Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,966,908 members, 7,200,627 topics. Date: Sunday, 04 December 2022 at 11:32 PM

Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services - Autos (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Autos / Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services (2375 Views)

Automobile Pre Purchase Inspection... / SOLD! Clean 2002 Lexus RX 300: Pre-purchase / Vehicle Pre Purchase Inspection Service (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services by Ikenna351(m): 1:41am On Feb 08, 2021
EW10A TO EW10J4 IN PEUGEOT 407: NIGERIAN FACTOR.

For the past few days, I was engage in providing partial remote Pre-purchase inspections for a client interested in buying Peugeot 407 with EW10J4. Among the 407s he sent me their pictures, one had EW10J4, but the wiring connections and Engine attachments were that of EW10A. When I asked him to send me the VIN, it indicated EW12J4 instead. I asked and directed him where to find and send me Engine ECU picture which showed EW10A ECU (all in one vehicle, but at least it confirmed my suspicion).

About 2 more 407s he sent me their pictures had EW10J4, but their engine ECUs were EW10A. Not saying I was surprised, because it's what majority of 407 users with EW10A Engines end up doing.

The interesting part was from the look of those EW10J4 engines on the pictures, they were recently purchased and swapped in (tokunbo), yet the owners still prefer to get rid of their cars. The reasons were obvious.

EW10J4 or EW7J4 will never run properly with EW10A Engine management systems. They realised how unsuccessful the conversions were and wanted to transfer the headache to someone else. Fortunately, people who prefer abused lions at any cost would buy off those nightmares from them, even at give away prices, only to start crying "HELP! HELP! HELP!

EW10A camshaft position sensor is attached on intake camshaft, while that of EW10J4 is mounted on Exhaust camshaft. Their ECU expects different values from those sensors to determine the conditions of timing and use the information to control when and how their Engines start and run. Connecting EW10A ECU to EW10J4 will mess up the Engine start (severe hard start), among other things.

EW10A is an improved and more powerful engine to EW10J4 with lesser fuel consumption. It has VVT solenoid, unlike the predecessor (EW10J4). So expecting the EW10A ECU to run EW10J4 engine properly without or in absence of VVT solenoid shows ignorance on function of VVT solenoid and how the system work Engine ECU. Will not only run rich, but will be underpowered, among other issues it will introduce.

For EW10J4 engine to work properly on Peugeot 407 with formerly EW10A, the EW10J4 systems must be swapped in, which will cost more than value of the car (such conversions are not for the fainthearted or those working with limited budget).

If you are interested in buying a Peugeot 407 and you know nothing about modern Peugeot Vehicle systems, do not go and make purchase without Pre-purchase inspections by someone that understands those systems. If you do, don't come back crying for help if you end up with such severe abused 407 and expect sympathy or even empathy from me when the nightmares starts. You were warned before hand.

If you already own a Peugeot 407 with the EW10A Engine and considering doing the stupid conversion to EW10J4 engine in abused manner, it's better for to take the lion to a Peugeot technician that understands the system to fix the lion or sell the car and buy one with EW10J4 engine from factory (unless converted outside Nigeria properly). The cost of doing the conversion properly can buy you another 407 in good condition, unless you are hardcore enthusiast like me who spend with heart in conversion, not with head. If you ignore this advice and do it wrongly as these local Nigerian mechanics usually suggest to users, you will learn the hard way (probably better for you).

I honestly don't see anything wrong with this dreaded EW10A. It has more power than EW10J4 and still consume less than the EW10J4. Parts are available and not so pricey. As long as you maintain the EW10A DO'S & DONTs, the Engine will serve you perfectly well like the EW10J4 every Nigerian is praising. 99% users of the EW10A are running 20w-50 & 15W-50 oil weights in the Engine, when Peugeot specifically recommended only 5w-40 for the Engine, which fortunately is abundantly available in Nigeria. Yet they will start complaining their EW10A Engines don't last or always giving issues. One thing that Engine hates is abuse, both mechanically and Electrically, which most users enjoy doing and expecting different feedback from their Engines.

EW10A is not a perfect Engine (has its strengths and weaknesses), and so does the EW10J4. I know some Peugeot 407 users with EW10A Engines that are truly enjoying their lions for years I have known them. If you are not enjoying yours, the problem is not your Engine or your vehicle. Look inward.

Lion King - Monk.

Re: Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services by NobleEngineer(m): 7:06am On Feb 08, 2021
@ the bolded.
Some ppu are not good at keeping information, the more they try to keep it, the more they let it out.
normally the bolded are potential answers that some ppu would ask ikenna for and he wouldn't give out. The knowledge is becoming to much for only your belle, start doing giveaway pls.
Ikenna351:
EW10A TO EW10J4 IN PEUGEOT 407: NIGERIAN FACTOR.

For the past few days, I was engage in providing partial remote Pre-purchase inspections for a client interested in buying Peugeot 407 with EW10J4. Among the 407s he sent me their pictures, one had EW10J4, but the wiring connections and Engine attachments were that of EW10A. When I asked him to send me the VIN, it indicated EW12J4 instead. I asked and directed him where to find and send me Engine ECU picture which showed EW10A ECU (all in one vehicle, but at least it confirmed my suspicion).

About 2 more 407s he sent me their pictures had EW10J4, but their engine ECUs were EW10A. Not saying I was surprised, because it's what majority of 407 users with EW10A Engines end up doing.

The interesting part was from the look of those EW10J4 engines on the pictures, they were recently purchased and swapped in (tokunbo), yet the owners still prefer to get rid of their cars. The reasons were obvious.

EW10J4 or EW7J4 will never run properly with EW10A Engine management systems . They realised how unsuccessful the conversions were and wanted to transfer the headache to someone else. Fortunately, people who prefer abused lions at any cost would buy off those nightmares from them, even at give away prices, only to start crying "HELP! HELP! HELP!

EW10A camshaft position sensor is attached on intake camshaft, while that of EW10J4 is mounted on Exhaust camshaft . Their ECU expects different values from those sensors to determine the conditions of timing and use the information to control when and how their Engines start and run. Connecting EW10A ECU to EW10J4 will mess up the Engine start (severe hard start), among other things.

EW10A is an improved and more powerful engine to EW10J4 with lesser fuel consumption. It has VVT solenoid, unlike the predecessor (EW10J4) So expecting the EW10A ECU to run EW10J4 engine properly without or in absence of VVT solenoid shows ignorance on function of VVT solenoid and how the system work Engine ECU. Will not only run rich, but will be underpowered, among other issues it will introduce.

For EW10J4 engine to work properly on Peugeot 407 with formerly EW10A, the EW10J4 systems must be swapped in , which will cost more than value of the car (such conversions are not for the fainthearted or those working with limited budget).

If you are interested in buying a Peugeot 407 and you know nothing about modern Peugeot Vehicle systems, do not go and make purchase without Pre-purchase inspections by someone that understands those systems. If you do, don't come back crying for help if you end up with such severe abused 407 and expect sympathy or even empathy from me when the nightmares starts. You were warned before hand.

If you already own a Peugeot 407 with the EW10A Engine and considering doing the stupid conversion to EW10J4 engine in abused manner, it's better for to take the lion to a Peugeot technician that understands the system to fix the lion or sell the car and buy one with EW10J4 engine from factory (unless converted outside Nigeria properly). The cost of doing the conversion properly can buy you another 407 in good condition, unless you are hardcore enthusiast like me who spend with heart in conversion, not with head. If you ignore this advice and do it wrongly as these local Nigerian mechanics usually suggest to users, you will learn the hard way (probably better for you).

I honestly don't see anything wrong with this dreaded EW10A. It has more power than EW10J4 and still consume less than the EW10J4. Parts are available and not so pricey . As long as you maintain the EW10A DO'S & DONTs, the Engine will serve you perfectly well like the EW10J4 every Nigerian is praising. 99% users of the EW10A are running 20w-50 & 15W-50 oil weights in the Engine, when Peugeot specifically recommended only 5w-40 for the Engine, which fortunately is abundantly available in Nigeria. Yet they will start complaining their EW10A Engines don't last or always giving issues. One thing that Engine hates is abuse, both mechanically and Electrically, which most users enjoy doing and expecting different feedback from their Engines.

EW10A is not a perfect Engine (has its strengths and weaknesses), and so does the EW10J4. I know some Peugeot 407 users with EW10A Engines that are truly enjoying their lions for years I have known them. If you are not enjoying yours, the problem is not your Engine or your vehicle. Look inward.

Lion King - Monk.
Re: Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services by Ikenna351(m): 4:42pm On Feb 11, 2021
I picked up a non-abused well maintained Nigerian used Peugeot 307 Estate Phase II Stick-Shift with TU5JP4 Engine for a client this morning at good price. Even at over 300,000 km mileage, the lion has no Electrical & Mechanical abuse, even though the lion was bought new and used by previous owner for years, apart normal wear and tear. Of course, there are few repairs/replacements that need attention, mostly preventative maintenance repairs.

It pays not to abuse Lions and also pays not to buy abused one.

Lion King - Monk.

1 Like

Re: Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services by Ikenna351(m): 8:37pm On Feb 11, 2021
NobleEngineer:
@ the bolded.
Some ppu are not good at keeping information, the more they try to keep it, the more they let it out.
normally the bolded are potential answers that some ppu would ask ikenna for and he wouldn't give out. The knowledge is becoming to much for only your belle, start doing giveaway pls.

You have been posting your attacks and insults and I kept ignoring you. Now you have gotten my attention. Will attend to it in The Lion Community.

Lion King - Monk.
Re: Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services by NobleEngineer(m): 7:33am On Feb 12, 2021
What reasons do I have to ever attack you here, for what reasons? Pls check my username again. Also go through all my posts on this forum and fish out one, just one attack I made on you. I think I deserve an apology for calling me out and for the mistaken identity. I've bought some OEM parts from you and last time I checked, we had good relationship.
"the bolded" was what I meant, never meant to insult or attack anybody.
NobleEngineer:

@ the bolded.
Some ppu are not good at keeping information, the more they try to keep it, the more they let it out.
normally the bolded are potential answers that some ppu would ask ikenna for and he wouldn't give out [for free] . The knowledge is becoming to much for only your belle, start doing giveaway pls.
Ikenna351:


You have been posting your attacks and insults and I kept ignoring you. Now you have gotten my attention. Will attend to it in The Lion Community.

Lion King - Monk.
Re: Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services by Ikenna351(m): 3:27pm On Feb 12, 2021
Th

Re: Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services by Ikenna351(m): 8:02pm On Feb 13, 2021
I picked up/purchased another clean non-abused well maintained Nigerian used Peugeot 307 Auto (late T5) with 2.0i EW10A Engine & RT3 Radio Telephone Entertainment System, for a client today.

I respect and appreciate Nigerians that don't abuse their Lions, including the ones that go for non-abused ones.

Lion King - Monk.

Re: Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services by Ikenna351(m): 8:03pm On Feb 13, 2021
Th

Re: Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services by Ikenna351(m): 8:04pm On Feb 13, 2021
Fd

Re: Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services by Ikenna351(m): 10:39pm On Feb 26, 2021
SECRET TO OWNING A Z9 (PEUGEOT 607 PHASE II 2005 - 2010)

Had a brief hangout with another petrol Z9 V6 Auto owner few days ago, who also own a petrol Z8 V6 Stick-Shift . Fortunately, we both drove our Z9s to the venue, as both cars were staring back at us as we stare and appreciate them. When I asked him about some Electrical issues his Z9 was giving him about 2 years ago, he said he removed the wrong battery previously in the lion and mounted a recommended battery Ah in the Z9 and after awhile, the whole issues disappeared, without any further diagnosis or repair. As he said, it was then he understood all I have been telling him concerning the Electricals on the lion and the need not to take them for granted.

The 62Ah - 75Ah battery he was using in the lion back then could start and run the Engine, because those batteries had enough cranking powers for the Engine, but not enough power for the entire vehicle systems. Z9 was designed to run with 100 Ah battery (at least, minimum of 95Ah), but he took Peugeot instruction for granted and suffered the consequences. He assumed his Z9 Electricals were like his Z8. Well, he knows better now. He isn't the only one that takes Z9 battery capacity and electricals for granted. The Z9 hates having the battery disconnected and reconnected all the time. Their systems are so complex that even when battery is disconnected or removed, the vehicle still stores some power for some Electrical components in the vehicle. Some Nigerians complain a lot about D2 (407) Electricals. They haven't met Z9. Even looking at the complex stuff attached on Z9 battery positive terminal, is enough to warn users not to mess with the battery. Even jump starting Z9 with a 2nd battery can mess up its brain sometimes. Safer to use the donor battery to open the booth from engine bay and swap in the good battery (if the car one is drained already), than to crank with both, even though it's written you can do it. As he said, his understanding of his Z9 Electricals now has made him appreciate the lion more.

Z9 is a luxury vehicle, which places a lot of demand on his Electricals as the vehicle runs. As such, anyone who can't live without abusing his vehicle shouldn't ever consider Z9 ownership. However, as complex as the Electricals on the Z9 are, they were also improvements on Z8 Electricals they succeeded. Some Z8 Issues were sorted out in Z9, such as unexplained both direction indicators blinking on their own without going off or vehicle suddenly applying brake by himself without driver touching the brake pedal (both which can be fixed though). It doesn't mean Z9 doesn't have his downside though. But you would hardly experience them if you don't mess with their Electricals.

Was discussing with a Kenyan (Vic Sambu) on a long online chat not long ago, where he educated me on 2.7 HDi diagnosis and repairs on Z9 V6 HDi. I enjoyed his teaching which has made it encouraging for me to own and experience diesel lion. But the idea that it would be more difficult and expensive to convert one from auto to Stick-Shift in this part of the world where I would have to source & import every bit of the heavy mechanical components needed for the Conversion, turned me off, considering all Z9 V6 HDi had Automatic transmission from new. Like I told him, maybe on another lion with different HDi Engine someday. So the Z9 was offered in 2 V6 Engines, a petrol and a diesel. The Petrol has more hp, while the diesel has more torque. May be a hard choice for some, but for me, the transmission always determine my own choice (zero interest how much power an engine possess if the transmission is not Stick-Shift and I can't easily convert it to one). Notwithstanding the huge torquey figures the V6 HDi in Z9 posses, the petrol V6 makes Z9 very zippy and fun to rev. I love it when I rev to 6,500 rpm as the lion surges angrily ahead (very sweet to listen to). You would think you are driving a 206 with 2.2i EW12J4 engine, the way the 3.0i petrol V6 engine moves the big Z9. Can't comment on the 2.7 HDi V6 performance on Z9 since I haven't test driven one, yet. Notwithstanding, I know some people have V6 phobia, so they are not left out of Z9 options. Aside the 2.0 & 2.2 HDi Engines, Z9 also offered a 2.2i petrol engine (EW12J4). The early Z9 with 2.2i from late 2004 offered both auto and Stick-Shift gearboxes, but the auto was discontinued in subsequent years. I honestly wouldn't recommend the 2.2i with auto on Z9 if you are the fun drive type, considering how lousy I found the Z8 with same Engine and transmission ( ZF HP20) which was very unpredictable to respond to your command most times when you needed quick downshift for quick acceleration/overtake. But for Z9 with 2.2i Engine & the 6-speed Stick-Shift, that's the car I would recommend to anyone interested in having fun driving a non V6 Z9 (no experience with the 2.0 & 2.2 HDi Z9 Stick-Shifts yet). I test drove a Z9 with EW12J4 Stick-shift once and loved the experience. Though most don't come fully equipped like the V6 ones, but men, it all goes out of the mind the moment you gear one forward. Very responsive and Smart. Yes, not as quick as the v6 petrol, but like I said, it's enough to enjoy the drive. If you care for my advice, if you prefer automatic in Z9, get the V6 (AM6). The annoying attitude of the 2.2i automatic could be why Peugeot discontinued that transmission in subsequent Z9 productions and kept the spirited smart 6-speed Stick-shift Gearbox for that engine. It matched the engine power and torque (3FY) perfectly well. I was wondering why Peugeot didn't mount 2.0i EW10A Engine in Z9 since the production of the engine was on at the time of Z9 productions too. It would have made sense. But I know it wouldn't sell in a place like Nigeria as 2nd hand buy, considering how majority of Nigerians avoid that engine like plague in other Lion models.

One of the areas Z9 V6 versions impress me is on their suspensions. Powerful, rugged, much simpler, cheaper and less complex than the smaller non-luxury versions of Z9 (D2 V6 - 407). The Z9 V6 suspension is so powerful in performance better than even the W2 (508 - 1st generation). Downside is harsh ride on rough roads, while the W2 is softer and better in comfort on such road conditions. But on performance, W2 is not close to how that suspension design/gum Z9 V6 to the ground as speed continues to increase. I have driven quite a number of W2 and would feel the vehicle speed at some point as speed continues to increase, unlike the Z9 V6 & D2 V6 that you only know the speed by what their speedometers indicate or how other vehicles are moving backward. I have had an experience in my Z9 V6 where my physical body would have turned to sand long ago, but the car suspension is why I am still breathing. One of the things Peugeot is good at is, they don't just plant powerful engines in their lions and call it a day. They modify or mount commensurate suspensions to match those engines powers compare to the versions with lesser powers. Their shock absorbers can be pricey though when the replacement time comes (not as pricey as the D2 V6 though), but every other suspension components is just as simple and rugged as the D9 (406). Even the rear suspension is similar to his predecessor (605), which sometimes looks so identical. Z8 V6 share similar suspensions to Z9 V6 as well. I remember a trip I did onetime with my Z9 V6 and I emptied about 200 kg luggage in the booth and they were all swallowed in without showing the car had such load (huge/big booth). Even the rear suspension kept adjusting the rear end of the lion to be on same level with the front end, as I was dropping those loads inside the booth (four 25k bags of rice and other stuffs that appeared even heavier than those 4 bags of rice). I couldn't believe the suspension set up/design was that good until that moment. However, if you are concerned about the harsh nature of the Z9 V6 suspensions, you may consider the 4-cylinder engine versions. They offer softer ride, comfort & cheaper (the shock absorbers).

Interior is like a sitting room. No matter how tall you are, the front leg room is so huge that your foots might not touch the pedals if you keep shifting the seats back and Still have some space for the rear passenger foot well/leg room. However, I would point out the front driver's seat isn't as comfy as D9 Coupé & D2 Coupé driver's seats. But the Z9 rear seats are among the best regarding comfort. The rear headrest are among the best for relaxation. They are curved to swallow the shape of human heads without shifting them out while the car moves and shakes on rough roads (so perfect for relaxation). But then, they are luxury cars, usually targeted for occupants on rear seats comfort more than the front occupants.

There are a lot of rubbish vomited online and offline by some stupid people on Z9 who have never smelt a Z9 key, sat in one, test driven one, diagnose one, repair one or let alone own one, and yet suddenly are experts in Z9, telling people how bad, problematic or "unreliable" Z9s are. Some of them bitching about how bad Z9 are have actually owned one at some point or currently do, but usually bought abused ones or abused their Z9s by themselves and blaming their vehicles to others to feel good that it wasn't their fault . The good thing that comes out of it is, it didn't stop someone like me and others enjoying ours from doing so or getting one in the first place. I am so happy to have ended up with one of the best engineering world ever had, even with few of his imperfections, just like every other vehicle.

Lion King - Monk.

Re: Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services by Ikenna351(m): 10:44am On Jul 19, 2021
Received this from a Client I got a Lion for months ago. Just avoid buying severe abused lions and avoid abusing them after purchase, to truly enjoy trouble-free years of ownership, like I enjoy all mine, including some Nigerians.

It's not difficult.

Lion-King Monk.

Re: Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services by Ikenna351(m): 11:14am On Jul 30, 2021
"I don't think Nigerians are capable of abusing cars like 508", he said. I couldn't help it but burst out laughing.

Picture below was a facelifted 508 with low mileage. Someone, in his infinite wisdom, disconnected the electric coolant/water pump and blocked both the pump and coolant line on Turbocharger, and was using the car in that condition, for however long only him knows. Now, the Turbocharger is bleeped, likewise the pump, among other components that went with that single act. I suppose his wisdom was that French engineers must be stupid to introduce a separate water pump for Turbochargers on THP engines.

It's interesting that most Nigerians actually live in denial that you can just walk into a dealer's stand, buy any modern used car that can start and run and start singing kumbaya with other road users. It's has been a norm to abuse modern vehicles in Nigeria. People actually expect these nightmare experiences to justify the beliefs how bad these modern lions are truly are. It's not just about learning through sad experiences, but actually reflecting on why your car ownership experiences suck that bad, over and over. Don't be that guy.

Lion-King Monk.

1 Like

Re: Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services by Ikenna351(m): 8:23pm On Oct 10, 2021
My V6 Lions (3 Stick-shifts & 1 Auto).

Follow Your Heart - Your Happiness.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yfqPgX8l2pk

Lion-King Monk.

Re: Ikenna351 Consultancy/Pre-purchase Inspection Services by Ikenna351(m): 11:56pm On Nov 08, 2021
Y

(1) (2) (Reply)

2011 Toyota Camry Sport Leather Seats Less than A year Used @1.950 / »»» Neat Hyundai Sonata 012 Thumbstart @ N2.65M Negotiable ««« / »»» Neat Infiniti FX35 05 @ N1.4M Negotiable «««

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2022 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 276
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.