Stats: 3,153,217 members, 7,818,749 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 12:06 AM

Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone - Phones - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone (4974 Views)

3 Best Reasons Why An Android Phone Is Better Than An iPhone / Pls Is There A Way I Can Get Radio On My Bold 5? / Is Your Android Phone Malfunctioning? Get Help Here (2) (3) (4)

Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by wetindey11: 12:05pm On Feb 04, 2015
I need FM radio on my android phone. Pls, is there any .apk app dat can naturally do dis without connecting to d internet?

I appreciate.
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by sammieblaize: 12:36pm On Feb 04, 2015
Nuhh man
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by wetindey11: 1:14pm On Feb 04, 2015
Any .apk app?
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by aieromon(m): 1:41pm On Feb 04, 2015
Capital NO
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by wetindey11: 2:04pm On Feb 04, 2015
aieromon:
Capital NO
Really! Is it dat herculeous app really?
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by Nobody: 2:43pm On Feb 04, 2015
Try SPIRIT FM. Don't know if it'll work for you but I used to have it on my phone and it worked.
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by Nobody: 4:43pm On Feb 04, 2015
vnc server and cli3nt.
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by aieromon(m): 6:23pm On Feb 04, 2015
wetindey11:

Really! Is it dat herculeous app really?

As long as your phone doesn't have the hardware,its Capital NO.

The best you can get is a streaming app for radio stations (local and foreign).

Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by aieromon(m): 6:25pm On Feb 04, 2015
norbert101:
vnc server and cli3nt.

Seriously? undecided
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by Nobody: 6:29pm On Feb 04, 2015
But why buy an android phone without radio in the first place?
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by okinme: 12:28am On Feb 05, 2015
MTN DATA SHARED OFFERS.
GET MTN DATA FOR BLACKBERRY 10, ANDROID & MODEM @ AFFORDABLE AMOUNT.
1GB ----------1200
2GB -----------2400
Call 08035448544 OR 08053635768
I accept Bank payment or MTN Recharge Card.
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by wetindey11: 9:27am On Feb 05, 2015
mulante:
Try SPIRIT FM. Don't know if it'll work for you but I used to have it on my phone and it worked.
Thnks bros. I'll try it out.
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by ewizard1: 10:50am On Feb 05, 2015
If the FM Radio Hardware is not Present in your phone. No App can bring FM radio in.

Spirit and others works only on phones with FM Radio out of the box, but maybe running AOSP which doesn not include the Radio app!
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by wetindey11: 3:03pm On Feb 05, 2015
ewizard1:

......Spirit and others works only on phones with FM Radio out of the box, but maybe running AOSP which doesn not include the Radio app!
Pls Oga, throw more light on dis terms for knowledge sake.
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by ewizard1: 6:08pm On Feb 05, 2015
wetindey11:

Pls Oga, throw more light on dis terms for knowledge sake.

Ok,

The original Android (AOSP) from Google doesnt include the FM Radio Code.

OEMs like Samsung, HTC, LG etc. build the FM Tuner into their Device (HardWare), took the AOSP and included the FM Radio code plus other Customization like Gestures etc. Thats why some devices from the mentioned OEMs have FM Radio.

Now, if any of those phones with FM Radios are rooted and installed with the real AOSP, the FM Radio app will not be included since Google did not include the code. Then thats where SPIRIT FM and other radio apps comes in. (Note that Spirit FM would work with the readily built FM Radio Hardware which is already in the device)

Now if any Device from Samsung or anyother OEMs does not have FM Radio "out of the Box", that means they didnt build in the Radio Hardware and NO app or FM Radio app will work except Radio Streaming Apps which uses data to stream the online radios.

I think i made it clear enough!

Thanks.

Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by wetindey11: 10:22pm On Feb 05, 2015
ewizard1:

Ok,

The original Android (AOSP) from Google doesnt include the FM Radio Code.

OEMs like Samsung, HTC, LG etc. build the FM Tuner into their Device (HardWare), took the AOSP and included the FM Radio code plus other Customization like Gestures etc. Thats why some devices from the mentioned OEMs have FM Radio.

Now, if any of those phones with FM Radios are rooted and installed with the real AOSP, the FM Radio app will not be included since Google did not include the code. Then thats where SPIRIT FM and other radio apps comes in. (Note that Spirit FM would work with the readily built FM Radio Hardware which is already in the device)

Now if any Device from Samsung or anyother OEMs does not have FM Radio "out of the Box", that means they didnt build in the Radio Hardware and NO app or FM Radio app will work except Radio Streaming Apps which uses data to stream the online radios.

I think i made it clear enough!

Thanks.
Whao! Thnks 4 sharing. Atleast, no knowldge is lost.

But ironically, my phone in question is Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (i317 AT&T version bt unlocked). I know d int'l version, N7100 hs inbuilt FM radio bt i317 does nt: just wanted something to gv FM radio without necessarily running d internet.
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by ewizard1: 11:14pm On Feb 05, 2015
wetindey11:

Whao! Thnks 4 sharing. Atleast, no knowldge is lost.

But ironically, my phone in question is Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (i317 AT&T version bt unlocked). I know d int'l version, N7100 hs inbuilt FM radio bt i317 does nt: just wanted something to gv FM radio without necessarily running d internet.

Most if not all, of the carrier phones dont have radio. Samsung did not build the Hardware in..

So your AT&T Note 2 can not play FM Radio!
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by wetindey11: 12:10am On Feb 06, 2015
ewizard1:

Most if not all, of the carrier phones dont have radio. Samsung did not build the Hardware in..

So your AT&T Note 2 can not play FM Radio!
.... except internet radio, right?
Re: Get FM Radio On Your Android Phone by ewizard1: 8:12am On Feb 06, 2015
wetindey11:
.... except internet radio, right?

Yes!

[very Hot] How To Get 1GB With # 150 On Etisalat / Mtn Now Charges 136kobo (#1.36k) Per Second. / Blackberry War Is About To Start As Glo Slashes The Prices

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 21