Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,152,569 members, 7,816,397 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 10:39 AM

Should I Study Medicine Or Get A Job/msc And Settle Down - Education - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / Should I Study Medicine Or Get A Job/msc And Settle Down (623 Views)

2020 PTDF MSc and PhD scholarship in the United Kingdom / Advice: Should I Go For Medicine Or For A Masters? / 2018 NDDC MSC And PHD Scholarship Application (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

Should I Study Medicine Or Get A Job/msc And Settle Down by Bestcreamreview: 11:45am On Feb 11, 2023
Good morning guys, please I need honest opinions. I am a female, currently 23 years old. I studied one of the 4 year-courses at the faculty of basic medical sciences in a federal university and graduated with a strong 2:1 (4.3 CGPA). I started NYSC in June last year and I'll be done by May/June this year. Now I'm confused about what to do after service.

I've always wanted to study medicine and spending my service year in a reputable teaching hospital has increased my love for the profession. I would like to go back to school to study medicine via direct entry but my friends and relatives think it's a bad idea, some suggested I get a job after service and try to settle down (i.e get married and start a family), my parents suggested I get a Masters degree, a job and then a husband. Everyone around me thinks going back to study medicine would be a waste of time but I'm worried about feeling unfulfilled or unhappy with my decision in the future. I've read stories about women who gave up on their dreams to settle down or pursue other career options that are less stressful and time consuming and some end up regretting their decision while others say it's the best decision they ever made.