Stats: 3,162,387 members, 7,850,393 topics. Date: Tuesday, 04 June 2024 at 08:22 PM

Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority (790 Views)

BREAKING: Olorogun Felix Ibru Is Dead / Former NSA Dasuki’s Father Discharged From $4,000 Per Night Hospital Treatment / Former NSA Sambo Dasuki’s Father Discharged From $4,000 Per Night Hospital Treat (2) (3) (4)

Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority by Otobroto(f): 8:59am On Oct 16, 2010
Inside Cecilia Ibru’s cell
•In sophisticated hospital, where Royal Suite is N90,000 per night
•It is extension of prison
– Prison authority

By CHIOMA IGBOKWE
Saturday, October 16, 2010

When Justice Dan Abutu sentenced former Oceanic Bank Plc managing director, Mrs. Cecilia Ibru to 18 months imprisonment last Friday, after the accused pleaded guilty to three of the 25 charges brought against her, he made a pronouncement: The convict should be taken to prison and after two hours she should be taken to hospital.

Saturday Sun gathered that as the judged order, Mrs. Ibru was taken to Kirikiri Prison, Lagos from the court premises, after the judgment and thereafter moved to what would serve as her prison cell for now, after she was book as a prison inmate. The former bank chief executive was moved to an elite medical centre, Reddington Hospital, Victoria Island, Lagos, where he is receiving treatment for an undisclosed ailment. She would remain in the hospital until doctors certify her fit to be discharged.

The Reddington Multi-special Hospital, located at 12, Idowu Martins Street, Victoria Island, Lagos, is a newly built nine-floor medical centre. It is on the site of the previous renowned Cardiac Centre and provides fully comprehensive tertiary hospital solution in all medical fields.

Investigation revealed that a standard ward in the hospital goes for between N30, 000 and N90, 000 per night. One of these rooms, which the accounts officer referred to as Josephine Ward, goes for as low as N30, 000, for Nigerians, while the prestigious Royal Suite goes for N90, 000 per night.
Checks at the hospital revealed that the hospital is well organised and has the elite and rich Nigerians as clients. To show how classy the hospital is, visitors are thoroughly screened before being allowed access.

Owing to Mrs. Ibru’s presence, security has been beefed up, thereby making entry into the hospital difficult. Those who are deemed not to have genuine businesses into the hospital, are denied entry. Those who are visiting patients are only allowed in if clearance is got from persons on admission.
It was gathered that Mrs. Ibru is in one of the Royal Suites in the hospital and being watched by prison warden. The warden restricts access to her in the hospital, except to doctors from Reddington Hospital and the prison. Before any visitor is allowed access to her room, such a person has to write to the prison and if approval is given, he/she would see the prisoner.

When Saturday Sun sought to know why Mrs. Ibru is still in hospital, one week after her sentence, the Lagos Prison Command Public Relations Officer, Ope Fatinikun, said that the law permits that. According to him, the prisons activities are guided by the law, adding that the prison was only obeying the instruction of the judge that the convict should be taken to hospital.

He, however, said that the Lagos Prison has good medical facility to take care of prison inmates. “We have medical professionals, whose duty is to ensure that all medical issues are promptly attended to. We are under the law and answerable to the law. The judgment said that she should be kept in that hospital. We had no choice but to obey. When she was convicted, the prison officials did their job while she was moved to the hospital immediately,” he said.
The prison PRO also said that now that Mrs. Ibru is on admission, the hospital has become an extension of the prison.

He said: “The truth is that prison is an extension of the prison; over there our wardens are there to ensure that she is restricted within the confinement of the prison. There are also security men to ensure compliance and no one can have access to her except through us. The person is expected to apply and if she gives her consent, the visitor would be granted access. We hope that as soon as she recovers, she would be transferred female prison.”

Since the hospital is an extension of the prison, does it mean that the prison authorities would pick the bills?
Fatinikun explained that the Nigerian prison would not pay a dime since Mrs. Ibru was not admitted in the prison hospital.
How would the prison know when Mrs. Ibru is fit to leave the hospital? Fatinikun said that wardens and doctors are monitoring he progress.
“We have our prison warden in the room with her and our team of doctors do visit her to certify when she can be transferred to the female prison,” he said.
A prison warden, who pleaded anonymous, told Saturday Sun that the former bank chief’s stay in hospital is bad news for the prison, as her presence within the confine of the prison could cause the improvement of the facilities.

She said: “It would have been a good one at least for the female prisons. The male prison has received a lot of changes because of the category of inmates that were convicted. The female inmates were rejoicing when they heard that Ibru was convicted but all got sad when the news came that she might not see the four walls of the prison. It is really unfortunate.”
Ibru had pleaded guilty to three of 25 count charges of fraud and mismanagement. She was sentenced to six months imprisonment on each of the charge, which would run concurrently.
In sentencing her, Justice Abutu ordered that the former bank chief should forfeit property and assets valued at N199 billion.

http://www.sunnewsonline.com/webpages/features/newsonthehour/2010/oct/16/newsbreak-16-10-2010-001.htm
Re: Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority by Otobroto(f): 9:03am On Oct 16, 2010
Otobroto:

He said: “The truth is that prison (the hospital is what is meant here) is an extension of the prison; over there our wardens are there to ensure that she is restricted within the confinement of the prison. There are also security men to ensure compliance and no one can have access to her except through us. The person is expected to apply and if she gives her consent, the visitor would be granted access. We hope that as soon as she recovers, she would be transferred female prison.”

What a nation!.
Re: Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority by Otobroto(f): 9:05am On Oct 16, 2010
The Nigerian Prisons Service has said that the room in which the convicted former Managing Director and Chief Executive of Oceanic Bank International Plc, Chief (Mrs.) Cecilia Ibru, is being treated of her ailment, at Reddington Hospital, Victoria Island, Lagos has since assumed the status of a prison’s cell.

The Controller General of Prisons, Mr. Olusola Ogundipe, stated this during the week, while speaking through the Public Relations Officer, Lagos state Command of the Nigerian Prisons, Mr. Ope Fatinikun, in an interview with the Saturday Tribune in Lagos.

According to him, “the hospital room where Chief (Mrs.) Ibru is now being treated of her alleged ailment has become an extension of the Nigerian Prisons Service, in view of the fact that the place is being guarded by prison officials and we have our medical doctors, nurses, welfare officers and psychologists at the place.”

excerpt from TRIBUNE NEWSPAPER
http://tribune.com.ng/sat/index.php/news/2293-cecilia-ibru-prison-officials-now-in-charge-of-hospital-room.html
Re: Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority by Oboma1(m): 9:15am On Oct 16, 2010
Nigeria is a nation where corruption is highly celebrated. An example is; Steal N100m, and see how the Nigerian Police Force will attend to your case, even to the court.

Re: Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority by LouisThoru(f): 11:16am On Oct 16, 2010
Sht up you all. You shout for nothing. Go wipe your butt holes with sand paper. Or if you dont like the way things are done in Nigeria, just go jump into the lagoon.
Re: Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority by Oboma1(m): 11:41am On Oct 16, 2010
LouisThoru:

Sht up you all. You shout for nothing. Go wipe your butt holes with sand paper. Or if you dont like the way things are done in Nigeria, just go jump into the lagoon.

Something tells me, you must be one of those staff, that she employed (in the waiting), and was earning salaries without working shocked.
That is why, you can run that stuff here in solidarity. grin
Re: Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority by 4tune1(m): 12:16pm On Oct 16, 2010
Naija! The more you look the less you see. The Nation where anything is possible
Re: Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority by kosovo(m): 12:31pm On Oct 16, 2010
Her 18 months stay in the extension of Prison would cost her a meager N48,600,000., she can sure afford that . . .

What a Nation . . .
Re: Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority by ndcide(m): 12:35pm On Oct 16, 2010
those who stole car stereo are languishing in the worst part of d prisons.
Truth is if u want to steal. Steal big!!
Re: Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority by tolu001: 12:54pm On Oct 16, 2010
@LouisThoru People like u are the reasons why Nigeria remains backward till date. But surely nemesis will catch up on u very soon
Re: Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority by LouisThoru(f): 1:09pm On Oct 16, 2010
^ Tolu

bla bla bls bla like a bleating goat, thats all u know.
Re: Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority by Kay17: 2:48pm On Oct 16, 2010
^^^ Corruption is sometimes beneficial, like conveniently getting a driver's licence or bribing your way out of a ticket, so its also impossible to stamp out especially among those who clamour against it. So I'm not surprised to see Louis backing Ibru up, despite the atrocities she has committed.
Re: Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority by LouisThoru(f): 2:51pm On Oct 16, 2010
^^^^^^^^^^

Swear you have never done anything against the system in your whole life, and if you lie, may your butt hole gum together.
Re: Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority by Kay17: 2:58pm On Oct 16, 2010
^^that could be a good reason to let out all the prisoners. . .
Re: Ibru In N90k Per Night Hospital • No, Its Extension Of Prison - Prison Authority by Enjoyment1(f): 4:02pm On Oct 16, 2010
LouisThoru:

^^^^^^^^^^

Swear you have never done anything against the system in your whole life, and if you lie, may your butt hole gum together.

Therefore, we should celebrate corruption. By the way, who told you all on NL are civil servants or their likes? No matter what, there are clean and honest people in Nigeria. It is just unfortunate, that you might be one of those on the other end.

Fashola And Lasu Strike / Ivorian President "Gbagbo" Agrees To Step Down. / Kaduna Stands Still For Buhari

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 33