Stats: 3,152,457 members, 7,816,070 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 02:19 AM

12 Tips To Boost Your Salat - Islam for Muslims - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Islam for Muslims / 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat (11659 Views)

The Issue Of Shortening Salah (salat-ul Qasr) During NYSC Camp / Congregetional Dua After Salat, Good Or Bad / Muslim Divers Observing Salat(prayer) Under The Sea (2) (3) (4)

12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by Bamoha(m): 6:08pm On Apr 28, 2015
12 TIPS TO BOOST YOUR SALAT.
1. Say Allahu akbar and throw the
world behind you.
Did you ever think: why do we start
our prayer with Allahu akbar not
withsubhanAllah? Realize that when
you sayAllahu akbar you affirm that
the one before whom you are about to
stand is greater than anything
occupying you at that moment—
greater than your sleep, your families,
your bills, and your worries. Just
imagine that when you say Allahu
akbar while raising your hands you
are throwing all of that behind you!

2. Visualize the veil.
When you stand to pray, Allah ‘azza
wa jall commands: Raise the veils
from between Me and my servant! As
soon as you say Allahu akbar and
start your prayer, Allah sets His
beautiful face to yours and doesn’t
turn away from you, unless you do.
When your thoughts or your sight
drifts off, He orders the veils to be
drawn back down. Visualize these
veils being lifted to keep concentrated
with your heart and body. Are you still
drifting? This is why you repeat the
great words Allahu akbar as you move
into each position; it’s a reminder and
a new chance again and again to
focus!

3. Salute the King.
Imagine walking into a palace, how
would you recognize the servants of
the king? Probably by their humble
position: looking down. As you lower
your gaze to the place of your
prostration and place your hands right
over left and close to your chest it is
time to salute the King. Imagine
standing in front of Allah ‘azza wa jall
as you utter this beautiful saluation
and feel each word: Subhanakallahum
ma wa bihamdika, wa
tabaarakasmuka wa ta’alaa jadduka—
How perfect You are O Allah, and I
praise You. Blessed be Your name,
and lofty is Your position and none
has the right to be worshipped except
You.
Realize that only the parts of salah
you are mindful of are being accepted
and that Shaytan does his very best to
steal every sweet moment you have
with Allah!

4. Feel each ayah of Surah Al-Fatiha is
answered.
You are now ready to enter the
essence of it all: Surah Al-Fatiha, the
greatest surah of the Quran, without
which your prayer is nullified. Know
that Allah Himself answers back when
you recite of Surah Al-Fatiha, so add a
short pause after each ayah, feeling
this amazing dialogue. How can you
ever drift of in this part of the prayer?

5. Utter His name with pure love.
What has brought you to stand here
right now? It is your love and longing
to be with Allah ‘azza wa jall. And
when you meet up with your beloved,
what do you first say? The sweet
sound of the beloved’s name, the
name that blesses everything it falls
upon! Feel thebismillaahir-rahmaanir-
raheem soothing your heart as it
gently rolls off your lips.

6. Stand still at: “the Lord of the
worlds.”
The Prophet salallahu ‘alayhi wa
sallam told us, “Alhamdulillah fills the
scale!”[Muslim] Really feel
gratefulness when you say
alhamdulillah. Did you see those
documentaries where they zoom out
from the cells of a plant’s leaf all the
way to the planets and galaxies? Now
instead of that leaf, start the zoom out
process with the image of yourself
standing before Allah. Then zoom
back down, back through the universe,
to the place you are standing in
prayer. The next time you pray view
yourself from above and far away and
truly taste the meaning of Rabbil
aalemeen (Lord of the worlds)!

7. Reflect on Ar-Rahmaanir
Raheembefore Maaliki yawmid-Deen.
Have you ever wondered why Allah’s
names Ar-Rahmaanir and Ar-Raheem
come before Maaliki yawmid-Deen
(Master of the Day of Judgement)? Be
reminded that it is the Most Gracious
and Merciful who will judge us on the
the Day of Judgement! So feel
empowered and comforted when you
say Ar-Rahmaanir-Raheem and then
pause a moment at Maaliki yawmid-
Deen, realizing the horrors of that
Day.

8. Know what iyyaaka na’budu wa
iyyaaka nasta’een really means.
You alone we worship, and unto You
alone we turn for help. Let this remind
you to make Allah alone your focus,
not the people. So when you are
asked, why did you do this or that
(deed), you can firmly answer: for
Allah! Feel this ayah by knowing that
the salaf used to weep for hours
reciting it. One of them was once
praying in Mecca. His friend went
ahead and did the tawaf and when he
returned to him, he was still at this
verse, repeating it and crying, until the
sun came up.

9. Say ameen as if your life depended
on it.
The most comprehensive supplication
you can make is: ihdinas-siraatal-
mustaqeem (Guide us to the straight
path). See how you followed the
proper etiquettes of how to ask Allah?
You started glorifying and praising
Him and then you make your request:
Guide us. Now realize that your entire
existence depends on this
supplication. The ameen you’ll
pronounce now will have to come from
the bottom of your heart. Ameen
means: My Lord, grant or answer (my
prayers). Say ameen as if you have
been sentenced to death and are
pleading for pardon, begging with
passion.

10. Feel the bond with your Lord.
When you say subhana Rabbiyya-
al-‘atheem (How perfect My Lord is,
The Supreme) in ruku’, focus on the
pronoun that means my (in Rabbi). It
adds that element of bonding: He is My
Lord, who raised me in His care and
who is nurturing me. Know the Prophet
salallahu ‘alayhi wa sallam and the
Companions used to be in the bowing
position as long as he would be in the
standing segment of salah. One
companion said that he recited Al
Fatiha, then Al Baqara, Ali Imran, An-
Nisaa’ and Al Ma’ida, and the
companion Abdullah Ibn Al Zubair was
beside him, still in his ruku’!

11. Win the grand finale: your sujood.
Your sujood is the ultimate symbol of
complete submission to your Creator.
The Prophet said: The closest that a
servant is to his Lord is when he is in
prostration. [Muslim] And: Prostrate
much because there is no Muslim that
prostrates to Allah except that Allah
raises him one degree in Paradise by
it and forgives for him a sin. [Ahmad]
Imagine you are being raised one
degree in Paradise with each sujood
and a sin falls off you with each
prostration. Prostrate with body, heart,
and soul and taste the sweetest
feeling in the world!

12. Supplicate before the tasleem.
After the words of the tashahhud
(sitting position at the end of prayer)
and before the tasleem (saying
salaam to indicate the end of prayer),
there is a precious moment many
waste! When the Prophet salallahu
‘alayhi wa sallam taught Abdallah ibn
Mas’ood radiyallahu ‘anhu the
tashahhud he said: … Then let him
choose whatever supplications he
wishes. [Al-Bukhaari, Muslim]. Just
before you say tasleem, make at least
three heartfelt dua’s to benefit from
this treasure chest instead of rushing
to say the salaam!

64 Likes 10 Shares

Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by Drniyi4u(m): 7:42pm On Apr 28, 2015
jāzzāķųm llāђų ķђāyŗāŋ ...ţђāŋķş ƒoŗ şђāŗįŋg!

Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by kemiola89(f): 9:44am On Apr 29, 2015
Subhanallahi! Really helpful tips especially the point 2. JazakAllahu khayran for sharing this with us.

Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by luckman20(m): 11:29am On May 01, 2015
Masha Allah for you @OP

Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by xage(m): 11:32am On May 01, 2015
Bookmarked.

This is very useful...jazakalahu khairan

Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by Xslaze3xd(m): 11:34am On May 01, 2015
Thanks Very much for the info. May Allah bless you
Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by intergral(m): 11:36am On May 01, 2015
JazaaakAllahukhaaayran... OP I soo much like the first one... Thanks for the tips
Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by HARKKEEEM(m): 11:38am On May 01, 2015
Jazakumullah khairan... more blessing In Shaa Allah and may Allah grant us d ability to concentrate more while worshipping HIM.(Ameen)
Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by wachakuta(m): 11:39am On May 01, 2015
Jazakhallah
Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by DNA123(m): 11:40am On May 01, 2015
Thanks to the OP. Also, put all the worldly things behind you. May Allah accepts our Ibadah.
Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by Rilwayne001: 11:41am On May 01, 2015
נαzαкαℓℓαнυ кнαүяαη smiley

Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by Uthman51(m): 11:51am On May 01, 2015
Jazakumulahu khaira
Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by Ridwan440(m): 11:56am On May 01, 2015
JazakAllahu khayran
Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by lanrock(m): 11:59am On May 01, 2015
jazakallahu khaera
Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by giwah(m): 12:00pm On May 01, 2015
Jazakumulah. Thanks for the tips. May Allah guide us alright and increase us in Iman. Ameen
Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by PassingShot(m): 12:02pm On May 01, 2015
Jazakallah khayran for this beautiful piece. Thank you.
Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by dives(m): 12:03pm On May 01, 2015
OP your post just made my day. Did i just say day? Nahh!! your post just made my weekend!!. Very very useful post. I LOVE it!! May Allah reward you abundantly kissOP

Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by MDelgado(m): 12:15pm On May 01, 2015
Jazallahu Khairan Op
Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by maryhaam(f): 12:22pm On May 01, 2015
Alhamdulilahi,Allahs rahman on you always.
Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by bash4us(m): 12:26pm On May 01, 2015
Beautiful! May Allah (SWT) bless u and your nx generations. May He make salat easy and rewarding for us all. Ameen
Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by saifuhot: 12:29pm On May 01, 2015
Masha Allah. very educative

Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by Bamoha(m): 12:41pm On May 01, 2015
Jazakhalahu khairan to you all May Allah make it easy for us all

Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by Ekun123: 1:49pm On May 01, 2015
Ja zakhallahu khairan. May ALLAH (SWT) accepts our ibadah. Excellent write-up . Keep it up.

Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by hidreece: 3:19pm On May 01, 2015
Jazakallah khairan for the message.
Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by obinrinrere: 3:21pm On May 01, 2015
Barakhlahu fee.salah the key to jannah and our companion in grave...and indeed we are all heedless.many of us just peck the ground and go.hit and run.hmmmmm may Allah save us.

Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by eherbal(m): 3:44pm On May 01, 2015
Jazaka Allah Khayrun. Just Updated Myself. Proud Muslim. Happy Muslim grin
Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by munex007(m): 5:14pm On May 01, 2015
Prophet Muhammed(S.A.W) On the greatestness of Allah..The prophet said The Distance between the first heaven and Second heaven is a distance of 500years

The 3rd to 4th a Distance of 500 years,Like that till it reach the 7 Heaven

The Kursi of Allah is so mighty that it will cover the distance between the 1st heaven and the 7th heaven all together

And the "Arsh" SubhanAllah

He said the comparison of the Kursi to Arsh is like a ring in the dessert

That's compare all the distance of heaven and the kursi..Imagine you putting a ring in the dessert,how insignificant it will be

The mighty Kursi that is like 3500(500*7) years in distance is the ring,while the Arsh is the dessert

1.3million earths will fit into the sun and the sun is the smallest star in our Galaxy.And there are millions of stars greater than the sun in our galaxy alone.

And we have Billions of Galaxies occupying the Universe..And all this is just in the First heaven ALLAHU AKBAR

Imagine you are in front of the creator of all these mighty creation..

The real test of being in the presence of Allah is, that you either forget about yourself altogether or see yourself as a small,powerless, dirty object...See yourself as infinitesimal as a single sand on the beach.

When you say Alhamdulilah Rabi li Alamin.,ponder on how the deaf and also blind people live their life. Pure darkness with no sound SubhanAllah...Let the Appreciation comes from deep down your heart...

Humble your heart while thinking about all this and what OP said walahi you won't know when you will start crying..

May Allah have mercy on us and make us die as muslims..Amin

Jumah Mubarak smiley

Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by walata2011(m): 5:45pm On May 01, 2015
Jazakumunllahu Khaeran. Lots of learning in the write up, especially on how to be able to concentrate fully without losing focus during prayers.

Re: 12 Tips To Boost Your Salat by modskiller(m): 5:50pm On May 01, 2015
@OP, may the Almighty Allah bless you for this post.

Even though my prayers are certain, but not always prompt, I have learned one or 2 things here.

The Dilemma Of A Young Muslim Man / Terrorism: Rulings, Distortion And Misconception Of Some Verses In The Quran / Blackberry Messenger Group For Naija Muslims

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 56