Stats: 3,193,961 members, 7,952,872 topics. Date: Thursday, 19 September 2024 at 06:23 AM

U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) - Foreign Affairs - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Foreign Affairs / U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) (1835 Views)

Israeli Missiles Hit Iran, Iraq And Syria / U.S Military Helicopter Crashes, Killing 2 Soldiers During Training (Photo) / U.S. Military Helicopter Crashes In Iraq On Thursday,  Killing 7 People On Board (2) (3) (4)

U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Explorers(m): 6:30am On Jan 06, 2020
Report as at 2011.

It costs $1 billion more than NASA's budget just to provide air conditioning for temporary tents and housing in Iraq and Afghanistan, according to report.

The total cost of keeping troops cool comes to roughly $20 billion. That figure comes from Steve Anderson, a retired brigadier general who was Gen. Petraeus' chief logistician in Iraq.

NASA's total budget is just $19 billion.

The huge cost comes from the fuel used to power the units, according to the report.

Temperature can get as high as 48°C in the afternoon.

Even worse, the trucks used to transport the fuel have also become targets for insurgent IEDs, which leads to casualties in addition to upping the costs.

That cost comes out of the fuel needed to heat and cool tents on the front lines.

However, the trucks that transport this fuel have become targets for IEDs used by the insurgency in Iraq and Afghanistan.

According to Anderson, at least 1000 soldiers have been killed moving fuel.

https://www.huffpost.com/entry/air-conditioning-military-cost-nasa_n_881828

Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Explorers(m): 6:31am On Jan 06, 2020
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Mutemenot(m): 6:35am On Jan 06, 2020
shocked America!!! You carry people children go post for another man's country . Watching all they do..
All fingers aren't equal indeed...
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Dottore: 6:38am On Jan 06, 2020
Would it not have been better if they use 50percent of their military spendings to aid countries that are in extreme poverty.

The truth is that as long as there's life on planet earth, there will always be threats of war and tensions. It has been always like that from post world War 2. World leaders know that the collateral damage of full scale war is so enormous. They'd do everything possible to avoid it.
No war is starting anytime soon.

Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Eife(m): 6:39am On Jan 06, 2020
I just like this guys
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Balaxx: 6:44am On Jan 06, 2020
Dottore:
Would it not have been better if they use 50percent of their military spendings to aid countries that are in extreme poverty.
nah your money

Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Flexherbal(m): 6:52am On Jan 06, 2020
The total cost of keeping troops cool comes to roughly $20 billion. That figure comes from Steve Anderson, a retired brigadier general who was Gen. Petraeus' chief logistician in Iraq.

This is huge !

Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Blakjewelry(m): 6:53am On Jan 06, 2020
They seem powerful because they depend on other whites like European for military back up those European also depend on them for survival too
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by EzeNdiAra: 6:56am On Jan 06, 2020
Great country
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by EzeNdiAra: 7:02am On Jan 06, 2020
Dottore:

The truth is that as long as there's life on planet earth, there will always be threats of war and tensions. It has been always like that from post world War 2. World leaders know that the collateral damage of full scale war is so enormous. They'd do everything possible to avoid it.

So you want them to bring the money to Nigeria?
So that Northern Politicians will use it sponsor Boko Haram and organise Mass Wedding then loot the rest.
Why can't Nigeria do something like birth control
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by budaatum: 7:02am On Jan 06, 2020
Dottore:

The reason they don't "use 50percent of their military spendings to aid countries that are in extreme poverty" is there is huge profit in war. Which is probably why we'd have one, that and the fact that Trump needs to stick his chest out more, or rather, his willie.

To put it in perspective, compare US spending on ac to Nigeria's total electricity usage in dollars.

Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by makdcash(m): 7:03am On Jan 06, 2020
This is serious!

Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by EzeNdiAra: 7:11am On Jan 06, 2020
Blakjewelry:
They seem powerful because they depend on other whites like European for military back up those European also depend on them for survival too

The US is more powerful than the Entire European countries combined,
The US is just Arsenal itself for the Whites, they protect country like Canada, Australia, New Zealand etc

Only 3 countries are powerful in Europe
Germany, France and UK.

2 Shares

Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Nobody: 7:12am On Jan 06, 2020
That's America...
A good land.
It literally flows with milk and honey.
See care for soldiers

Some countries no provide ordinary mouka foam
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Blakjewelry(m): 7:30am On Jan 06, 2020
EzeNdiAra:

You lack sense,
The US is just Arsenal itself for the Whites, they protect country like Canada, Australia, New Zealand etc

Germany, France and UK.
I know you are likes who jumped on anything us, haven't heard from the big guns already how they will stand with us if things get tough, wars are being fought with men and not machine alone and there is strength in number that is where nato comes in. Unlike you the US study history, they know what brought down powerful nations in history so are trying to avoid same but its only matter of time.
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by calberian: 7:32am On Jan 06, 2020
Even in the military barracks, the army personnel in some west African countries don’t have air conditioning provided for them. I think they have potable water tho.

Anyways, kindly spare 3 minutes to respond to this mini-survey. It’s about our attempt to solve a general but important problem in Nigeria. Thanks.

https://forms.gle/ayUVR9JMXWystFDU9
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by MetroBaba1(m): 7:45am On Jan 06, 2020
Dottore:

Their Money, their wahala.
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Kingrexyl(m): 7:56am On Jan 06, 2020
That money is much o
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Humphrizy(m): 8:39am On Jan 06, 2020
MOgbe
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Adejofrenzy(m): 8:54am On Jan 06, 2020
EzeNdiAra:

Germany, France and UK.

You forgot Russia sir
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by EzeNdiAra: 9:24am On Jan 06, 2020
Adejofrenzy:

You forgot Russia sir

Russia is not a full European country
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by patrickmuf(m): 9:57am On Jan 06, 2020
EzeNdiAra:

Germany, France and UK.
This statement of yours is fallacious. Do you know what a combined army of UK, Germany and France will look like? Una go just dey talk anyhow.
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by crackhouse(m): 10:08am On Jan 06, 2020
Dottore:

na them tell your country to enter poverty? U no get leaders for your country to take you out of poverty?
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Daviddson(m): 10:46am On Jan 06, 2020
According to Wikipedia, US annual military budget is $700b+ while Nigeria's total budget is $30b. In fact California's budget for last year was $214. The unpopular truth is that this country is poor in comparison to its population; to have a turn around, we need to start averaging $100b for the next 15 years.
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by decatalyst(m): 12:11pm On Jan 06, 2020
Flexherbal:

This is huge !

And I wonder if a sane individual should want to escalate issues and spending
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by oz4real83(m): 1:25pm On Jan 06, 2020
Dottore:

even if America gives half of it's budget to help poverty stricken countries like Nigeria, they will still waste it on projects like building religious houses, palaces for traditional rulers, secondhand military equipment from pakistan and many other private, unnecessary and useless ventures instead of building the economy and infrastructure to create more wealth.
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by vickertony(m): 3:24pm On Jan 06, 2020
The two countries must be an oven then, such huge outlay on Air conditioners...

I'm available, if you want a well written sales copy to move your business to the next level.
I write web contents as well.
contact me, at an affordable price.
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by thepranksta: 5:12pm On Jan 06, 2020
Daviddson:
According to Wikipedia, US annual military budget is $700b+ while Nigeria's total budget is $30b. In fact California's budget for last year was $214. The unpopular truth is that this country is poor in comparison to its population; to have a turn around, we need to start averaging $100b for the next 15 years.

I live in California and I will tell you there is plenty of poverty over here. Nigeria has a young population and great potential, so we should not be pessimistic. We also have a thriving community of Nigerians here in San Diego and I think they will make important contributions to the city and state.

Let's remember that wealth is not just in the form of money. Nigeria has wealth in spirit, strength, and potential.
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Daviddson(m): 6:49pm On Jan 06, 2020
thepranksta:

I live in California and I will tell you there is plenty of poverty over here. Nigeria has a young population and great potential, so we should not be pessimistic. We also have a thriving community of Nigerians here in San Diego and I think they will make important contributions to the city and state.

Let's remember that wealth is not just in the form of money. Nigeria has wealth in spirit, strength, and potential.
There's no country that is totally poverty free. Are you saying it's a thing of pride that Nigeria's budget is 1/7th of a state in US?
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by drakeli: 7:13pm On Jan 06, 2020
patrickmuf:
This statement of yours is fallacious. Do you know what a combined army of UK, Germany and France will look like? Una go just dey talk anyhow.
First, what’s the population of uk, Germany and France combined. The US alone is over 300million
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by Ayobami7(m): 7:25pm On Jan 06, 2020
注意到的
Re: U.S. Military Spend ₦7.2trillion Annually On A.C. In Iraq And Afghanistan(2011) by DonroxyII: 8:13pm On Jan 06, 2020
Dottore:

The military spending is what is causing extreme poverty in the first place. I think it is the reason why many stock exchange collapse while many companies collapse ..... As for the country with extreme poverty, USA Is not the source of their problem (Atleast directly) so I don't think they should be responsible for the solution.

Israelis 'insulted' By Obama Photo / Us And Nato Troops Abandoned In 'debalselve' Of Death. / See The Destruction At Iraqi Air Base Targeted By Iran

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 47