Stats: 3,151,232 members, 7,811,648 topics. Date: Sunday, 28 April 2024 at 04:32 PM

Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! (2141 Views)

Igbo Man Makes Clothes For Almajiris In Kano For Sallah (Photos) / Mike Smith on Twitter: "Nigerian Police Are So Friendly" / What The Electoral Acts Says About The Death Of A Candidate (2) (3) (4)

Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by SonOfEl(m): 8:25pm On Sep 03, 2015
in a Hollywood Blockbuster movie trailer released on the 31st of August 2015 titled "CONCUSSION", Will Smith played the lead role of an igbo medical doctor and pathology professor Dr. Bennett Omalu who discovered a brain damage disease amongst NFL players. it was based on a true life story.

though his Igbo Nigerian accent was not 100%, his persona was superb. a Yoruba Hollywood actor was also in the film cast.

check out the trailer on YouTube.

Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by Nobody: 8:38pm On Sep 03, 2015
He played the role of a Nigerian man IIRC.
Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by vicadex07(m): 9:20pm On Sep 03, 2015
lol...for every one omalu in the Igbo tribe, we have dozens of Akalas in the Yoruba tribe making us proud. This thread is dead on arrival, chest beater grin

https://www.nairaland.com/2569570/emmanuel-akala-awarded-1.1million-study
Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by SonOfEl(m): 9:36pm On Sep 03, 2015
vicadex07:
lol...for every one omalu in the Igbo tribe, we have dozens of Akalas in the Yoruba tribe making us proud. This thread is dead on arrival, chest beater grin

what has your akala got to do with Hollywood and will smith acting as an Igbo man? pls don't allow envy and jealousy kill you.

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by tpiander: 9:38pm On Sep 03, 2015
he's an ACTOR, duh.
Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by Nobody: 9:49pm On Sep 03, 2015
Inferiority complex
vicadex07:

Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by vicadex07(m): 9:55pm On Sep 03, 2015
pele
DikeOha882:
Inferiority complex
Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by vicadex07(m): 9:57pm On Sep 03, 2015
and how has your post reduced the price of a bag of rice in the market
SonOfEl:

what has your akala got to do with Hollywood and will smith acting as an Igbo man? pls don't allow envy and jealousy kill you.
Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by SonOfEl(m): 10:29pm On Sep 03, 2015
vicadex07:
and how has your post reduced the price of a bag of rice in the market

tell that to EVERY post in nairaland. JEALOUS WORM.
Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by vicadex07(m): 10:42pm On Sep 03, 2015
grin right away sir
SonOfEl:

tell that to EVERY post in nairaland. JEALOUS WORM.
Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by pazienza(m): 10:57pm On Sep 03, 2015
vicadex07:

Lol! Is the Akala now from SW? Dude is an Edo state man.

Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by vicadex07(m): 11:12pm On Sep 03, 2015
lol...weree...adebayo alao akala, recent past governor of oyo state too is Igbo grin
pazienza:

Lol! Is the Akala now from SW? Dude is an Edo state man.
Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by pazienza(m): 11:22pm On Sep 03, 2015
vicadex07:
lol...weree...adebayo alao akala, recent past governor of oyo state too is Igbo grin

So? Not all Okoro are Igbo. Some Okoro are Urhobo.

That particular Akala is an Edo man, not a Yoruba.
Stop attaching by force.

Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by vicadex07(m): 11:26pm On Sep 03, 2015
oloshi, na your papa born am now. Infact Rochas okoro na hausa according to biafran bigots like you
pazienza:

So? Not all Okoro are Igbo. Some Okoro are Urhobo.

That particular Akala is an Edo man, not a Yoruba.
Stop attaching by force.
Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by pazienza(m): 11:32pm On Sep 03, 2015
vicadex07:
oloshi, na your papa born am now. Infact Rochas okoro na hausa according to biafran bigots like you

Emmanuel Akala is an Akoko Edo man. Get over it.

Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by vicadex07(m): 11:33pm On Sep 03, 2015
cry me a river grin na yoruba man...kill yourself
pazienza:

Emmanuel Akala is an Akoko Edo man. Get over it.
Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by pazienza(m): 11:42pm On Sep 03, 2015
vicadex07:
cry me a river grin na yoruba man...kill yourself

Lol. "attachee by force".

Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by vicadex07(m): 11:46pm On Sep 03, 2015
On the contrary, that applies to igbo people who attach themselves to Lagos by force, proclaiming it as no mans land. Una no get your own Lagos for south east where you can all flock back to in preparation for your biafra? Lagos to Ibo people is like obodo oyinbo grin
pazienza:

Lol. "attachee by force".
Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by wytecat: 11:50pm On Sep 03, 2015
Thanks jare! This Akala guy is a bigger achiever than Omalu.

Omalu is just been celebrated as a SNITCH, nothing more.

He's a coroner, a profession of dissecting corpses, so of course he should be able to know what he's looking at whenever he cuts dead bodies open, but to say he was the the first to identify a link between injuries and depression blah blah is bullpoo. His fellow pathologists new this link but for the sensitivity of the topic. NFL is involved, and Omalu was just a lucky guy who happens to be at the right place at the right time.

Will Smith is an actor and a business man, and will act devil to celebrate a black's achievement cum snitching on big guy like NFL, this is more of political correctness as the normal scrutiny would not be applied so as to not be labeled racist. The last thing Sony pictures needs now is to look a bit racist.

THIS IS NOT AN ACHIEVEMENT, OMALU IS MORE LIKE A WHISTLE BLOWER.
vicadex07:

Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by WILLYBABS(m): 12:06am On Sep 04, 2015
ok
Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by SonOfEl(m): 12:09am On Sep 04, 2015
wytecat:
Thanks jare! This Akala guy is a bigger achiever than Omalu.

Omalu is just been celebrated as a SNITCH, nothing more.

He's a coroner, a profession of dissecting corpses, so of course he should be able to know what he's looking at whenever he cuts dead bodies open, but to say he was the the first to identify a link between injuries and depression blah blah is bullpoo. His fellow pathologists new this link but for the sensitivity of the topic. NFL is involved, and Omalu was just a lucky guy who happens to be at the right place at the right time.

Will Smith is an actor and a business man, and will act devil to celebrate a black's achievement cum snitching on big guy like NFL, this is more of political correctness as the normal scrutiny would not be applied so as to not be labeled racist. The last thing Sony pictures needs now is to look a bit racist.

THIS IS NOT AN ACHIEVEMENT, OMALU IS MORE LIKE A WHISTLE BLOWER.

I never knew envy and jealousy stinks this much! pls kill yourself if you must. you disgust me.

Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by wytecat: 12:20am On Sep 04, 2015
grin grin Oh oh! It's always difficult to see it rain on your parade. Pele oo!

One can only be jealous of their better, You aren't even my equal let alone better, just here to set the record straight.
SonOfEl:

I never knew envy and jealousy stinks this much! pls kill yourself if you must. you disgust me.
Re: Will Smith Acts As An Igbo Man! by Rizstar: 2:00am On Sep 04, 2015
Ok. meanwhile

Hilarious Photo: Fashola Preparing Seriously For Screening / Video Documentary: The Untold Story Of Nigeria's WW2 Heroes / Buhari Coincidence Of Media Chat