Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,152,145 members, 7,815,012 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 04:44 AM

What Happened To Programming? - Programming - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Programming / What Happened To Programming? (2942 Views)

How Do I Introduce An 8 Year Old Boy To Programming / Learn Python- Introduction To Programming / Help I Am A Newbie To Programming (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (Reply) (Go Down)

What Happened To Programming? by Ashpot(m): 11:10pm On Jul 03, 2015
When I was a fresher in the polytechnic, I wrote a full scale arithmetic engine called MULTRIX in BASIC on a P3 IBM PC. If you were interested in computers and programming back early 2000's, I bet you did the same something similar. When I was in my finals, I wrote a logic-driven Library Manager in Java which won a National Award as best Object oriented software design. By the time I was out of school, I was already writing enterprise applications for individuals and businesses. I was in touch with guys from my software team in school, and we were going to develop an adventure game and other cool stuff like that — and to some degree, we did. We sent each other our in-progress code, complained about each other’s programming-language designs, and laughed at how inefficient each others’ completely poor implementation of memory management. Most of our graphics will run, but will barely display do not RAM overload (laughs)

But, that was then.