Stats: 3,154,862 members, 7,824,589 topics. Date: Saturday, 11 May 2024 at 01:08 PM

Aldie0147's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Aldie0147's Profile / Aldie0147's Posts

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Travel / Canada Immigration Minister Speaks On Work-study Program By Foreigners by Aldie0147: 3:46pm On Aug 27, 2019
On the topic of Canadian permanent residency; These are folks who banked on...

“I can pass IELTS on my own”.

"People in my Whatsapp group are making it, so why pay an IELTS coach”.

“I’ll attend a training center never mind I won’t make it all the lectures because of work”.

These are people who love their money more than their kid’s future, more than their career advancement… more than guaranteed longevity until they LEARNT the HARD WAY.

On the other hand are those who learn from people’s mistakes and avoid the troubles by taking dressing early.

Today I wanted to share how most people who relocated through the Work-Study transition into permanent residents.

But before that, hear a few snippets from Canadian Immigration Minister.

Canada’s Minister of Immigration, Refugee and Citizenship, Ahmed Hussen, said that international students are “often ideal candidates for permanent residency,” in a statement from the International Education Strategy.

From that statement you will see that Canada wants most of the Immigrants who came through the Work-Study approach to transition to permanent residents.

Why are those who came in through the Work-Study approach important to Canada?

Here is why.

Below is a recent Press Release from the Government of Canada

The federal government’s strategy, released this week, recognizes the strong presence of international students in Canada, noting that 570,000 foreign Work-study permit holders contributed over $21 billion to the Canadian economy since the start of 2019.

The simple reality is this Canada wants Migrants who came in through the Work-Study pathway to become permanent Residents.

That is why when you go through the Work-Study pathway, they want you to bring your family, and they encourage that, by giving your spouse (if you have one) an open work permit and your minor children are put in high quality Canadian Schools from Kindergarten to high school.

Source

Phones / Vibe By Fero - Fero’s First Android Go Smartphone by Aldie0147: 6:00am On Aug 19, 2019
Fero Vibe is the first Android Go smartphone to be launched by Fero Mobile. The mobile was recently launched in Nigeria with good enough features as well an interesting price tag.

A couple of other popular smartphones in Nigeria boast of the Android Go, and it’s interesting to see a Fero smartphone joining the list.

Let’s see what the smartphone has in stock.

Fero Vibe Quick Review

I’m going to start straightaway with the smartphone’s design. It is covered with a polycarbonate material that’s marked at the top and bottom edges with antennae. The Fero logo is seen at the base of its rear while its model name (vibe) appears below the rear camera setup. Also, the speaker grille is present at the rear beneath the Fero logo.

This 168g phone has a dual SIM standby that supports the Micro SIM type. More so, an IPS TFT touchscreen of 5.45 inches serves as the smartphone’s display. The screen uses an HD+ resolution of 720 x 1440 pixels to coordinate its crispness. A Full View display of 18:9 aspect ratio is also aboard.

Moving on to the software region, the Go edition of Android Oreo is in charge. Unsurprisingly, a 1GB RAM is situated in the memory unit of the device. To store files, a 16GB ROM is in position, and it can be expanded to 128GB with the use of a MicroSD card.

In the power sector, a non-removable 3,200mAh Li-Po battery serves as the phone’s duration stronghold. The smartphone also comes with an OTG support which makes it possible for it to charge other devices.

For the camera section, an 8MP shooter with f/2.0 aperture takes photography at the back region. A 5MP sensor takes the phone’s selfies from the front of the smartphone. LED flashes are present on both sides of the phones to illuminate pictures taken in dark conditions.

Fero Vibe Key Specs

Here are the Fero Vibe key specifications…

cheap android phones
KEY SPECS
Display 5.45-inch IPS capacitive touchscreen, 720 x 1440 pixels
OS Android 8.1 Oreo (Go Edition)
Processor Quad-core 1.25GHz SC7731E Processor
Storage 16GB ROM + 1GB RAM (MicroSD card up to 128GB)
Camera 8MP Rear/5MP Front (With LED light)
Battery 3,200mAh
Price ₦25,000 – ₦32,000
SHOP ON JUMIA
Fero Vibe Photos

Fero Vibe Price and Availability

The Fero Vibe launched in September 2018, it is available in colours Champagne Gold, Midnight Black. You can order the phone from the following online shopping markets using any of the links below.

Fero Vibe retails at ₦25,000 – ₦32,000 in Nigeria.

Fero Vibe Full Specifications and Features

General Features

cheap android phones
Processor: Quad-core 1.25GHz SC7731E
Memory: 1GB
Colours: Champagne Gold, and Midnight Black
Dimension: 148*70.5*8.9 mm
Weight: –
SIM Type: Micro SIM
SIM Count: Dual SIM
Display

Display: 5.45-inch, IPS capacitive touchscreen, 720 x 1440 pixels
Aspect ratio: 18:9
Camera

Rear Camera: 8MP camera, 720p Video
Rear Camera Features: LED flash, Geo-tagging, touch focus, face/smile detection, HDR, Panorama
Front Camera: 5MP camera, LED flash
Storage

Built-in Storage: Yes
Memory Card Support: Yes, up to 128GB
Bundled Cloud Storage: –
Network Support

2G GSM: Yes
2G CDMA 1X: –
3G WCDMA: Yes
3G CDMA EVDO: –
4G LTE: Yes
Internet & Connectivity

GPRS: Yes
EDGE: Yes
3G/WCDMA/HSPA: Yes
HSPA+: Yes
CDMA EVDO: –
4G LTE: LTE 850 MHz, LTE 1800 MHz, LTE 2100 MHz, LTE-TDD 2300 MHz (B40),LTE-TDD 2500 MHz (B41)
WLAN: Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n
Wi-Fi Hotspot: Yes
Bluetooth: Yes, v4.1 with A2DP
NFC: –
Infrared Blaster: –
USB Port: MicroUSB 2.0
Messaging

SMS/MMS: Yes
Instant Messaging: Yes
Push Emails: Yes
Email Protocol: –
Entertainment

Music Player: MP3/WAV/eAAC+/FLAC player
Video Player: MP4/H.265 player
FM Radio: Yes
Loudspeaker: Yes
3.5mm Jack: Yes
Navigation

Navigation: Yes, with A-GPS, GPS
Maps: Yes
Sensors & Control

Digital Compass: –
Accelerometer: Yes
Proximity Sensor: Yes
Light Sensor: –
Barometer: –
SpO2: –
Pedometer: –
Heart Rate Monitor: –
Gyroscope: –
Fingerprint Scanner: –
Iris Scanner: –
Face Unlock: –
Intelligent Digital Assistant: –
Motion Sensing / Gesture Control: –
Voice Control: –
Other Features

Video Streaming: Yes
Active Noise Cancellation: Yes
Wireless Charging: –
Built-in Mobile Payment: –
Water Resistant: –
Dust Resistant: –
Image Editor: Yes
Video Editor: Yes
Document Viewer: Yes
Document Editor: Yes
Battery

Battery: 3,200mAh removable Li-Po battery

http://www.techtimes.com.ng/2019/08/vibe-by-fero-feros-first-android-go.html?m=1
Computers / Why You Should Really Buy A Laptop With An SSD (really!) by Aldie0147: 5:06pm On Aug 18, 2019
You wouldn't buy a brand-new car with a Ford Model T engine. So why would you merge onto the information superhighway with a laptop that uses an old-school mechanical hard drive? If you want a fast, responsive notebook ─ and why wouldn't you ─ you have to get a solid-state drive (SSD).

When it comes to overall performance, a laptop's storage drive is infinitely more important than other components, like its CPU, RAM and graphics chip. As you boot the computer, open applications and switch between tasks, your processor is tapping its fingers waiting for data to load from the disk. Even if you're not opening files, transferring data or launching apps, your OS and software are using virtual memory (aka swap files) in the background.

With a technology that dates back to the 1950s, hard-disk drives feature a spindle that moves over a rotating magnetic platter grabbing data like an old-school record-player needle drawing sound from a vinyl LP. Hereꞌs why you really need an SSD.

Dramatic Performance Improvements

Because a solid-state drive has no moving parts, it's able to read and write data infinitely faster than a hard drive. The real-world difference is most noticeable when you're booting your computer or opening an application.

We upgraded a Dell Inspiron 15 5000 with a Core i5 processor and 8 GB of RAM from a 5,400 rpm hard drive to a 250GB SSD, and the time it took load Word 2016 dropped from 31.9 seconds to 1.8 seconds. Loading the Chrome browser went from 14 seconds to 1.1 seconds and Excel went from 19.9 seconds to 1.8 seconds.

While you're sitting there staring at the blue ring of fire in Windows or spinning rainbow beachball on Mac, you're not only wasting time but losing your train of thought as you scratch your head and whisper "Come on already. I don't have all day." With an SSD, the computer can work as fast as you do.

It almost goes without saying that copying files is infinitely quicker with an SSD. Of laptops we reviewed in the past 12 months, models with SSDs copied files at an average rate of 237.8 megabytes per second, while those with hard drives averaged just 33.9 MBps.

Battery Life and Durability
SSDs also use less power than hard drives, because they don't have to power any moving parts. The average SSD-enabled laptop we benchmarked lasted 7 hours and 9 minutes on the Laptop Battery Test, which involves continuous surfing over Wi-Fi. Hard-drive-powered laptops averaged only 5 hours and 43 minutes.

If you're worried about your laptop breaking, you definitely want an SSD. SSDs are much more likely to survive a fall, because they don't have hard drives' delicate needles and platters.

The Cost of SSDs

There's no doubt that SSDs cost more. Most sub-$700 laptops don't come with solid-state drives, though some really cheap systems come with eMMC Flash memory, a solid-state storage format that's no faster than a hard drive. Some noteworthy exceptions include the $399 Asus E403SA and $611 Lenovo ThinkPad 13, both of which come standard with 128GB SSDs.

On manufacturer sites where you can configure a laptop to order, companies such as Dell and Lenovo charge a high premium to upgrade from a hard drive to an SSD, or to move from a smaller SSD to a larger one. For example, if you configure your ThinkPad T460 on Lenovo.com, it costs a full $290 to move from a 500GB hard drive to a 512GB SSD, while a 512GB SSD costs just $125 on the aftermarket. The relatively high cost is why you should either settle for a lower-capacity SSD or consider upgrading the laptop yourself.

Can You Upgrade?

Whether you're buying a new laptop or trying to breathe new life into an older computer, you can save a lot of money by swapping out the preinstalled hard drive or low-capacity SSD for one you buy yourself. Not all laptops are user-upgradable; many have an SSD soldered onto the motherboard or located in a place you can't access without damaging other components.

You can find out not only if your laptop is upgradable but what type of SSD it needs ─ 2.5-inch SATA, mSATA, M.2 60mm or M.2 80mm ─ by checking either its service manual or a memory finder such as Crucial's Memory Advisor tool. If the laptop currently has a hard drive, it almost certainly uses a 2.5-inch SATA drive. No matter the size and connection, you can usually find a 256GB SSD for well under $100 and a 480 or 500GB capacity for less than $150.

MORE: How to Tell if You Can Upgrade Your Laptop

Though each laptop is built a little differently, the process of upgrading your storage drive is basically the same. You must first clone the contents of your existing drive using a tool such as EaseUS Todo Backup Free and an external drive enclosure to attach the new drive. After the cloning is finished, you open up the laptop, remove the old drive and pop in the new.

MILITARY SPORT WATCH
However, many people don't want to take the risk of opening up their laptops and potentially breaking something. Most manufacturers don't void your warranty just for changing out the drive, though you'll want to double-check because some do. Also, if you damage something or have trouble resulting from the upgrade, your warranty and tech support definitely won't cover it.

MORE: How to Upgrade Your Laptop to SSD

Laptops that come with SSD usually have just 128GB or 256GB of storage, which is enough for all your programs and a decent amount of data. However, users who have lots of demanding games or huge media collections will want to store some files in the cloud or add an external hard drive. Some gaming and workstation-class laptops offer the best of both worlds, having a fast SSD and a spacious hard drive.

The lack of storage may be a small hassle, but the increase in speed is worth the trade-off. If you can possibly afford it, 256GB is a lot more manageable than 128GB.

eMMC Memory Is Not SSD

Many low-cost laptops these days claim to have an SSD, but use eMMC memory, instead. Most Chromebooks and sub-$200 Windows systems use this type of storage, which offers the increased durability and energy-efficiency of a real SSD, but not the performance.

The average laptop we tested with eMMC memory notched a lowly transfer rate of 37.8 MBps. However, these systems lasted an average of 8 hours and 52 minutes on our battery test.

What Kind of SSD Is Best

Any SSD will give you outstanding performance, but ones that use a PCIe-NVMe interface are two to three times quicker than those that use SATA, the more typical connection type. Where a SATA drive usually achieves a rate of 125 to 200 MBps on our file-transfer test, PCIe-NVMe SSDs can be as fast as 550 MBps.

However, most mainstream and budget laptops don't support PCIe-NVMe drives. The Dell XPS 13/15, the Lenovo Yoga 900 and the Razer Blade are examples of laptops that come with PCIe drives as an option. All current MacBooks use PCIe drives as well.

Bottom Line

It's 2016 and there aren't many good reasons to buy a laptop with a slow-moving, mechanical hard drive. No matter how fast your processor and how sleek your software, you'll always suffer from frustrating lag if you don't have an SSD. Making a smart purchase or performing an upgrade after you buy will make that choice more affordable.

http://www.techtimes.com.ng/2019/08/why-you-should-really-buy-laptop-with.html?m=1
Politics / Re: DCP Usman Umar Belel Buried After Shiite Protest, Had Only One Child (Photos) by Aldie0147: 10:55pm On Jul 22, 2019
NwaAmaikpe:

Lucky kid.
This means automatic employment for her into the Nigerian Police force when she is grown.

Are you high on cheap weed?
Celebrities / Re: DJ Cuppy: My Dad Calls Me “Ms Abena” by Aldie0147: 4:09pm On Apr 25, 2019
[quote author=Famousbabe post=77844720]Billionaire's daughter, the beautiful DJ Cuppy released her new song 'Abena' and it seems to be doing well.

She shared a video of her showing her billionaire dad, Femi Otedola her new song and the father who has always been very supportive, was impressed.

The father then called her 'Ms Abena'.

Sharing the video with her father, excited DJ Cuppy wrote:

"My dad, @realFemiOtedola

, now calls me “Ms Abena” ��"

The ex girlfriend of footballer Achebe and Davido's manger, Asa Asika, ]

This girl don date 3 guys in less than 2yrs.. HoeLosho with clasd
Crime / Re: University Of Uyo Student Killed By Aiye Cultists Inside UNIUYO Campus (Graphic) by Aldie0147: 7:19am On Apr 25, 2019
Isoduwa:

Rugged birds

That was how u were initiated abi hahahahha

Inside bush with Ogogoro and many slaps..

Crime / Re: University Of Uyo Student Killed By Aiye Cultists Inside UNIUYO Campus (Graphic) by Aldie0147: 7:18am On Apr 25, 2019
Isoduwa:

Mumu 3310 make I leave you that uk where you dey so we don chop am tired enter Canada

https://www.facebook.com/PulseNigeriaTV/videos/849059795217846/?app=fbl

Make small shame catch u

Crime / Re: University Of Uyo Student Killed By Aiye Cultists Inside UNIUYO Campus (Graphic) by Aldie0147: 7:17am On Apr 25, 2019
Isoduwa:

Mumu 3310 make I leave you that uk where you dey so we don chop am tired enter Canada

Hahahahahah Canada kill you there
https://www.facebook.com/PulseNigeriaTV/videos/849059795217846/?app=fbl
Crime / Re: University Of Uyo Student Killed By Aiye Cultists Inside UNIUYO Campus (Graphic) by Aldie0147: 7:13am On Apr 25, 2019
Isoduwa:

You are a dead boy believe that for that uk men go find you 0147 na wetin? Dull boy

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjTVnHwi8qA
Crime / Re: University Of Uyo Student Killed By Aiye Cultists Inside UNIUYO Campus (Graphic) by Aldie0147: 7:10am On Apr 25, 2019
Isoduwa:

You are a dead boy believe that for that uk men go find you 0147 na wetin? Dull boy
Hahahahahah Ewu.. I dey wait o, you need address? See person when never chop belle full dey threaten! Now I know you are sick. So 0147 added to my name makes me a cultist ? This one is lost and gone... how much has sec contributed to your life? Instead they torture you, take money from you.. isn't that foolishness? I never knew Benin boys could be so foolish o

Crime / Re: University Of Uyo Student Killed By Aiye Cultists Inside UNIUYO Campus (Graphic) by Aldie0147: 6:59am On Apr 25, 2019
Isoduwa:

Stupid blackAss UK kill you there 8 years ago for Barking East London if you know Nelson for barbershop ask am how e play � maybe you dey Nigerian that time dey sell coconut water but still ask na we chase ugly comot for London 2006

How foolish can one be? You keep bragging about cultism. And why's this idiot thinking I'm a cultist like him? Your age dey hustle for money u de there dey count scores.. A f00l at 40

Crime / Re: University Of Uyo Student Killed By Aiye Cultists Inside UNIUYO Campus (Graphic) by Aldie0147: 5:59am On Apr 25, 2019
Isoduwa:

No need to check your profile before i know who you be but you know what else? Na Ogun go kill you bet am unless you Nor enter transport again this year dey very careful

Hahaha, na Ogun kill your papa abi? I pity you. I'm here in the UK enjoying life and you 're there in naija doing cultism and probably living wretched

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 45