Stats: 3,152,210 members, 7,815,223 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 09:17 AM

I Am An Ibo Boy, Not Igbo Boy - Culture - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / I Am An Ibo Boy, Not Igbo Boy (1162 Views)

Why Did Yoruba Culture Survive In Latin America And Not Igbo Or Others / I Am Not Igbo, I Am Ikwerre! / An Ibo Woman Married To A Yoruba Man? (2) (3) (4)

I Am An Ibo Boy, Not Igbo Boy by webpro(m): 9:37am On Apr 25, 2013
please correct me if am wrong, but some time ago i was told we are to be addressed as Ibo people not Igbo people. Ibo is our tribe like Nupe people or Tiv people or Idoma people, and our language is Igbo.

so its like this. Do you speak Igbo? not Do you speak Ibo? cheesy

I am an Ibo boy, not Igbo Boy
Re: I Am An Ibo Boy, Not Igbo Boy by Acidosis(m): 10:00am On Apr 25, 2013
Lol!
Re: I Am An Ibo Boy, Not Igbo Boy by dominique(f): 4:07pm On Apr 25, 2013
I'm also confused about this ibo vs igbo wahala. My Igbo friends call themselves ibo but igbos here on nl making it look like an insult. Why should you fee so offended if someone refers to yuu by your tribe not language. Someone clear the air pls.
Re: I Am An Ibo Boy, Not Igbo Boy by Afam4eva(m): 8:59am On Jun 13, 2013
webpro: please correct me if am wrong, but some time ago i was told we are to be addressed as Ibo people not Igbo people. Ibo is our tribe like Nupe people or Tiv people or Idoma people, and our language is Igbo.

The fact that something has gone unchecked doesn't make it right. It's cooler for youths to refer to themselves as Ibo boy or girl but that's an adulteration of Igbo. Igbo is the correct term for the people and the langage spoken. No such thing is Ibo.

Re: I Am An Ibo Boy, Not Igbo Boy by Afam4eva(m): 9:00am On Jun 13, 2013
dominique: I'm also confused about this ibo vs igbo wahala. My Igbo friends call themselves ibo but igbos here on nl making it look like an insult. Why should you fee so offended if someone refers to yuu by your tribe not language. Someone clear the air pls.
I also used to call myself Ibo until i learned the right thing to do. Those your friends are just ignorant(no pun) just like i was . They don't know any better.
Re: I Am An Ibo Boy, Not Igbo Boy by afroxyz: 10:49am On Jun 13, 2013
Its igbo not ibo. The latter was spelt as it is pronounced in english. The former is spelt as it is pronounced in Igbo language. Even your WAEC spells it correctly. Haba
Re: I Am An Ibo Boy, Not Igbo Boy by Antivirus92(m): 2:15pm On Jun 13, 2013
webpro: please correct me if am wrong, but some time ago i was told we are to be addressed as Ibo people not Igbo people. Ibo is our tribe like Nupe people or Tiv people or Idoma people, and our language is Igbo.

do those nupe,tiv or idoma refer to themselves as nuye,tif,idoha just like u are ibo and speak igbo

Facts You Don't Know About IBADAN / A Biological Basis For The Public Black Women Wilding Videos? / How Do You Call A White Man?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 11