Stats: 3,155,894 members, 7,828,157 topics. Date: Wednesday, 15 May 2024 at 03:42 AM

Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone - Career (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone (17284 Views)

Professionals, Career Guides, Experienced Chemists, Please Come In Here! / Industrial Chemists In The Petroleum Industry..let's Meet Here. / Thread 4 Chemists I.e The Molecules,radicals,ions And Tiny Atoms. (2) (3) (4)

Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by jendor123: 1:32pm On Apr 14, 2012
Hi pple, what advice would u give 2 a Bsc graduate in industrial chemistry? If he want to further, which course wil u advice him to do and where should do it. I love chemistry and I practical exposure. Thanks , luv guz
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by vicshownero(m): 9:09am On Apr 17, 2012
jendor123: Hi pple, what advice would u give 2 a Bsc graduate in industrial chemistry? If he want to further, which course wil u advice him to do and where should do it. I love chemistry and I practical exposure. Thanks , luv guz
bro,kindly read dis thread frm d start as most of ur questns as already been answered,bt feel free to share ur ideas and other questns.thanks!
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by bukahands(m): 2:37pm On Jun 09, 2012
I studied biochem too with a second class upper division, am considering going to a US medical school
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by moshoodn(m): 7:27pm On Jun 09, 2012
bukahands: I studied biochem too with a second class upper division, am considering going to a US medical school

welcome to the house. . . i'm a fellow metabolite too.
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by bukahands(m): 3:51pm On Jun 10, 2012
Thank you moshoodn I know you from d NYSC forum batch B forum
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by moshoodn(m): 12:27am On Jun 11, 2012
bukahands: Thank you moshoodn I know you from d NYSC forum batch B forum

Hmmmmm. . . . yes.
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by Santi222(m): 5:10am On Jun 26, 2012
bukahands: I studied biochem too with a second class upper division, am considering going to a US medical school
do they take Biochem graduates in the US? I mean, u want to start medical skool dere or do u mean something else?
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by bukahands(m): 6:33pm On Jun 26, 2012
Santi222:
do they take Biochem graduates in the US? I mean, u want to start medical skool dere or do u mean something else?

Yes they do, u have to complete any biological science and then complete 4 years med school in the US
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by 2great: 8:43pm On Jun 27, 2012
@bbwlurv/whom it may concern-Pls I nid info on hw 2go about geting d courses and trainings in AAS,FT-IR,US-VIS u listed. I'm into QC n I nid to get certain certfcation to improve myself in d food industry,chemical or health other dan MSc. I stay in Lagos n won't mind geting info on centres/institute dat ofers such. Thnks.
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by vicuze(m): 10:39pm On Jul 05, 2012
Hi everyone i studied Biochemistry too aspiring for NYSC Nov this year.I want to ask What space do Biochemists fill in the oil and gas companies or is it only engineers that do all the work there?Really want to know.
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by analar(f): 5:08pm On Jul 06, 2012
...wow! Glad 2 find ma home here!..
...am biochemist!..wil b a graduate nx 3mts!..
...ds career tin! Hz reali bin disturbin me!..
..am tinkin of goin! Into Pharmacology/ clinical Biochemistry! 4 msc study! Dnt knw wc would b more enjyable n gv u more time 4 research!
..cos i heard if u nt a lecturer! U wnt b able 2 enjy research!..
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by Oxytocin712: 4:11am On Aug 06, 2012
Nice been here, I'm a biochemist.
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by Lillyeean(f): 10:33am On Aug 06, 2012
Hello fellow Metabolites and Reactors( Chemist)... I have read thro al d posts here and so far it has been insightful, I also noticed dat Public Health is what many ppl think a biochemist shld opt for as a career choice to further in... So my point is; are ther any other fields one can go into, I for one always had interest in d health line so I applied for Chemical pathology @ d Msc. Lvl but most ppl seem 2 think I'd end up in d hospital wc is cool by me cos I really enjoyed doing my IT thr.... So apart from working in d hospital, research institute and academics, can any1 shed more lyt on this career lyn..... Thanks in advance
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by bvc(m): 10:51pm On Sep 12, 2012
I read as much as I could in this thread with great dismay and grievance. How come everybody in here wants to attach to a ready-made establishment? No body wants to be Creative and start something new. Its pathetic. I weep for my country. Even in my generation, we all want to unconsciously help the dreamers behind big companies (like shell and elf even in their death) build their dreams. They started from somewhere! Chemistry is creativity! It is broader than you can imagine, whether its bio, applied, pure or industrial. Let's be creative, Nigeria's livelihood depends on us as much as it depends on agric science, maybe even more. I'm an industrial chemist by the way! Corrosives in the building show some love!!!!
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by vicshownero(m): 2:27pm On Sep 13, 2012
2great: @bbwlurv/whom it may concern-Pls I nid info on hw 2go about geting d courses and trainings in AAS,FT-IR,US-VIS u listed. I'm into QC n I nid to get certain certfcation to improve myself in d food industry,chemical or health other dan MSc. I stay in Lagos n won't mind geting info on centres/institute dat ofers such. Thnks.
sorry 4 late response pls,am sure Google will help u out,let me knw if u need more help.thanks
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by vicshownero(m): 2:35pm On Sep 13, 2012
vicuze: Hi everyone i studied Biochemistry too aspiring for NYSC Nov this year.I want to ask What space do Biochemists fill in the oil and gas companies or is it only engineers that do all the work there?Really want to know.
pls type relevance of biochemistry in the oil and gas industry to google,am sure u will get more than enough info.thanks
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by vicshownero(m): 2:47pm On Sep 13, 2012
analar: ...wow! Glad 2 find ma home here!..
...am biochemist!..wil b a graduate nx 3mts!..
...ds career tin! Hz reali bin disturbin me!..
..am tinkin of goin! Into Pharmacology/ clinical Biochemistry! 4 msc study! Dnt knw wc would b more enjyable n gv u more time 4 research!
..cos i heard if u nt a lecturer! U wnt b able 2 enjy research!..
tru tal1!think well and make sme research on d net.then deiced d one dt is best for u.good luck
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by vicshownero(m): 2:52pm On Sep 13, 2012
Oxytocin_712: Nice been here, I'm a biochemist also. Pls how can one further with 3rd class [not academicaly dull] in this field.
put in for ur post gad diploma in any good uni,then after dt u can still do ur m.sc if dts ur wish?there is alot to do,one way does nt lead to d market u knw.wish u best of luck
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by vicshownero(m): 3:14pm On Sep 13, 2012
smiley
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by vicshownero(m): 3:27pm On Sep 13, 2012
smiley
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by AjanleKoko: 4:07pm On Sep 13, 2012
vicshownero: .Thanks 4 d challenge.Its a pity in d situation in wc we all find our selves in dis country,you see, you made a very good point but d problem we are facing is that we av just too many problems in dis case,bt after so much thinking, i think we can streamline the problem to our university system,wen u are talking abt been productive and all dt,u will agree with me that our educational system lack wat it takes to produce a productive graduate in d 1st place and dis problem self is due to so many other problem,its a chain reaction,d system has finally decayed.Tell me,wat kind of productivity are u expecting from a graduate that was only taught the theoretical aspect of his feed?,so u cant expect much.Its a very sorry case i must say.I av so much to say bt i dont av time to type it.stay cool,may God help us alllllllllllllllllllllllllll

Oga,
Your post doesn't tell a good story about you. Are you typing from a phone?
Anyway, to respond to your post . . . nobody is expecting you to work as a chemist.
There are chemistry graduates today working as bank managers, etc. Why can't you find something else to do? Government does not need to create jobs for chemistry graduates, the market does that. Adjust to the modern reality.

And I don't agree that the system doesn't produce productive graduates. Many of us have chosen to be unproductive. Stop making excuses, get off your backside, and find something to do. I'm sure you didn't join the undergraduate chemistry program out of desire to become a groundbreaking chemist.
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by vicshownero(m): 5:23pm On Sep 13, 2012
AjanleKoko:

Oga,
Your post doesn't tell a good story about you. Are you typing from a phone?
Anyway, to respond to your post . . . nobody is expecting you to work as a chemist.
There are chemistry graduates today working as bank managers, etc. Why can't you find something else to do? Government does not need to create jobs for chemistry graduates, the market does that. Adjust to the modern reality.

And I don't agree that the system doesn't produce productive graduates. Many of us have chosen to be unproductive. Stop making excuses, get off your backside, and find something to do. I'm sure you didn't join the undergraduate chemistry program out of desire to become a groundbreaking chemist.
.ur criticism is highly appreciated.
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by Oxytocin712: 5:44pm On Sep 13, 2012
[quote author=vicshownero]put in for ur post gad diploma in any good uni,then after dt u can still do ur m.sc if dts ur wish?there is alot to do,one way does nt lead to d market u knw.wish u best of luck. Thanks so much you really gear me up.
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by Lillyeean(f): 9:53pm On Sep 13, 2012
vicshownero: .Thanks 4 d question,actually we av so many career path in our line,u 4got 2 mention oil and gas industries and d pharmaceutical industries to mention a few,wen choosing a career path, i often advice ppl to do wat they luv doing most and dt they should follow their dream.You said u r ok with d hospital setting so to say,if u luv doing it then i will advice u to go 4 it,why doing dt,u should search d net as to certifications dt will further buttress ur career in d health line,futhermore,u should also meet ppl that are already in d health sector to put u tru.As to other career in chemistry,u can google search career path in chemistry,then look very well into d search result and choose wat u might enjoy doing most.Never follow a career path cos of a friend dt decides to follow it.Always follow ur heart.Hope av been able to help u in my own little way? feel free to ask questions,thanks.

yep thanks,
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by FeelStupid: 4:09pm On Sep 15, 2012
what are these

Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by INFO70: 3:17pm On Oct 15, 2012
Hi house,
my younger one that studied industrial chemistry is serving now. and he wants to know any business an industrial chemistry graduate can do. can someone help me out?
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by bukahands(m): 4:33pm On Oct 15, 2012
FeelStupid: Hi Guys

I see many ambitious and energetic young men and women seeking answers about their biochemistry and chemistry career paths. I studied Biochemistry in a US university and I am about to round up my PhD. There is a lot you guys can do with your biochemistry degree or rather the body of knowledge you have acquired through your years in the university.

Instead of looking for a job I will advise that you think of ways to create jobs for yourself. After my PhD, I hope to get a senior level position in the research division of one of the big oil and gas or pharmaceutical companies here in the US. I am also working towards setting up an alcoholic beverage company in Nigeria. I hope my plans work.

To answer the question many of you have with regards to the paucity of industries that can absorb the number of biochem/chemistry graduates,my advice is for you to look towards pursuing a master's degree overseas. You just need to do the GRE and meet the application requirements of the school of your choice. I know someone who studied chemistry in Nigeria and came here to the US to pursue a masters/PhD. Now he is working in the research and innovation dept of a fortune 500 oil and gas company.

Thank u very much can I get a fully funded phd in the US after msc in the uk
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by Arvinkris(m): 7:28pm On Oct 19, 2012
pls which of the following areas in biochemistry is lucrative and has more opportunities:Clinical Biochemistry,Environmental Biochemistry and Toxicology
· Pharmacology & Medical Biochemistry
· Medicinal Plant Research
· Nutritional Chemistry
· Immunochemistry
· Enzymology and Regulatory Mechanism
· Disease Pathogens
· Plant and Fungal Biochemistry. need your contributions.
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by bbwlurv(m): 5:44pm On Nov 10, 2013
2great: @bbwlurv/whom it may concern-Pls I nid info on hw 2go about geting d courses and trainings in AAS,FT-IR,US-VIS u listed. I'm into QC n I nid to get certain certfcation to improve myself in d food industry,chemical or health other dan MSc. I stay in Lagos n won't mind geting info on centres/institute dat ofers such. Thnks.

Sorry for my late reply,if u had followed vicshownero's advise I am sure u wuld have made some headways now..bt shld incase that proves abortive,pls locate pple wu sell and caliberate this instruments,they wuld certainly be of help as they already know the working principle. Hope I helped a little...would get back to you if I av a more solid answer. Cheers
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by Nobody: 5:25pm On Nov 15, 2013
Gud to knw that biochemists are here...i want to start a professional course on publich health but i dnt knw any institute..do anybody av an idea
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by OluRefine: 8:12pm On Nov 15, 2013
[quote author=moshoodn] True talks. . . In Nigeria here, public health rocks. Pls any hope for Industrial chemist too in Nigeria?
Re: Pure, Applied, Industrial & Bio Chemists' Zone by wilsonwilson(m): 10:00pm On Nov 28, 2013
Passing by

Voice Of America Sacks 15 Hausa Employees In A Nigeria Bribery Scandal / Why Are Motorcyclists Called Okada Riders? / Access Bank Forces Staff To Take Cars

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 49