Stats: 3,331,208 members, 8,449,161 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 July 2026 at 11:40 AM

Freciprocal's Posts

Nairaland ForumFreciprocal's ProfileFreciprocal's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 (of 30 pages)

PoliticsRe: Solomon Dalung Wore This To Visit El-Rufai At Kaduna Govt House (Pics) by Freciprocal: 4:48pm On Jan 16, 2016
RomanceRe: How To Know If Your Lover Is Lying About Being A Virgin [MUST READ] by Freciprocal: 4:47pm On Jan 16, 2016
TV/MoviesRe: That Movie You Can't Get Tired Of Watching by Freciprocal: 4:59pm On Jan 13, 2016
Freciprocal:
OMG!!! It just has to be "The Matrix" I have seen that movie at least 47 times cool

Classic Quotes From The Matrix

Agent Smith: We're willing to wipe the slate clean, give you a fresh start. All that we're asking in return is your cooperation in bringing a known terrorist to justice.
Neo: Yeah. Well, that sounds like a pretty good deal. But I think I may have a better one. How about, I give you the finger... and you give me my phone call.

[Neo tries a drink made by Dozer and winces.]
Cypher: Good shit, huh? It's good for two things: degreasing engines and killing brain cells.

Morpheus: Throughout human history, we have been dependent on machines to survive. Fate, it seems, is not without a sense of irony.

Spoon boy: Do not try and bend the spoon. That's impossible. Instead... only try to realize the truth.
Neo: What truth?
Spoon boy: There is no spoon.
Neo: There is no spoon?
Spoon boy: Then you'll see, that it is not the spoon that bends, it is only yourself.

Agent Smith: I'd like to share a revelation that I've had, during my time here. It came to me when I tried to classify your species. I realized that you're not actually mammals. Every mammal on this planet instinctively develops a natural equilibrium with the surrounding environment, but you humans do not. You move to an area, and you multiply, and multiply, until every natural resource is consumed. The only way you can survive is to spread to another area. There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern. A virus. Human beings are a disease, a cancer of this planet, you are a plague, and we are the cure.

Morpheus: What you know you can't explain, but you feel it. You've felt it your entire life, that there's something wrong with the world. You don't know what it is, but it's there, like a splinter in your mind, driving you mad.

Morpheus: You have the look of a man who accepts what he sees because he expects to wake up. Ironically, that's not far from the truth.

Morpheus: I'm trying to free your mind, Neo. But I can only show you the door. You're the one that has to walk through it.

Neo: Why do my eyes hurt?
Morpheus: You've never used them before.

Morpheus: There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path.

Morpheus: Have you ever had a dream, Neo, that you were so sure was real? What if you were unable to wake from that dream, Neo? How would you know the difference between the dream world and the real world?

Oracle: I'd ask you to sit down, but, you're not going to anyway. And don't worry about the vase.
Neo: What vase?
[Neo turns to look for a vase, and as he does, he knocks over a vase of flowers, which shatters on the floor.]
Oracle: That vase.
Neo: I'm sorry--
Oracle: I said don't worry about it. I'll get one of my kids to fix it.
Neo: How did you know?
Oracle: Ohh, what's really going to bake you're noodle later on is, would you still have broken it if I hadn't said anything?

Oracle: You're cuter than I thought. I can see why she likes you.
Neo: Who?
Oracle: Not too bright, though.

Agent Smith: Do you hear that, Mr. Anderson? That is the sound of inevitability.

Cypher: I know what you're thinking, 'cause right now I'm thinking the same thing. Actually, I've been thinking it ever since I got here: Why oh why didn't I take the BLUE pill?

Morpheus: The pill you took is part of a trace program. It's designed to disrupt your input/output carrier signal so we can pinpoint your location.
Neo: What does that mean?
Cypher: It means, buckle your seatbelt, Dorothy, because Kansas is going bye-bye.

Morpheus: You think that's air you're breathing?

Morpheus: Stop trying to hit me and hit me!

Agent Smith: Never send a human to do a machine's job.

Neo: What are you trying to tell me? That I can dodge bullets?
Morpheus: No, Neo. I'm trying to tell you that when you're ready, you won't have to.

Trinity: My name's Trinity.
Neo: *The* Trinity? Who cracked the IRS d-base?
Trinity: That was a long time ago.
Neo: Jesus...
Trinity: What?
Neo: I just thought... you were a guy.
Trinity: Most guys do.

Morpheus: The Matrix is the world that has been pulled over your eyes to blind you from the truth.

Tank: So what do you need? Besides a miracle.
Neo: Guns. Lots of guns.

Trinity: Neo... nobody has ever done this before.
Neo: I know. That's why it's going to work.

FamilyRe: This Beautiful Little Girl, Zainab, Is Missing (Photo) by Freciprocal: 9:28am On Jan 11, 2016
glimpse33:
She Has Gone To Meet Her Boyfriend lipsrsealed
Paedophile alert! cry

Christianity EtcRe: My Experience At A Church Today Almost Made Me Cry by Freciprocal: 10:02am On Jan 10, 2016
plaetton:
Shut up.

We should Also mind our business when we see you being robbed or raped.
After all, it's god that judges.
You are a child for using an offensive word

What she said is not out of place... my question is what do u doin this kind of situation which the OP stated?
Christianity EtcRe: My Experience At A Church Today Almost Made Me Cry by Freciprocal: 10:00am On Jan 10, 2016
Weeee:
This is the reason why I said people are so gullible. You can stand there and watch your people perish for lack of knowledge, but I won't do the same. This same Bible also says, Judge but, judge righteous judgement. These pastors only quote "Thou Shall Not Judge" to keep you gullible.

You better wake up and stop telling people that 'Thou Shall Not Judge' crap.
when u saw this happening... what did u do?
Music/RadioRe: YBNL Artist – Lil Kesh Drops This Smash New Single by Freciprocal: 6:38pm On Jan 04, 2016
CareerRe: Computer Enginnering Or Computer Science by Freciprocal: 6:35pm On Jan 04, 2016
Una don start!
RomanceRe: Watchin A Sex Scene With Family. Help by Freciprocal: 6:23pm On Jan 04, 2016
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 6:11pm On Jan 04, 2016
alcuin:
So, in your craziest dream Well logging is a mathematician's job.

Mind you, I'm a Petroleum Engineer....mind what u reply.

Thanks.
You started your alcohol intake so early... cheesy

Go through all my post and read them SLOWLY!

Those I exchange ideas with are satisfied as we both learnt from each other.

If u have any reasonable questions after reading my post... I am here to ansa
Forum GamesRe: Let's Play This Game Of Unscrambling Sentences by Freciprocal: 6:03pm On Jan 04, 2016
أحبك

Oya translate the above
Christianity EtcRe: Angels Appears In Church During A LIVE Service-prophet Shepherd Bushiri(video) by Freciprocal: 5:59pm On Jan 04, 2016
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 5:21pm On Jan 04, 2016
stanisbaratheon:
okay that sounds like reservoir engineering to me.

But in your earlier post you said you collect data that's what i'm concerned about.

Tho i didn't study petroleum engineering but i have friends that did and i strongly believe the design of that wireline logging process is done by an engineer.
Yeah! That's the industry term.

Electrical, physics, Mathematics, electronics... majorly all form the core...

There are even equations to that effect!
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 5:17pm On Jan 04, 2016
destino24:
You've managed to contradict yourself in one sentence, that's great!

If a field is superior, wouldn't that predispose it to having more opportunitieshuh
No sir!

No field is more superior than the other cool
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 5:08pm On Jan 04, 2016
ucheicon:
I strongly disagree with the post above. What do you mean that mechanical engineering will limit him to its field? What an ignorant statement. Kennedy uzoka,DMD uba(mech engineering),Philips oduoza md uba(civil) femi olaloku Ed treasury(civil),titi osuntoki Ed access bank(civil),eli as Igbinakenzua Ed access(elect) rasheed olaoluwa(civil) md Bank of industry(civil) etc so what do you mean it restricts him within the field?your case, if true, is an outlier not a normal occurrence. If I may ask,how many mathematicians does baker hughes,Schlumberger,transocean and Halliburton recruit as field engineers? As an electronic engineering grad I know of classmates working in aĺl including oil majors doing everything from petroleum engineering to pipeline engineering. Omobola Johnson former ceo Accenture and minister for communication technology is an electronic engineering grad. How did it restrict her from working as a management consultant? Even in the US, among fortune 500 ceos, engineering degree's was the most major prevalent. Talk facts not sentiment
U seem quite intelligent!

It's good to see u pinpointed what u don't deem as fit.

Engineering is a specific field... Most engineers don't crossover to sciences or art.

Ur examples are true... but they are in the context of getting daily bread.... I don't dispute that.

My assertion is to the response of which has more opportunities not which is better.

So if Mech Engr has 1000 opportunities, Mathematics has 1006

My argument ain't superiority, it's more opportunities.

Hope this helps?
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 4:59pm On Jan 04, 2016
destino24:
Don't even bother. you want me to source questions from Google, what's to say you won't be sourcing your answers from there?
Oya Bros! Food don done... I don help u grin

http://www.rigzone.com/jobs/postings/349976/Wireline_Field_Engineer.asp

CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 4:55pm On Jan 04, 2016
destino24:
Don't even bother. you want me to source questions from Google, what's to say you won't be sourcing your answers from there?
stanisbaratheon:
oga i agree i'm ignorant please explain to me the engineering in what you do where you work haba. Please stop bringing google into this conversation i want to get it from you, you are the one doing the job not google becuase i want to learn from you.
I meant no offence saying u should source for some info. I wanted you to get a Background knowledge.

Wen wells r drilled, well logging is required to determine the depth where the oil reservoir is. These logging instruments are used to accomplish that. Some used radioactive materials to function.

If u can ask me specific questions... I can tailor my ansa to suit it

We learn everyday! smiley
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 4:50pm On Jan 04, 2016
GeniusDavid:
Go get urself medicated glasses. Wrong Quote. smh
It's good u quickly checked and edited ur comments. U are a fast learner... Kudos!
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 4:42pm On Jan 04, 2016
stanisbaratheon:
ignorance?? .....hmmmmm

can you please explain the engineering in what you do?? No offence sir
Google "Well logging"

Read also about wireline Engineering

Patiently awaiting ur questions
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 4:36pm On Jan 04, 2016
destino24:
so you basically acquire data from engineers and then compute
Google "Well logging"

Read also about wireline Engineering

Patiently awaiting ur questions
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 4:34pm On Jan 04, 2016
stanisbaratheon:
okay i get it. The fact still remains that a mathematician cannot i repeat cannot do the job of an enginner. You acquire data from drilled/existing wells. That job description sounds more statistical to me, hence a mathematician/statistician's job.
Ignorance!

Google Wireline Engineering

Thank me later!
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 4:33pm On Jan 04, 2016
I believe many pple are confusing mathematics (BSc) with Mathematics (BEd)

There is a huge difference! I got similar discrimination while studying Mathematics in school. The truth is the only regret in studying mathematics, is if u don't come out with a good grade.

There is a point most folks forget to understand. You are employed based on ur aptitude.

Even with your 1st class in Mech Engineering, the company still has to train u cos the engineering curriculum in ur university does not translate to what is applicable.

To those mentioning banks and other coys... you would still be trained. So the smarter and more intelligent u are (irrespective of Maths or Mech Engr) the better your chances.
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 4:23pm On Jan 04, 2016
stanisbaratheon:
wow that's good. You work as an engineer in an oil servicing company doing what exactly??
Wireline Engineering... Basically acquiring petrophysical data from drilled or existing well.
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 4:20pm On Jan 04, 2016
ucheicon:
Who ever tells you to choose maths over engineering assuredly doesn't know what he's talking about. Engineering gives you the widest scope of job possibilities over any discipline with electrical/electronic engineering the widest. Go to any finance or audit institution,you'll observe that people with engineering degrees predominate over any discipline. The MD,DMD and ED treasury of UBA are grads of engineering. In the oil industry,engineering is so revered that even geologists will tell you that engineers are trained to do their jobs. To be admitted into IPS port harcourt(jointly run by TOTAL and uniport) any engineering degree suffices,even polymer of agric engineering! Never heard them admitting mathematicians or physicists! For the chap who talks of quants job in US investment banking,the chap is surely ignorant. Does he mean engineers won't be taken if applied? Crazy! Engineers surely dominate recruitment hires there if not the discipline financial engineering as a grad course won't be available to them. Isn't quantitative finance the application of maths , statistics and computer science to finance-like any engineering discipline? So whats difficult in there for someone with an engineering not to fit in? In nigeria,choose engineering over maths and if in developed western countries,whatever you're best at.
Mechanical Engineering... Not Engineering.Its worthy of mention
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 4:10pm On Jan 04, 2016
calculator123:
u dud justice bro,what uni did u graduate from.
I am a Giant.. #Team Unizik
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 4:08pm On Jan 04, 2016
laplace19:
You're the one who do not know anything.
I have been reading your shallow comments and I was tempted to quote you.

Stop deceiving that boy, please.
Bros abeg desist from using harsh word nah... u can better buttress ur point! Haba!
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 4:07pm On Jan 04, 2016
idros4real:
Stop confusing this guy now how does the trend equate or solve the OPs problem did you read his write up he said he want to be (self employed) he made it clear. So explain how is going to achieve that in Nigeria.
I guess u did not read the write up. @ OP asked for the better opportunity... Durrent is exploring other possibilities.

Hope my explanation helps? wink
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 4:03pm On Jan 04, 2016
@ OP let me settle your confusion.

I am a graduate of Mathematics (2.1). Though I have a soft spot for Mathematics, I can't deny the respect I have for Mech Engineering.

I worked in 2 banks as an ICT administrator and a teller. I den got a job with an oil servicing firm in ph.

I worked as a field engineer for 3 year with the oil servicing coy.

So to those saying mathematicians can't work as Engr... You have been misinformed.

Back to ur question, when it comes to more opportunities, Mathematics is better, Mechanical Engineering limits u to its field... Outside engineering, there is nothing much u can do.

smiley
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal: 3:53pm On Jan 04, 2016
Durentt:
d op said he doesn't want to be limited to nigeria, go outside nigeria with ur mech engr knowledge nd i go outside with my mathematics knowledge. Lets see who hav higher vacancies
Seconded... Only you have made sense so far.... I am still loading my contributions!
CareerRe: Mathematics/stastistics Vs Mechanical Engineering by Freciprocal:
GeniusDavid:
With do respect this is an insult to Mech. Mathematics is under Engineering. Should this even be an argument?
Mathematics under Engineering? shocked

The internet is ur friend.
PoliticsRe: James Faleke: I Won't Be Available For Swearing-in As Bello's Deputy by Freciprocal: 7:12am On Dec 08, 2015

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 (of 30 pages)