Stats: 3,153,086 members, 7,818,256 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 11:17 AM

Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria - Sports (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria (31415 Views)

Argentine President Begs Messi To Come Back - Pix / Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria / Menti0ning Messi, Saved My Life....says Argentine kidnapped in Nigeria (2) (3) (4)

Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by ndlife: 11:10am On Jun 29, 2015
God of football
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by Nobody: 11:11am On Jun 29, 2015
Useless thread/news pls how can I take back my comment tongue
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by Burger01(m): 11:11am On Jun 29, 2015
kliq:
Thank goodness he didn't mention Ronaldo cheesy
Or he didn't metion Jonathan cheesy

Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by ziego(m): 11:11am On Jun 29, 2015
Passing
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by johnsonsegxy: 11:11am On Jun 29, 2015
Tales by the Moonlight... Weldone op undecided
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by hbrednic: 11:11am On Jun 29, 2015
I just heard the story now on cienradios argentina,
the man is lucky
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by undouted: 11:11am On Jun 29, 2015
mightyfada:
A 28-year-old agricultural engineer held captive for three days in the west African country claims name-dropping his famous compatriot calmed his violent aggressors.

An Argentine kidnapped in Nigeria claims he owes his life to Barcelona forward Lionel Messi.

Santiago Lopez Menendez, a 28-year-old agricultural engineer, had been working in the west African nation since last year, planting soya and corn crops close to Kontagora in the north-west of the country.

But he was kidnapped earlier this week and beaten violently by his captors, who hardly spoke any English and thought he was north American.

It was then in desperation that Menendez tried to tell them he was Argentine and he was eventually able to calm down his aggressors with repeated cries of "Messi, Messi, Messi".

Held captive for three days, the engineer was eventually released after the company who employs him paid an undisclosed ransom to the kidnappers.

Back in Argentina, his brother Jorge spoke to Clarin and said: "'Tell them I am grateful to Messi', he told me. 'Naming him is what saved me.'"

Menendez is now safe and will return to his homeland in the next few hours.

Source: http://m.goal.com/x/en-ng/news/13141912
WHAT IF HE MENTIONED MIKEL....wetin for happen mbok

Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by philo3(m): 11:11am On Jun 29, 2015
Me d day dem kidnap me na. Suarez I just de shout. O.. Suarez suarez suarez...
Na so person just bite all of them.. Na so I free ..come find my way go bk..
So when u see suarez.. Tell him thank you
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by Nobody: 11:12am On Jun 29, 2015
No be only Messi, na Neymar. Bullshit

Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by tuffgongjo(m): 11:14am On Jun 29, 2015
Mumu dey shout "Mercy",he con change am to "Messi",he no even fear if 'em kidnappers na Ronaldo fan.

Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by ozyboy: 11:15am On Jun 29, 2015
In the name of cr7 evry LM10 fan shall bow
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by dayold: 11:15am On Jun 29, 2015
innofyno:
Mumu story
Nairalander!!!
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by toluxa1(m): 11:17am On Jun 29, 2015
Messi or Mercy?
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by damiloladuke: 11:20am On Jun 29, 2015
In the name of Messi, release me

CHECK MY SIGNATURE IF YOU WANNA LAUGH TIRE TODAY
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by mekadinho(f): 11:25am On Jun 29, 2015
NO... U FOR CALL C-RONALDO NAA... MK THEM SEND U BK TO ARGENTINA LIFELESS. HE IS AN ARGENTINE, AND MESSI'S NAME SAVED HIM, AS A NIGERIAN, WHO LL SAVE ME IF THEY KIDNAP "U", NOT ME? OMERUO? EMENIKE? MIKEL? CALL MIKEL AND U LL B KILLED INSTANTA.

Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by Nobody: 11:27am On Jun 29, 2015
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by rozayx5(m): 11:27am On Jun 29, 2015
priscaoge:
The posters above are all Anti-Barca grin grin grin grin...God pls have "Messi" on them tongue

My love for Barcelona changeth not embarassed tongue
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by teeboy03(m): 11:37am On Jun 29, 2015
am I the only one who cant make any meaning out of this story
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by mablie(m): 11:45am On Jun 29, 2015
-
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by 9jatatafo(m): 11:52am On Jun 29, 2015
He for call Balotelli or Suares make he receive confirm beating and biting. Rubbish news.
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by StarMogul(m): 11:54am On Jun 29, 2015
D mumu suppose dey shout Jesus,mtchewww.Telling me dat shouting messi saved ur life,d guy didn't even thank God.
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by StarMogul(m): 11:54am On Jun 29, 2015
D mumu suppose dey shout Jesus,mtchewww.Telling me dat shouting messi saved ur life,d guy didn't even thank God. angry
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by eleko1: 11:55am On Jun 29, 2015
Na Guinness Time bi dat.Messi don reach 40?
ADAMUdaCOWBOY:
MESSI saving lives since 1759.
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by Nobody: 12:03pm On Jun 29, 2015
mightyfada:
A 28-year-old agricultural engineer held captive for three days in the west African country claims name-dropping his famous compatriot calmed his violent aggressors.

An Argentine kidnapped in Nigeria claims he owes his life to Barcelona forward Lionel Messi.

Santiago Lopez Menendez, a 28-year-old agricultural engineer, had been working in the west African nation since last year, planting soya and corn crops close to Kontagora in the north-west of the country.

But he was kidnapped earlier this week and beaten violently by his captors, who hardly spoke any English and thought he was north American.

It was then in desperation that Menendez tried to tell them he was Argentine and he was eventually able to calm down his aggressors with repeated cries of "Messi, Messi, Messi".

Held captive for three days, the engineer was eventually released after the company who employs him paid an undisclosed ransom to the kidnappers.

Back in Argentina, his brother Jorge spoke to Clarin and said: "'Tell them I am grateful to Messi', he told me. 'Naming him is what saved me.'"

Menendez is now safe and will return to his homeland in the next few hours.

Source: http://m.goal.com/x/en-ng/news/13141912

WHAT KIND OF STORY IS THIS angry
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by ylaa(f): 12:03pm On Jun 29, 2015
na lie joor, wetin kidnappers know.
VIPERVENOM:
most kidnappers support barca or Chelsea
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by Xzbit91: 12:06pm On Jun 29, 2015
Is nairaland full of barca haters or y'all lack comprehension? The engineer was trying to communicate to them that he is an argentine not an american since they couldnt understand english and he mentioned the most popular argentine (messi), it happens that barcelona has much fanfare in the North so they could understand him, if this did not save his life, it atleast saved him some beatings

Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by Rexnegro(m): 12:10pm On Jun 29, 2015
innofyno:
Mumu story
U mumu pass the story I swear down.
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by ojjp: 12:12pm On Jun 29, 2015
Nansense or beta stil nomsense or both.
Ignorant men givin God's glory to another thin since Nebuchadnezza time.
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by omaji53jeremiah: 12:15pm On Jun 29, 2015
God use messi name save am
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by katerine7(f): 12:26pm On Jun 29, 2015
dem no want money from u b4,messi ko ronaldo ni
Re: Mentioning Messi Saved My Life, Says Argentine Kidnapped In Nigeria by MrBLING(m): 12:28pm On Jun 29, 2015
But this is really bad for the image of the country.
Foreigners irrespective of country of origin would avoid travel to Nigeria, means loss of foreign investments, means job loss.

Iheanacho, Ezeh, Obasi And Baba With Nigerian U13 In 2010 (Pic) / #10YearsChallenge: Chichi Igbo Shares Throwback Photo / Joshua, Antetokounmpo Make Forbes’ Highest-paid Athletes List

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 25