Stats: 3,152,554 members, 7,816,344 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 09:51 AM

Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles - Politics (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles (23547 Views)

Cameroon Launches First Air Strikes On Boko Haram / Nigeria Launches National Electronic ID Cards / Jonathan Launches First Nigerian-Built Drone (2) (3) (4)

Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by adconline(m): 12:17pm On Jun 18, 2013
They should have made bicycle or tricycle since motorcycles are banned almost everywhere in Naija.

Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by gbishman: 12:24pm On Jun 18, 2013
but there is a ban of the product, its a good development but it just happens to be coming on a very late time.
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by solomon111(m): 12:24pm On Jun 18, 2013
adconline: They should have made bicycle or tricycle since motorcycles are banned almost everywhere in Naija.
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by solomon111(m): 12:25pm On Jun 18, 2013
adconline: They should have made bicycle or tricycle since motorcycles are banned almost everywhere in Naija.
I believe they can always export to neighbouring countries.

Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by solomon111(m): 12:33pm On Jun 18, 2013
slim fit :
It's a terrible idea this just ridiculous. Scientists invent stuffs because it's necessary not because somebody has already done it. These Nigerian scientists don't even know what science is all about at all.
This your statement is very shameful and faulty.
Don't utter it in public next time.
China's economic boom came from the duplication of existing technology at cheaper costs.
How can you develop advanced unavailable technology when you have not even learnt the basic ones?
In Engineering and technology,you have to learn to walk before you can run.

Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by holums(m): 12:37pm On Jun 18, 2013
It's high time we black people should start thinking of doing something creative......let's encourage ourselves 4 once.....they are starting from somewhere and I hope we will get there......soon we will become one of d most industrialized nations in d world

Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by fabrista(m): 12:43pm On Jun 18, 2013
assemblying is different frm manufacturing

Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by Novice1(m): 12:48pm On Jun 18, 2013
life_style: when motorcycle is been banned every where..

+ this looks like a lady's machine undecided

Looks like a glorified bicycle.
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by pekelepekele(m): 12:53pm On Jun 18, 2013
Mee234:
No bi small achievement dis 2013 wen that small boy for Korea they launch space rocket and they build nuclear plant

Yes i tire oo grin
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by Nobody: 12:56pm On Jun 18, 2013
Them never produce before? What of motor.
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by obyrich(m): 1:20pm On Jun 18, 2013
abu12:

I don't no why it is always Aba or Nnewi and I don't no why their product is not generally accepted within nigeria, instead we prefer china made [size=14pt]why [/size]
Because you buy name and not quality, they label their products 'made in China' to appease your prejudiced mind towards goods made in NIGERIA!
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by longjon: 1:23pm On Jun 18, 2013
We really need to start looking beyond our immediate circumstances.
Motorcycles may have been banned in a number of states but there is no reason why they should not be produced for the export market. The march to industrialization starts when needs are being met on a very large scale. I believe most of the west African capital territories have witnessed an unprecedented influx of these metal two wheeled means of locomotion. Notably : jincheng, lifan, Zhongshan , etc.. Who's to say that the new Nigerian brand will not give the Asian brands a run for their money. The odds of proximity are in our favour. All that is needed is the president to lean on some of his ecowas contemporaries. The rest is history. I foresee Nigeria becoming the largest exporter of motorcycles in Africa.

Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by Nobody: 1:30pm On Jun 18, 2013
longjon: We really need to start looking beyond our immediate circumstances.
Motorcycles may have been banned in a number of states but there is no reason why they should not be produced for the export market. The march to industrialization starts when needs are being met on a very large scale. I believe most of the west African capital territories have witnessed an unprecedented influx of these metal two wheeled means of locomotion. Notably : jincheng, lifan, Zhongshan , etc.. Who's to say that the new Nigerian brand will not give the Asian brands a run for their money. The odds of proximity are in our favour. All that is needed is the president to lean on some of his ecowas contemporaries. The rest is history. I foresee Nigeria becoming the largest exporter of motorcycles in Africa.
export market,have you seen the ones made by other countries
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by victorv12(m): 2:01pm On Jun 18, 2013
When are we going to start inventing technology that can't compete with that of some advanced countries? e.g building a rocket that can travel to Jupiter or a super sonic beam that can't be fired from Nigeria to Kenya for example! Or a device that can teleport someone to anywhere... the only things we know how to invent is always towards poverty alleviation. "MOTORCYCLE"!! The funny thing about the Motorcycle the guy assembled, the bike won't have a brain box!! It's unfortunate what our leaders did to us. They didn't give us the environment to be creative. Motorcycle!!!
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by Rossikk(m): 2:04pm On Jun 18, 2013
ITbomb:
Wake me up when we have the first 'Made in Nigeria' engine.
They should wake you up. What is stopping YOU from being part of the movement towards that? Mr Wake me up.
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by Keacee(m): 2:04pm On Jun 18, 2013
Nice job but?.... shocked
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by Rossikk(m): 2:06pm On Jun 18, 2013
Mee234:
No bi small achievement dis 2013 wen that small boy for Korea they launch space rocket and they build nuclear plant
While you were dozing in your room.
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by Rossikk(m): 2:10pm On Jun 18, 2013
Natasha,,:
Really Just look at the bicycle mtcheww.
Have you built even a toy toothpick in your life? What are you good at apart from craving the latest phone and lying on your back for the highest bidder, tell us?
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by Rossikk(m): 2:16pm On Jun 18, 2013
fabrista: assemblying is different from manufacturing
Here we go again. How do you know what process took place to create the machine? Were you there? Ignorant creep.
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by Greatken007(m): 2:18pm On Jun 18, 2013
THAT STUFF THAT WAS JUST PRODUCED IS UNSAFE TO OUR ROADS,GOVERNORS ARE BANNING BIKES AND SOME ARE CREATING MORE,WHAT WILL BE THE PURCHASING POWER OF THAT STUFF?
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by ITbomb(m): 2:23pm On Jun 18, 2013
Rossikk: They should wake you up. What is stopping YOU from being part of the movement towards that? Mr Wake me up.
Sir
What is the difference between this contraption and what they have been doing on the roadside assembling bikes since 2005.
This is akin to using Dreamweaver to design a website/page or from template and calling the FG to come and commission it.Design from ground to top and copyright your syntax and we will clap for you. Of course you know we are making strides in the ICT industry which i belong 'now'.
Let the Mechanical engineers catch up with us in the global competition instead of continually embarrassing us with metal works.
Industrialization is not one man building all the components, we need support industries and power. How many tyre plants, leather factory for seat, glass plant, steel plant , even refinery do Nigeria have to support the stage of industrialization others are now.
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by tobyemmanuel(m): 2:45pm On Jun 18, 2013

atleast, they did sumtin. I want u also to show us what u got in in your brain. At least, u should be able to do more than your comment.
Encourage and support them they will do beta. China, india, usa, japan, korea, france etc all started this way. Good job guys

Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by tobyemmanuel(m): 2:45pm On Jun 18, 2013

Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by nijanigga: 2:57pm On Jun 18, 2013
pekelepekele: Year 2013 . Nigeria can now produce a motorcycle . What an achievement cheesy grin
Achievement? get real dude. Can Nigeria feed it's populace?
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by redsun(m): 2:57pm On Jun 18, 2013
bolaino: Well I fail to see the significance of this new development, since most states are gradually putting a ban on motorcycle usage, so I wonder how this helps the poor people it's supposed to help, and the Nigerian government should seek of ways to secure employment for our teeming youths, instead of hoping they would take to riding okada, I love this country, but Nigeria sucks.

Hawks like tinubu started it with the sadistic intention of monopolizing transport business in lagos and its environ.With total disregards to ordinary nigerians livelihood.

Even the socalled union man in edo state has join and in total contrast to comradeship that he claims to uplift.
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by nijanigga: 2:59pm On Jun 18, 2013
Dr. Wise:
Gej has found his bearing! Fresh air till 2019.

Someone would soon tell us that this initiative begun during OBJ's tenure.
Look at this mumu. Nigeria that cannot feed her people.Look at the developed world and tell me anyone of them who can't feed her people. Nigeria like to fool her people by jumping the basics of development.
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by darelar(m): 3:53pm On Jun 18, 2013
At least, they suppose to show us the picture só as to know how it look liké.Nigeria Launches First Locally built Motorcycles[/size][/b]

Nigeria has recorded a feat with the recent launch of a Made in Nigeria motorcycle constructed by the National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure (NASENI).

Speaking at the launching in Anambra State, the Executive Vice Chairman (EVC) of the agency, Dr.Mohammed Haruna, said the made-in-Nigeria motorcycle called “NASENI M1” was proof of the potential capability of the agency to provide necessary engineering and technology infrastructure for Nigeria’s industrial development.

Haruna said that the 80C engine motorcycle was conceived, designed and manufactured using local materials by Nigerian engineers at the National Engineering Design Development Institute (NEDDI), Nnewi , Anambra State -one of the nine Research and Development (R&grin) institutes supervised by NASENI.

The EVC disclosed that the product was basically one of the targets of the Agency in response to President Goodluck Jonathan’s vision 20:2020 economic transformation agenda.

He said, “The Federal Government which the Agency is part of, has promised Nigerians a better socio-economic deal by year 2020 even as Mr President has also committed the government to elevate the economic status of Nigeria to be among the 20 fastest growing economies in the world by 2020.”

He remarked that by NASENI’s reckoning, a country could only be self reliant and economically developed when her citizens begin to exercise and assert their ingenuities in productive capacities or real time manufacturing towards technological advancement of the country.

According to him, “Nigerians must demonstrate real capacities for engineering technology development, and production of manufactured goods and a service, saying that is why NASENI had taken this bold step to demonstrate to Nigerians that Mr.President’s dream is both realizable and is even being realized.”

[size=15pt][b]He called on the federal government to ban the importation of motorcycles as he declared bravely that Nigeria has perfected the technology and manufacturing capacity to mass produce motorcycles in Nnewi, South-East Nigeria.

“About 20 million Nigerians today rely on motorcycles as a means of transport and many unemployed youths and men support their families or earn a living from running motorcycle as a commercial venture. Imagine the large number of jobs that will be created if only Nigeria could close her borders against the importation of motorcycles and allow entrepreneurs to invest in the manufacturing of the parts including production of the motorcycle locally.

“Nigeria, no doubt, has all the materials needed to produce motorcycles in Nigeria, 100 percent. NASENI has both the raw materials survey, their locations, equipment and the critical human capacity, design, feasibility studies and the business plan for running a successful plant to produce motorcycles. What we are waiting for now is for Nigerian entrepreneurs to come forward and take advantage of this profitable investment to manufacture of the motorcycles,”[/b][/size] he stressed.

He reiterated the need for the private sector, especially the Small and Medium Scale Entreprises (SME’s) to collaborate with the agency by buying into the technology and mass producing them, stressing that doing so will not only contribute immensely to the nation’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP), but will also depopulate the growing unemployment market.

“The law establishing NASENI and its institutes does not allow it to embark on full scale manufacturing of products and or become full scale player in the market but for every technology and engineering products developed within the agency system to be ceded to the private sector for commercial purpose or mass production. Its mission includes hitherto establishing and nurturing appropriate dynamic science and engineering infrastructure base for achieving home initiated and home sustained industrialization through the development of relevant processes, capital goods and equipment necessary for job creation, national economic well-being and progress,” he added.

He further said that the primary target of NASENI is to empower SMEs through impartation of technologies, engineering principles and practices for production of equipment that will meet international standards as well as sustenance of a flourishing local capital goods or industry.

In a statement signed by the Chief Information Officer (Media and Protocol), Mr. Segun Ayeoyenikan, it said hitherto, NASENI’s mandate is concerned with activities in the areas of capital goods research, production and reverse engineering of parts with respect to engineering materials (iron, steel, nonferrous metals and alloys, plastics, glass, ceramics, polymer electronics and nanotechnology); industrial and analytical chemical materials including industrial glasses; scientific equipment and components for education, research and industry including measuring instruments, electronic components, communication equipment and computers, solid minerals machinery and other heavy equipment manufacturing.

http://leadership.ng/news/180613/nigeria-launches-first-locally-produced-motorcycle

[/quote]
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by Rossikk(m): 4:17pm On Jun 18, 2013
nijanigga:
Look at this mumu. Nigeria that cannot feed her people.Look at the developed world and tell me anyone of them who can't feed her people. Nigeria like to fool her people by jumping the basics of development.

So when last did you receive food aid from UNICEF and co, since Nigeria ''cannot feed her people''?

Or if you lack food, is there a drought in your village whereby you cannot grow crops, or you expect ''Nigeria'' to come and farm for you there and then ''feed you''?

I blame free internet access.

Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by Ikengawo: 4:32pm On Jun 18, 2013
Rossikk:

So when last did you receive food aid from UNICEF and co, since Nigeria ''cannot feed her people''?

Or if you lack food, is there a drought in your village whereby you cannot grow crops, or you expect ''Nigeria'' to come and farm for you there and then ''feed you''?

I blame free internet access.

LOL don't mind some of these people.

Anyone saying 'Okada is ban' as a problem is a fool. It's not even ban in half of the states, let alone 1/4 of the cities in Nigeria, so what's your point? If it was ban 100% in Nigeria, do the dutch wear the african hollandis they've make? Is Nigeria the beginning and end of earth?

Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by Toppiano(m): 4:33pm On Jun 18, 2013
Kudos...
But that feat should have taken place before independence!!!

Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by aduhube: 4:54pm On Jun 18, 2013
[quote author=abu12]Lagos ban okada riders(motorcycle and tricycles)

Niger state ban okada(motorcycles)

Kano ban okada riders

Borno ban okada riders

DElta ban okada riders(motorcyclist)

Edo ban okada riders(motorcyclist)

ABUJA ban okada riders(motorcyclist)

While FG set to produce motorcycle[/quo

State governors are not banning okada outrightly, they are only banning them on major highways
Re: Nigeria Launches First Locally-built Motorcycles by tonychristopher: 5:07pm On Jun 18, 2013

Haruna said that the 80C engine motorcycle was conceived, designed and manufactured using local materials by Nigerian engineers at the National Engineering Design Development Institute (NEDDI), Nnewi , Anambra State -one of the nine Research and Development (R&grin) institutes supervised by NASENI.

do thy want to kill these anambra guys, first innoson car,,chinua achebe, chimamamanda adichie, weltech drilling,first in all then orient oil drilling,then emeagwali, then the Anabel Mobile phone, now okada, MOTOBIKE, pls cant other tribes do something intellectually instead of partying every weekend and been corrupt with inepth so called professors in their arm chair critics.

I HATE BEEN A BRAGGARD BUT I AM A PROUD NNEWI SON,A PROUD IGBO MAYBE AN INDIFFERENT NIGERIAN. IF THE ABOKIS CAN DO SOMETHING BETTER WITH THEIR LIVES ... MAYBE GO INTO MECHANIZED AGRICULTURE AND RANCHING THIS CATTLE REARING WONT BE CAUSING US SHAME, LOOK AT THE WEST, BUT THEY ARE CATCHING UP WITH EAST

LONG LIVE NNEWI SOUTH,LONG LIVE ANAMBRA,LONG LIVE IGBO LAND,LONG LIVE ANIOMA THEN LETS WATCH NIGERIAN COOKIES. LOVE YOU ALL BUT LOVE GOD MOST

Osita Chidoka Matriculates At Baze University (Photo) / 2019: Plot To Stop Buhari In Court Uncovered - The Nation / Dr. John Kayode Fayemi Lifts Embargo On Ecobank, Gtbank, Zenith Bank …mdas,

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 84