Stats: 3,194,770 members, 7,955,929 topics. Date: Sunday, 22 September 2024 at 06:55 PM

It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys - Health - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys (11680 Views)

10 Common Bad Habits That Cause Kidney Failure/damage / Nigerians Tricked Into Selling Kidneys In Indian Hospitals Share Horrible Tales / Natural Way To Clean Your Kidneys N Prevent Future Damages (2) (3) (4)

It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by aidainc(f): 11:51am On Mar 14, 2013
March 14, 2013 marks the ‘World Kidney Day’. The theme for this year is “STOP Kidney Attack! Protect your kidneys, find out how”

The Kidney is a very essential body organ because of the numerous roles it plays. Each kidney is roughly the size of a human fist.

The main job of your kidneys is to remove toxins and excess water from our blood. Kidneys also help to control our blood pressure, to produce red blood cells and to keep our bones healthy.

Your kidneys control blood stream levels of many minerals and molecules including sodium and potassium, and help to control blood acidity. Every day your kidneys carefully control the salt and water in your body so that your blood pressure remains the same.

Did you know?
Your Kidneys:
• Make urine
• Remove wastes and extra fluid from your blood
• Control your body's chemical balance
• Help control your blood pressure
• Help keep your bones healthy
• Help you make red blood cells

EARLY DETECTION & SCREENING
Know that kidney diseases are harmful and common but it also treatable. The key to survival is early detection and regular screening.

GET TESTED
Get your blood and urine tested.
Your blood is tested to measure creatinine content and estimate GFR (Glomerular Filter Rate) and your urine is tested to measure creatinine and albumin excretion.

YOU SHOULD BE SCREENED:
- If you have been diagnosed with Diabetes Mellitus or Hypertension
- If you are obese
- If you smoke
- If you are 50 years of age and above
- If you have a family history of Kidney Disease, Diabetes Mellitus or Hypertension

Ignorance isn't bliss! Be aware, check your kidneys!!

There would be FREE KIDNEY SCREENING at the Freedom Park, Lagos Island, Lagos, Nigeria.

Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by vb0mb(m): 4:41pm On Mar 14, 2013
How can the kidney be protected?
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by yorke1: 5:33pm On Mar 14, 2013
Good info. Oh my God! 2nd to comment. Hurry!!!!
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by 50calibre(m): 5:34pm On Mar 14, 2013
Also stop injesting harmful toxins like smoke and alchohol into your system.
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by gsmcoder: 5:34pm On Mar 14, 2013
vb0mb: How can the kidney be protected?

Drink much cranberry juice. Abstain from "C0itus". grin grin grin grin
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by yuzedo: 5:34pm On Mar 14, 2013
Huh? Kid knee?? undecided What concern knee of goat pikin in nairaland?? angry
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by GJames(m): 5:36pm On Mar 14, 2013
By locking it with tokoz padlock

Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by Burger01(m): 5:37pm On Mar 14, 2013
Abeg, if I need spare kideney where I fit get am?..
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by idinc(m): 5:38pm On Mar 14, 2013
u knw it's got the shape of a bean,so eat beans regularly 2 keep it in shape grin
u knw it's got the shape of a bean,so eat beans regularly 2 keep it in shape

Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by Nobody: 5:38pm On Mar 14, 2013
world kidney day
world sleep day
world death day, maybe? undecided undecided undecided
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by Burger01(m): 5:39pm On Mar 14, 2013
::gsmcoder:::

Drink much cranberry juice. Abstain from "C0itus". grin grin grin grin
Kai!!!
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by YorubaOmoge: 5:40pm On Mar 14, 2013
ItsModella: world kidney day
world sleep day

If the world does not have a "Fuc.ki.ng/Se x day", then it's about damn time.

Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by Godjone(m): 5:41pm On Mar 14, 2013
na dis same kidney our frustrated, demental, ignorant 9ja guys dey carry go sell 4 malaysia, dubai, europe and spain becos of quick riches. Finaly, it has now become a curse to be poor in Nigeria. What a wasted generation.
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by IYANGBALI: 5:43pm On Mar 14, 2013
ItsModella: world kidney day
world sleep day
when are we going to have world prik day and world toto days
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by adexsimply(m): 5:48pm On Mar 14, 2013
dont 4get to donate your kidney(s)
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by Nobody: 5:50pm On Mar 14, 2013
Plz Don't ask me when I'm getn married, when it's time, my oga at d top will alert me,I can't fix my own date and my oga @d top will say another tin

Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by Regiblinkz(m): 5:50pm On Mar 14, 2013
And I just sold my kidney..*sobbing*
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by naijathings(m): 5:50pm On Mar 14, 2013
people wey go travel go yankee go sell them kidney and later come back to buy
jeep so people go think say dem don hammer still dey sha
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by adexsimply(m): 5:50pm On Mar 14, 2013
IYA NGBALI: when are we going to have world prik day and world toto days
and world FREAKS day 4 ppl lyk u grin grin grin
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by IYANGBALI: 5:53pm On Mar 14, 2013
adexsimply: and world FREAKS day 4 ppl lyk u grin grin grin
yes now
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by adexsimply(m): 5:56pm On Mar 14, 2013
IYA NGBALI: yes now
grin grin grin grin grin grin
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by zolajpower: 6:01pm On Mar 14, 2013
where at freedom park please?
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by Maxymilliano(m): 6:02pm On Mar 14, 2013
Alcohol and Cigarette?... Thinking seriously. angry
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by vanstanzy(m): 6:05pm On Mar 14, 2013
I know its World Kidney day, but am not allowed 2 comment without permissn from my oga at d top.
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by vanstanzy(m): 6:09pm On Mar 14, 2013
IYA NGBALI: when are we going to have world prik day and world toto days

And maybe one day we'll have World Oga@the top day.
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by pure123: 6:11pm On Mar 14, 2013
I't's world kidney day-Donate your kidney!!!!
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by gen2briz(m): 6:11pm On Mar 14, 2013
I don't want to say anything now and my Oga on top will something different
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by vanstanzy(m): 6:13pm On Mar 14, 2013
yorke1: Good info. Oh my God! 2nd to comment. Hurry!!!!

Hurry? Why? What for?
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by OkikiOluwa1(m): 6:17pm On Mar 14, 2013
Oda. I protect my kidney with the blood of Jesus.
Any power...

Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by dridowu: 6:20pm On Mar 14, 2013
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by DJDOLA(m): 6:23pm On Mar 14, 2013
THANK GOD POOR MAN KIDNEY NO DEY SPOIL
Re: It’s World Kidney Day: Protect Your Kidneys by Nobody: 6:24pm On Mar 14, 2013
world sleep day!
world heart day!
world malaria day!
now it is world kidney day

Advise needed - D&C / The Nature Healing Power Of Living Water and The Bio Disc / Why Do People Yawn At The Same Time