Stats: 3,165,119 members, 7,860,039 topics. Date: Friday, 14 June 2024 at 01:36 AM

Learn New Languages Here - Education - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / Learn New Languages Here (1077 Views)

Nigerian Girl Who Speaks 5 Foreign Languages At 22 / A Survey To Undertstand How Nigerians Prepare For Exams And Learn New Things / Let's Learn New Words (2) (3) (4)

Learn New Languages Here by dearestsewa(f): 10:39am On Nov 13, 2013
I love learning new languages. Meeting people who speak languages I've never heard is fun to me. From Igbo to Hausa to Tiv to French to Spanish to German... I have tried to pick up one or two phrases from these languages. It helps me to strike a conversation with people who speak it. Especially strangers. So, here I will like us to learn along with me. I must acknowledge that I got learn most words through google.

Here we go:

LEARN TO SAY THANK YOU

[center]Language Thank you Pronunciation

[center]Igbo Imela ee-mei-lah
Hausa Nagode nah-go-day
Yoruba Ese/ Eseun eh-she/ eh-she-oon
Afrikaans dankie dahn-kee
Arabic shukran shoe-krahn
Australian English ta (informal)
Chinese, Cantonese do jeh daw-dyeh
Chinese, Mandarin xie xie syeh-syeh
Czech dêkuji deh-ku-yih
Danish tak tahg
Finnish kiitos kee-toas
French merci mehr-see
German danke dahn-kah
Greek efharisto ef-har-rih-stowe
Hebrew toda toh-dah
Hindi, Hindustani sukria shoo-kree-a
Indonesian/Malayan terima kasih t'ree-ma kas-seh
Italian grazie gra-see
Japanese arigato ahree-gah-tow
Korean kamsa hamnida kahm-sah=ham-nee-da
Norwegian takk tahk
Philippines (Tagalog) salamat po sah-lah-maht poh
Polish dziekuje dsyen-koo-yeh
Portuguese obrigado oh-bree-gah-doh
Russian spasibo spah-see-boh
Spanish gracias gra-see-us
Sri Lanka (Sinhak) istutiy isst-too-tee
Swahili asante ah-sahn-teh
Swedish tack tahkk
Thai kawp-kun krap/ka' kowpkoom-krahp/khak
Turkish tesekkür ederim teh-sheh-kur=eh-deh-rim[/center][/center]

More to come...

Re: Learn New Languages Here by castielo(m): 11:57am On Nov 13, 2013
gracias senora.. i do hope to learn a lot from here.

#following

Re: Learn New Languages Here by christlyke(m): 2:54pm On Nov 13, 2013
Bini(Edo): Urese

Following...

Re: Learn New Languages Here by algorithm(m): 9:00pm On Nov 13, 2013
I love this....
Re: Learn New Languages Here by SirTunechi(f): 10:18pm On Nov 13, 2013
Nice thread. I hope to learn a lot. *in Olawalebabs voice* keep up the good work
Re: Learn New Languages Here by Handsomeemmy(m): 11:06am On Nov 14, 2013
Following as well.
Re: Learn New Languages Here by SirTunechi(f): 3:01pm On Nov 14, 2013
dearestsewa: I love learning new languages. Meeting people who speak languages I've never heard is fun to me. From Igbo to Hausa to Tiv to French to Spanish to German... I have tried to pick up one or two phrases from these languages. It helps me to strike a conversation with people who speak it. Especially strangers. So, here I will like us to learn along with me. I must acknowledge that I got learn most words through google.

Here we go:

LEARN TO SAY THANK YOU

[center]Language Thank you Pronunciation

[center]Igbo Imela ee-mei-lah
Hausa Nagode nah-go-day
Yoruba Ese/ Eseun eh-she/ eh-she-oon
Afrikaans dankie dahn-kee
Arabic shukran shoe-krahn
Australian English ta (informal)
Chinese, Cantonese do jeh daw-dyeh
Chinese, Mandarin xie xie syeh-syeh
Czech dêkuji deh-ku-yih
Danish tak tahg
Finnish kiitos kee-toas
French merci mehr-see
German danke dahn-kah
Greek efharisto ef-har-rih-stowe
Hebrew toda toh-dah
Hindi, Hindustani sukria shoo-kree-a
Indonesian/Malayan terima kasih t'ree-ma kas-seh
Italian grazie gra-see
Japanese arigato ahree-gah-tow
Korean kamsa hamnida kahm-sah=ham-nee-da
Norwegian takk tahk
Philippines (Tagalog) salamat po sah-lah-maht poh
Polish dziekuje dsyen-koo-yeh
Portuguese obrigado oh-bree-gah-doh
Russian spasibo spah-see-boh
Spanish gracias gra-see-us
Sri Lanka (Sinhak) istutiy isst-too-tee
Swahili asante ah-sahn-teh
Swedish tack tahkk
Thai kawp-kun krap/ka' kowpkoom-krahp/khak
Turkish tesekkür ederim teh-sheh-kur=eh-deh-rim[/center][/center]

More to come...
you thank you in igbo language is wrong its supposed to be daalu
Re: Learn New Languages Here by dearestsewa(f): 8:35am On Nov 18, 2013
@Sir Tunechi, You are right. Thanks for the reminder. I ve been trying to update this thread since last week but it seems there's a problem.
Ok. Will continue soon.
Re: Learn New Languages Here by dearestsewa(f): 11:37am On Nov 18, 2013
Lesson 2:

This time, we wouldn't take all the languages as we did above. Rather, we will pick a number of popular languages. We will re-learn Thank you along with other words like please, sorry, hello, goodbye etc.

Here:

LANGUAGE..........THANK YOU........PLEASE..........GOODBYE..........YES..........NO..........SORRY

YORUBA..................Ese...................Ejo...............Odabo..............Beeni......Rara...........Pele

HAUSA.................Nagode.............Dan Allah.........Sai anjuma............A/Eh................A'a/Babu............Yi hak'uri (Yaakuri)

IGBO...................Daalu..............Biko.............ka omesia...........ekwele mụ/e ya/yaa......mba............Ndo

GERMAN...............Danke..................Bitte.............auf Wiedersehen.....ja.......nein..........Es tut mir leid!/Entschuldigung!/Ich bedaure!

HEBREW................Toda...................Bevakasha.......lehitraot...............ken.......lo.........(slicha) סליחה!

FRENCH................Merci...................s'il vous plait......Au revoir/Adieu............oui.........non.....desole/excusez-moi/pardon

SPANISH..............Gracias................por favor............Adiós.................si............no.......¡Perdón! ¡Perdone! ¡Lo siento!

ITALIAN...............Grazie..................per favore............arrivederci........si..............no......Scusa! (inf) Scusi! (frm) Mi dispiace

SWAHILI...............Asante................tafadhali...............kwa heri..........ndiyo..........siyo.....Samahani

AFRIKAANS...........Dankie..................Asseblief...............Totsiens...........Ja...........Nee.......jammer

JAPANESE............Arigatou...............kudasai................sayounara.............hai...........lie.........gomen

CHINESE (MANDARIN)....Xie Xie.......... qíng....................zài jiàn.................shì..........bú shì.........duìbùqǐ/bàoqiàn

PORTUGUESE.............Obrigado (m), Obrigada (f)............por favor............. Adeus, Tchau................sim...........Não.........Perdão

HINDI.......................Dhanyavaad.........kripyaa...............alavidha..............ha............nahi.......

GREEK......................Efharisto.............. Parakalo'............andi'o sas............Nai'.........O'hi......... signo'mi (also means Excuse Me)

Feel free to add yours. We are all learning together.

Re: Learn New Languages Here by dearestsewa(f): 6:12pm On Nov 19, 2013
Today, let's see how to greet at different times of the day.

LANGUAGE....................Good Morning.....................Good Afternoon...........................Good Evening........................Good Night

Hausa..........................Ina Kwana..........................Ina uni......................................Barka da yamma........................Sai de safe

Igbo..........................Ütütü öma/Otutu oma.........................................................................................................ka chi fo

Yoruba..............................Ekaaro...............................Ekaasan....................................Ekuurole/Ekaale.....................Odaaro

French..............................Bon jour...........................Bon après-midi.............................Bonsoir..............................Bonne nuit

German..........................Guten Morgen....................Guten Tag............................Guten Abend...........................Gute Nacht

Spanish...........................Buenos días.........................Buenas tardes............Buenas tardes / Buenas noches..............Buenas noches

Hebrew.............................Boker Tov ....................achar tzahara'im tovim..............Erev Tov........................................Laila Tov

Portuguese.........................Bom dia.......................Boa tarde...............................Boa tarde...................Boa noite

Greek..........................Kaliméra...........................Kaló apóyevma..........................Kalispéra/Kali bradi..................Kaliníhta

Afrikaans....................Goeiemôre, Môre......................Goeie middag..........................Goeienānd.........................Goeie nag

Zulu..........................Sawubona (sg)/Sanibonani (pl) [used throughout the day]........................................Lala kahle!/ Lalani kahle!

Swahili..............Habari ya asubuhi...................Habari ya mchana......................Habari ya jioni...................Usiku mwema / Lala salama

Japanese............Ohayou..............................Konnichiwa..............................Konbanwa...........................Oyasuminasai.

Chinese,Mandarin............. Zǎoshàng hǎo................ Wǔ'ān............................ Wǎnshang hǎo.........................Wǎn'ān

Hindi.............namaste/śubh prabhāt....................dopahar ke bad namaskar......................śubh sandhyā.................śubh rātr

Italian.........................Buongiorno........................Buongiorno/Buon pomeriggio....................Buonasera...................buonanotte
Re: Learn New Languages Here by dearestsewa(f): 11:09am On Nov 27, 2013
Hi all,
Been a while. Before we continue our new language acquisition, let's get tips that will enhance our language learning. I compiled these tips:

*Decide on the new language you want to learn. It is easy and better to learn one language at a time and to decide why it is important for you to learn it. This will help you to stay motivated.
*Study the pronunciation of the new language you want to learn. Practice the difficult sound daily and then, check your proficiency with a fluent speaker or a dictionary in that language. Ensure you get pronunciations as correctly as possible. Bad pronunciation habits are confusing and difficult to break.Study the writing system of the language too.
*Practice the common words or phrases that are relevant to you. Don't learn words tractor when you won't say it everyday. A word like woman might be better than zoo. Learn the most important words and learn them in context rather than in isolation.
* Take advantage of free web tutorials, especially the video or audio listen and learn.
* Try to know the history and culture of the native speakers of the language you are learning.
*Never stop practicing. Speak the language with native speakers you know. Let them correct you where necessary.
*Be patient with yourself. Don't give up easily if you are having difficulties. Begin with simple and common words and practice daily.

Later all.

Personal Statement Expert Writing Services For Msc/mba Study / Nigeria Training Courses - July 2014 Special Promo / UNIPORT Post-utme Result 2014 Is Out How To Check

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 50