Stats: 3,152,897 members, 7,817,643 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 04:15 PM

DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. (1160 Views)

DSS Raids Pencom Office In Abuja As Anohu-amazu Goes Into Hiding / DSS Raids And Arrests 2 High Court Judges In Abuja And Gombe (photo) / DSS Raids Dasuki’s House In Abuja, Stops Ex-NSA’s Trip (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Go Down)

DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by PhockPhockMan: 7:24pm On Mar 05, 2016

The whereabouts of some members of the Ekiti state house of assembly has been unknown since Friday when operatives of the Department of State Services (DSS) allegedly invaded the assembly.

According to Kola Oluwawole, speaker of the assembly, the visit of the security personnel took the lawmakers unawares.

Oluwawole claimed that men of the secret police shot sporadically within the assembly complex, resulting into tension and disruption of crucial activities.

The speaker described the incident as “the clandestine plot by the President Muhammadu Buhari-led All Progressives Congress (APC) federal government to destabilise the Ekiti state government”.

“Yesterday, the house of assembly chamber was invaded by armed men of the DSS, not minding that various committees of the house were meeting,” he said at a press conference.

“More than of them [sic], who were armed to the teeth, were shooting sporadically into the air within the assembly complex.

“Staff of the house of assembly had to scamper for safety. At the end of the commotion created, we discovered that four of our members could not be found.

“It was only this morning that we were able to establish that Honourable Afolabi Akanni, representing Efon Constituency, was abducted and taken to Abuja. Whereabouts of three other members is still unknown as we speak, and reasons for the invasion and abduction of our members are not known.”

Oluwawole said the assembly will not succumb to intimidation or any form of harassment, alleging that there were plans to arrest top government officials in the state based on the critical stance of Ayodele Fayose, governor of the state, against the president.

He compared the situation to the alleged invasion of the Akwa Ibom state government house by the DSS in 2015, wondering why the service has not told the public what made it storm Akwa Ibom.

The speaker said he and his colleagues were fully prepared and will resist any attempt to use the assembly to carry out any “ungodly” act.

“We got it on good authority that the script now being acted by the DSS is part of the APC and President Buhari’s clandestine plot to cripple the Ekiti state government by arresting and detaining top functionaries of the government,” he said.

“The plot is to harass, intimidate and embarrass top officials of the Ayodele Fayose-led government because of his critical stance on the Buhari-led government.

“We are aware that 18 of our members have been penciled in for harassment and the game plan is to harass them to submission, with a view to coercing them into signing an already prepared notice of impeachment of the governor and his deputy.

“However, we wish to inform those orchestrating the harassment and intimidation of officials of the Ekiti state government, especially honourable members of the state house of assembly that this is 2016 and not 2006. The same tactics used 10 years ago to truncate democracy in Ekiti State will not work this time.

“We, therefore, wish to tell the APC agents of political instability that this time around, this house of assembly will not be available for any ungodly use. We also wish to remind Nigerians of how in September last year, the federal government invaded the Akwa Ibom State Government House with armed men of the DSS.

“Up till today, Nigerians are yet to be told officially why, in a federal system of government in which federating units enjoy some degree of autonomy, the government house occupied by a governor who enjoys the same immunity enjoyed by the president as provided by the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria was invaded by armed men of the DSS.

“While we are not afraid of persecution from anyone or government agency, including the DSS, we wish to state that the level at which the Buhari-led Federal Government is taking political vendetta and muzzling of opposition both in the Peoples PDP and within the APC is dangerous to the survival of democracy in the country.

Nigeria is not a banana republic that can be ruled anyhow by anyone and Mr Lawal Daura and his men, who are playing exactly the same role played between 1984 and 1985 by the National Security Organisation (NSO) under Lawal Rafindadi should know that this reign of brute force over constitutional democracy will fail. This is because we have seen them operate before and here they are now, trying to take us back to that inglorious era of dictatorship and barbarism where the DSS (then NSO) was used to oppress Nigerians, throwing them in jail without trial. This time around, we are in a democracy that can never accommodate that 1984 era of draconian rule.”

https://www.thecable.ng/dss-raids-ekiti-assembly-arrests-4-lawmakers
Re: DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by zico530(m): 7:31pm On Mar 05, 2016
That is what we will be having in Nigeria; harassment, rape kidnapping, Islamabad, poor economy and intimidation when you have an unrepentant dictator at the helm of affairs.

Re: DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by PhockPhockMan: 7:39pm On Mar 05, 2016
No to tyranny.
Re: DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by babyphaze07(m): 7:40pm On Mar 05, 2016
Maybe those ones abducted will serve the propose punishment for their master.
Re: DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by NextGovernor(m): 7:41pm On Mar 05, 2016
Dictatorship

Re: DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by RZArecta(m): 7:43pm On Mar 05, 2016
All this to impeach Fayose by force cheesy

Re: DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by nakamora: 7:47pm On Mar 05, 2016
Tope Aluko pls expose all of them in this ekitigate.DSS ensure you put fire for their yanch hot hot.
DSS work don come, give them the Metuh treatment.
Re: DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by ZKOSOSO(m): 7:47pm On Mar 05, 2016
Abeg....! God do something fast. Bubu has lost it.
Abacha is here again!
Re: DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by IVORY2009(m): 7:48pm On Mar 05, 2016
Military system of govt here we come...
Re: DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by seunmsg(m): 7:50pm On Mar 05, 2016
PhockPhockMan:
No to tyranny.

What's the tyranny here? Lawmakers don't have immunity so, no big deal if they are arrested. The question we should ask DSS is, why were they arrested? I want to believe they must have done something or about to do something wrong before DSS can swoop on them.
Re: DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by PhockPhockMan: 7:57pm On Mar 05, 2016
Some people will celebrate this evil without knowing that injury for one is injury for all.

Lalasticlala, obinoscopy
Re: DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by nakamora: 7:59pm On Mar 05, 2016
DSS should have pack all of them like crayfish. Roast there yanch,all the truth about ekitigate will be made obvious without further delay.
Re: DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by IsraeliAIRFORCE: 8:00pm On Mar 05, 2016
I gave up on DSS as soon as I heard from Victor Umeh that any criticism bothering on the activities of Fulani Herdsmen is incitement against the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

I saw these things coming and here they are.
Re: DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by urbanmonk: 8:04pm On Mar 05, 2016
Those who are clapping for this monster are shameless.
Re: DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by PhockPhockMan: 8:29pm On Mar 05, 2016
IsraeliAIRFORCE:
I gave up on DSS as soon as I heard from Victor Umeh that any criticism of activities of Fulani Herdsmen is incitement against the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

I saw these things coming and here they are.

Hard truth.
Re: DSS ‘raids’ Ekiti Assembly, ‘arrests’ 4 Lawmakers. by Mynd44: 8:35pm On Mar 05, 2016

(1)

Biafra: As The Agitation Festers, Time For World Leaders To Intervene. / What Amaechi Really Needs. / Buhari Releases Statement Following Latest Attack On Pipelines.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 21