Stats: 3,155,466 members, 7,826,770 topics. Date: Monday, 13 May 2024 at 08:04 PM

Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East (13426 Views)

Bode George: Lekki Toll Gates Should Be Dismantled / MASSOB: Don’t Build Toll Gates In South-East Else We Will Dismantle It / FG Returns Toll Gates On Federal Roads (2) (3) (4)

Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by Ctorch: 3:43pm On Oct 10, 2019
Rep Rejects Toll Gates in Southeast

A member of the House of Representatives, representing Aguata Federal Constituency of Anambra State, Hon. Chukwuma Umeoji has opposed the Federal government policy to revive toll gates, across the country, especially in the South East.

Hon. Umeoji through a press briefing at the National Assembly yesterday, suggested that the policy will worsen the plight of people from the region, who were already under the yoke of bad roads.

“The South East has the lowest Federal presence compared to other zones. The Federal roads in the zone have collapsed with a heavy toll on human life, goods and services. The Southeast has the least allocation of funds for road maintenance and re-construction but ranks highest in terms of proposed road taxation.
“What is the moral justification for tolling on roads that are not motorable? He queried.

Various government projects are done in total isolation of the Southeast, the railway line project is structured to exclude the zone he opined.
He alleged that “the zone is completely cut off from land, sea and air. The Enugu Airport is closed down, the Onitsha inland waterways are not functional. This infrastructural policy is to punish the South East and stifle development”.
He said the toll gates, would be “theatres of psychological and mental torture on the people and constitute the arena for humiliation, intimidation and extortion”.

The proposal to return toll gates to every state of the country has been greeted with protests from some groups around the country since govt’s proposal to bring back to the toll gates.
The policy suspended under the 1999-2007 administration of Ex-president Olusegun Obasanjo until recently, when the government of President Buhari, decided to revisit it.

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2019/10/rep-rejects-toll-gates-in-southeast/?fbclid=IwAR0cbqCx9ijPLcmDFWeDqA5qWlJslZ0skJRw910asdFCVJyprA-pjX6LMUA

27 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by Dreal1247: 3:44pm On Oct 10, 2019
It is becoming obviously clear that the North sees Nigeria as a farmland where they don't plant but only ensures that the manager is their brother. They just keep milking the country dry with little or no contribution.

64 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by FarahAideed: 3:46pm On Oct 10, 2019
We reject toll gate everywhere ..If Buhari Is looking for money the he should start Taxing Herdsmen 5 billion dollars a year Beef business .. Herdsmen make a lot more money than all Nigerians yet are never taxed

101 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by Nobody: 3:47pm On Oct 10, 2019
Fashola should take the toll gate to Osun state and Katsina state.

58 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by Houseofglam7(f): 3:48pm On Oct 10, 2019
Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by Richdad50(m): 3:48pm On Oct 10, 2019

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by Nobody: 3:48pm On Oct 10, 2019

Clout chasing cowards everywhere

Who is he to reject toll gates in the SE if the FG is really serious about implementing it over there

Least,he’ll be made to drink gutter water before talking in the NA if he doubts he should ask ojukwu and Nnamdi Kanu

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by edlion57(m): 3:48pm On Oct 10, 2019
South east is good for 56 toll gates but not good to produce a president

50 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by Built2last: 3:49pm On Oct 10, 2019
Has anyone noticed that the loudest proposal we got since we entered next level is anything that will extort money from Nigerians.

We had told gates for over 40 years our roads never got better because money gotten went into private pockets.

Now this government wants to bring it back.

24 Likes

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by PureFace1(m): 3:49pm On Oct 10, 2019
So Anambra billionaires don't want to pay for toll gates? grin

There are bad roads all over the country but these people are always the only victims

56 toll gates is too small for all South East billionaires

1 Like 3 Shares

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by lordm(m): 3:50pm On Oct 10, 2019
I don't know what to say but I'm being optimistic about Nigeria
Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by babadeee(m): 3:50pm On Oct 10, 2019
Some irrelevant things we don’t need, Na there you go dey see dem they show there power on, stupid government

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by baby124: 3:50pm On Oct 10, 2019
Why so much complaints from the east? This is not a conspiracy to keep you from other zones. Toll gates are normal.

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by Nobody: 3:50pm On Oct 10, 2019
Buhari and the north has sinister ideas

13 Likes

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by ikjnbhewqdty: 3:50pm On Oct 10, 2019
which toll gate be that?
Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by etebefia: 3:51pm On Oct 10, 2019
Well rejected.

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by passyhansome(m): 3:51pm On Oct 10, 2019
MAY GOD IN HIS INFINITE MERCY BLESS HON CHUKWUMA UMEOJI

44 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by sylve11: 3:52pm On Oct 10, 2019
Rejecting it with full force.................. cool

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by SoNature(m): 3:52pm On Oct 10, 2019
Plead:

Clout chasing cowards everywhere

Who is he to reject toll gates in the SE if the FG is really serious about implementing it over there

Least,he’ll be made to drink gutter water before talking in the NA if he doubts he should ask ojukwu and Nnamdi Kanu

Mind what you wish others because nobody is immune to bad leadership

30 Likes 1 Share

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by dominique(f): 3:52pm On Oct 10, 2019
Fix the roads first before introducing toll. I've never seen a government so determined to tax and milk citizens with nothing to show for it.

17 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by solmusdesigns: 3:52pm On Oct 10, 2019

What can he do but wail and take his L in peace...

Buhari and Fashola would soon Apoint Alhaji MC Oluomo to control the 56 toll gates we want to give South East, if they complain we would ask Python dancers to supervise Alhaji MC Oluomo's boys

We thank Fashola for not Marginalising SouthEast in this generous 56 toll gates proposed

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by Carmit(m): 3:52pm On Oct 10, 2019
They should not bring any.mumu toll gate back oo
Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by HIGHESTPOPORI(m): 3:53pm On Oct 10, 2019
My Rep, this is why we voted for you.

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by Legendguru: 3:53pm On Oct 10, 2019
hmmm
Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by Nobody: 3:55pm On Oct 10, 2019
dominique:
Fix the roads first before introducing toll. I've never seen a government so determined to tax and milk citizens with nothing to show for it.

If you don’t pay tax how do you expect them to fix the roads

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by BRASH: 3:56pm On Oct 10, 2019
I reject it also in s.s. Its very simple, anywhere u see a toll gate in ur region, pull it down. I knw zombies will support this, especially the idiotic dead meat seller.

28 Likes 1 Share

Re: Chukwuma Umeoji Rejects Toll Gates In South East by PureFace1(m): 3:56pm On Oct 10, 2019
edlion57:
South east is good for 56 toll gates but not good to produce president

56 toll gates is too small for all Anambra billionaires

Presidency is for poor people, the people in the East are all billionaires they don't need it grin

Imo North Bye-Election: APC Writes Petition Against 3 Supreme Court Justices / Police Arrests Three Fraudsters In Idumota / Please Is There Holiday Tomorrow?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 21