Stats: 3,151,317 members, 7,811,945 topics. Date: Monday, 29 April 2024 at 12:27 AM

Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change - Education (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change (21779 Views)

ASUU Strike: Fudma, Mouau, Unimaid Accepts Fg Offer / Private Schools Reject FG’s Decision, Get Set To Participate In WASSCE / Reps Fault FG’S Decision Of Re-opening School (2) (3) (4)

Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by ksam(m): 4:20pm On Sep 18, 2019
martphreak:
I just hope my certificate won't bear that yeye name sha
lol.. See my coursemate they here o.. Greet sniper for me
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by seanjy4konji: 4:25pm On Sep 18, 2019
majority of dem will are still coming out to do yahoo and 9-10 daily job and Hook up prostitution..short time or Night as long as we still put people like this buhari in goverment...

You just go shool for school sake...

hunger deh land...
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by Endtimebro: 4:30pm On Sep 18, 2019
And who will do the protest?
The argument here is that J.S Tarka is an hero (which I'm not disputing) and should be honoured like Zik, Ahmadu Bello, Awolowo, so they will welcome the change even if it will affect the school

klassd:
Lol I hope they protest, just like Unulag students did some years back.

Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by wink2015(m): 4:30pm On Sep 18, 2019
jarawa:
The management of Federal University of Agriculture Makurdi (FUAM) in Benue State on Wednesday formally acknowledges the Federal Government under President Muhammadu Buhari decision to change the name of the institution. Vice Chancellor, Prof. Anande Richard Kimbir, made the disclosure in his speech during the matriculation of new students of the institution for the 2018/2019 academic session.

Kimbir informed the gathering at the occasion that the federal government has changed the name of the institution from Federal University of Agriculture Makurdi (FUAM) to Joseph Tarka University (JTU), noting however that an official communication was still being awaited to specify the mandate, vision and mission of the university’s new status.

He therefore charged the new students to define their priorities and settle down quickly to face the challenges ahead, stressing that their study requires commitment, determination and strict discipline. He also disclosed that within his two years of manning he affairs of the university, the first ever Open Education Resources (OER) platform launched at the institution had been rated one of the best and mostly used OER in Nigeria with more than 381 profiles of researchers and staff, thereby, enriching the university website with intellectual collections.

The vice chancellor added that the feat had tremendously improved the ranking of the institution from 47th to the 33rd position in the ranking of universities in Nigeria and that the trend would continue as the school strive to attain its desired height in the future.

Read more: https://www.dailytrust.com.ng/makurdi-varsity-accepts-fgs-decision-of-name-change.html

"IF YOU DABO ME" I WILL TARKA YOU "

This was a famous statement used during the times of Dabo and Tarka politicians from Benue state then.

How many Indomie generation kids know this man Dabo or the other one Tarka.

They once had brawl which led to that famous statement.

As for naming of University, I do not agree to name change of the university.

IT WAS BETTER THE UNIVERSITY OLD NAME IS MAINTAINED SO THAT IT CLEARLY SHOW THAT IT IS A UNIVERSITY OF AGRICULTURE.

Buhari that did not see the four wall of a university is now the proud emperor authorising name change.

NA THEM SABI !
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by JuanDeDios: 4:32pm On Sep 18, 2019
deolumike:
Not unbefitting I'd say...

Check the signature
Why do you say so? Know anything about Mr Tarka?
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by urchman23: 4:48pm On Sep 18, 2019
Crazy UAM that mess my life up.
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by Tumbulum: 4:54pm On Sep 18, 2019
Just a change of name. Same content same product.
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by sulaak(m): 4:55pm On Sep 18, 2019
Nigerian just don't get it.

Why? Name a specialised technical university after an individual, the strategy was to create the Federal University of Technology to further the industrialisation of Nigeria, this was based on the successful India model initiated by their first prime minister Nehru in 1945.

Till this day all Indian IITS universities have retained their regional and technical name with an academic standard based on scholarship and merit.

It's so depressing that Nigerian lack vision and direction.

http://www.iitd.ac.in/content/history-institute
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay. ...
Indian Institute of Technology Madras. ...
Indian Institute of Technology Delhi. ...
Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur. ...
Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee. ...
Indian Institute of Technology Banaras Hindu University Varanasi. ...
Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad.
Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur
Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar
Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar
Indian Institute of Technology Patna
Indian Institute of Technology Ropar
Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati
Indian Institute of Technology Indian School of Mines Dhanbad
Indian Institute of Technology Tirupati
Indian Institute of Technology Palakkad
Indian Institute of Technology Indore
Indian Institute of Technology Jodhpur
Indian Institute of Technology Dharwad
Indian Institute of Technology Bhilai
Indian Institute of Technology Goa
Indian Institute of Technology Mandi
Indian Institute of Technology Jammu

Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by ChristianNorth: 4:59pm On Sep 18, 2019
Endtimebro:
I'm telling you you they won't, cos people here put ethnic and tribal sentiment ahead of anything in life.
They argue that J.S Tarka is an hero (which I'm not disputing) and should be honoured like Zik, Ahmadu Bello, Owolowo, so they will welcome the change even if it will affect the school

Yoruba man there is nothing like an hero.

An ero ko, an iroko ni
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by Femijohn198: 5:05pm On Sep 18, 2019
Joseph babalola
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by Gideoniteprime4: 5:05pm On Sep 18, 2019
sod09:
:-)

i know that its insensitive of me sha
But sorry sod09
I just can't stop laughing at your failed emoji!
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by Endtimebro: 5:13pm On Sep 18, 2019
Which student?

owila4luv:
students will soon protest
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by Nobody: 5:20pm On Sep 18, 2019
drizslim:
Nawa for this kind name eziokwu
Do you know J S Tarka?
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by Caution30: 5:43pm On Sep 18, 2019
Chukwu94:
RIP to Michael Jackson.
Sorry its coming late.. I did not have a phone then.

He would really be missed
Ooh!
Welcome to civilization grin
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by executive12: 5:51pm On Sep 18, 2019
iAudio:
Good move. Later some people will say that Buhari doesn't know how to turn the economy around. Now tell me if this won't take Nigeria to the next level.

Sai Baba jare!!!

Funny guy.
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by shaggy007(m): 6:10pm On Sep 18, 2019
Chukwu94:
RIP to Michael Jackson.

Michael Jackson

Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by sod09(m): 7:21pm On Sep 18, 2019
Gideoniteprime4:
i know that its insensitive of me sha
But sorry sod09
I just can't stop laughing at your failed emoji!
actually I was wondering what it was and I decided to use nairaland to test it...jokes on you bro grin grin
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by drizslim(m): 7:25pm On Sep 18, 2019
destinie2019:

Do you know J S Tarka?
No, so does J S Tarka know drizslim?
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by pezeji(m): 7:52pm On Sep 18, 2019
No name should be better Fr Adusu University of agriculture makurdi
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by odehaj: 7:55pm On Sep 18, 2019
This can’t happen in Unijos, Jossites won’t take it!

Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by null: 8:20pm On Sep 18, 2019
The same Buhari that cut short Aper Aku's tenure. The tenure that provided all the development in the state. Why did he not name it Aper Aku University.

Benue was on track to be the epicenter of the north central and that goro chewing power hungry nepotic rubbish came to power, Jailed the man for years and when he was not found wanting was released only to die shortly after due to failing health in Jail.

I regret voting that waste of a politician as President during his first tenure. This second one self I sure say him lose am. Let me continue sipping my Beer here in Berlin.

@any stupid he-goat that wants to insult me because I am vexing for a turd that decided to run for office, your destiny no dey my hand... Go front!

JS Tarka ko...
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by webngnews: 8:33pm On Sep 18, 2019
Oh
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by martphreak(m): 9:43pm On Sep 18, 2019
ksam:
lol.. See my coursemate they here o.. Greet sniper for me

This must be Mr Kosu.....lol.....Sniper go hear... how far na
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by bizzibodi(m): 9:48pm On Sep 18, 2019
JS wetin?na Js tarka built d University??js stadium never do,mohamadu Buhari university wuld have been better.
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by maisauki: 10:51pm On Sep 18, 2019
Chukwu94:
RIP to Michael Jackson.

and now you have a phone, smartphone, internet connection, almost free data, and utmostly Boda Seun who worked tirelessly to give you nairaland where you can say whatever you want
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by Nik77: 7:08am On Sep 19, 2019
martphreak:
I just hope my certificate won't bear that yeye name sha

Don't comment on issues you know nothing of.
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by martphreak(m): 7:13am On Sep 19, 2019
Nik77:

Don't comment on issues you know nothing of.

Are u high on something extremely cheap? Do u think others are less busy as you?

That's my alma mata and my certificate is still with them so what is your problem with my comment?
Re: Makurdi Varsity Accepts Fg’s Decision Of Name Change by prof12(m): 8:15pm On Sep 21, 2019
If the name is changed so what?
Is it the name of the University that matters or the grades and performance on your certificate?
Foolish talk will never cease to exist.
Some people will still look for what to use against president bubu because of hatred.

Enugu Begins Decontamination Of Schools Ahead Of Resumption (Photos) / MUSTE 2014/2015 Scholarship Shortlist / Sulyman Abdulkareem Is The New Vice-Chancellor Of University Of Ilorin