Stats: 3,194,483 members, 7,954,865 topics. Date: Saturday, 21 September 2024 at 11:12 AM

How The Word " Stan" Came To Be And What It Means - Celebrities - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Celebrities / How The Word " Stan" Came To Be And What It Means (298 Views)

Stan Nze Marries Blessing Obasi (Video, Pictures) / Main Chick Of Nina Ivy's Boyfriend Exposes Her: You Came To Atlanta For Sex / Zlatan Ibile Narrates How EFCC Came To Their House To Pick Them Up (2) (3) (4)

How The Word " Stan" Came To Be And What It Means by emmy512: 9:47am On Sep 10, 2020
Going through social media especially this big brother naija and other entertainment shows, we often see certain phrases and one in particular stands out everywhere " i stan"
We hear things like " in tacha i stan " " we stan for ..." But most of this people have no idea how it came about grin
This word stan came to be popular around 2000 and 2001 after rapper Eminem dropped one of his most popular track in year 2000 'Stan' which tells the story of an over zealous fan who becomes a stalker, named Stanley 'Stan' Mitchell.

The influential song is where the term 'stan culture' comes from, describing dedicated fans of famous stars, who refer to themselves as 'stans.'
The song is a cautionary tale to fans about taking everything your idol says literally.
In the lyrics, Eminem reveals how the character Stan starts writing him several letters, over three verses, where he becomes more obsessive and angrier when he doesn't get a reply from the star.

Kim Announces End Of Keeping Up With Kardashians / Bbnaija; Nigerian Man Identified As Soso Soberekon Breaks His Expensive TV / Where Do U See Nigeria In 20years? See Fans Reactions To Erigga

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 7