Stats: 3,153,109 members, 7,818,308 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 12:22 PM

2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty (6298 Views)

Fani Kayode Replies Dino For Mocking Tinubu Promises "Fire For Fire" (Video) / Bola Tinubu Promises Free WAEC Fees For Every Nigerian Child If Elected / Leaked Tape: Tinubu Promises APC Members Good Money If Buhari Wins (2) (3) (4)

2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by Majesty2(m): 7:52am On Nov 11, 2022
The Presidential candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, has promised to develop the country’s mining sector, if elected in 2023.
This, he said, was to create job opportunities, boost socio-economic activities and improve on the standard of living of Nigerians.

Tinubu made the pledge at a town hall meeting on Mining and Security in Lafia on Thursday.

The former Lagos State governor said he would prioritise the resuscitation of the nation’s economy through the development of the solid mineral sector,adding that the nation is richly blessed and can cater for itself.

“Solid minerals and mining will play key roles in our campaign toward prosperity and our economic offensive against poverty and underdevelopment.

“The solid minerals sector contributed less than 1 per cent to our GDP in 2020. We need to increase this amount every year.

“My administration will develop the solid minerals sector, establish policies that will encourage investment for growth in that sector,”
said Tinubu.

He also said his administration would enact legislative reforms and forge strategic partnerships with private sector investors with requisite skills and proven capacity to support investment in the mining sector.

“We, the APC, shall continue to stand before the Nigerian people to discuss the real issues of the day and offer insight into the policy solutions we intend to deploy to solve them. In this, we remain the best and only hope for progressive good governance in Nigeria.

“Few nations are as well-endowed as Nigeria, given our industrious, energetic population and our vast inventory of land, water and natural resources.

”Our beloved nation has abundant, commercially viable solid mineral deposits such as coal, limestone, iron ore, bitumen, lead, zinc, gold and a variety of gemstones.
“It is the obligation of government to use these gifts wisely to benefit the nation and improve the living. standards of the average Nigerian,”
he said.

The presidential flag-bearer stressed that: “We have the capacity, knowledge, intelligence to take this country to the promised land.

“I will eliminate poverty and I will break the shackle of poverty, we know how to do it. I am a promise. keeper.”

Tinubu appreciated Gov. Abdullahi Sule for giving him the opportunity to share his vision.

He solicited for votes from all and country to enable him become the president of the country.

The APC presidential candidate commended Gov. Abdullahi Sule for his efforts in developing the state. and called for its sustenance.

Host Gov. Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State said Tinubu’s engagement with the mining community would also afford the opportunity to know the economic potentials of the state in mining and security.

The governor listed solid minerals in commercial quantity in the state, which include lead, gold, Barite, Marble and iron.

“I thank Asiwaju Tinubu for visiting our states and. our people have always wanted to see you to ask you questions and you are here to answer their questions,” Sule said.

On his part, Gov. Simon Lalong of Plateau and Director General, Tinubu/Shettima Campaign Organisation, described the Lafia town hall meeting as another worthy engagement between the APC presidential candidate and critical stakeholders in the state.

He also said Nasarawa state is the home of huge solid mineral deposits that have remained untapped with attendant insecurity caused by illegal miners.
Lalong promised that Tinubu would squarely address issues bordering the mining sector during his tenure, if given the mandate.

“Tinubu is a man with untainted records of solving challenges. We are lucky he is ready to serve our country at this time,” he said.

The APC National Chairman, Sen. Abdullahi Adamu, however charged Tinubu to get ready to lead Nigeria. to the promised land.

He re-echoed the position of President Muhammadu Buhari that all indicators and indications point to the fact that the APC presidential candidate is the next president of Nigeria.

Adamu said that the state was endowed with mining opportunities.
In his remarks, Sen. Tanko Al-Makura (APC-Nasarawa South) and Chairman, Senate Committee on Mines and Solid Minerals, called for unbundling of the mining sector to allow for more participation in. the sector.

“I have sponsored a Bill on Nigeria Mineral Development Corporation, which has passed first and second readings in the Senate as the Bill, if passed, will boost the mining sector,” he said.

He also called on Nigerians to develop more interest in mining considering its importance to human and societal development.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the forum had in attendance Speaker, House of Representatives, Mr Femi Gbajabiamila; Gov. Aminu Masari of Katsina State; Prof. Babagana Zulum of Borno; former Speaker of House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole; Emir of Lafia and Chairman of Nasarawa Council of Chiefs, Justice Sidi Bage Muhammad (rtd), among others.

https://www.pulse.ng/news/politics/2023-tinubu-promises-to-develop-mining-sector-break-poverty/4kxvskx

26 Likes 5 Shares

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by Abdul05: 7:53am On Nov 11, 2022
Correct, minister unto what people need instead of blackmailing tinubu as pdp is doing now.... grin

Nasarawa people know in their hearts that tinubu has the magic wands to change their state for better.. grin

That explains why they are clamouring for him.. grin

32 Likes 3 Shares

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by WonderManly(m): 8:04am On Nov 11, 2022
Lori Irọ

8 Likes 3 Shares

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by Mrgovernor: 8:04am On Nov 11, 2022
He's been taking credit for the good job of former Governors Fashola and Ambode.

There was Lagos before Tinubu became Governor. At least we heard of good work of Baba Jakande, we were all here during Marwa's tenure as a Milad. He did wonderfully well.

Tinubu contributed in no small measure to the menace of Agberos & "owo mi da" menace on Lagos road. So many unresolved assassinations of political foes during his tenure. We were all here....

Fashola was the deal. He opened up Lagos. Restored sanity of laws and orders. Built infrastructures. He is the true foundation of today's Lagos. What he did became the minimum standard to measure performance in governance everywhere. You cannot but like him, his religion notwithstanding. Nobody was concerned if he is a Christian or Muslim.

Ambode came and turned Lagos to construction sites. He did fantastic jobs despite his many floors. We were all witnesses to the number of roads, bridges, he constructed. Following the footsteps of Fashola he gave Oshodi a new look and transformed Berger. He started delineation of roads with "barb" wires and lighten up the city. He planned feeding the people by going into rice production in partnership with Kebbi state Govt. Is there anyone here who didn't hear of Lake Rice. He put LASTMA & VIO where the truly belong. That's governance per excellence!

But, the corrupt establishment that foisted him on the people felt he doesn't know how to play politics. They want him to face administration while Bourdelion face the aspect of politics. He too was naive, he should have play ball with them and show them pepper after securing his second term in office. It's not hard to win the hearts of the glutinous assembly members, just give them contracts.

Amoda Ogunlere cannot take credit for the good works of Fashola and Ambode. We are witnesses to their good work in Lagos. I am omo oduaa tokan tokan, and won't be cajoled by the foolish sentiment of following my tribe's man. It means my education is a waste If I fall for that. We are waiting for him at the poll.

The current house boy that occupies Lagos has performed below standard. We know he doesn't have balls. But let him continue until his days of reckoning.... His sin will find him out.

12 Likes 3 Shares

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by Nobody: 8:04am On Nov 11, 2022
Lol...the same way APC "developed" Nigeria in the last 7 years. Thank God Nigerians are wiser now and will vote wisely.

30 Likes 4 Shares

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by Kurumaru: 8:05am On Nov 11, 2022
BAT can actually do all this cos he is smart and intelligent BUT he is old.. In fact he isn't even my fear but his Vice... I can't look at him (the vice) twice, make I no commot face..

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by Houseofglam7(f): 8:05am On Nov 11, 2022
Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by BATified2023: 8:05am On Nov 11, 2022
Igbos know for sure that tinubu is better than their pandora him tu lie n they know tinubu will make things happen but tribalism n d thirst for ipob president is making them do the unthinkable

Imagine same people that declared peter obi as cursed during his governance want d same cursed man to come n govern us today

No b juju b dat

24 Likes 3 Shares

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by Tunasco4u(m): 8:05am On Nov 11, 2022
Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by pachigo001(m): 8:05am On Nov 11, 2022
Lori ro grin

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by Beverlyjean(f): 8:05am On Nov 11, 2022
The usual lies....we hv grown past this ...u are wasting ur time

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by lloydtruth: 8:05am On Nov 11, 2022
The video of when he said it or it's another wash-wash lies.

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by hohafrank(m): 8:05am On Nov 11, 2022
Promise and fail.Anyway he has failed.

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by oluseyiforjesus(m): 8:05am On Nov 11, 2022
Tinubu is a good politcian n may hv good plans for Nigeria but Fulanis are just using him to retain power after 2023 election
If u knw u knw if u don't den forget about it

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by Nonexisting1: 8:06am On Nov 11, 2022
Why didn't he give small expo to Buhari on how to develop the mining sector for almost 8years now?

23 Likes 3 Shares

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by money121(m): 8:06am On Nov 11, 2022
Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by DenreleDave(m): 8:06am On Nov 11, 2022
We believe you performer

Not like the failure called peter obi who is playing politics of hate and separation..

E dey their blood, na inheritance

27 Likes 1 Share

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by Homiesjinxbank: 8:06am On Nov 11, 2022
This man man wants to make mining works oo lol, the man just have to wait for Buhari to ruined the country before coming up with solutions. Lol... Obi is coming

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by LordGuru1: 8:07am On Nov 11, 2022
The current Governor has tried so hard for long to hide Obi's cancerous corruptions and lies of turning Anambra to profitable State with best Amenities, but he just can't stomach it any more. Like if you've read the lastest about him too.

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by PandoraObi: 8:07am On Nov 11, 2022
Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by saferoom: 8:07am On Nov 11, 2022
How has he broken Poverty for people in Lagos since 25 years ago in charge of Lagos Economy?

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by Acidosis(m): 8:07am On Nov 11, 2022
What you couldn't do in your 60s throughout your time as governor of the smallest state in Nigeria by size, you want to do now that you've degenerated radically?

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by ADBA3005(m): 8:07am On Nov 11, 2022
WonderManly:
Lori Irọ

Walahi Talahi, Tinubu is the most capable candidate to ease Masse's suffering!
Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by seguno2: 8:08am On Nov 11, 2022
Majesty2:
https://www.pulse.ng/news/politics/2023-tinubu-promises-to-develop-mining-sector-break-poverty/4kxvskx

Bobo Chicago and fake promises na 5 & 6, joined together forever like Siamese twins.
What happened to the 50 million army recruits fed on cassava and agbado?
Who is fooling who? This packaging and propaganda must not fool us again. Never again. Buhari sufferness haff tired us.

lalasticlala:
Insecurity: Recruit 50 million youths into army, Tinubu urges FG

All Progressives Congress chieftain, Bola Tinubu, on Monday, urged the Federal Government to recruit at least 50 million youths into the Nigerian Army to boost Nigeria’s fight against terrorism, banditry and all forms of internal and external security threats confronting the nation.

Tinubu spoke at the 12th colloquium to celebrate his 69th birthday in Kano State.

He said, “We are under-policed and we are competing with armed robbers and bandits to recruit from the youths who are unemployed —33 per cent unemployed?”

“Recruit 50 million youths into the army,” he stated, adding that “what they will eat —cassava, corn, yam, will grow here.”

The APC chieftain, while reacting to recent statistics by the National Bureau of Statistics that over 23 million Nigerians are jobless, also urged the government to create jobs for youths in the agricultural value chains.

He said, “Don’t talk about illiteracy, anybody who can hold a gun, who can handle a gun, who can cock and shoot is technically competent to repair a tractor in the farm.”

https://punchng.com/insecurity-recruit-50-million-youths-into-army-tinubu-urges-fg/

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by 1gbdata: 8:08am On Nov 11, 2022
A ll P roimse C ancelled

Should no promise again until ₦‎1 = $1

One Naira become One Dollar

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by OdefaGirl(f): 8:08am On Nov 11, 2022
A drug lord will not rule Nigeria.... Try another country.
Other countries will just mock us..... and make life difficult for Nigerians abeg. Nation we are trying to restore it's glory......

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by muykem: 8:08am On Nov 11, 2022
Nigeria is safe in the hand of Tinubu.

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by Kingluqman(m): 8:09am On Nov 11, 2022
That's his agenda, he wants to mine Nigeria

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by Homiesjinxbank: 8:09am On Nov 11, 2022
No longer in the hand of apc abi? We all know the country was doing fine under Pdp

Re: 2023: Tinubu Promises To Develop Mining Sector, Break Poverty by Fyie: 8:11am On Nov 11, 2022

Reps Move To Remove ‘force’ From Police / Okada Accidents Have Reduced By 95% In Lagos – Kayode Opeifa / Jewish Leader Arrives Abuja For Nnamdi Kanu Bail

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 39