Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,150,838 members, 7,810,223 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 12:39 AM

Advice On Buying A Nigerian-used Car - Autos - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Autos / Advice On Buying A Nigerian-used Car (3121 Views)

Pls What Will Be Your Criteria For Buying A Used Car? / Guide To Buying A Nigerian Used Car. / A Nigerian Used 2000 Model HONDA CRV Fabric Interior For Sale..700k (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

Advice On Buying A Nigerian-used Car by Nobody: 6:10am On May 17, 2016
Hello, thanks for looking in smiley

I am a student, and after due consideration, I have decided that I want to get a car by next month or so.

I know Tokunbos are supposed to be better in general, but I simply am not willing to put that kind of money down for something that is not a "necessity."

I like Honda cars (Nissan too, but I've heard it's a no-go area), and I've seen some very clean-looking Babyboys here on NL.

My questions are: Is it inherently bad to buy a Nigerian-used car? Are there some people who have had good experiences buying same on NL?

What will fuel consumption and maintenance possibly be like?

Please and please, don't read and close if you have any insight that could be of help. Thanks and God bless you.

1 Like

Re: Advice On Buying A Nigerian-used Car by africanboy(m): 6:25am On May 17, 2016
If you can, avoid Nigerian used for one reason "our maintenance culture is bad". Owners delay servicing because of lack of funds. Mechanics just patching vehicles as long as it just works. Our roads don't smile.

A vehicle may look all clean and shiny, but underneath...... it is a trap.

4 Likes

Re: Advice On Buying A Nigerian-used Car by saint2ace(m): 6:44am On May 17, 2016
koonbey:

I am a student, and after due consideration, I have decided that I want to get a car by next month or so.