Stats: 3,153,224 members, 7,818,765 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 01:14 AM

Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood - Education - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood (2684 Views)

Why Male Birds Are More Beautiful Than Female Birds / FUNAAB Lecturer Using A Local Lamp To Illustrate How Plants Absorb Water. PICS / Mosquitoes Love People With THIS Blood Type! (2) (3) (4)

Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by ashybabs(m): 4:35am On Jul 03, 2021
So Florida releases millions of biotech male mosquitoes, with engineered DNA which when they mate with the bloody female species, the female offspring don't survive. And the genes go for generations.

Technically, over time, there will be no female mosquitos, and everyone else goes back to Eden-format: eating plants and leaving human beings alone.

This ingenuity arises from the observation that insecticides no longer work on these crazy creatures.

I hope this government reads science news apart from political and bovine (cow) matters.

��

22 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by tempest01(m): 4:41am On Jul 03, 2021
ashybabs:

So Florida releases millions of biotech male mosquitoes, with engineered DNA which when they mate with the bloody female species, the female offspring don't survive. And the genes go for generations.

Technically, over time, there will be no female mosquitos, and everyone else goes back to Eden-format: eating plants and leaving human beings alone.

This ingenuity arises from the observation that insecticides no longer work on these crazy creatures.

I hope this government reads science news apart from political and bovine (cow) matters.

��

Who are the everyone else? if there are no females, how will reproduction occur?

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by Realadey(m): 4:42am On Jul 03, 2021
Wow!
Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by EmptyGarden(m): 5:55am On Jul 03, 2021
Nothing to discuss here, the females are vampires.

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by adebayo201: 6:01am On Jul 03, 2021
EmptyGarden:
Nothing to discuss here, the females are vampires.
. Buh buh the future is lipsrsealed

angry grin

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by Oxb90: 6:01am On Jul 03, 2021
Do we really have scientist in this country? I am just asking

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by Manigie: 6:09am On Jul 03, 2021
No wonder...... it's in them, na Dem Dem, in short, na their way. Shout out to those male mosquitoes that do real hustle but those female mosquitoes wey no gree us sleep for night, make I no just talk

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by thesicilian: 6:12am On Jul 03, 2021
If the experiment succeeds they should try it with humans also

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by josh123(m): 6:30am On Jul 03, 2021
Abeg make them send am come nigeria
Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by DesChyko: 6:59am On Jul 03, 2021
This is 100% great...until the ecological implication is thoroughly assessed.

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by orisa37: 7:30am On Jul 03, 2021
EVE ATE THE FRUIT AND POSSESSED IT.

ADAM USED A LONG SPOON TO JUST TASTE IT.

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by orisa37: 7:35am On Jul 03, 2021
BECAUSE EVE IS EVIL.

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by orisa37: 7:41am On Jul 03, 2021
BECAUSE EVE IS EVIL.

EVE IS CARNIVOROUS. ADAM IS JUST A VEGETARIAN.
Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by Generalwoodz(m): 8:28am On Jul 03, 2021
The female mosquitos are the real Yahoo boys
Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by Elijahrona(m): 8:39am On Jul 03, 2021
As a zoologist, I can tell you why female mosquitoes collect blood, but males collect nectar.

Just before proceeding, you need to know that every mosquito (male or female) eats organic matter from water sources.

Now here's the thing:

Female mosquitoes lack iron, but to produce eggs, they need to consume iron.

The most reliable source of iron is our hemoglobin.

Now our hemoglobin does not have only iron, it also has proteins, lots of proteins (if you can make animal feed, you'd understand why blood meal is very expensive).

The female mosquitoes collect your blood so that their young can develop well in their eggs.

Since male mosquitoes do not produce eggs, they do not need iron, so they don't collect blood.

There you go.

What you intend to use this information for is completely your business.

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by phemmyfour: 8:56am On Jul 03, 2021
Eradicating the female mosquitoes is a task that must be accomplished

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by kollinz1234(m): 9:31am On Jul 03, 2021
Very educative
Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by kevoh(m): 9:39am On Jul 03, 2021
It's all fun when female mosquitoes are eradicated until evolution decides to play a fast one on humans by turning all mosquitoes into hermaphrodites. grin grin grin

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by beautyhd: 9:45am On Jul 03, 2021
Those manufacturing anti malarial drugs, how will they survive.

Say no to extinction of female mosquitoes.
Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by iamyemiakins(m): 10:00am On Jul 03, 2021
Anything to eradicate female anopheles mosquitoes from planet earth is a very welcome development and good initiative.

The mosquitoes in my area are something else, disturbing 24/7 angry
Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by milky3(f): 11:22am On Jul 03, 2021
Male feeds on plants while female anopheles mosquitoes feed on blood (it is what it is)
@the mention of FEMALE... Some men have this high esteem hatred for Female... Not all female are bad probably some guys are so unfortunate meeting the wrong ones.

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by Commentor: 11:29am On Jul 03, 2021
Elijahrona:
As a zoologist, I can tell you why female mosquitoes collect blood, but males collect nectar.

Just before proceeding, you need to know that every mosquito (male or female) eats organic matter from water sources.

Now here's the thing:

Now our hemoglobin does not have only iron, it also has proteins, lots of proteins (if you can make animal feed, you'd understand why blood meal is very expensive).

The female mosquitoes collect your blood so that their young can develop well in their eggs.

Since male mosquitoes do not produce eggs, they do not need iron, so they don't collect blood.

There you go.

You no waste your school fees.

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by Bunmhi(f): 12:40pm On Jul 03, 2021
milky3:
Male feeds on plants while female anopheles mosquitoes feed on blood (it is what it is)
@the mention of FEMALE... Some men have this high esteem hatred for Female... Not all female are bad probably some guys are so unfortunate meeting the wrong ones.
Pls sound it loud to their ears grin

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by mytime24(f): 12:45pm On Jul 03, 2021
Hmmmm
Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by guiltless(m): 1:36pm On Jul 03, 2021
Elijahrona:

Now here's the thing:

There you go.

Wow! This says it all! Thank you
Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by Harrykn: 1:37pm On Jul 03, 2021
Import 2 cartons of this male harvester, we need it in mushin isolo. Thank you .
Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by michlins(m): 1:44pm On Jul 03, 2021
For our biodiversity,we need mosquitoes oh. No one should think about eliminating them from the ecosystem
Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by Elijahrona(m): 2:59pm On Jul 03, 2021
guiltless:

Wow! This says it all! Thank you

You're welcome
Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by Elijahrona(m): 2:59pm On Jul 03, 2021
Commentor:

You no waste your school fees.

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by rex444(m): 3:36pm On Jul 03, 2021
Working as a public health grad in one health ministry really left me speechless.... The only thing our so called doctors, directors and scientists do is to sign files.... No lab nothing

Re: Why Male Mosquitoes Feed On Plants & Female Mosquitoes Blood by siofra(f): 3:43pm On Jul 03, 2021
ashybabs:

��

I only hope it doesn't have any bad ecological effect.

I Score 169, Applied For Nassarawa State University: Any Hope? / Ede Admission List / 2013 May/june Waec Result Now Online: Gce Registration Date Extended

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 25