₦airaland Forum

Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,056,042 members, 4,424,812 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 August 2018 at 04:53 PM

Whats Your Opinion On Who A Christian Should Be? - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Whats Your Opinion On Who A Christian Should Be? (253 Views)

This Is How A Christian Should View Homosexuality / 4 Things A Christian Should Never Do / 10 Bible Verses Every Christian Should Know By Heart (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

Whats Your Opinion On Who A Christian Should Be? by GodsMopol: 5:13pm On Dec 03, 2017
Everything that relate to a person who is called a Christian, what are expected of them and the likes

Let's have a chat
Re: Whats Your Opinion On Who A Christian Should Be? by Lex11(m): 5:29pm On Dec 03, 2017
A true Christian, one undeservingly pardoned and justified by God Himself, is always indwelt by the Holy Spirit and will increasingly exhibit the characteristics/fruit of God the Holy Spirit / Christ Jesus -


"But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law." - Galatians 5:21-23

Peace and blessings!

1 Like

Re: Whats Your Opinion On Who A Christian Should Be? by HRHQueenPhil: 5:35pm On Dec 03, 2017
Just as you have a surname and can represent your dad in the world and at family functions, Christians are adopted children of the Most High GOD. wen u carry that mentality with u, it seperates you from the rest. for example, conditions were given to Ms Markle if she must be married to prince harry, same it is with Christians. you dont talk like the rest of the world, dress,and act like them. even eating as well. therefore a christian should be one that is led by the SPIRIT of God. If the fruits of the spirit are not being exhibited in the life of the person, then that christian must do all it takes to become one. All christians are still going through training, and as u well know. when trained, u fail some exams , repeat the class or pass, win and continue to the next course. just like david trained touts who later became mighty men of valour, we are all still being trained.

1 Like

Re: Whats Your Opinion On Who A Christian Should Be? by GodsMopol: 6:18pm On Dec 03, 2017
Lex11:
A true Christian, one undeservingly pardoned and justified by God Himself, is always indwelt by the Holy Spirit and will increasingly exhibit the characteristics/fruit of God the Holy Spirit / Christ Jesus -


"But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law." - Galatians 5:21-23

Peace and blessings!

Thanks for the contribution Sir.

I love the choice of word you used up there

Undeservingly

I could meditate on that word all year long and the revelation will be never ending

What's your favorite Bible verse sir and is there a difference between Spirit upon and spirit within

1 Like

Re: Whats Your Opinion On Who A Christian Should Be? by GodsMopol: 6:25pm On Dec 03, 2017
HRHQueenPhil:
Just as you have a surname and can represent your dad in the world and at family functions, Christians are adopted children of the Most High GOD. wen u carry that mentality with u, it seperates you from the rest. for example, conditions were given to Ms Markle if she must be married to prince harry, same it is with Christians. you dont talk like the rest of the world, dress,and act like them. even eating as well. therefore a christian should be one that is led by the SPIRIT of God. If the fruits of the spirit are not being exhibited in the life of the person, then that christian must do all it takes to become one. All christians are still going through training, and as u well know. when trained, u fail some exams , repeat the class or pass, win and continue to the next course. just like david trained touts who later became mighty men of valour, we are all still being trained.

I think I should take you as my NL spiritual mother

Guess you will raise babies in this planet

Wait. I don't understand, do you have a call?

The grace on you is mindblowing

I was struggling to type

Don't worry, you've earned my I don't know, word can't contain it.

I must confess, I have no met this level of grace on NL, eversince I have been on this site

Are you a Prophet?
Re: Whats Your Opinion On Who A Christian Should Be? by Jochabed(f): 7:05pm On Dec 03, 2017
A true christian is a replica of Christ.

1 Like

Re: Whats Your Opinion On Who A Christian Should Be? by GodsMopol: 8:19pm On Dec 03, 2017
Jochabed:
A true christian is a replica of Christ.

hmmmm, yea, but we need to understand that we need to grow to be like Christ

Rome is not built in a day, you know

What would you tell a new convert as a Christian to keep doing to ensure they become a replica of Christ

Thanks for your contribution sis
Re: Whats Your Opinion On Who A Christian Should Be? by Lex11(m): 8:53pm On Dec 03, 2017
GodsMopol:


Thanks for the contribution Sir.

I love the choice of word you used up there

Undeservingly

I could meditate on that word all year long and the revelation will be never ending

What's your favorite Bible verse sir and is there a difference between Spirit upon and spirit within

-------
My brother it's my pleasure... thanks for opening the discussion.

I believe that "Spirit upon" and "Spirit within" can be synonymous/ the same. Take the Lord Jesus Christ for example in this verse speaking about Him - "Behold! My Servant whom I uphold, My Elect One in whom My soul delights! I have put My Spirit upon Him; He will bring forth justice to the Gentiles." - Isaiah 42:1 (also see Luke 4:18) ... So, the Savior Himself has the Holy Spirit both within and upon Him. Only God knows how He does this. One significant take away is that in virtually all the verses that refer to either "Spirit upon" and "Spirit within"... the goal is to accomplish the perfect will of God. (Like Ezekiel 36:27, and the Pentecost in Acts chapter 2, etc), as well as the preceding verses and others.


I love the entire holy word from cover to cover, all 66 chapters... but I tend to particularly be moved by all the verses that either exalt God, and/or show that God's promises never fail - like the ones below:

"that you keep this commandment without spot, blameless until our Lord Jesus Christ’s appearing, which He will manifest in His own time, He who is the blessed and only Potentate, the King of kings and Lord of lords, who alone has immortality, dwelling in unapproachable light, whom no man has seen or can see, to whom be honor and everlasting power. Amen." - 1 Timothy 6:14-16

"Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” - Hebrews 13:5

To quickly chime in on the question you asked Jochabed... I believe what one should primarily do to become more and more like Christ is to do what He said... "watch and pray" (Matt 26:41). I take watch as staying in/ reading the word of God... reading a verses, verses or a chapter a day... and then "pray without ceasing" - 1 Thessalonians 5:17... God helps and enables his children be like Him.


Peace and blessings!

1 Like

Re: Whats Your Opinion On Who A Christian Should Be? by GodsMopol: 9:52pm On Dec 03, 2017
Lex11:


-------
My brother it's my pleasure... thanks for opening the discussion.

I believe that "Spirit upon" and "Spirit within" can be synonymous/ the same. Take the Lord Jesus Christ for example in this verse speaking about Him - "Behold! My Servant whom I uphold, My Elect One in whom My soul delights! I have put My Spirit upon Him; He will bring forth justice to the Gentiles." - Isaiah 42:1 (also see Luke 4:18) ... So, the Savior Himself has the Holy Spirit both within and upon Him. Only God knows how He does this. One significant take away is that in virtually all the verses that refer to either "Spirit upon" and "Spirit within"... the goal is to accomplish the perfect will of God. (Like Ezekiel 36:27, and the Pentecost in Acts chapter 2, etc), as well as the preceding verses and others.


I love the entire holy word from cover to cover, all 66 chapters... but I tend to particularly be moved by all the verses that either exalt God, and/or show that God's promises never fail - like the ones below:

"that you keep this commandment without spot, blameless until our Lord Jesus Christ’s appearing, which He will manifest in His own time, He who is the blessed and only Potentate, the King of kings and Lord of lords, who alone has immortality, dwelling in unapproachable light, whom no man has seen or can see, to whom be honor and everlasting power. Amen." - 1 Timothy 6:14-16

"Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” - Hebrews 13:5

To quickly chime in on the question you asked Jochabed... I believe what one should primarily do to become more and more like Christ is to do what He said... "watch and pray" (Matt 26:41). I take watch as staying in/ reading the word of God... reading a verses, verses or a chapter a day... and then "pray without ceasing" - 1 Thessalonians 5:17... God helps and enables his children be like Him.


Peace and blessings!


Wooooow, this is power packed Sir

The 6th chapter of Timothy you quoted looks new to me, though i might have read it religiously, like a new paper

One more Sir

How does one best study the Bible, and grin *scratching head* permit me to ask this one more, I love sharing the word with those who know much. Iron sharpeth they say

yea, second one, can the word transform

cc msngo40
Re: Whats Your Opinion On Who A Christian Should Be? by Lex11(m): 10:54pm On Dec 03, 2017
GodsMopol:


Wooooow, this is power packed Sir

The 6th chapter of Timothy you quoted looks new to me, though i might have read it religiously, like a new paper

One more Sir

How does one best study the Bible, and grin *scratching head* permit me to ask this one more, I love sharing the word with those who know much. Iron sharpeth they say

yea, second one, can the word transform

cc msngo40
-----

It depends on the person studying my brother. I think it's a good idea to read from the 1st (Genesis) straight through to the final (Revelation)... for each chapter maybe note unfamiliar words or phrases, then check cross references by entering the word(s) you're interested in by using a concordance search ("an alphabetical listings of words and phrases found in the Holy Bible and shows where the terms occur throughout all books of Scripture." ) like the free one at http://biblehub.com/concordance/ among others

Ultimately, it is God who gives true literal and spiritual understanding to the reader (1 Corinthians 2:14). Case in point, even the apostle Paul (formerly Saul) who was quite the zealous Biblical scholar all his life didn't spiritually see until the Lord Jesus Christ enabled him to do so from the time that He met him on the road to Damascus (Acts chapter 9)... the same goes for the rest of us.

I'm not sure bro what you mean when you ask if the word can "transform"

1 Like

Re: Whats Your Opinion On Who A Christian Should Be? by HRHQueenPhil: 11:28am On Dec 04, 2017
GodsMopol:


I think I should take you as my NL spiritual mother

Guess you will raise babies in this planet

Wait. I don't understand, do you have a call?

The grace on you is mindblowing

I was struggling to type

Don't worry, you've earned my I don't know, word can't contain it.

I must confess, I have no met this level of grace on NL, eversince I have been on this site

Are you a Prophet?

i am not a prophet just a christian in training and my school is Living faith church. We are having our shiloh programme starting tomorow, pls try and attend or go to d viewing centers in any of our churches. i am confident you will return a new man. my number is 0907-597-8941 for questions or advise
Re: Whats Your Opinion On Who A Christian Should Be? by Nobody: 12:42am On Dec 06, 2017
GodsMopol:


Wooooow, this is power packed Sir

The 6th chapter of Timothy you quoted looks new to me, though i might have read it religiously, like a new paper

One more Sir

How does one best study the Bible, and grin *scratching head* permit me to ask this one more, I love sharing the word with those who know much. Iron sharpeth they say

yea, second one, can the word transform

cc ms/ngo40

Hi my brother,
Thanks for the mention. Tell me in which direction you are trying to go here?
Were you wanting me to add something here?

1 Like

Re: Whats Your Opinion On Who A Christian Should Be? by Goshen360(m): 1:54am On Dec 06, 2017
1. I agree with others on who a Christian is but it's deeper than than. We can all learn the deepest together and it's gradual, slowly and takes time. For a young Christian, the stages will be:

Milk of the word
Meat (Strong meat) of the word.....and,
Bone of the word.

2. Genesis to Revelation is written for YOUR LEARNING OR KNOWLEDGE....so you can tie together the aforementioned to the NOW of God. But not everything written in Genesis to Revelation is FOR YOUR APPLICATION AS A CHRISTIAN.

3. Sound doctrine is not just quoting scriptures or bible. Sound doctrine is RIGHTLY DIVIDING the word of truth. So if one can rightly divide, it suggests to me, another can WRONGLY divide the word. That's why just quoting the bible doesn't mean it is truth to a Christian now or today.

4. When it comes to studying the word of God AS A CHRISTIAN. it's hard and time consuming but slowly and surely we can do it. We can have resources to STUDY which are readily available for us today but many are toooooo busy or lazy and I can understand everyone is not the same and we don't move on the same space. However, EVERY CHRISTIAN MUST be like the Bereans to STUDY WHATEVER IS TAUGHT. Studying is different from reading the Bible.

5. The reason we have many different denominations today in the body of Christ and say different things BUT WE ALL QUOTE FROM SAME BIBLE is because some have WRONGLY DIVIDE THE WORD OF TRUTH.

Lemme stop here and we can chew on this.

1 Like

(1) (Reply)

What A Muslim Facebook User Has To Say About The Jerusalem Been Capital / Curious Bees-a Thought Experiment / Between Daddy Freeze And A Fan On First Fruit, See Exchange

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2018 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 124
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.