Stats: 3,330,027 members, 8,443,552 topics. Date: Sunday, 12 July 2026 at 01:21 AM

Vergovert's Posts

Nairaland ForumVergovert's ProfileVergovert's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 20 pages)

PoliticsRe: Ooni Alaafin Tussle: "Okanlomo Of Yoruba Land" title Finally Withdrawn by Vergovert: 10:48pm On Aug 22, 2025
Biodun556:
It is the same
It is not the same!

Stop corrupting the history!

I have been to both locations.
PoliticsRe: Ooni Alaafin Tussle: "Okanlomo Of Yoruba Land" title Finally Withdrawn by Vergovert: 10:45pm On Aug 22, 2025
Biodun556:
Who gave Soun the crown?

Ogbomosho was a town under Oyo
Yes the Original Alaafin from Oyo Ile, not the make shift Oloyo (alaafin atiba).
PoliticsRe: Ooni Alaafin Tussle: "Okanlomo Of Yoruba Land" title Finally Withdrawn by Vergovert: 10:43pm On Aug 22, 2025
seunmsg:
Exactly my point. Oyo empire just like British empire is dead. Britain can’t appoint governors and rulers over Nigeria or America again same way Alaafin at Ago Oja can’t appoint chiefs over Yoruba land again. It’s simple and straightforward.
I suspect the guy is Fulani-yoruba hybrid. He's sympathetic to the Fulani course take over yoruba land.

We know them!
PoliticsRe: Ooni Alaafin Tussle: "Okanlomo Of Yoruba Land" title Finally Withdrawn by Vergovert: 10:40pm On Aug 22, 2025
I suspect the guy is Fulani-yoruba hybrid. He's sympathetic to the Fulani course take over yoruba land.

We know them!
PoliticsRe: Ooni Alaafin Tussle: "Okanlomo Of Yoruba Land" title Finally Withdrawn by Vergovert: 10:37pm On Aug 22, 2025
Normal normal, the Alaafin kingdom is dead as the original Oyo at Oyo Ile was overrun and sacked by the fulanis.

It was the Soun of Ogbomoso who allocated the present Oyo Atiba to alaafin.

So in other words, Soun is even greater than the glorified alaafin no to mention the Almighty Ooni.
PoliticsRe: Ooni Alaafin Tussle: "Okanlomo Of Yoruba Land" title Finally Withdrawn by Vergovert: 10:30pm On Aug 22, 2025
Biodun556:
Ooni was never a title for a king in Ile ife
Dey play! you hear!

Olu was the title that was later renamed as Oonirisa. Same thing happened to Oloyo title that was changed to Alaafin.

Obatala is the Olu-Iwa.

That is why Yoruba refer themselves as omo- olu- iwa- bi. Omol'uabi.

Abi you don hear omo alafin before?
PoliticsRe: Ooni Alaafin Tussle: "Okanlomo Of Yoruba Land" title Finally Withdrawn by Vergovert: 10:19pm On Aug 22, 2025
Ife is the primary source of Yoruba people.
How can the secondary claim superiority over its source?

Besides, Oonirisa is the co-chairman of traditional ruler in the country and the chairman of the southern traditional rulers.

Oba of Benin is greater than Oloyo, the glorified alaafin.
PoliticsRe: Ooni Alaafin Tussle: "Okanlomo Of Yoruba Land" title Finally Withdrawn by Vergovert: 10:17pm On Aug 22, 2025
Biodun556:
A chief is an Oba or Baale , a traditional title holder is not necessarily a traditional Chief. The man in question is a business man and a politician
Oonirisha is not a king but an Orisa.

Oloyo renamed as alaafin is referred to igbakeji orisa. Second to Ooni.

Ooni sit is for Obatala and Alaafin sit is for Sango.

Obatala is the Father of all orisas everywhere.
PoliticsRe: Ooni Alaafin Tussle: "Okanlomo Of Yoruba Land" title Finally Withdrawn by Vergovert: 10:12pm On Aug 22, 2025
Biodun556:
If Britain is not the same British empire why are former colonies doing common wealth and British monarch still the head of state of the common wealth?

Oyo had many military out post, it was not only ibadan. Owu, Ede, Ijaiye, ilorin etc were all Oyo military outpost.

Ibadan comprises of all Yoruba subgroup and many of them were from Oyo.

Ibadan has no ancestor, a royal family or progenitor like other Yoruba subgroup
Stop clowning dude!

The only recognized oyo empire was the Oyo ile which had been sacked by the fulanis.
The new oyo atiba land belongs to Ogbomoso.

Your alaafin has no land to start with.
Foreign AffairsRe: Cameroon Court Rejects Bid To Block Biya From Re-election by Vergovert: 10:00pm On Aug 22, 2025
This one na sit tight life president now.

Imagine aiming for another term at 92 and fighting to die in office.

I am sure he has the backings of their colonial masters and of course, the family.
Especially the first lady and her sons enjoying the privileges that comes with the position.

Yaradua wife and Akeredolu wife are perfect example.
CrimeRe: Man Kills Self In Imo Over Hardship, Family Neglect by Vergovert: 9:57pm On Aug 22, 2025
VinnyBaba:
Pls where did Igbos ever claim that all of them are Billionaires in the SE? huh

Make una try Get SENSE nah.🙏😕
Go ask A. I now.

We are developed the world.
Money na water.
I can feed your family for eternity.
My container dey for sea.
We are the richest people in the country.
No "ebi n pawa" in the east.
No beggars in the east.

All these words are from your people.
CrimeRe: Man Kills Self In Imo Over Hardship, Family Neglect by Vergovert: 9:45pm On Aug 22, 2025
Fake news peddlers at it again!

The general public should disregard the news.

Everybody is either a multi millionaire or billionaire in the East.

Money na water for those people.
PoliticsRe: Isese Day: Sanwo-Olu Declares August 20 Public Holiday For Lagos Public Servants by Vergovert: 8:22pm On Aug 18, 2025
Isese l'agba!

Isese l'adayeba.

Adayeba l'adaye se.

August 20 is the recognized Isese day across western Nigeria.

Isese agbewa o!
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Chelsea Vs Crystal Palace (0 - 0) On 17th August 2025 by Vergovert: 2:36pm On Aug 17, 2025
I remember this favorite score line :

Che 1 : 2 Cry.

Chelsea wants to cry 😭😭😭
PoliticsRe: Omoluabi Group Alleges Plot To Assassinate Ex-minister, Rauf Aregbesola by Vergovert: 2:32pm On Aug 17, 2025
Making mountain out of molehill!

Baba hafusa hafu-salary is running from phantom ghost chasing him about.

Someone of little political value dey overrate himself as if Dem get him time.
CrimeRe: 48-year-old Nigerian Arrested For Narcotics Possession In Liberia by Vergovert: 7:05am On Aug 17, 2025
These people and dusting powder eh?!

They're all dusting powder peddling agents pretending to be business men.

Set awon elelubo united.
PoliticsRe: APC's Adesola Elegbeji Wins Remo Election In Ogun State. by Vergovert: 7:00am On Aug 17, 2025
APC top to bottom!

Up BATtalions!

Up democracy!

Up Nigeria!
Foreign AffairsRe: Photos From Putin & Trump Meeting In Alaska by Vergovert: 8:19am On Aug 16, 2025
Without war, their is no true peace.

Wars keep people in check and put them in their deserved places.

Peace and war go hand in hand like stick and carrot.
Foreign AffairsRe: At Least 227 Die In Floods In Pakistan (photos) by Vergovert: 8:21pm On Aug 15, 2025
Acts of God!

May their souls rest in peace.

#prayforpakistan

embarassed
PoliticsRe: Court Orders INEC Prof Mahmood To Upload Labour Party Candidates In Bye-election by Vergovert: 5:36pm On Aug 15, 2025
Confusion

Corruption

Collusion

Cooperation

Condition

Commission

Naija brand of politics for you!
PoliticsRe: Tambuwal Gets Hero's Welcome In Sokoto After EFCC Interrogation by Vergovert: 4:32pm On Aug 15, 2025
"We young Africans we get two head, dem get two eyes too.... Yeah

Dem dey see the thing wey dey happen, dem dey hear am too... Yeah.

Few people dey fat with big money and the rest dey hungry... Yeah". Fela(1970).

The young Africans of yesterday are now adults of today emulating the corruption perpetuated by yesterday's adults.

Baba Fela was right after all.
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: PSG Vs Tottenham Hotspur: UEFA Super Cup (4 - 3) pens On 13th August 2025 by Vergovert: 10:15pm On Aug 13, 2025
I'm only happy for Dembele.

World best don sure!
CrimeRe: Governor Bago Lauds Tinubu On Arrest Of Mahmuda Terror Group's Leader by Vergovert:
Good news like this one won't trend.

They would say the government is just doing their jobs.

But any news related to insecurity spread like wildfire and will grace the headlines and front page of every news peddlers and bloggers.
PhonesRe: 9mobile Rebrands As T2 by Vergovert: 12:39am On Aug 09, 2025
delugadou:
Don't be surprised to find out your president just bought the company. Look at the similar logo
You're on point!

The T and the infinity ♾️ logo gave him out.
PoliticsRe: Obi Will Betray Nigeria The Same Way He Did To Ojukwu, APGA – Josef Onoh by Vergovert: 8:28am On Aug 06, 2025
He refused to stand by his words because he is so desperate to become the president.

Lamba nanu is a gbajue packaged fraud.
PoliticsRe: Global Recognition: The Igbo Name In The Heart Of China by Vergovert: 9:41am On Aug 01, 2025
Shawarmagirl:
Since na you get the certificate of ownership, why have you not collected my dad two buildings for over 25 years now? Keep deceiving yourself.
The tenure on your certificate has not expired.

Are you even sure you have the original certificate? Did you read it's content?
PoliticsRe: Global Recognition: The Igbo Name In The Heart Of China by Vergovert: 10:44pm On Jul 31, 2025
Shawarmagirl:
And you are selling your ancestral heritage to the Igbos because of hunger? They will build houses you become tenants in your own ancestral heritage grin grin grin grin
Certificate of occupancy is not the same as the certificate of ownership.

In case you don't know.
PoliticsRe: Global Recognition: The Igbo Name In The Heart Of China by Vergovert: 9:42pm On Jul 30, 2025
Shawarmagirl:
Is Lagos your father's property? All Nigerians are free to do business anywhere. You are free to do business in Lagos and in South East.
Yes o!

Lagos na our ancestral heritage, it's our property.

E no concern us if you don't have one.

We are not responsible for your bad luck.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 20 pages)