaders dey seek our validation on every issues. Better no let hatred for northerners stop you from growing.. |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by Dedetwo(m): 1:23pm On Feb 01, 2021 |
hater34:The bolded buttressed my point. I never wrote the northerners were not smart. However I shall reiterate based on western civilization at time in discuss, northerners were not as smart as Igbo or Yoruba. Northern region of Nigeria never had a trained medical doctor until 1940. It was fear of Igbo dominance of Nigerian military officers cadre that forced the government led by Prime Minister Tafawa Balewa to introduce nepotism into Nigerian armed forces which claimed his life. You wrote like a deluded ninny. Which governor seeks validation from northern region on every issue? By the way, I am neither a half cast nor a Jew. |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by Nobody: 1:29pm On Feb 01, 2021 |
Dedetwo:Continue hyping yourself. Where are the biafran nation, dead and gone Where are your fellow biafrans...in the nation called Nigeria. How come you guys keep blaming northern army generals for everything wrong in the war. If the Northerners weren't smart, the war would have been won by biafra but here you are in Nigeria claiming smart. |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by Dedetwo(m): 1:34pm On Feb 01, 2021 |
thebosstrevor1:Even the colonialists and bounty hunters that helped Nigeria during the war have reiterated the fact that northern region of Nigeria would have zero chance of wining an inch of restate in eastern region without external and internal help. |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by Poloyanabo2(m): 1:36pm On Feb 01, 2021 |
thebosstrevor1:You're absolutely right on this, and even till today the southern politicians are still not helping matters, Can you imagine my community king that was an Air Commodore but couldn't help me enlist in the Airforce, I can see many ignorant comments by southerners on this thread, they're yet to learn. If you're not ready to die don't join the military and also don't cry injustice when Northerners occupy all positions in the military. |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by hater34: 1:42pm On Feb 01, 2021 |
Dedetwo:Ur lord and saviour namadi KANU, who was spreading hate against the northerners, after realizing that northerners and half cast Jews from the republic of potopoto are not mate, he quickly made a u turn saying he is not against northerners but Fulani. As far Igbo exit in Nigeria, second class citizen is your calling... |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by OnlyDeCapPlease(m): 2:22pm On Feb 01, 2021 |
thebosstrevor1:Hausa soldiers have always been more in the army right from colonial times. The British saw them as "warrior tribe" and they always showed extreme loyalty and extreme brutality in the field. Without the use of the Hausa soldier the British conquest of Nigeria would have been almost impossible. Here's an excerpt from somewhere - In British colonial Nigeria, the military was more heterogeneous than previously thought and British ideas about “martial races” changed depending on local reactions to recruiting. In the early twentieth century British officers saw the northern Hausa and southwestern Yoruba, who dominated the ranks, as civilized “martial races.” The Yoruba stopped enlisting given new prospects and protest, and southeasterners like the Igbo rejected recruiting given language difficulties and resistance. The British then perceived all southern Nigerians as lacking martial qualities. Although Hausa enlistment also declined with opportunities and religious objections, the inter-war army developed a northern ethos through Hausa language and the northern location of military institutions. The rank-and-file became increasingly diverse including northern and Middle Belt minorities, seen by the British as primitive warriors and as insurance against Muslim revolt, enlisting because of poverty. From 1930, military identities in Nigeria polarized with uneducated northern/Middle Belt infantry and literate southern technicians. Some more facts/history - Royal West African Frontier Force The decision to raise this force was taken in 1897 because of British concern at French colonial expansion in territories bordering on Northern Nigeria. The first troops were from that area and thought of by the British as "Hausas" - to the end of colonial rule, the Hausa language was a lingua franca in a very multi-tribal force, especially in Nigeria. On formation in 1900, the RWAFF comprised: Gold Coast Regiment – 1 battalion infantry and 1 battery mountain artillery Northern Nigeria Regiment – 3 battalions infantry (including 1 mounted) Southern Nigeria Regiment – 2 battalions infantry and 2 batteries mountain artillery. **Half of the Southern Nigeria Regiment (1 whole battalion) was made up of the the "Hausa Force" or Lagos battalion. Sierra Leone Battalion – 1 battalion The Gambia Company – 1 company **Therefore in effect 4 whole battalions (half) of the RWAFF was made up of "Hausa" or Northern soldiers. On 1 January 1914 the Southern Nigeria Regiment's two battalions were merged with those of the Northern Nigeria Regiment to become simply the Nigeria Regiment. The RWAFF was finally disbanded in 1960 as the British colonies of Nigeria, Sierra Leone and The Gambia moved towards independence. The former RWAFF units formed the basis of the new national armies of their respective states. **In conclusion, 80% of the Nigerian Regiment that formed the basis of the Nigerian army after independence was "Northerners". The purpose of subjugation of southern tribes and territory has been ingrained in their DNA for over a century. |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by Dedetwo(m): 2:40pm On Feb 01, 2021 |
hater34:I hate when people write like fools and more so in disguise. You do not worth a response if you could not write as who you are. An Ijo has no place in Nigeria to brand Igbo. Nobody in Nigeria will even dream of branding Igbo anything in the shithole called Nigeria. Igbo had staked its mark in Nigeria which attracts jealousy, hatred and fear. By the time Ndigbo is done with Nigeria, the jackasses such as you would have been cast off. |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by Dedetwo(m): 2:52pm On Feb 01, 2021 |
thebosstrevor1:Are you a kid? Which of the northern general has been blamed for anything wrong during the war? One of northerners who commanded a division of Nigerian army during the war was a joker and terrible military commander who should not have been allowed to command a boys company. Northern region should thank Yoruba, certain minorities from southern region, British, Cameroon, USSR, China, Egypt, Republic of Niger, Chad, Dahomey, Republic of South Africa, Arab League of Nations and Australia. Whenever you see any person from the above mentioned entities, please thank the person plentifully. You would have had a slow death with Houseflies in your mouth. |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by Nobody: 3:16pm On Feb 01, 2021 |
Dedetwo:Pack of lies. Why didn't the biafrans try to foster partnerships with other nations? The same france,china you mentioned were supporting you, isreal also. Where is biafra today? Gone like the wind, they were defeated by nigerian troops. Stop thinking about the past, you can't change it, you were defeated like a conquered nation, here you are in Nigeria. |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by tutudesz: 6:24pm On Feb 01, 2021 |
Dedetwo:Bendel State quota then was 10 and every other state were 10. The same system still apply. Most Southerners cadets hardly finish, due to dismissal, health and etc. |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by COVIK19: 9:12pm On Feb 13, 2021 |
thebosstrevor1:You’re a fool I can’t believe what you posted on the post about Mr Macroni’s arrest, he’s a human first before a Nigerian Citizen just like you. |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by Nobody: 9:14pm On Feb 13, 2021 |
COVIK19: |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by Nobody: 9:19pm On Feb 13, 2021 |
nairalandankrah:How? When alot of out cry on Nairaland is that Southern officer and Christians are the one posted to get killed by bokoharam? What the op wrote is the truth. Infact you need read General Olusegun's biography. He joined the military not out of desire but nessecity due to being less privileged to be able to further his formal education. |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by capitalzero: 9:19pm On Feb 13, 2021 |
thebosstrevor1:He is telling the truth . Nigeria got independent in 1960 but security agents and leaders are yet to be independent from colonial mentality. |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by capitalzero: 9:22pm On Feb 13, 2021 |
thebosstrevor1:Biafra was defeated yes. It happens in every war. Loser and winner. But how is Nigeria faring since war? Hope you are enjoying it. |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by Nobody: 9:23pm On Feb 13, 2021 |
capitalzero:Yes, i am enjoying Nigeria everyday of my life. Nigeria is the only place i know that is home to me. |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by capitalzero: 9:26pm On Feb 13, 2021 |
hater34:First class citizen, hope you are faring better than second class citizens |
| Re: Why There Are Many Northerners In The Nigerian Army by capitalzero: 9:36pm On Feb 13, 2021 |
Glorious era of Nigeria army has gone. Most southern youths would not join army as recruits but as officers. It is lack of jobs that make some of them join army. Most youths from south are interested in making money. Nigeria army is not longer potent like before. Nigeria army of northern extraction( excluding middle belt) cannot defeat armed militia from south. Middle belt people are wise now. Gowon and his people were fooled now. Era of one north, one people and one God has gone, thanks to Jihadists. |
Peter Obi Caps Are Trending In The North, With Many Northerners Embracing It • Many Northerners Comment On Peter Obi's Facebook Post • Video Of Nnamdi Kanu Supporting One Nigeria And Northerners In 2012 • 2 • 3 • 4
BREAKING: Sad, …black Sunday!!! Buhari Mourns ! • Tesla To Mine Nigerian Lithium. Buhari Says They MUST Build Battery Factory 1st. • Northeners blasting Tinubu on their Facebook pages