Stats: 3,152,836 members, 7,817,463 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 12:42 PM

Adekunle Gold Blasts Nollywood For Using Song As Soundtrack Without Permission - Celebrities (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Celebrities / Adekunle Gold Blasts Nollywood For Using Song As Soundtrack Without Permission (30204 Views)

Timi Dakolo Slams APC For Using His Song At Party Convention Without Permission / Merit Gold Blasts Prince Kpokpogri: "I Curse The Day You Met Me" / Sola Fosudo: "I Left Nollywood For A N5,000 Lecturing Job In LASU In 1994" (2) (3) (4)

Re: Adekunle Gold Blasts Nollywood For Using Song As Soundtrack Without Permission by Tundeobama(m): 9:07pm On May 02, 2018
Demonicide:
I know it's gonna be a Yoruba movie, they don't like spending so much money on movies.
but igbo speaking films spend more money yeye.No indigenous Nigeria movie is as big as yoruba movie in Nigeria it's crystal clear.

Re: Adekunle Gold Blasts Nollywood For Using Song As Soundtrack Without Permission by amosyanyan(m): 9:18pm On May 02, 2018
Demonicide:
I know it's gonna be a Yoruba movie, they don't like spending so much money on movies.
Seconded
Re: Adekunle Gold Blasts Nollywood For Using Song As Soundtrack Without Permission by Strikethem: 11:13pm On May 02, 2018
Too expensive o
Re: Adekunle Gold Blasts Nollywood For Using Song As Soundtrack Without Permission by Jamorezzi: 12:34am On May 03, 2018
2014 , ade forget the thing joor , it's been long . Better things ahead
Re: Adekunle Gold Blasts Nollywood For Using Song As Soundtrack Without Permission by neutrotoba(m): 1:02am On May 03, 2018
Fweshspice:
Nonsense.... did u pay homage to or ask permission from the legends u stole creativity from mtcheeew

The 'sade' song wey blow u na u get am?? Did u ask for permission from the legitimate owner (One direction) of the song b4 u recorded it?? Yeye dey smell shiiiiooorrrr!

How does Story of my life translate to Sade?
Re: Adekunle Gold Blasts Nollywood For Using Song As Soundtrack Without Permission by Fweshspice(m): 1:13am On May 03, 2018
neutrotoba:

How does Story of my life translate to Sade?
bros get ur facts right...na same beat, same sound pattern, different mssg...the track itself was stated to be a cover to story of my life
Re: Adekunle Gold Blasts Nollywood For Using Song As Soundtrack Without Permission by Ade3000yrs(m): 1:27am On May 03, 2018
Who is d guy?? is he another potential politician vying to be the Next President of Zimbabwe or Ibiza?
Re: Adekunle Gold Blasts Nollywood For Using Song As Soundtrack Without Permission by Kaycee7(m): 8:13am On May 03, 2018
Here's a breakdown.

You can't use an artiste's property in a commercial product without a royalty agreement or permit.
Before you start screaming "One Direction" and "Story of my Life", allow me to point out that the Sade track sung with Story of My Life beat was a cover. Not a commercial product. When the song gained popularity, he re-recorded it with a different beat. Compare the beat in the video. If Adekunle hadn't done that, he could have been sued by One Direction and Syco. So Adekunle isn't guilty of any legal wrongs in the Sade issue.
Had it been Adekunle's song was used in an Instagram or YouTube video, it wouldn't be an issue. Though, courtesy would demand they reference him as the original artiste. They would not be required to reach a royalty agreement or obtain a permit as long as their product is not commercial.
The producers of this movie, however, released Adekunle's song in a commercial product. A movie meant to make profits. But they did not reach a royalty agreement nor obtain a permit from him. That's illegal and criminal. Adekunle Gold shouldn't stop at bashing them. He should sue them.

Sesan Gifts Burna Boy Rolex Watch Worth Over 3million / Femi Kuti, His Brother, Seun And Jidenna Pictured Together / Iyabo Ojo Dazzles In Gorgeous Owambe Outfit

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 13