Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,153,238 members, 7,818,806 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 04:46 AM

Getting A Job After Nysc: How Long Is Too Long? - NYSC - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / NYSC / Getting A Job After Nysc: How Long Is Too Long? (15359 Views)

One Year And More After NYSC - How Is It Going? / 10 Best States To Choose For NYSC, To Make Money Or Get A Job After NYSC / NYSC: How My Baby And I Passed Out In Style (Photos) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (Reply) (Go Down)

Getting A Job After Nysc: How Long Is Too Long? by JARUSHUB: 12:23pm On Apr 09, 2018
Recently, we got this from our mail.

Hello,

I studied Counselling in school because I didn’t get Accounting and because I had started with ICAN exams before getting admission. I finished with 2:1. I completed ICAN exams recently (can’t get the ACA yet because of work experience requirement). I started with CFA too, passed level 1, I have registered for the 2nd level.

I finished service last year and I quite understandably expected to get a job almost immediately after service. I haven’t been able to get one thus far. So my question, do you think my course of study is working against me? Thanks

You completed your NYSC not long ago, and you’re complaining?

You’re very impatient. Job doesn’t come so fast for 90% of people irrespective of qualifications. I have friends that had first class in accounting (you had 2.1 in Counselling, right?) plus ICAN, and still spent up to a year at home before getting job. That is the reality. It is hardly out of place.

For me, not getting job within 6 months of completing NYSC, irrespective of one’s qualifications, is not yet a bad situation. Even recruitment processes of some companies (all stages of tests, interviews, medicals etc) take up to a year.

Your degrees will not land you job automatically, my brother.