Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,175,957 members, 7,896,071 topics. Date: Sunday, 21 July 2024 at 03:12 AM

Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini - Phones - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini (4988 Views)

Unboxing The Gionee M6… What A Powerful Piece Of Magic! / GIONEE M3mini(4000mah Battery) Full Specification And Price / Gionee M3mini Discussion Thread [HOT] (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (Reply) (Go Down)

Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 10:19am On Dec 05, 2015
I've been meaning to do this, but I got sidetracked. This may be coming in pretty late, but I think it'll still be helpful to people out there.

So, let's start off with official specifications

Also known as Gionee Marathon M3 mini
General Information
2G
Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G
Network HSDPA 900 / 2100
4G
Network LTE
SIM Dual mini SIM
Status Available October 2015
Body
Dimensions
Keyboard Touchscreen
Colors White, Gold, Red, Gray
Cover Plastic
Display
Type TFT, capacitive touchscreen
with 16,000,000 colors
Size 4.5 inches, 480 x 800 pixels, 218
pixels per inch (PPI)
Memory And OS
Card slot MicroSD, up to 32GB
Internal 8GB
OS Android 5.1 Lollipop; Amigo 3.1
UI
Processors
1GHz quad-core Cortex-A53
CPU, MediaTek MT6736M
chipset, Mali-T760 GPU
RAM 1GB
Audio
Alert types Vibration, MP3 ringtones
LoudspeakerYes
Audio port 3.5mm jack
Connectivity
2G GPRS – up to 85.6 kbps;
EDGE – up to 236.8 kbps
3G Up to 42 mbps downlink; Up to
5.76 mbps uplink
4G Up to 150 mbps downlink; Up to
50 mbps uplink
WIFI Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n, WIFI
hotspot
Bluetooth Version 4.0
GPS A-GPS
NFC No
USB MicroUSB v2.0
Camera
Primary
5MP, up to 2592 x 1944-pixel
pictures, autofocus, Geo-tagging,
touch focus, face detection
camera
Video Yes
Secondary 2MP, up to 1600 x 1200 pixel
pictures
Battery
Capacity 4000mAh Li-Ion battery
Stand-by
Talk time
Music play
Other Features
Sensors Accelerometer, Proximity
Messaging SMS, MMS, Email, Push
Mail, IM
Browser HTML
Java No
– SNS integration
– MP4/MPEG4/H.263/
H.264 player
– MP3/WAV/eAAC+/
AC3/FLAC player
– Document viewer
– FM radio
– Image viewer
– Voice memo/dial/command
– Predictive text input
– Google Search, Whatsapp,
Gmail, YouTube, Calendar,
Google Talk, UC Browser
Price
Price level About 85 USD


There you go. Nothing really groundbreaking.

Here are some pictures of the device. Pardon the crappy quality.

1 Like

Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 10:19am On Dec 05, 2015
Aight. Moving on.
This baby comes with the Amigo 3.1 Ui which is ram heavy but also pretty sweet.
Comes with apps like Chameleon that allows you to change the background color scheme to the color being viewed by your camera. Sweet.

Here's the quick settings panel.

1 Like

Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 10:21am On Dec 05, 2015
Looking at Gallery, Music and Dialer here. Don't look half bad, I think.

1 Like

Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 10:23am On Dec 05, 2015
CPU-Z specs here.

1 Like

Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 10:30am On Dec 05, 2015
Launcher, settings.

Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 10:35am On Dec 05, 2015
Tested games like Backstab HD, FTS15, bladeslinger on it. Ran perfectly.

Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 10:41am On Dec 05, 2015
Battery backup is excellent. In fact, it's the selling point of the device. You can get 13hrs of heavy usage out of this beast. 17hrs of movies on it.
Here's the Extreme Mode which turns your phone into a glorified Nokia 3310, in exchange for amazing time.

1 Like

Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by BrightEye(m): 10:41am On Dec 05, 2015
How much can i get it at computer village now?
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by Nobody: 11:00am On Dec 05, 2015
HeavenlyBang:
I've been meaning to do this, but I got sidetracked. This may be coming in pretty late, but I think it'll still be helpful to people out there.

So, let's start off with official specifications

Also known as Gionee Marathon M3 mini
General Information
2G
Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G
Network HSDPA 900 / 2100
4G
Network LTE
SIM Dual mini SIM
Status Available October 2015
Body
Dimensions
Keyboard Touchscreen
Colors White, Gold, Red, Gray
Cover Plastic
Display
Type TFT, capacitive touchscreen
with 16,000,000 colors
Size 4.5 inches, 480 x 800 pixels, 218
pixels per inch (PPI)
Memory And OS
Card slot MicroSD, up to 32GB
Internal 8GB
OS Android 5.1 Lollipop; Amigo 3.1
UI
Processors
1GHz quad-core Cortex-A53
CPU, MediaTek MT6736M
chipset, Mali-T760 GPU
RAM 1GB
Audio
Alert types Vibration, MP3 ringtones
LoudspeakerYes
Audio port 3.5mm jack
Connectivity
2G GPRS – up to 85.6 kbps;
EDGE – up to 236.8 kbps
3G Up to 42 mbps downlink; Up to
5.76 mbps uplink
4G Up to 150 mbps downlink; Up to
50 mbps uplink
WIFI Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n, WIFI
hotspot
Bluetooth Version 4.0
GPS A-GPS
NFC No
USB MicroUSB v2.0
Camera
Primary
5MP, up to 2592 x 1944-pixel
pictures, autofocus, Geo-tagging,
touch focus, face detection
camera
Video Yes
Secondary 2MP, up to 1600 x 1200 pixel
pictures
Battery
Capacity 4000mAh Li-Ion battery
Stand-by
Talk time
Music play
Other Features
Sensors Accelerometer, Proximity
Messaging SMS, MMS, Email, Push
Mail, IM
Browser HTML
Java No
– SNS integration
– MP4/MPEG4/H.263/
H.264 player
– MP3/WAV/eAAC+/
AC3/FLAC player
– Document viewer
– FM radio
– Image viewer
– Voice memo/dial/command
– Predictive text input
– Google Search, Whatsapp,
Gmail, YouTube, Calendar,
Google Talk, UC Browser
Price
Price level About 85 USD


There you go. Nothing really groundbreaking.

Here are some pictures of the device. Pardon the crappy quality.

What is the price in naira since it is our legal tender here
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 11:11am On Dec 05, 2015
And finally, what people have been waiting for. Camera quality.
It comes with a 5mp primary camera, and 2mp secondary camera, but boy-oh-boy do they overperform.
Stock cameras seem to have quite a bit of background noise, but Camera 360 app fixes that.

1. Plant (Taken by 6:30am ,with primary camera. No flash. )
2. Curtains (Taken at night, with primary camera. Flash)
3. Picture of me in my private jet (Taken at noon, inside the jet, with secondary camera. No flash)

Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 11:12am On Dec 05, 2015
Benchmark scores.

1 Like

Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 11:29am On Dec 05, 2015
Conclusion.

Here are the pros of the device
-Camera quality: Under decent lighting conditions, this phone's camera will outperform that of any other phone in the same price range.
-Sound quality: As a music lover myself, this phone is great. The earpiece sound quality is simply orgasm-inducing. This phone wouldn't lose to some highend devices in this aspect. I mean it, my sound system at home trips off when I increase the phone volume to the highest.
-Display is also very good.
-Android v5.1, sweet.
-Excellent battery backup.
-4G LTE
Cons of the device
-1gb of ram and 1ghz processor, and it shows. It can be optimized though.
-Device is a little bit bulky. About 11mm thick, but it has pretty good ergonomics.

The Gionee M3mini is, after all is said and done, a budget device. It's sold at 16k5-17k here in Nigeria, depending on your location. Don't come in expecting too much.
What it gives you, however, is value for your money. This phone is easily worth 21k or so.

Should you buy it?
If you have 18k and need a phone that will give you bang for your buck, here's what my negro Crypt has to say.

Yours amazingly,
-Rox

PS: Have an image of an ugly frog being naughty, because why not?

1 Like

Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by amAZEing: 11:31am On Dec 05, 2015
#Following.
Very objective review. No hype. No pretense. A No Nonsense Review.
Coming up with my own battery usage SS after OP's review.

#TeamM3Mini

2 Likes

Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 11:33am On Dec 05, 2015
BrightEye:
How much can i get it at computer village now?

In what city, Sir?

asuustrike2009:

What is the price in naira since it is our legal tender here

16k5-17k
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by kolexis: 11:44am On Dec 05, 2015
cool review, this phone ain't escaping my grip

1 Like

Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by Nobody: 11:51am On Dec 05, 2015
HeavenlyBang:

In what city, Sir?


16k5-17k
What differentiate it from the Gionnee M3
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 11:54am On Dec 05, 2015
asuustrike2009:

What differentiate it from the Gionnee M3

Never owned an M3, but coming from people who have

-Better battery backup

-Better camera

-4G LTE
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by olayinkajnr(m): 11:57am On Dec 05, 2015
Nice review Rox..... Love That
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by Nobody: 12:12pm On Dec 05, 2015
HeavenlyBang:


Never owned an M3, but coming from people who have

-Better battery backup

-Better camera

-4G LTE
so the picture quality is good right that's m3 mini
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by Nobody: 12:22pm On Dec 05, 2015
Hello. Pls what the name of your font. I love it
HeavenlyBang:


Never owned an M3, but coming from people who have

-Better battery backup

-Better camera

-4G LTE
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 12:57pm On Dec 05, 2015
asuustrike2009:

so the picture quality is good right that's m3 mini

Yeah.

bestdeals0:
Hello. Pls what the name of your font. I love it

Roboto light.
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 12:58pm On Dec 05, 2015
olayinkajnr:
Nice review Rox..... Love That
Thanks, boss.
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by 4peace(m): 2:52pm On Dec 05, 2015
Nice review

Team dont make noise

Enjoy your phone

You can worship with us here https://www.nairaland.com/2575877/gionee-m3mini-discussion-thread-hot

1 Like

Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by solar007: 2:59pm On Dec 05, 2015
Very good and nice review embarassed
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by Nobody: 3:18pm On Dec 05, 2015
@op, was it king root you used in rooting your device?
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by parrotibaba(m): 3:21pm On Dec 05, 2015
Gamers wouldn't like this phone cos of the meagre 8gb Rom.
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by carbonmonoxide: 4:40pm On Dec 05, 2015
HeavenlyBang:


Yeah.



Roboto light.
please;
1.Can the quick options access (like the data connecton, bt, wifi etc) only be dragged from downwards??
2. Can yu share a ss of you using the otg option??
3. The bulky you are talking about, is it very bulky and very heavy??
4. I heard it lags a lil bit, how true is it...

Thanks in anticipation...
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 5:48pm On Dec 05, 2015
carbonmonoxide:
please;
1.Can the quick options access (like the data connecton, bt, wifi etc) only be dragged from downwards??
2. Can yu share a ss of you using the otg option??
3. The bulky you are talking about, is it very bulky and very heavy??
4. I heard it lags a lil bit, how true is it...

Thanks in anticipation...

-Yes, it's pretty cool. Better than the kitkat quick settings panel. Can be accessed from anywhere in the phone, even lockscreen.

-I don't have an otg cable, but I'll share ss of otg in a bit.

-It weighs 155g, not really heavy, and it's 11mm thick. Considering my last phone was 120g and 9mm thick, I consider it a bit bulky, but it really isn't.

-Well, multitasking isn't so good on power saving, but you can add your important apps to your whitelist so they wouldn't be closed in background. When using Psiphon, UC, Whatsapp, Messaging, at the same time, I experienced some lag. But Psiphon siphons power from your processor, I suppose.
Like I said, it's a 1ghz device, and it shows.

Hope I helped.

1 Like

Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by HeavenlyBang(m): 5:51pm On Dec 05, 2015
Ccanyanwu:
@op, was it king root you used in rooting your device?

My device isn't rooted for now. No firmware is available as of yet.
The phone comes with an inbuilt font changer. Just download a ttf and the phone installs, so you can use it without root.

parrotibaba:
Gamers wouldn't like this phone cos of the meagre 8gb Rom.

That's what Sdcards are for, bro. You can get an original 16gb sd for 2k.

solar007:
Very good and nice review embarassed

Thank you.

1 Like

Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by Nobody: 6:01pm On Dec 05, 2015
HeavenlyBang:


My device isn't rooted for now. No firmware is available as of yet.
The phone comes with an inbuilt font changer. Just download a ttf and the phone installs, so you can use it without root.



That's what Sdcards are for, bro. You can get an original 16gb sd for 2k.



Thank you.
This phone is really great o
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by carbonmonoxide: 6:12pm On Dec 05, 2015
HeavenlyBang:


-Yes, it's pretty cool. Better than the kitkat quick settings panel. Can be accessed from anywhere in the phone, even lockscreen.

-I don't have an otg cable, but I'll share ss of otg in a bit.

-It weighs 155g, not really heavy, and it's 11mm thick. Considering my last phone was 120g and 9mm thick, I consider it a bit bulky, but it really isn't.

-Well, multitasking isn't so good on power saving, but you can add your important apps to your whitelist so they wouldn't be closed in background. When using Psiphon, UC, Whatsapp, Messaging, at the same time, I experienced some lag. But Psiphon siphons power from your processor, I suppose.
Like I said, it's a 1ghz device, and it shows.

Hope I helped.
Yhh you helped, I've still got questions ooo.. I jst can't remember now (cos I really want to get the phone)

And I kinda prefer my notification from the top...
Re: Full Review Of The Gionee M3mini by dukeo(m): 6:28pm On Dec 05, 2015
HeavenlyBang:


-Yes, it's pretty cool. Better than the kitkat quick settings panel. Can be accessed from anywhere in the phone, even lockscreen.

-I don't have an otg cable, but I'll share ss of otg in a bit.

-It weighs 155g, not really heavy, and it's 11mm thick. Considering my last phone was 120g and 9mm thick, I consider it a bit bulky, but it really isn't.

-Well, multitasking isn't so good on power saving, but you can add your important apps to your whitelist so they wouldn't be closed in background. When using Psiphon, UC, Whatsapp, Messaging, at the same time, I experienced some lag. But Psiphon siphons power from your processor, I suppose.
Like I said, it's a 1ghz device, and it shows.

Hope I helped.

does it come with flip case?

(1) (2) (Reply)

No Single Techno, Infiniti And Itel Phone Has Ever Been Sold In China / [pics] This Bracelet Turns Your Skin Into A Touchscreen Phone / Samsung Galaxy M30 Spec, Features & Price In Nigeria & U.S.A

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 44
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.