Stats: 3,153,290 members, 7,818,988 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 09:31 AM

Mobil Track And Field Championship - Sports - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Mobil Track And Field Championship (1959 Views)

Nigeria Vs Mali. African U23 Championship (3 - 2) On 29th November 2015 / Top 5 Siblings Who Are Track And Field Athletes! / Track And Field (2) (3) (4)

Mobil Track And Field Championship by derint(m): 11:54pm On Jul 02, 2008
Anybody with news from this championship as per the 100 meters final and the rest.

Re: Mobil Track And Field Championship by DisGuy: 4:14pm On Jul 03, 2008
i was watching it yesterday on ait, the stadium is empty!
they couldnt even get school kids to go cheer up the athletes so sad!

obinna metu won, fasuba second and durotoye third.

Fasuba is dreaming of Olympics gold when he cant even beat local athletes,
if you cant run sub 10.00 you are coming in last!
Re: Mobil Track And Field Championship by Mustay(m): 4:24pm On Jul 03, 2008
Dis Guy:

i was watching it yesterday on ait, the stadium is empty!
they couldnt even get school kids to go cheer up the athletes so sad!
which kids? Have u forgotten the NUT strike They are meant to start their exams soon.

Dis Guy:

Fasuba is dreaming of Olympics gold when he can't even beat local athletes,
if you can't run sub 10.00 you are coming in last!

If you saw Fasuba's interview, he ststed clearly that he doesn't expect to keep on winning and that he's happy there's 'competition'. The guy says he's stressed after so many meets. Moreover he says he looks forward to the Olympics - to him, qualification is just what matters now at the meet
Re: Mobil Track And Field Championship by Mustay(m): 4:36pm On Jul 03, 2008
[url=http://www.thetidenews.com/article.aspx?qrDate=07/02/2008&qrTitle=Athletics%20meet%20gets%20first%20new%20record%20NNPC/Mobil%20Track%20and%20Field%20meet&qrColumn=BACK%20PAGE]Athletics meet gets first new record NNPC/Mobil Track and Field meet
[/url]

Queensley Asoedo today in Abuja broke her 2007 record of 1hr 55mins in the women’s 20km walk as she set a new record of 1hr 45mins.

Asoedo with the record emerged champion in the event at the current 19th Athletic Federation of Nigeria (AFN) and Exxon Mobil Track and Field Events.

Our correspondent reports that Edith Ekechi returned 1hr 47mins to place second.

In the male category, Adeyemi Kazeem returned 1hr 25mins to come tops while Dele Elegbede placed second with 1hr 32mins.

The athletes who are jostling for Olympic tickets to Beijing in August, said they needed government financial support to perform better.

They were of the opinion that with government’s assistance upcoming athletes would concentrate more on their training and would be motivated to bring honour to the country at international meets.

Asoedo said: “I am optimistic that with government’s assistance upcoming athletes will concentrate more on their training to achieve results for the country”.

Kazeem told our correspondent that he trained hard to emerge tops in the male category and that he missed breaking the record at the 9th All African Games in Algeria.

“I would have broken the record in Algeria if not for the change of diet which affected my stomach and I couldn’t walk well,” Kazeem said,

He said that this year’s edition of the AFN/Exxon Mobil competition had been a tough battle for him because of the struggle to clinch a ticket to Beijing Olympic Games.
Re: Mobil Track And Field Championship by DisGuy: 4:48pm On Jul 03, 2008
Mustay:

which kids? Have u forgotten the NUT strike They are meant to start their exams soon.

If you saw Fasuba's interview, he ststed clearly that he doesn't expect to keep on winning and that he's happy there's 'competition'. The guy says he's stressed [b]after so many meets. Moreover he says he looks forward to the Olympics - to him, qualification is just what matters now at the meet[/b]

more like he is stressed after so many parties- you know he got a chieftaincy title after his world indoor medal right lol
invited here and there to hail the 'new king'

bolts and co qualified since the beginning of the year, they are still going all out!

the 20k walk was really sad! when they finished the race 90% of the athletes in the stadium left already
the officials couldn't even give her water!!
Re: Mobil Track And Field Championship by DisGuy: 4:50pm On Jul 03, 2008
which kids? Have u forgotten the NUT strike Huh They are meant to start their exams soon.

that could have been arranged way before the events, just give them tickets about a month ahead
send letters to the parents and extra tickets so they can come along too!
Re: Mobil Track And Field Championship by hustler(m): 4:51pm On Jul 03, 2008
The dismal times being set by our would be reps at the olympics doesnt give me any hope

In the age where ppl are running faster than 9.80 and our ppl are doing 10. sumthin and are happy. thers a problem

Tyson Gay did a 9.68 wind assited in qualifying lets remember that. Usain Bolt did a 9.7 sumthin.

By now i think we shpuld be expecting that the record would be broken at the olympics again.

In a final line up that would hopefully have our own Fasuba,Obikwelu,Powell,Bolt,Gay, Spearmon, and the rest of em, be assured that 10. sumthing will not put u in the top 5 sef.

One thing is if Fasuba had taken up citizenshhip with another country and got the kind of funcing Obikwelu got he woul be doin better now.

Doesnt it say sumthin that Obikwelu joined Portugal and won Silver at the last olympics??
Re: Mobil Track And Field Championship by Mustay(m): 5:10pm On Jul 03, 2008
Dis Guy:

that could have been arranged way before the events, just give them tickets about a month ahead
send letters to the parents and extra tickets so they can come along too!

eh eh grin grin grin grin

You would offer your young ones shey? grin tongue wink

hustler et al

fasuba has said that to win medals, he needs at least 100,000 dollars which he know AFN can't provide cool shocked

Live Text Commentary: Niger Tornadoes Vs Akwa United (AITEO CUP 2017 Final) / Rooney As Captain Of Manchester United? / The Ivory Coast Has The Best World Cup Uniforms: Hands Down

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 19