Stats: 3,326,493 members, 8,426,805 topics. Date: Sunday, 14 June 2026 at 10:35 PM

DrdeboO's Posts

Nairaland ForumDrdeboO's ProfileDrdeboO's Posts

1 (of 1 pages)

CareerRe: Employee Rants On Twitter About Low Pay, Gets Exposed And Fired By Boss by DrdeboO: 12:15am On Nov 19, 2018
Olumeme:
That boss is a chronic liar, why didn't they terminate his employment when they discovered he wasn't good enough, coming late to work and not delivering?
There's no private company that condones lateness, where I work, if you are late without any genuine reason, you are working that day for free, and if you leave, without working that day, you will be sacked..

But how will a graduate even accept 30k monthly pay?
I will never accept any pay less than 50k, I will rather sit at home and press phone oooo. 30k is slavery abeg
For one, he was never paid 30k. The initial agreement was for him to maintain the existing web application which he failed to deliver ( the excuse was that the code he inherited was too difficult to work on and he didn't want to tamper with it for the fear of breaking it). The agreed starting stipend was 35k taking into view his 19,800 from nysc. Pay was also raised to 50k per month once the company got funding. Second task was given to him to build a prototype also stories came up. 3rd was to work on the front end for the new version of the core product. Still no results. Infact he hurriedly quit when we hired a new front-end developer who was supposed to come assist him. Only for the new dev to realise he had been doing rubbish all along.

He was offered an opportunity he was lazy. Always tweeting during work hours, arriving late. Forging signatures for nysc clearance etc.
Etc quite rightly I should have sacked him. As a matter of fact my cofounder's requested for his sack but I made excuses for him and stood by him because I felt he had potential and was probably distracted.

If he was unhappy with his job or pay, he should have negotiated right? He knew what he wanted to do all along. Please spare all the insults and get the other side of the story first.

My goal is to build a company and God knows I took this boy in as a brother. 9months and nothing to show for it. Abeg let this matter just die

1 (of 1 pages)