Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,154,238 members, 7,822,225 topics. Date: Thursday, 09 May 2024 at 08:40 AM

Modern Islam - Islam for Muslims - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Islam for Muslims / Modern Islam (605 Views)

Three Important Principles In The Modern Hijrah / The 'Burying' Of Muslim Women in the Modern World / Muslim Inventions That Shaped The Modern World (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

Modern Islam by Kattylone(f): 9:49pm On May 20, 2013
I understand there's nothing like the above, I'm at cross roads..
Lemme start with this, I LOVE fashion, I'm not LV,DOLCE,armani crazy, I'm the kind of person that loves design, I love making my own stuff, my own clothes, my own Fashion(altho I'm still learning how to sew), I'm the backpack, videogames kinda girl..
Anyways, the thing is I want to change my trend, BE more islamic. Muslimah..
But I'm caught between the new islamic fashion trend (I don't mean the tiny pashmina wrapping on tight jeans, I mean the long skirts, long sleeves kinda thing) and the newest Al Hikmah university trend(I mean the bright colour long hijabs with shirt sleeves and embroidery)..
So what's your take??
Re: Modern Islam by maclatunji: 11:59pm On May 20, 2013
^What may be termed 'devout Muslims' are not and cannot all be the same. There is a wide room for self-expression within what is allowed within Islam. Hence, I think you should be encouraged to express your 'individuality' within the confines of Islam.

Thank you.
Re: Modern Islam by bntY: 8:02am On May 22, 2013