Stats: 3,153,756 members, 7,820,626 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 06:28 PM

Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped - Sports - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped (2466 Views)

Taye Taiwo Gets Sacked By Turkish Club Bursaspor / Q&A With Stephen Keshi, His Views On Alan Pardew, Ameobi, Danny Shittu, Dike / Amusa Shittu Is Dead (Former Nigerian International, aka 'The Bulldozer') (2) (3) (4)

Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by honeric01(m): 2:21pm On Sep 24, 2010
Taye Taiwo has been recalled to the Nigeria squad for next month's 2012 African Nations Cup qualifier against Guinea in Conakry.

Also recalled are Yusuf Ayila, Obinna Nsofor and Dele Adeleye as Austin Eguavoen named 30 players for what is expected to be his last game in charge.

There is also a first time call-up for former Spain junior international Sunday Stephen.

But there was still no place in the squad for Everton forward Yakubu Ayegbeni, while defender Danny Shittu has also been left out as he seeks to rebuild his career after being released by Bolton Wanderers.

The squad is a 50-50 split between domestic and foreign players.

The domestic players have been asked to report on September 26, and will be joined by their Europe-based counterparts a week later on October 4

Eagles full squad for Guinea clash on October 10 in Conakry:

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Hapoel Tel Aviv), Dele Aiyenugba (Bnei-Yehuda), Bassey Akpan (Bayelsa United), Chigozie Agbim (Warri Wolves)

Defenders: Chidi Odiah (CSKA Moscow), Dele Adeleye (Metalurh Donetsk), Taye Taiwo (Olympique Marseille), Emmanuel Anyanwu, Emeka Anyanwu, Valentine Nwabili (Enyimba), Joseph Yobo (Fenerbache), Ugwu Uwadiegwu (Enugu Rangers), Ikechukwu ThankGod (Heartland), Chibuzor Okonkwo (Bayelsa United)

Midfielders: Mikel (Chelsea), Kalu Uche (Almeria), Otekpa Eneji (Enyimba), Dickson Etuhu (Fulham), Sunday Stephen (Valencia), Yusuf Ayila (Dynamo Kiev), Daddy Bazuaye (Enyimba), John Nnam(Enugu Rangers), Ayo Saka (Ocean Boys)

Strikers: Obinna Nsofor (West Ham), Ahmed Musa (Kano Pillars), Obafemi Martins (Rubin Kazan), Osaze Odemwingie (West Bromwich Albion), Michael Eneramo (Esperance), John Owoeri (Heartland), Moses Bunde (Lobi Stars)

http://www.kickoff.com/news/17939/taye-taiwo-gets-nigeria-recall-danny-shittu-dropped.php
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by 12large: 6:35pm On Sep 24, 2010
just look at the midfield no out and out playmaker, eguavor new amodu calls up all defensive midfilder's plus kalu uche. this is the time for nwankwo,azeez,ibrahim,joel obi to be groomed instead they call up these nonsense homebase rubbish players that cannot even trap ball.
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by medjai(m): 8:51pm On Sep 24, 2010
why on earth is Peter Utaka not being called up? He has been scoring freely in the Danish league and Europa league too
12large:

just look at the midfield no out and out playmaker, eguavor new amodu calls up all defensive midfilder's plus kalu uche. this is the time for nwankwo,azeez,ibrahim,joel obi to be groomed instead they call up these nonsense homebase rubbish players that cannot even trap ball.
how many players do you want to be called up? Amodu was villified for not calling up home based players. Eguavoen has given them a chance and now you are saying something else. Is it player in Europe that must be called up?
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by semid4lyfe(m): 9:39pm On Sep 24, 2010
Ike ThankGod, John Owoeri, Chibuzor Okonkwo and Dickson Etuhu should not have been invited as well

*Ike ThankGod is fat & heavy and is simply not good enough.
*Dickson Etuhu is piss poor and will never be a good player in this life or the next.
*Chibuzor Okonkwo's form has deteriorated badly and he's a shadow of his former self.
*John Owoeri is just there. . .an average player IMO.

I would have preferred the following players instead
- Onyekachi Apam for Ike ThankGod
- Terna Suswan for Chibuzor Okonkwo
- Sanni Keita, Obiora Nwankwo or Ramon Azeez for Dickson Etuhu.
- Fengor Ogude or Batholomew Ibenegbu for John Owoeri. I mean what happened to Solomon Okpako, Gabriel Rueben, Ganiyu Salami and all those players that participated in the WAFU tournament?
[center]AND[/center]
What is Eguavoen inviting 4 goalkeepers for? By the way, the earlier Eguavoen realizes that our best central defence pairing is Apam and Adeleye, the better cos they need to play together as often as possible.

For an away match of such magnitude & against a very good team like Guinea, this team is weak and I'm disappointed.

Someone is definitely pulling the strings behind the scene.
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by ice234: 1:58am On Sep 25, 2010
shittu shd be drop dat guy shd make a career in american football
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by yousouph(m): 7:55am On Sep 25, 2010
Why call 30 players for a qualifier with a week training? They should stop wasting government money
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by Amhatu(m): 6:31pm On Sep 25, 2010
Want to say enjoyed watching Taye Taiwo(Marseille) , power long shot goal  Today 25-9-2010, about 6:15 france/nigeria time 
against Sochaux (France Ligue1).

Good shot my brother Taiwo for opening goal. (Osazemwinde Odemwingie - West Bom against Arsenal 25-9-2010, today had opening goal as well . Up Naija!!)
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by xviconcept: 7:05pm On Sep 25, 2010
dats good for him but he should try to work hard cos dis might be his last time
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by ROCKJ1(m): 7:27pm On Sep 25, 2010
i am interested in result, NOT squad
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by bignaija(m): 7:35pm On Sep 25, 2010
why?
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by phreakabit(m): 7:37pm On Sep 25, 2010
in exception of

Obinna Nsofor (West Ham), Ahmed Musa (Kano Pillars), Obafemi Martins (Rubin Kazan), Osaze Odemwingie (West Bromwich Albion),Mikel (Chelsea), Kalu Uche (Almeria), Dickson Etuhu (Fulham), Sunday Stephen (Valencia), Yusuf Ayila (Dynamo Kiev), Chidi Odiah (CSKA Moscow), Dele Adeleye (Metalurh Donetsk), Taye Taiwo (Olympique Marseille), Valentine Nwabili (Enyimba), Joseph Yobo (Fenerbache),

I have to say the rest are 100% garbage and belong in the garbage yard,like junk yard dogs!
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by eros(m): 7:56pm On Sep 25, 2010
We need RESULTS, RESULTS, RESULTS, and not a line up or list of players. For all i care, the Nigerian squad can be 10 year old's as long as the win their matches.
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by ice234: 11:06pm On Sep 25, 2010
make taiwo look bush
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by Becomrich0: 2:33am On Sep 26, 2010
what is Obinna Nsofor ? doing in that team, that boy is the most lazy player, I have ever seen. he wait for the ball.
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by Kc0022000(m): 7:17am On Sep 26, 2010
Becomrich0:

what is Obinna Nsofor ? doing in that team, that boy is the most lazy player, I have ever seen. he wait for the ball.

Should the ball wait for him ? u sef, grin
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by Ranoscky(m): 8:42am On Sep 26, 2010
12large:

why u no dey reason before u talk?. . . undecided so u mean all home based player are not good enough? undecided

Oh, sorry kid, my bad!

*I forgot that the 'child' am talkin to is 'whacky' interms of analysin football.*
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by Ranoscky(m): 8:45am On Sep 26, 2010
ROCK-J:

i am interested in result, NOT squad

I ball with you player !!!

Afterall, spain paraded all their best players and stil lost against swiss in the W.C !
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by ice234: 8:51am On Sep 26, 2010
i hate nigerian team. they are so highly over rated
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by otokx(m): 11:19am On Sep 26, 2010
what are we doing with 4 keepers? 2 will be sufficient.
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by ice234: 11:23am On Sep 26, 2010
so dat they pick the ball out of their net
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by ayex0001: 2:06pm On Sep 26, 2010
I think the decision is right,
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by phreakabit(m): 9:06pm On Sep 26, 2010
I ball with you player !!!

Afterall, spain paraded all their best players and stil lost against swiss in the W.C !

Ummm,Spain won the world cup after that,
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by suedoh2006(m): 11:46pm On Sep 26, 2010
Niger self, one mistake you make everybody go dey against you.
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by andyanders: 8:15am On Sep 27, 2010
PLS,PLS, PLS, NOBODY SHOULD MENTION YAKUBU AGAIN IN THE NIGERIA SOCCER HISTORY. THE WORST STRIKER IN THE WORLD AS HE WAS BEEN DESCRIBED BY MARADONA IN 2010 WORLD CUP.EGUAVON KNOWS WHAT HE IS DOING. AS FAR AS NIGERIA SOCCER AND SUPPER EAGLES IS CONCERNED, YAKUBU SHOULD BE CONFINED TO DUSTBIN.
WE HAVE YOUNGER STRICKERS. YAKUBU IS AN OLD MAN. FORGET WATH THEY ALL DECLARED THEIR AGES TO BE. HE IS AMLOST 40 YRS, THAT IS WHY THEY FAIL WHEN MUCH IS EXPECTED FROM THEM. ONLY OSAZE THAT HAS THE ACTUAL TRUE AGE AND THAT IS WHY HE IS DOING WELL AT 28YRS
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by ice234: 8:53am On Sep 27, 2010
llol
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by denony(m): 10:17am On Sep 27, 2010
Kini big deal?
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by vislabraye(m): 2:45pm On Sep 27, 2010
I'm sort of getting tired of Nigeria football. Any way, i wish Eguavon best of luck. At least we do have some great players in the prem.
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by namdo(m): 4:15pm On Sep 27, 2010
anyone who has Eguavoen's contact should ask him to read N/L for valuable criticisms and suggestions especially on our defence lineup where we have always had challenges in recent years. I think that Adeleye/Apam will make a good defensive wall for SE.
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by honeric01(m): 8:33am On Sep 28, 2010
Taye Taiwo celebrated his recall to the Nigeria squad by scoring a candidate for goal of the season as Olympic Marseille beat Sochaux 2-1.

Taiwo was this week recalled to the Super Eagles after being left out of the opening fixture against Madagascar, and showed what he can bring to the Nigeria team.

The left back picked up a pass halfway into the opposition area, pushed the ball forward before letting off what looked like a cross to beat the goalkeeper at the far post.

Asked at half time if it was a fluke, Taiwo was quick to insist he knew what he was doing.

"I wanted the ball to go in, and it did," he said.

The goal, Taiwo's third of the season, was reminiscent of a similar goal he scored at the 2005 World Youth Championship against Ukraine.

That goal proved to be the winner as the Under-20 team progressed to the final where they lost to an Argentina team inspired by a certain Lionel Messi.

http://www.supersport.com/football/nigeria/news/100927/Taiwo_celebrates_call_up_with_wonder_goal
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by honeric01(m): 8:36am On Sep 28, 2010
Super Eagles’ interim head coach Austin Eguavoen is hoping that the duo of Kalu Uche and Osaze Odemwingie will reproduce their impressive displays for their clubs in the colours of the Nigerian national team against Guinea in an Africa Cup of Nations qualifier next month.

He told SuperSport.com that he has been following the performances of the Nigerian players based abroad since the start of the 2010/2011 season and so far he is impressed.

When prodded to comment on the performances of Kalu Uche and Odemwingie for their clubs over the weekend, Eguavoen could not help but salute the duo for their displays.

The 45-year-old Nigerian coach, however, believes that the form of the twosome comes at the right time when the Super Eagles will head to Conakry to face Guinea on October 10.

“I am happy with the performances of our players especially the ones that will be part of the game against Guinea in the Nations Cup qualifier. It is good to see our players do well, as I believe that it will rub off on the national team.

“As for Osaze and Kalu Uche, any coach will be happy to see his players perform the way they did. And their performance is coming at the right time ahead of the qualifier against Guinea in Conakry. Hopefully and barring any injury to them, I know that they will bring same performance to the national team,” the former Enyimba manager said.

At the weekend, Odemwingie played a key role and scored the opener in ensuring that West Brom upset Arsenal by 3-2 at the Emirates in the Barclays English Premier League.

In Spain, Kalu Uche’s early brace helped modest Almeria to a 2 – 0 away win over 10-man Deportivo La Coruna.

http://www.supersport.com/football/nigeria/news/100927/Austin_wants_Kalu_Osaze_to_replicate_form
Re: Taiwo Gets Nigeria Recall, Shittu Dropped by orangemen: 6:17pm On Sep 29, 2010
shittu shd be drop dat guy shd make a career in american football

@ice234,
is this what u have to say to a guy that has given all he has for this jungle called nigeria? this is where patroticism has landed him. he so much valued national assignments that he took his club business for granted. this same nigerians are here to celebrate his failure.
in other countries, shittu will be helped thru national team to get another club since he has none at the moment.
when it was down for robinho, brazil was always inviting him.
i have said it times without numbers, players must learn to concentrate more on their clubs than this nigeria because we do not worth their sacrifices.

Todays Viscabet.com Free Betting Tips / Naijabet Must Pay..........tonight's 798 Odds / Who Fills Patrick Vieira's Shoes? (After Arsenal -> Juventus Transfer)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 35