Stats: 3,154,452 members, 7,823,062 topics. Date: Thursday, 09 May 2024 at 11:02 PM

How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot - Politics (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot (35690 Views)

Garba Shehu: Successive Governments Lacked Courage To Remove Fuel Subsidy / Local Governments Received N126.28bn From FAAC Allocation In May 2019 – NBS / Local Governments Received N126.58bn From Faac Allocation In April 2019 – Nbs (2) (3) (4)

Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by DDIA: 10:49am On Nov 16, 2023
orisa37:
HE GAVE US THE 1999 CONSTITUTION.
A constitution designed to favor him when he transits from military rule as head of state to civilian rule with him as president.

This is why the presidents from 1999 seem untouchable.
If you like take them to court, the issue will linger in court and finally become stale on the coming of another administration. Thanks to the constitution that was made intentionally to include technical loopholes that would be for the purpose of Abacha exploiting.
Now this same constitution is favoring others in power, they are not ready to ammend them because of the gratification they gain from it while in power.

Analysed under the influence of colos cool

Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by ejieddy: 10:57am On Nov 16, 2023
At this moment in our nation, our hope remains Abacha's loot/NLNG future profit. May God help us all

Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by slowice(m): 11:07am On Nov 16, 2023
4.4 billion dollars outrightly stolen by awa thieving politicians and we continue to hail them.

We are not ready

Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by TOPMAN4LIFE: 11:09am On Nov 16, 2023
orisa37:
ABACHA COULD BE A MESSIAH NIGERIA DOESN'T KNOW. HE DIDN'T SWALLOW THE MONEY. HE KEPT THE MONEY WHERE IT WOULD BE FOUND AND PROVIDED PROFESSOR ALUKO A LAMB FOR SACRIFICE.
If not because he died suddenly, Nigeria would not have gotten the money back like what abdusalam, and babangida stole

Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by Achor1111(m): 11:18am On Nov 16, 2023
Abacha get mind oooh
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by BreconHills(m): 11:34am On Nov 16, 2023
Jokerman:
Now, we can see the Jonathan received the least of the loot...

Now please what did Obasanjo and Buhari do with the loot they received??

Source: Statisense

But PBAT has not even received anything. Have you excluded him and made it a three horse race?
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by BreconHills(m): 11:38am On Nov 16, 2023
Jokerman:

But these funds are not just given to the FG.

They are allocated to specific projects. So the question should be what are these projects and were they ever completed?
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by coputa(m): 11:41am On Nov 16, 2023
Levels1:

Sorry can i know your Age?
I should ask you that
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by izibili44: 11:42am On Nov 16, 2023
[He was a millitary leader and a wise one. He chop the money give you Democratic president. grin grin angry grin grin grin angry grin ;Dquote author=Jokerman post=126968752]What did AbdulSalam use $750M for in less than 1 year as an interim president?
People are not asking questions[/quote]
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by rajiedreez: 11:49am On Nov 16, 2023
gssdobi:
I suggest that, instead of returning it only for it to be re looted .
why not them minus it from our international Debts?

They'll never do that because it does not favour the west to do so.

It was looted then into their economy and they're probably giving back part of the profit they made from loaning us the looted money.

Now, they know it'll most likely be looted again and it might still end up in their country for another round of loaning for profit. So if they remove it from our loan they'll not get to make new profit from the loot.

Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by Luckybelt: 11:58am On Nov 16, 2023
Imagine if Obasanjo had used that money to build refinery

Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by SAMTOBIJU(m): 12:09pm On Nov 16, 2023
StreetFight:

Oloriburuku Oloshi somebody used it to buy Eko and Ibadan Electricity Distribution Companies, while Olusegun Obasanjo used his own to buy Ikeja Electricity Distribution Company.

Go and Verify

I know abdulsalam own Ibadan electric, I did not know he also own Eko electric
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by phemray(m): 12:21pm On Nov 16, 2023
Racoon:
Humn! So much money but Nigeria is still not better for it. Meanwhile, Buhari said Abacha never stole a dime.

Same way he appointed ministers without checking on what the do or not do resulting to heavy looting. Yet he believes all his ministers are not fraudulent. Nigerians should better stop voting integrity that leads smart ministers taking the advantage. Match madness with madness.
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by Levels1(m): 12:51pm On Nov 16, 2023
coputa:
I should ask you that

You children of nowadays lack manners and proper upbringing.

When been corrected instead of you to yield you keep exposing your Age.

When you grow old you will understand things about history and life.

Best regards
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by Lamasta(m): 1:00pm On Nov 16, 2023
Nigeria have been bleeding since time immemorial
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by Misterone: 1:09pm On Nov 16, 2023
History is not about facts but about context and the story teller. To the white man, Mongo Park discovered the River Niger but to those living at the banks, they wonder! How can someone discover their home for them? That is the context and story teller thing.
Now based on what was happening at the time of Abacha regime ( the sanctions and frozen of Nigeria's account by the US and others), Abacha instituted a plan to circumvent those sanctions by transferring funds owned by Nigeria to accounts of individuals and his too (verifiable facts). When he died, most of this individuals took the money as their own and Nigeria suffered for it. Good intentions though but it boomeranged on everyone except those that escaped with the money.
It was said that Abiola was also among those that collect this funds but turned around and used it to contest elections. That was why the military refused to handover.
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by p3timobi: 1:27pm On Nov 16, 2023
How do I go about it?
digitalmonster:
All those recovered Abacha loots are relooted by our corrupt politicians. Those funds are not documented.

Nevertheless, CPA is making ordinary Nigerians millionaire overnight. Help international companies generate leads online and make hundreds of dollars daily.

Platform you can use are....

1 : download and upload music concerts, add your CPA link in the description or pinned comment, sit and watch your passive $50-$100 CPA money coming in ( If your video go viral... Million views) shocked 💰💰💰💰

2: create a content site on Google site, use chatgbt to create the content, add your CPA links to the content, post it on Quora, do a $5 boost.. sit and watch you making $50 daily on autopilot.

And many more... Marketing strategies in the CPA training videos.

Read some of my threads to get full gist....

Use this CPA business to make thousands of dollars and celebrate Christmas like a king.

Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by newfhace(m): 1:28pm On Nov 16, 2023
Saao:
Abacha is really wicked, how can you stole such amount from a country?
my mind dey tell me all that money no be Abacha loot, they are just using his name.
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by UncleKoboko: 1:37pm On Nov 16, 2023
Jokerman:
What did AbdulSalam use $750M for in less than 1 year as an interim president?
People are not asking questions
The useless old fool thief re-looted it and many more.
Na obj own worse pass, the greatest and useless thief of all.
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by mvem(m): 2:21pm On Nov 16, 2023
nkemoma:
Abacah the richest dead man..

Richer than King Solomon .
taking the country's wealth which is not his money doesn't make him a rich man

Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by dejavubobo1(m): 2:39pm On Nov 16, 2023
Raskimonojendor:
When is Babangida returning his own loot. He squandered and looted the Gulf war oil windfall.
A whooping $12.4 billion.
Babangida looted the country most. Worse than any other military leader. A very cunny man so he got the nickname maradonna
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by dejavubobo1(m): 2:45pm On Nov 16, 2023
somehow:
How much was Nigeria as a whole making during the 5 years reign of Abacha?

Make una dey deceive una self
Nigeria was already making billions of dollars during Gowon regime. Which is why the saying "Nigeria is so rich and how to spend the wealth is problem" a quote from Gowon.
Now compare it 20+ yrs later in the oil boom and golf war period. Rethink ur statement
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by blueAgent(m): 2:57pm On Nov 16, 2023
rajiedreez:

They'll never do that because it does not favour the west to do so.

It was looted then into their economy and they're probably giving back part of the profit they made from loaning us the looted money.

Now, they know it'll most likely be looted again and it might still end up in their country for another round of loaning for profit. So if they remove it from our loan they'll not get to make new profit from the loot.

Crap.
How much are we talking about?
Change.
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by blueAgent(m): 2:58pm On Nov 16, 2023
Misterone:
History is not about facts but about context and the story teller. To the white man, Mongo Park discovered the River Niger but to those living at the banks, they wonder! How can someone discover their home for them? That is the context and story teller thing.
Now based on what was happening at the time of Abacha regime ( the sanctions and frozen of Nigeria's account by the US and others), Abacha instituted a plan to circumvent those sanctions by transferring funds owned by Nigeria to accounts of individuals and his too (verifiable facts). When he died, most of this individuals took the money as their own and Nigeria suffered for it. Good intentions though but it boomeranged on everyone except those that escaped with the money.
It was said that Abiola was also among those that collect this funds but turned around and used it to contest elections. That was why the military refused to handover.

Story telling.

Crap.
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by Yankee101: 3:23pm On Nov 16, 2023
So who will recover the loot of all the other presidents including Tinubu?
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by phemmyfour: 3:34pm On Nov 16, 2023
Jokerman:

Economy was great in Obj's time. Naira to dollar was just about N100. Fuel was less than N100 per litre. A bag of rice was less than 5k. Its Buhari that should answer your question
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by joasman007(m): 3:51pm On Nov 16, 2023
gssdobi:
I suggest that, instead of returning it only for it to be re looted .
why not them minus it from our international Debts?
that one can't happen...this is free money and once it enters oir airspace, it disappears without a trace
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by captaininiobong(m): 4:00pm On Nov 16, 2023
Abacha loot no dey finish?
Re: How Successive Governments Received Abacha's Loot by Swiftgrp: 4:05pm On Nov 16, 2023
Jokerman:

He and his family stole a whopping 4.4 billion USD! That Sani Abacha guy was a real thief who used the CBN as a conduit for moving stolen Nigerian money into his offshore bank accounts in Europe and the Caribbean. This is why I have always insist that calling for military rule in 2023 by some younger ignorant folks and trolls online and offline as highly asinine.

Osun Public Servants, Retirees At Winners Chapel For Food Today (pics) / Buhari Disengages Dokubo, Appoints Dikko To Head Amnesty Programme / Femi Fani-Kayode Hosts Suzan Coker, Rant HQ Founder (Photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 46