Stats: 3,156,508 members, 7,830,522 topics. Date: Friday, 17 May 2024 at 01:17 AM

Annyomo's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Annyomo's Profile / Annyomo's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (of 3 pages)

Politics / Edo 2020: Must Read by Annyomo(f): 7:39pm On Aug 03, 2020
IZE-IYAMU’S FAMILY NEVER ENDORSED OBASEKI

It was a sorry day, when the media abandoned ethics, assiduity and professionalism, and lent itself to sentimentalism and hearsay.

In the former capacity, it had hardly put a foot wrong but in the latter capacity, it exposed itself to the whims and caprices of odious, discordant fabrications, as recently played out in Edo State.

The media has generally conducted itself as it should – sentinels of truth – in the campaign leading up to the September gubernatorial elections in Edo. To a large extent, it still does, but a chain is only as strong as its weakest link. News agencies have reported with good grace the wave of defections that the outgoing Governor Godwin Obaseki’s camp is suffering. It has reported with unmatched accuracy the conflict between a frayed, disappointed and distraught Phillip Shaibu and his suspected niggardly boss, who has refused to fund his own campaign. It has closely reported the public declaration of support for Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, but what it has gone on to misreport is an alleged support for the underwhelming Mr Obaseki.

While there is photographic and even video evidence to support the public declaration of support for Pastor Ize-Iyamu by the Obaseki family, the solitary evidence the brewed declaration for Obaseki can point to is the written testimony of one Osazee Ize-Iyamu, who is clearly a concoction of the Obaseki campaign body. Should it even happen that such a character exists, he does not speak the mind of the family. For him to do so, there should at least have been a quarter of the family members present.

Sadly, copy and paste agencies have plagiarised the fabrication from such media agencies as ThisDay Newspapers (Obaseki, Ize-Iyamu’s families trade support for candidates), Vanguard Newspapers (Drama as Obaseki, Ize-Iyamu drag families into campaign), Nigerian tribune (Obaseki, Ize-Iyamu families support rival candidates in Edo Poll) among others.

Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu’s family feels scandalised by this shocking abandonment of due practice by the media, which will suffer the alleged solitary testimony of one man to represent the opinion of the family, whereas in the same news item, the Obaseki family came in their numbers to endorse the APC candidate.

Also fabricated by the Obaseki campaign organisation is the bewildering story that the family of Professor Idia Ize-Iyamu has told her to distance herself from her husband’s campaign. While this amounts to a lazy-brained campaign strategy, it is lamentable that certain elements in the media have taken away the joy in campaign reporting by commercialising their services at the expense of professional ethics.

Due to the damaging misreports, the Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu Campaign Organisation hereby issues a 48-hr ultimatum to the erring media agencies to retract the discordant and falsely construed news reports, failure to do which will press the aggrieved parties to seek judicial remedies.

Signed
Mr. John Mayaki,
Chairman, Edo State APC Media Campaign Council
Politics / Edo 2020: Another Press Statement by Annyomo(f): 5:31pm On Aug 03, 2020
PRESS STATEMENT
By PRINCE KASSIM AFEGBUA

OF SUSPENSION BY "TAX COLLECTORS" AND OTHER MATTERS.

I would not have glorified the PDP leadership with a response concerning the one month so-called suspension placed on me but for the deluge of calls I got from concerned Nigerians who insisted that they deserve to have my response. I saw a letter purportedly written by my Ward 5 executives on social media, unsigned with no name attached, saying I have been suspended for one month. At first, I wondered why it took this long for the leadership to armtwist those young unemployed youths whom I have fought for to add value to their lives, before a supposed letter finally emanated from them.

They have severally told me of the pressure and threat to their lives by the party's leadership especially the inchoate party chairman, who appears drunk with his new fond candidate that is feasting fat on our collective patrimony. I am told how he tried to breathe down the throat of those young boys in my ward, insisting on invoking a suspension order on me. For your information, it does not matter how many months you suspend me, you can even decide to expel me from PDP, so that I can free myself from the grip of "tax collectors" who have found a new trading routes to their pockets. My point remains very sacrosant that you cannot grab a man's trousers by the pockets and thereby gifting him the party's ticket, without appearing drunk with unreason.

I hold no grudge with those boys in my Ward, who have been compelled to issue a suspension letter to me supervised by a quack doctor who has been "slaughtering" people in my community. This situation will afford me the opportunity to interrogate persons who have been part of those conspirators to reap us off as Okpellans in our quest for our rightful place in the scheme of things. My position remains unshaken irrespective of the manipulative conduct that has exposed the rotten underbelly of a party that is steeped in tax collection from would-be aspirants. My cause is simple: to place Okpella above self in our quest for our deserved place in the affairs of the state. I have made the point so eloquently loud and clear, and any Governor would not neglect us based on the pedestal we presently occupy.

I do not really need any political party to exhibit my political choices and persuasions. I am neither a government contractor nor one who hustles for the perks of office. My interest is predominantly anchored on the future of Okpella and its place in the scheme of things as the politics of the state structures its own compass. I am aware, thus far, that no elected Governor would dare take us for granted again. The elections are by the corner and we as Okpellans, are resolute to deliver the four Wards for Pastor Osagie Ize Iyamu. That position is not negotiable, and we would religiously guide our loins to ensure we deliver our votes without equivocation.

I do not intend to appear before any tax collectors in the name of disciplinary committee. To me, that is even an affront to say the least. How can new comers into a party be deciding who is to be suspended or retained as members. That is the power of illicit money being deployed arbitrarily to compel everyone to submission. I am not going to be Governor Obaseki's fan or supporter. I am driven by my conviction and conscience, and no amount of inducement can alter that reality. Those "tax collectors" who have found a new mine field to butter their bread, can have a field day, but the victory of evil over good can only be temporary.

I remain unequivocal about my support for Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu and will ensure that I mobilise enough votes for him in the four Wards of Okpella. Having earlier described me as "inconsequential", I am wondering why they now suddenly remember I am relevant to warrant suspension. I am actually waiting for their expulsion in good time. My votes cannot be suspended or expelled. My thumb is my power.

Signed.......

PRINCE KASSIM AFEGBUA

PDP WARD 5, OKPELLA.

ETSAKO EAST LOCAL GOVERNMENT.

Politics / Edo 2020: Malla Gani Audu Facilitates With Muslims by Annyomo(f): 10:55am On Jul 31, 2020
*Eid-el-Kabir: Mallam Gani Audu fecilitates with Muslim Ummah, reminds them to pray for peace before, during and after the upcoming gubernatorial election.*

Mallam Gani Audu, deputy governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress for the September 19 governorship election in Edo State, sends his greetings to the Muslim Ummah in Edo state on the celebration of Eid ul-Adha, stressing that "this is a celebration of the willingness sacrifice".

In a statement released by Mohammed Mamudu, Head of Media & Communication for Team MGA, Mallam Gani Audu said; "The significance of Eid al-Adha is to remind us of the willingness of Prophet Ibrahim (Bbuh) to sacrifice his young son, Ismail (Pbuh) as he saw it happen in his dream. But Allah sent an angel to command him to sacrifice an animal, instead of his son. In commemorating Eid al-Adha, we honor and remember the example of Ibrahim (PBUH)."

He stated further that "Sacrifices are essential for socio-economic and political development and most especially for the development of tolerance for opposing views required to foster a sense of unity in any modern society"

Mallam Gani Audu emphasized that COVID19 is still ravaging the country therefore "our celebrations should be low key and sombre, because we must all adhere to COVID19 health and safety protocols, of social distancing, wearing a mask and regular washing of one's hands, while we celebrate"

Finally Mallam Audu enjoined the Ummah "to pray for peaceful elections in September" and stressed that they should "troop out en masse to participate in the upcoming gubernatorial elections."

Culture / Re: The Uneme People And The Curse Of Oba Egbeka Of Benin Empire by Annyomo(f): 9:00pm On Jul 29, 2020
dominique:

I read the article to see exactly what became of them after they were cursed and if there were any differences after the curse was revoked.

My friend from Akoko complains that they're the least favoured in the state in terms of appointments and infrastructure.
He wasn't talking about all Akoko Edo but Uneme and Uneme are people blessed we refer them to Isreal, Uneme are everywhere and they are blessed and they have also produced prominent people just like the minister for budget. Clem Agba

Culture / Re: Uneme Traditions by Annyomo(f): 8:51pm On Jul 29, 2020
Redoil:
which of the uneme?

uneme nekua or uneme osu
Uneme Erhunrun
Politics / Edo 2020: How Is Obaseki Going To Persuade His People? by Annyomo(f): 6:45pm On Jul 29, 2020
"If the governor cannot persuade his closest aides and other officials who worked with him personally for four years to support his re-election, how is he going to persuade the people of Edo he promised security, jobs, and healthcare but failed to provide any?" -
#Edo 2020
#SimpleAgenda

Politics / Re: Edo 2020: The Man Wey Sabi by Annyomo(f): 10:39am On Jul 29, 2020
EdoBoyJazzie:
#Obaseki 2020 no man born of a woman can derail God's plan for his people.
I laugh in swahili
Politics / Re: Edo 2020: Shocker by Annyomo(f): 10:38am On Jul 29, 2020
Chepos1:
No source?
funny

Politics / Edo 2020: Na The Ogbonge Man For The Job Be This by Annyomo(f): 10:35am On Jul 29, 2020
I don bring another informate come ooo. Wetin them talk be say,

Our first priority will be to provide relief to our people and contribute to the infrastructure development of the state. Na POI talk am oooo

#PastorOsagieIzeIyamu
#SimpleAgenda
#EdoMustMoveForward
#Edo2020.

Politics / Edo 2020: The Man Wey Sabi by Annyomo(f): 9:53am On Jul 29, 2020
"We have a SMART and SIMPLE manifesto containing specific policy plans to address the socio-economic challenges confronting our people".

Vote Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu for Governor and Hon. Mallam Gani Audu for Deputy Governor of Edo State.

#PastorOsagieIzeIyamu #SimpleAgenda #EdoMustMoveForward
#POIGANI
#Edo2020

Politics / Edo 2020: Shocker by Annyomo(f): 6:21pm On Jul 28, 2020
Seven out of the 12 Councilors elected to represent the people of Oredo Local Government, including Mr. Bright Aisien, the representative of Ward 04, the outgoing Governor’s ward, have all maintained their loyalty to our great party, the All Progressives Congress. #EdoForAP

Politics / Edo 2020: Obaseki's Last Days by Annyomo(f): 12:06pm On Jul 28, 2020
OBASEKI'S LAST DAYS.

By Prince Kassim Afegbua.

On November 12, 2020, Godwin Obaseki would have spent four years as Governor of Edo state. By the special grace of God, that will be the terminal date of his exit from the power rostrum of Edo state. Of course, he has jumped ship to seek re-election in the opposition Peoples' Democratic Party, (PDP), but from all available statistics on ground, it is a project that is dead on arrival. And too many things are happening in quick succession that exposes the level of desperation of a Governor that has turned Edo political turf to another Iraq, where gun-shots have become familiar sounds to the ears of the people. If only Godwin Obaseki was godly enough to strategically apply the doctrines of collective bargaining and constructive engagement, he would have been enjoying a peaceful sleep at every nightfall. When this needless political squabbles was gathering dust and well-intentioned people tried to mediate, Godwin Obaseki was showing the gusto of a macho, ready to wrestle everybody aground. With money and power, common sense does not visit you easily. Those who are profitting from him would rather wish the fight continues, since that is a guarantee for their continued exploitation.

They add pep to the drumbeats of sustained combat, remind him that he is the Governor who controls the oscillation of the political pendulum. They danced ostentatiously, with whimsical strokes, to suit the percussive sounds of the drummers. They hailed and wailed, with salutary catch phrases that would swell the sensibilities of the initiate. He was the new sheriff in town, that must be dreaded; else, he visits his anger on anyone. To make an easy sail, he told his hangers-on that he was fighting godfathers and succeeded in almost blackmailing his benefactors; those who cooked and pounded the yam, garnished with special culinary to create an aroma that suits the addictive properties of power. When a godson fights a godfather, the godson becomes the godfather. That exactly is the rubrics of power game. You cannot be in politics without godfathers. I haven't seen one of such political setting where godfatherism is not an item on the menu. It isn't a Nigerian word. It all depends on how power is appropriated to serve the common good. As we speak, Godwin Obaseki has become the PDP's godfather-in-Chief, while Phillip Shuaibu, has become deputy godfather-in-Chief. They both control the power apparatchik of the PDP presently.

Typical of any political power formation, especially in third world countries where those who wield power are almost like demi-gods, when the holder is seeing his exit door nearby, his cognitive, affective and psychomotive skills create a psychological unease, such that causes him restlessness. He suspects everyone around him, because he wouldn't know what information has gone out there to his political foes through supposedly trusted aides. In the case of Godwin Obaseki, it is becoming obvious that he is not enjoying the best of psychological collection that would make him stand above the menacing force of unreason to take the best of decisions. I can see him ageing fast, with grey hair spots on his guber crown. His looks are conveying the symptoms of boredom, as he paces up and down, to find the appropriate response to the legion of "troubles" rearing their heads everyday. At the dawn of everyday, it is one resignation too many, and the thought that more may come in the days and weeks ahead, also carries its own tempestuous burden. Who to truly trust becomes a riddle woven into several possibilities and permutations.

I am still wondering if this was the same Godwin Obaseki that we both sat next to each other in almost four years of being part of Edo State Executive Council. I served four years and he served eight years. I am also wondering if this is the same Godwin Obaseki that signed the dotted lines as witness to love; when Oshiomhole took his adorable wife on 15th May, 2015. As much as I tried to unravel the puzzle that has remained unsolved till date, the more I see the complexities in human physiology. But those who apply the inelegant traits in human relations as a desirable outcome, are often those who brook no nonsense when dealing with situations. The realities of financial proclivity that would be unravelled by the time Obaseki exited would further justify the reason for this desperation. From the alleged sales of Edo state shares in BUA Cement, Okpella, to the unwholesome dealings of Ossiomo Independent Power Plant, from the failed Gelegele Port project where millions have allegedly been drained, to the Industrial Park that has been overtaken by weeds, Edo people would be served a hollywood exposé of monumental corruption and malfeasance like never before. From monies that were taken under dubious headings to prosecute the removal of Oshiomhole, to the sales of Edo state shares in Azura Power Plant, from illicit transactions in the Ogbe stadium project and how monies released were allegedly frittered away by relatives of principal officers of government in the name of consultancy, Edo people would watch the archetypal documentation of a ninth day wonder. It is all these that are bothering Godwin Obaseki, not Ize-Iyamu or Oshiomhole.

Edo state has been abandoned like one uninhabited village square littered with refuse and garbage as though there is no leadership in place. Benin City is presently a dumpsite, no thanks to the many refuses that have overtaken major streets in the City. Too much politics and no governance. When the clouds are gathering, preparing for rains of blessings, the people lament because of flooding and erosion that would immediately make life difficult for them. Drains are blocked. Flooding and erosion projects have been suspended, while the people agonise over safety of lives and properties. Refuse dumps everywhere also create its own health hazard in a state that has only two surgeons, where new Doctors have not been recruited in four years, where nurses have not been recruited and the only nursing school also closed down. The Tayo Akpata University of Education, Ekiadolor, that should be producing teachers to service our Primary and Secondary schools, have been shut down for three years with 11 months salaries being owed. The state Colleges of Agriculture in Iguoriakhi and Agenebode have been closed for three years, yet, the government talks about its agricultural policy as second to none. The primary healthcare project has been a snail run, while the roads infrastructure have amounted to mere window dressing. When a Governor realises that people would know the rotten underbelly of his government, he would deploy the worst form of anger to drive his campaign. That has been the Obaseki style.

The latest lethargic content of a drowning government yielded itself so easily on Saturday, July 25th, when Governor Obaseki accompanied his guests to see the revered Oba of Benin. Like a man destined for his last days, he forgot tradition befitting of a Royal Visit. He reportedly forgot to carry the colanut that would have been used to pass royal blessing to him. The visit ended up as a celebration of Nyesom Wike, who accorded the great Oba of Benin, a befitting reception when the latter visited him in Port Harcourt. The highly respected Oba of Benin, a consummate diplomat, who created a niche for himself when he represented Nigeria in different countries as our ambassador with a touch of royalty, laced with uncommon panache, understood the gaps so well. When a child knows how to wash his hands well and clean, he will dine with Kings and Royals. Aside from the condemnable booing of his PDP guests and chieftains, the whole atmosphere outside the Palace Ground was that of rejection. Who knows whether the ancestors were angry with Godwin Obaseki that day? The repriesal attacks were undesirable in every material particular. That is what you get when your days are numbered in the corridor of power.

The quarelsomeness, combativeness, showmanship, and arrogance of power within Obaseki's fold has created a bifocal image between promise and actual performance. It has now become a matter of whether to save Obaseki or to save the state. Abdulazeez Bouteflika of Algeria faced similar scenario when the morning of his grip on power came slowing down to evening, before nightfall. The Algerian Army had a choice between saving the aged Bouteflika and his inner circle of family members and friends or saving the entire Algerian nation from implosion as a result of waning influence. Every day that an appointee resigns from Obaseki's government, it sends a message of rejection. Every time appointment letters are torn in broad day light, it conveys an impression about the waning grip of Obaseki on the levers of power. Once mutual suspicion becomes the undercurrent theme, trust is broken, and everyone is seen as a foe. But because power has its own allure, its inducement, and therapeutic properties, it is often difficult for reason to prevail in the minds of those who want to sustain power at all cost. When their political urchins come with their praise singing, invoking incantations of praise on nothingness, they swell the head of their benefactor. When defeat comes staring them in the face, their eye balls get sunken, the drumbeats become hollow, noises are not heard and wailings, like winsome coquette, are silenced in the sacks of failure. That seems the only route for Obaseki as his days in power, in an era of volumptuous security votes, are surely numbered on the pages of electoral votes.
Politics / Edo 2020: Ex Aides Of Gov Obaseki Declares Support For POI by Annyomo(f): 8:42pm On Jul 27, 2020
Edo 2020: Ex-aides of Gov Obaseki declare support for Ize-Iyamu

....as APC candidate vows to challenge denial of their entitlements in court

Scores of aides and elected local council officials who were sacked by the Edo State Government met with the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu on Monday and declared their support for his governorship bid.

The elected local council officials and former aides all decried ill-treatment meted on them as punishment for refusing to defect to PDP.

While addressing them, Pastor Ize-Iyamu criticized the Governor’s intolerance and disregard of the people’s protected right and freedom to make a political choice, including that of a party.

He assured them that his team has already put plans in motion to hire legal professionals and challenge in court the Governor’s illegal denial of due entitlements and other emoluments to elected local council officials who insist on maintaining their membership of the All Progressives Congress.

In his words, “I will advise the Governor to remember that there is life after politics. Harassing people and denying them what is due to them by law because they exercised their right of association is an act of tyranny that is outside the laws of the State.”

“In a democracy, support is earned through successful persuasion, not force or intimidation. I commend all of you here today for your courage and insistence on your conscience. We will provide legal representation to challenge all the illegalities you have suffered in court and will do everything within our powers to ensure that that the harassment from the Governor and his agents is brought to an end.”

The Leader of the Uhunmwode LGA Legislative Arm and also the spokesperson of the grassroots politicians, Osarobo Ogbegiere Esq., alongside the Vice-Chairman of Orhiomwon Local Government Council, Godwin Eleduwa, praised Ize-Iyamu for his leadership and expressed confidence that he will emerge victorious on the 19th of September.

Other APC leaders at the event include former Deputy Governor of Edo State and the Deputy Director-General of the APC Campaign Council, Lucky Imasuen, a former member of the House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Pally Iriase, and member-elect of the Edo Assembly, Hon. Washington Osifo.

VANGUARD
Politics / Re: Edo 2020: The Bitter Truth by Annyomo(f): 8:16pm On Jul 27, 2020
engineerboat:

"Ize Iyamu Is a Thief...."

By the short man Oshi-omo-ole

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2CtejWrAWNM
now I see you don't know your left from your right ....

Politics / Re: Edo 2020: The Bitter Truth by Annyomo(f): 8:15pm On Jul 27, 2020
engineerboat:
Like the failed kneeling down right
Bobo what truth are you talking about here?

Politics / Re: Edo 2020: The Bitter Truth by Annyomo(f): 8:09pm On Jul 27, 2020
It's so heartbreaking
Vixlot:
I laugh when the the PDP staff said that in 2019 alone, Edo state government spent N3-billion to fuel the diesel generators to light up street lights only on the Airport Road, Benin City. Mr Okpere failed to tell Edo people how much the government spent for diesel on such roads like Sapele, Sokponba, Mission, Forestry, and even Ring Road, all in Benin City, with street lights but are now darker at night.

Politics / Edo 2020: As The Matter Dey Hot by Annyomo(f): 8:06pm On Jul 27, 2020
Edo Oil and Gas Commissioners Who Dumped Obaseki Meet Ize-Iyamu, Pledge Support, Lampoon Obaseki Over Deceit and Fraud

The Commissioners representing the three Senatorial Districts of Edo State in the Edo State Oil Gas Producing Area Commission (EDOSOPADEC) who announced their resignation on Monday have paid a visit to the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu at his campaign office in Benin where they pledged their solidarity and condemned Governor Godwin Obaseki for his deception, fraud, and lack of empathy.

At the meeting, Prince Emmanuel Odigie of Edo Central Senatorial District, Rilwanu Oshiomhole of Edo North, and Osamwonyi Atu of Orhionmwon all jointly condemned the Obaseki-administration for disempowering the Commission with the incessant diversion of funds meant for projects.

Prince Emmanuel Odigie of Esan land, Edo Central accused the Governor of being dangerously over-ambitious and without love or empathy for those he was elected to lead. He criticized Mr. Godwin Obaseki’s repeated threats to ‘crush’ anyone not supportive of his personal political choice and victimization of elected officials who have refused to join him in the PDP as a vicious display of tyranny detrimental to growth and development.

He also said the Governor’s touted ‘Esan agenda’ is a deceitful plan designed only to obtain votes.

“Which Esan person has he empowered in his government or given relevance? All his promises to the people have gone unfulfilled. Instead of focusing on governance, he is doing everything to bring every Edo person down. The people of Esan can see through the ruse and deception,” he said.

*Osamwonyi Atu of Orhionmwon lamented the lack of development in the region despite its status as a major oil-producer in the State. He expressed regret working for Governor Godwin Obaseki, stating that his resignation and resolve to back the bid of Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu is borne from the desire to put an end to Obaseki’s non-performance and vindictive governance.

Rilwanu Oshiomhole of Edo North also criticized Obaseki’s castigation of individuals instead of focusing on governance and policies, stating that his administration has abandoned the people.

On his part, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, while receiving them, described their courageous resignation as a “milestone in the journey to move Edo state forward, change the present deceitful government, and install a government that will truly represent the people.”

He said the present situation in the State where people are abandoning the Government in drove, as opposed to the familiar event of jostling for appointments, is an indication that Mr. Godwin Obaseki has failed and is set for an embarrassing defeat at the polls on the 19th of September.

In his words, “I salute the courage of these men who heeded the call of their conscience and placed their integrity over office to resign from a government that is insincere, fraudulent, and deceitful.”

“I know that in their usual practice of castigating and smearing the image of people not supportive of their plan to foist themselves on the State for another term, the State Government will likely commence the spread of baseless reports claiming that these men were induced to make the decision they made.”

“But as they can testify to everyone here, this is the first time I am meeting with them in a long while. Their decision to resign was made on their own accord based on their integrity and unwillingness to be a part of a government without profitable plans for their people.”

“I thank Prince Emmanuel Odigie for the revelations he has made today, especially on the deceitful ‘Esan agenda’ that the incumbent is bandying. A governor that does not respect the Esan people or empower them, is that the Governor who will hand over power to them?”

Pastor Ize-Iyamu promised to work with the former Commissioners as they, on their part, also vowed to reveal more facts about the fraudulent ways of the incumbent Governor.

Wilson Edoko

Politics / Edo 2020: The Bitter Truth by Annyomo(f): 7:51pm On Jul 27, 2020
The Bitter Truths About Mr Obaseki’s Failed Government

-By Don Osehobo Ofure

The failed rally at Ogbe Stadium, Benin City, where PDP tax collectors served to expose the fallacious regime of Mr Godwin Obaseki, in a last ditch effort to give publicity to his wasted four years as governor of the state, is an event all Edo people would rather forget in a hurry. But some two hirelings of the failed outgoing governor of the PDP, Mr Godwin Obaseki on a local radio station stirred the hornet’s nest on Monday.

For almost an hour, the duo of Messrs Pharez Okpere and Efe Igbinovia, tried very hard to sell the bad product the rejected PDP suddenly want us as Edolites to believe is a good product after he paid the party billions to buy it’s membership and fake ticket, by openly hawking deliberate falsehood about the outgoing governor.

I have taken the liberty of responding to them as follows:

Land Use in Edo:
They tried in vain to give Mr Obaseki credit for the Omo Noba Nedo Uku Akpolokpolo’s initiative which saw to the elimination of community development associations and their menace, regarding land across the state. The falsehood only lends credence to the saying that, it is only a bad son who would attempt to engrave his name on the age long efforts of his great grandfathers for the temporary fame it brings.

Edobest:
As for their presentation that with Obaseki’s Education reforms, erroneously labelled EDOBEST, the state has become the envy of many states in Nigeria, Edo people know for a fact that this is a white lie. The reason is Edo people know that Mr Obaseki promised to but has not employed one single teacher or renovated one school in Edo since 2016.

The result is that there are no teachers in our schools. In most of our community schools, there are 2 or at best a teacher, teaching 2 or more subjects. Science teachers are nowhere to be found. Even those Obaseki claims that he trained and equipped with ICT devices are like a drop in the ocean and stationed in few schools in Benin City. There is no way the Edobest so-called can radically impact the lives of millions of Edo children across the over 1,500 public schools, not to mention the over 1,000 private schools.

Infrastructure:
As for the many roads reportedly rehabilitated by Mr. Obaseki, according to Okpere and Igbinovia, it is a fact and they know themselves that all the roads in question are SEEFOR executed and and World Bank funded projects. These projects were wrongly managed by the Edo state government. This is why the roads collapse the week after.

Residents of Benin City can attest to the fact that the emergency contractors with little or no experience about Road construction, but imported from Lagos by the grace of Mr Obaseki, accounts for the many shoddy road reconstruction projects in the state.

Power supply:
I laugh when the the PDP staff said that in 2019 alone, Edo state government spent N3-billion to fuel the diesel generators to light up street lights only on the Airport Road, Benin City. Mr Okpere failed to tell Edo people how much the government spent for diesel on such roads like Sapele, Sokponba, Mission, Forestry, and even Ring Road, all in Benin City, with street lights but are now darker at night.

Okpere postulated that the amount spent on diesel would have been well spent renovating over 20 schools across the state. Yet Mr Obaseki was all over himself in 2018 saying the Edo-Azura power project, in which the state invested over $2million represents a blueprint for power plants model in Nigeria. He said with the 450MW Azura- Edo power project now on stream, the state is looking at attracting more investors for his dubious Benin Industrial Park and stillborn innovation hub in the state.

Why and how Obaseki unilaterally divested Edo’s $2.1billion in the Azura power project in 2019 is still a puzzle. This is a project which would added over more megawatts to the National grid, to power private homes, businesses, schools and offices across the state. But Edo people were shocked to learn that Obaseki alone divested Edo’s money from the project without any legislative authority.

For Okpere this is why the government signed an MOU worth billions of dollars with the Chinese to locate diesel generators at far away Ossiomo to power a few government offices with less than 2000 civil servants while the larger population live in darkness.

Human trafficking:
The PDP urchins lied that Mr. Obaseki has stopped human trafficking in Nigeria. They claimed that several Libyan returnees were resettled by the government as a result. But Edo people know that because of the failure of the Obaseki government, most returnees have taken up jobs in crimes even as many made their ways back to Libya en- route to Europe.

The state government got Federal support and donor agencies to finance placement of the returnees on stipends of N20, 000 monthly, train them in various skill acquisition programmes and sponsor those interested in pursuing higher education but failed to keep faith to the extent that Mr Solomon Okoduwa, senior special assistant to Edo state governor on human trafficking and illegal migration, a returnee himself, threw in the towel. He was distraught that the Edo state received a total of 8,155 returnees since 2017, exposed less than 530 of them to vocational training and paid about 550 of them.

Oh Okpere and Igbinovia forgot the arrest of Edo State Commissioner for Arts, Culture, Tourism and Diaspora, Mr. Osaze Osemwingie-Ero, for alleged money laundering while on a European trip with Mr Obaseki. This Edo son has been neglected by his pal, Mr Obaseki who has not uttered a word to explain his role in Osemwingie-Ero’s fate as he was said to be in possession of US$2 million, allegedly belonging to the governor when he was arrested.

Pensions and Salaries:
Okpere and Igbinovia failed to tell Edo people why the staff of the State College of Education, Ekiadolor, have continued their protest for the second week at Obaseki’s office, in a bid to force the government to clear the 11 months arrears of salary, pensions and gratuities owed them.

The workers and retired staff, have repeatedly sealed the entrance to the Government House in Benin City, in defiance of an the rains for two weeks now. They engaged in praise and worship songs after gathering while workers and top government officials were forced to access their offices at the government house through the second exit gate by armed policemen. They said the protest would continue until Governor Obaseki answers them with the payment of their salaries, pension and gratuities.

Politics / Edo 2020: Breaking.... Another Gbege by Annyomo(f): 2:43pm On Jul 27, 2020
The gale of resignations that beset the Godwin Obaseki administration continues as key Commissioners in the Edo State Oil And Gas Producing Areas Development Commission (EDSOGPADEC) have resigned their appointments to join forces with Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu.
They are:
Hon. Osamwonyi Atu(Edo South),
Prince Emmanuel "Gaddafi" Odigie(Edo Central) and
Alhaji Rilwan(Edo North).
Politics / Edo 2020: The Manifesto Of Hope by Annyomo(f): 11:12am On Jul 27, 2020
*The Simple Agenda: The Manifesto of Hope*

Water Supply

• Our government will reform and invest in Edo State Urban Water Board to boost the provision of potable drinking water across the state.

• We will de-emphasize the present over-reliance on borehole water. To this end, we shall embark on the construction of public water works in selected community clusters across the state, and vigorously embark on the following plans:

✓ Resuscitation, expansion and modernization of all existing Water Schemes, such as Ikpoba River Dam, Ugbialo Water Works, Ojirami Dam, and others across the state.

#TheSimpleAgenda
#EdoMustMoveForward
#PastorOsagieIzeIyamu
#Edo2020
#ManifestoOfHope

Politics / Obaseki Booed At Oba Of Benin's Palace (Video) by Annyomo(f): 2:45pm On Jul 25, 2020
Obaseki disgraced, booed as chants of ‘thief’ greet him at the Palace of the Oba of Benin

The Governor of Edo State, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, was left deflated and completely disgraced today at the Palace of the Oba of Benin after his convoy was blocked by angry residents, numbering in hundreds, who booed and disparaged the Governor as a thief.

Governor Obaseki was reportedly at the Palace for royal blessings as he flagged off his campaign as the candidate of the PDP in the Governorship election.

Upon sighting his convoy from a small distance, the people, hitherto rejoicing and making merry as is usual at the ancient Palace, immediately formed an angry mob of protesters and confronted the embattled Governor with chants of “thief” and other disgraceful epithets, demanding that he leaves the Palace and not “pollute the environment with his dishonorable self.”

Obaseki and his accompanying aides were left perplexed and all attempts to salvage the situation only further angered the crowd who insisted that he leaves, stating that he has been rejected and is no longer their Governor.

Such rejection at the Palace holds great significance in the Benin Kingdom and Edo State as a whole.

It is perhaps the greatest indication that the Governor, presently struggling to get his new party, the PDP, in shape, will lose the Sept. 19 election.

A palace source who pleaded anonymity said “what took place today is a bad omen for Governor Obaseki and his PDP. He selfishly came for blessings at a place he has not really sowed any good seeds and he received boos and disgrace. It is a clear sign of rejection and what is to come.”

“Some of his followers have already gotten the cue and they are abandoning him despite threats and offering of monetary rewards. That campaign, starting like this, can never be successful. The people don’t want this man anymore.”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ndy1FeGlwQk

41 Likes 9 Shares

Politics / The Simple Agenda by Annyomo(f): 11:17am On Jul 25, 2020
We will constructively engage with our people in Diaspora to harness the potentials in financial and intellectual investment targets. In particular, we will actively welcome their partnership in our public private sector engagement and collaboratively promote their offer to expand private philanthropy

#PastorOsagieIzeIyamu
#EdoMustMoveForward
#SimpleAgenda
#POIGANIDiaspora Engagement:
We will constructively engage with our people in Diaspora to harness the potentials in financial and intellectual investment targets. In particular, we will actively welcome their partnership in our public private sector engagement and collaboratively promote their offer to expand private philanthropy

#PastorOsagieIzeIyamu
#EdoMustMoveForward
#SimpleAgenda
#POIGANI

Politics / The Manifesto Of Hope by Annyomo(f): 11:10am On Jul 25, 2020
THE SIMPLE AGENDA :
We shall construct some overhead bridges in strategic locations across the state to decongest and ease traffic flow.
• A major plank of our infrastructural development programme is to use it for job creation. Therefore, we will contact some reputable construction firms to station their plant and machinery in each of the three Senatorial Districts for ease of mobilization and deployment As part of the contractual agreement, such contractors must draw their labor (skilled and unskilled) from the host communities as a direct approach to employment generation.

• Edo State Road Maintenance Agency with full complements of earth moving equipment will be established.

#TheSimpleAgenda
#EdoMustMoveForward
#PastorOsagieIzeIyamu
#ManifestoOfHope
#Edo2020
Politics / Electrification by Annyomo(f): 11:03am On Jul 25, 2020
The aim of the "Simple Agenda" is to reduce rural to Urban migration. Therefore, the deregulation of electricity supply and maintenance notwithstanding, we shall give priority to rural electrification through the provision of transformers, feeder pillars, poles and other equipments to bring electricity to the doorstep of rural dwellers so as to enhance local economic and social activities

#PastorOsagieIzeIyamu
#EdoMustMoveForward
#SimpleAgenda
#POIGANI

Politics / Edo Polls by Annyomo(f): 10:06am On Jul 24, 2020
Edo Poll: Oshiomole Assures Supporters Of Ize-Iyamu’s “Landslide Victory

Former Governor of Edo State and immediate-past National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, arrived Benin City, Edo State Capital, to a heroic welcome on Thursday as thousands of party supporters and other residents lined streets and thronged other spaces to cheer his arrival.

Adams Oshiomhole, who returned from Abuja days ago, is in Benin to join in the preparations of the All Progressives Congress for the Sept. 19 Governorship election in the State.

His entry was greeted by loud cheers from market women, transporters, and other visibly excited supporters who left their business posts, causing a halt in economic activities in the City for several hours.

Addressing the unexpected mammoth crowd that gathered, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole said he was overwhelmed by the natural display of love and assured the people that his party, the All Progressives Congress, will secure victory at the polls with a wide margin.

He said his outstanding performance as Governor and National Chairman, and the personal attributes of the party’s candidates, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, has made the APC the natural choice of all, a fact which he claims would manifest in the party’s landslide win on Sept. 19.

Oshiomhole criticized the incumbent Governor Godwin Obaseki for “fraudulently seeking” another term in office without a clear cut agenda or articulated plan, unlike the APC’s candidate, Pastor Ize-Iyamu, who he says has painstakingly organized his mission and vision on how to rescue Edo State in his manifesto dubbed the SIMPLE agenda.

He promised to remain permanently in the Capital city until the conclusion of the election to drive the party’s campaign and enlighten the electorate on the grand deception by the Obaseki-led administration which, according to him, thrived only on Memorandum of Understanding (MOUs) but offered nothing in terms of real human and capital development.
Politics / Re: Edo 2020: The Game Is Over For Obaseki by Annyomo(f): 10:46am On Jul 22, 2020
drskyfly007:
Lol I noticed that Ize Iyamu social media handlers have increased in number...

You people should stop disturbing the media space..

EDO people have decided!
what has your mou governor done in the space of 4yrs? Oh I forgot he gave jobs to people in Lagos... Clowns
Politics / Edo 2020: Say No To Another Abacha by Annyomo(f): 10:43am On Jul 22, 2020
[COMMAND OF THE DAY]

"My second term in office as EMPEROR of Edo State is NON-NEGOTIABLE! With or without Edo votes, I MUST remain in
@EdoStateGovt
house for another 4 years" - Field Marshal Emperor Dr
@GovernorObaseki
VC, DSO, MC.

#Edo2020
#EdoDecides2020
#EdoMustMoveForward

Politics / Edo 2020: The Game Is Over For Obaseki by Annyomo(f): 8:19am On Jul 22, 2020
Three Quick Facts that show Obaseki’s 15 billion naira ticket will be disqualified over forgery and perjury:

1. Obaseki never met the minimum entry requirement for gaining admission into the University of Ibadan as he only had three credits and two passes in his school certificate result purportedly issued to him by WAEC. Also, Obaseki never attached his primary school education in terms of schools attended and period of attendance.

2. Obaseki only listed the fact on the said INEC FORM EC9 that he gained admission to the University of Ibadan based on his O’level school certificate and nothing else. He didn’t add any other qualifications which should give him admission into the University of Ibadan.

3. Unable to explain the discrepancies in the University of Ibadan certificate that he parades, and having been disqualified by the APC on the account of that, Mr. Godwin Obaseki submitted another version of the certificate, different from the one he presented in 2016, to INEC. This new tendered certificate, against standard practice, bears only the signature of the Vice-Chancellor without the issuing date and the signature of the school Registrar. Professor Takena Tamuno who purportedly signed this fresh certificate Obaseki tendered to INEC died in April 2015, and couldn’t have possibly signed any degree certificate from his grave.

Politics / Edo 2020: Obaseki A Drowning Man by Annyomo(f): 9:05pm On Jul 21, 2020
Obaseki is a drowning man unable to live with his failure – APC

The State Media Campaign Council of the All Progressives Congress for the Edo Governorship election has mocked Governor Godwin Obaseki as a drowning man following yet another wave of resignations that plagued his government as more aides announce their departure.

On Tuesday, two top aides, Hon. Joe Okonigene and Hon. Aimiolemen Noah Idemudia, also known as Paddy Noah, announced their resignation from the Obaseki-government and led thousands of their followers to the private residence of the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Pastor Ize-Iyamu, where they declared their complete loyalty and vowed to deliver his victory at the polls.

Reacting to the development, the Governor was accused of planting a speculative report suggesting that the aides were induced to resign their positions.

However, in a statement released today by the Chairman of the APC State Media Campaign Council, Mr. John Mayaki, the report was denounced as an attempt by the "drowning governor" to blame others for his woes and a ruse to help him live with his failure until his exit on Election Day.

He said: "Godwin Obaseki is a drowning man who is unwilling to take responsibility for his failure. His aides have since realized that his ship is a drowning one, that he has been rejected by the people, and so they have been abandoning him in drove."

"Obviously, this development puts him to shame. His attempt to block these resignations through brute force and holding them hostage had little or no effect. They stared down his barrel and called his bluff."

"So in a bid to live with the failure until September when his disgrace will be complete and perfected, he directed his Chief Propagandist, Crusoe Osagie, the media aide who has been rendered witless and reduced to a common fake news peddler by the inertia and desperation of the man he serves, to spread the baseless and hare-brained narrative.

Politics / Edo 2020: Councilors Vow To Resist Harrasment by Annyomo(f): 12:26pm On Jul 21, 2020
Edo 2020: Over 87 APC Councilors vow to resist Obaseki's harassment to forcefully join PDP

Over 87 elected Councilors in the Edo State have vowed to resist the harassment and official intimidation meted out to them by Governor Godwin Obaseki to forcefully join the PDP.

The Councilors, most of whom were elected on the platform of the APC, dismissed claims of their defection allegedly sponsored in the media by Godwin Obaseki to portray false solidarity, while insisting that the Governor's performance since 2016 has neither inspired confidence nor provided motivation for them to join his defection.

The spokesperson for the group, Hon. Emwinghare Osabuohien of Ward 2, Egor Local Government Council, condemned their suspension which he deemed illegal and the refusal of the state government to pay their salaries over the expression of their constitutionally protected freedom to associate and maintain membership of a preferred political party. 

Other Councilors, including Hon. Okpamen Angela representing Ovia West, Hon. Kingsley Ogiri, and Hon. Godwin Ekhator, vowed to remain resolute in fighting for the victory of Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu and the All Progressives Congress at the polls on the 19th of September. 

According to them, the few Councilors who defected caved in to the pressure and intimidation of the State Government.
Politics / Edo Youths Beware Of Audio MOU by Annyomo(f): 11:15am On Jul 21, 2020
What Edo youths needs to know

*An extraction from an Article, every youth in Edo State needs to learn from. 1. GO’s Promises are only for a moment just like Gelele Sea � Port. 2. You don’t need to offend him before he starts �‍♀️ witch-hunting progressive people, he’s a man who hates progress that’s why he removed generators for street lights in Edo State, keeping us in the dark for no reason or like Captain said “for reasons best known to him*

============
Captain 'Hosa speaks:

It is instructive to mention that when the Governor requested my daughter to work with his administration, *I obliged him even though the little allowance which was only sustained for 5 months and stopped*, had to be subsidized from my office and none thereafter. In a bid to reinforce my support for the Governor, I purchased a brand-new Toyota Hilux van to enable her discharge her responsibilities effectively on the project she was assigned. From then on, she has neither earned from Edo State Government nor does she owe the State one kobo to the best of my knowledge.

It is sad that Governor Obaseki has been paranoid about me even before he became governor, for reasons best known to him. I have since got to know that the disagreements between Comrade Oshiomhole and myself during his eight-year administration in Edo State were orchestrated from the background by Governor Obaseki who was at the time Chairman of that administration’s Economic and Strategy Team. But with patience, maturity and forgiveness from Oshiomhole and myself, we were able to, once again, rekindle the spirit of brotherhood and trust in our relationship.

_Signed: Captain (Dr) Idahosa Wells Okunbo (JP)_

===========
*Gelegele Obaseki (GO) Please leave Captain 'Hosa alone*
Please share for the purpose of sensitisation of Edo Youths.

*An extraction from an Article, every youth in Edo State needs to learn from. 1. GO’s Promises are only for a moment just like Gelele Sea � Port. 2. You don’t need to offend him before he starts �‍♀️ witch-hunting progressive people, he’s a man who hates progress that’s why he removed generators for street lights in Edo State, keeping us in the dark for no reason or like Captain said “for reasons best known to him*

============
Captain 'Hosa speaks:

It is instructive to mention that when the Governor requested my daughter to work with his administration, *I obliged him even though the little allowance which was only sustained for 5 months and stopped*, had to be subsidized from my office and none thereafter. In a bid to reinforce my support for the Governor, I purchased a brand-new Toyota Hilux van to enable her discharge her responsibilities effectively on the project she was assigned. From then on, she has neither earned from Edo State Government nor does she owe the State one kobo to the best of my knowledge.

It is sad that Governor Obaseki has been paranoid about me even before he became governor, for reasons best known to him. I have since got to know that the disagreements between Comrade Oshiomhole and myself during his eight-year administration in Edo State were orchestrated from the background by Governor Obaseki who was at the time Chairman of that administration’s Economic and Strategy Team. But with patience, maturity and forgiveness from Oshiomhole and myself, we were able to, once again, rekindle the spirit of brotherhood and trust in our relationship.

_Signed: Captain (Dr) Idahosa Wells Okunbo (JP)_

===========
*Gelegele Obaseki (GO) Please leave Captain Hosa alone*

Politics / Re: Edo 2020: APC Women Assure Ize-iyamu Of Clean Sweep At The Polls by Annyomo(f): 5:51pm On Jul 20, 2020
POI all the way

(1) (2) (3) (of 3 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 123