Stats: 3,159,198 members, 7,839,077 topics. Date: Friday, 24 May 2024 at 01:27 PM

How Will You Solve ASUU Problem If You're Nigeria President? - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / How Will You Solve ASUU Problem If You're Nigeria President? (866 Views)

You're Nigeria's Problem, Not The System, Atiku Blasts Buhari / Fashola: It Is Not FG’s Problem If Nigerians Lack Electricity / "You're Nigeria's Biggest Problem, Not APC Or PDP" (2) (3) (4)

Re: How Will You Solve ASUU Problem If You're Nigeria President? by Savagr(m): 3:25pm On Sep 27, 2022
Sweetplum:

Is Buhari the only one that can fight in Nigeria?
As far as am concerned, he's overrated and that's why he failed.
As for the senate and reps. I ll clip their wings. I ll raise proxy people who ll reveal all their shady deals and turn Nigeria against them and exonerate myself from political largesse. Buhari would v made more sense when he said he ll reduce his earnings and he did it to the extent that he's publicly showing how he donates his earnings monthly or quarterly in the media. All those stupid aids and payment of ghost workers in aso rock. There was a time they said N1b was used to buy drugs in aso rock clinic. Who are the users? And Buhari ll still travel to overseas for checkups more than 10 times. Is his life as soft as a tissue paper?
Bros, I m ready to serve Nigeria and spoil things for the cabals
too much movie dey worry you Aunty
Calm down
Politics is so dirty that going there you must put your hand in some shady deals and that's the only way to stay at the top.
Like you said, you bring out their deals and baggages. What if yours is messier?
Re: How Will You Solve ASUU Problem If You're Nigeria President? by Perfectbeing(m): 3:42pm On Sep 27, 2022
Sweetplum:

Thought you sabi economics. Buhari na him borrow pass in the history of Nigeria.
Secondly if school fees are increased, the common man that's still struggling to meet up with the present ll kuku withdraw his kids.
Only place wey make sense is the introduction and sustenance of courses relevant to the country and economy.
Yet my first summation is the first step in the right direction.
De-market politics. Reduce their earnings. From president to NASS to govs etc.
Anyone going there is going to work and not earn.
Yes na Buhari borrow pass. But if you look closely and carefully, you'll see what the loans are being used for. A president cannot just borrow loans. It would have to pass through the senate and the terms and condition have to be clear and precise.
So instead of being among the bandwagons, who when they hear loans, would start pissing their pants, do your research and see what the loan is being used for, the duration of when it will be completed, the terms and condition and how long it would take Government to pay back the loans.
There's no single loan that has been taken that is not being used on what it was meant for.

As for increment of school fees. People will still pay. Nigerians will definitely complain that school fees has been increased but at the end they'll pay. Let those that cannot pay go and find their lives outside of school. You don't need to go to school to be somebody in today's world.
All countries where their schools are topnotch pay heavily for it.
The ones that have standard schools with free or almost free schools have a very small population and their taxes are very high. So at the end they pay heavily for their education.
In America, 71% of Americans cannot go to college without loans, grants or scholarships from the Government. That tells you how expensive their education is.
Greenland, where school is free and Government sometimes pay people to go to school, have a population of 57k people. The population of 10 federal universities in Nigeria is already more than the population of the entire Greenland.
Their small population makes it easy for their Government to provide free education for them.
Even at that, the citizens of Greenland are taxed 44% of their income. So technically, they actually pay for their education.

Nigerians talk about how universities in Ghana are better and they don't go on strike but they fail to tell you that Ghanians public universities tuition fee is an average of 200k when converted to Naira. Whereas most of our federal schools pay less than 50k for school fees.

As for reducing the salaries of the senate, it is dead on arrival.. When you prepare a budget and you slash the senate salaries, shey it's the same senate that you will carry to budget to for approval? If they don't approve it what will you do? Arrest all of them? Better don't start what you cannot finish.

The best you can do is reduce the salaries of yourself, ministers and their appointees. That way Nigerians will understand you're trying your best to cut the cost of Governance. But when you're doing that have it in mind that they have to be paid well enough so they won't steal or people won't bribe them to work against you.
Just don't try and touch the salaries of senators cos they'll frustrate your papa.

Re: How Will You Solve ASUU Problem If You're Nigeria President? by Nobody: 4:53pm On Sep 27, 2022
Perfectbeing:
Yes na Buhari borrow pass. But if you look closely and carefully, you'll see what the loans are being used for. A president cannot just borrow loans. It would have to pass through the senate and the terms and condition have to be clear and precise.
So instead of being among the bandwagons, who when they hear loans, would start pissing their pants, do your research and see what the loan is being used for, the duration of when it will be completed, the terms and condition and how long it would take Government to pay back the loans.
There's no single loan that has been taken that is not being used on what it was meant for.

As for increment of school fees. People will still pay. Nigerians will definitely complain that school fees has been increased but at the end they'll pay. Let those that cannot pay go and find their lives outside of school. You don't need to go to school to be somebody in today's world.
All countries where their schools are topnotch pay heavily for it.
The ones that have standard schools with free or almost free schools have a very small population and their taxes are very high. So at the end they pay heavily for their education.
In America, 71% of Americans cannot go to college without loans, grants or scholarships from the Government. That tells you how expensive their education is.
Greenland, where school is free and Government sometimes pay people to go to school, have a population of 57k people. The population of 10 federal universities in Nigeria is already more than the population of the entire Greenland.
Their small population makes it easy for their Government to provide free education for them.
Even at that, the citizens of Greenland are taxed 44% of their income. So technically, they actually pay for their education.

Nigerians talk about how universities in Ghana are better and they don't go on strike but they fail to tell you that Ghanians public universities tuition fee is an average of 200k when converted to Naira. Whereas most of our federal schools pay less than 50k for school fees.

As for reducing the salaries of the senate, it is dead on arrival.. When you prepare a budget and you slash the senate salaries, shey it's the same senate that you will carry to budget to for approval? If they don't approve it what will you do? Arrest all of them? Better don't start what you cannot finish.

The best you can do is reduce the salaries of yourself, ministers and their appointees. That way Nigerians will understand you're trying your best to cut the cost of Governance. But when you're doing that have it in mind that they have to be paid well enough so they won't steal or people won't bribe them to work against you.
Just don't try and touch the salaries of senators cos they'll frustrate your papa.
Why is it that Nigerian legislature are more paid than Ghanian legislatures and American own. So why won't they v their earning cut. The people ll rise against them.
Re: How Will You Solve ASUU Problem If You're Nigeria President? by Perfectbeing(m): 7:02pm On Sep 27, 2022
Sweetplum:

Why is it that Nigerian legislature are more paid than Ghanian legislatures and American own. So why won't they v their earning cut. The people ll rise against them.
Which people? The same people that voted them in? What if the Northerners are okay with the way their senators are being paid? Would you know pit the North against the South?
You want the country to scatter under your watch fa?

Better leave the senators alone and do what you can do and leave. When you get there you'll see that even if you slash the senate salary by half, it makes no much difference. It will be like removing a shovel of sand from the beach.
Re: How Will You Solve ASUU Problem If You're Nigeria President? by Perfectbeing(m): 8:07pm On Sep 27, 2022
vanunu:
The federal government if it is really federal has no business owning universities, as big as the united states' is, it has only one federal university.

All over the world universities are owned and sponsored by states and organizations, I don't know why Nigerian government lack wisdom, there has being perennial ASUU strike for more than thirty years now , only the handover of federal universities to states will solve this shameful perennial strikes.
Good. But I think the reason is that they're pitying us too much.
Right now university under FG hands is the cheapest you can obtain anywhere else in this country. If FG gives it to the states (which I'm fully in support of) the States (most of which are struggling with salaries and pension) would have to increase the tuition fees (which I'm also in support of). But how many shortsighted Nigerians would understand?
All we do is blame and blame and when we're tired of blaming we catch cruise with the problem..
Maybe people would say "see small Ghana of yesterday, their universities haven't been on strike for years.. But they don't know that Ghanians pay very high tuition fees for that to happen.

The Government pities us a lot. Let them increase school fees and let those that can't afford it drop out. After all, you don't need a degree to be made in today's world.

I remember when UNIBEN wanted to increase their school fees from 12k to 20k, students rioted. They blocked Ugbowo road. Same thing happened when UniAbuja increase school fees last year, students blocked the highway till soldiers chased them with tear gas.
This is the same students that compare Nigerian schools with Ghana universities. Some compare it Harvard o. Oya let's add 10k to una school fees, they say no.

I'm a preacher of "if you want something better, you gats pay higher than what you previously paid."

Whether the schools are taken over by States or remains with FG, if students want strike to end, dem gats pay more.
Re: How Will You Solve ASUU Problem If You're Nigeria President? by Nobody: 8:53pm On Sep 27, 2022
Perfectbeing:
Which people? The same people that voted them in? What if the Northerners are okay with the way their senators are being paid? Would you know pit the North against the South?

Better leave the senators alone and do what you can do and leave. When you get there you'll see that even if you slash the senate salary by half, it makes no much difference. It will be like removing a shovel of sand from the beach.
let it scatter. Cos when it's one, we no enjoy am
Re: How Will You Solve ASUU Problem If You're Nigeria President? by Perfectbeing(m): 8:58pm On Sep 27, 2022
Sweetplum:
let it scatter. Cos when it's one, we no enjoy am
OK o
Re: How Will You Solve ASUU Problem If You're Nigeria President? by Nobody: 5:32am On Sep 28, 2022
Perfectbeing:

See, I just found this online. Dunno how true it is:

❗Yesterday I confirmed that African leaders are the richest in the world.❗
They arrived at UN in newyork each in a convoy of over 20 powerful vehicles hired from American car hire companies.
I was shocked to see European leaders arriving at UN for the UN General Assembly in small cars and some arriving as a group of European leaders in Coasters..
The Prime Minister of UK arrived in a small car with the Prime Minister of Norway while Prime Minister of Italy arrived in same small car with prime Minister of Luxembourg one of the wealthiest economies.
The Germany chancellor arrived in a Mercedes benz with Prime Minister of sweden and prime Minister of Denmark, and three of them sleeping at a budget hotel in Manhattan.
African leaders took over very expensive hotels in lower Manhattan which is the headquarters of the Wall Street and the most expensive area in Manhattan borough.
Each African leader is staying in a separate five star hotel with his delegation of politicians from his country.
The African leaders plus their entourage are buying expensive items in newyork.
Prime Minister of Israel is sleeping in a budget office far away in Queens borough of newyork while Dutch Prime Minister is in the same budget hotel with Prime Minister of Malta and President of Czech Republic which is a highly developed nation..The Prime Minister of Slovakia is sleeping in Harlem in newyork in a budget office together with leaders from Jordan.
The most shocking part of it is that African leaders took over atleast 39 five star hotels in newyork, the same Africa leaders are engaging European leaders asking to help them to increase financial support to respective African nations.
I my self saw a Germany chancellor looking at African leaders arriving in big motorcades in total disbelief..he was shocked but still he went ahead to meet them. African leaders in New York are in pomp and proving how rich they are..
It was estimated that the presidential entourage of over 100 delegates from Nigeria to the present UN general Assembly was the highest in the history of the assembly it self. It was also estimated that each delegate will cost the government not less than 10 million naira in estacodes and other allowances. At this critical time of economic hardship, spending billions of naira to take more than 100 delegates to an assembly where the president is the only relevant person speaks volumes to the ineptitude of the government. It is such a shame that the same government with such embezzlement audacity continues to tell Nigerians that there is no money to fund education.
Re: How Will You Solve ASUU Problem If You're Nigeria President? by Olowoeko11: 5:57am On Sep 28, 2022
Sweetplum:

Thought you sabi economics. Buhari na him borrow pass in the history of Nigeria.
Secondly if school fees are increased, the common man that's still struggling to meet up with the present ll kuku withdraw his kids.
Only place wey make sense is the introduction and sustenance of courses relevant to the country and economy.
Yet my first summation is the first step in the right direction.
De-market politics. Reduce their earnings. From president to NASS to govs etc.
Anyone going there is going to work and not earn.
and those professional course will japa thereafter earning their degree just like the medical doctors who will japa to other countries after studying and earning degree with our subsidies schools
Re: How Will You Solve ASUU Problem If You're Nigeria President? by alcuin(m): 6:22am On Sep 28, 2022
Olowoeko11:
and those professional course will japa thereafter earning their degree just like the medical doctors who will japa to other countries after studying and earning degree with our subsidies schools

Loans always come with terms and conditions.

If they "japa". Their sureties and guarantors will pay, or worse jailed.

SE, SS, NC In The Bag For Obi, And Now... / Atiku Should Be Disqualified For Making Genocidal Statement . Kenneth Okonkwo. / Can Nigeria Separate In Peace Now That Oil Has Been Found In The North?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 51