Irises's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Irises's Profile › Irises's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 (of 16 pages)
extinguished hopes of a first World Cup appearance. Hoping to become the first nation from the east of the continent to compete at the global football showcase, the ‘Waliya Antelopes’ lost 2-1 at home to the ‘Super Eagles’. The first-leg play-off result leaves Ethiopia needing to score at least twice in the November 16 return match to reach the 2014 World Cup in Brazil. Coach Sewnet Bishaw, credited with a major role in reviving Ethiopia after three decades in the doldrums, laid the blame for the Addis Ababa loss with the Cameroonian referee. “We lost the game because the referee was poor,” Bishaw told reporters after the Antelopes suffered a first home defeat in five qualifying games. “We scored a goal that he cancelled and the referee also did other things that were questionable.” |
The 2013 edition of Felabration,a week-long concert which celebrates the life and times of Afrobeat legend, Fela Anikulapo Kuti commences from Monday, October 14 through 20 at the Afrikan Shrine, Ikeja, Lagos. In this interview, Femi Kuti, the eldest son of Fela went down memory lane, recounting the story of his late father, his music and ideologies. He also talks about what the fans of Afrobeat music will expect at this year’s Felabration among other issues. |
dear nairalanders..frontpage topics ave been the most active topic on nairaland. if your topic is not in the frontpage, there is every possibility that there will be no comments. SO HAVE YOUR TOPIC REACH THE FRONTPAGE BEFORE? NO LIES |
The Shortlist R. van Persie -Netherlands @PatrickKluivert: "Great win yesterday. Holland 8-1 Hungary and congrats to Robin van Persie." Goal's Yanick Vos: "Broke Patrick Kluivert's all-time goalscoring record for the Netherlands with a hat- trick." Romelu Lukaku - Belgium @rbaicu: "Just witnessed a great performance from Belgium. Lukaku is a beast!" Goal's Alec Fenn: "Scored twice to send Belgium to World Cup 2014. Jose Mourinho must regret loaning him out." Andros Townsend - England @GaryLineker: "Well done Andros Townsend and well done Roy Hodgson for picking him." Goal's Chris Davie: "No-one stood up to the task against Montenegro more than Townsend, who inspired England to a 4-1 win." Greg Bolger - St Patrick's @wheelo_96: "Saints on their way to winning the league. What a goal." Goal's Ronan Murphy: "Scored a fine strike to help fire his side to a 2-0 win and the Airtricity Premier Division title." |
Ethiopia 1-2 Nigeria Nigeria had everything to lose against Ethiopia on Sunday. As Africa Cup of Nations holders, the Super Eagles were strongly fancied to overcome a side seeking to qualify for their first ever World Cup finals. But the weight of expectancy can often prove the downfall of even the finest of sides and Behalu Assafa put the hosts in front after 56 minutes of the first leg of this play-off. However, as nerves began to jangle among the visiting support, Emmanuel Emenike stood up to be counted. The Fenerbahce striker scored twice in the last 23 minutes - the first a 30-yard solo effort and the second a coolly-taken 90th minute penalty - to spare Nigeria's blushes and put them in the driving seat ahead of the return leg. Goal Nigeria's Lolade Adewuyi gave the 26-year-old a glowing endorsement: "Nigeria knew it was going to be difficult in Addis Ababa due to the city's altitude, which makes it difficult for visiting teams to play, coupled with the pace of the Walia Antelopes. "They were highly troubled in the first half by the slick passing of the hosts, who then took the lead via a freak cross that was adjudged to have crossed Vincent Enyeama's goal-line. "Emmanuel Emenike rose to the challenge and scored a solo effort from almost 30 yards to get his team back in the game. "As the match neared its conclusion, it was Emenike's run into the Ethiopians' box that was stopped by a tug from a defender and the same player promptly stepped up to coolly slot home and silence the frenzied Ethiopian crowd." |
Lionbite: We go pay them back when they come herethey think they can fight.. Calabar no dey fear face oo. na palm dem cut..dis time we go comot their hand |
christemmbassey: da mbok kpong mkpo oro, kpukpuru mkpo enyene ini, we r nt telling ppl not to give money to d church or for d wk of God, what we r saying is, pastors should stop d threats of malachi 3, tithe being part of the law dat regulated d old covenant was abolished with d levitical priesthood dat it was meant to sustain. There is no single verse in d entire bible where christians are commanded to pay tithe. All we ask is, study a bible, don't let ur bible b replaced by pastor's word. B like d berean christians. Obong, odiong fi.which one is pastors word..Did pastors write malachi 3.. that is God's word.. so learn from it...BESIDES IF YOU CONDEMN THAT WORD..IT MEANS YOU ARE CONDEMING THE OLD TESTAMENT..DONT FORGET IF THE OLD TESTAMENT WAS NOT TO CHANGE OUR LIFE..I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN PART OF THE NEW TESTAMENT.. |
christemmbassey: Tithe is d BIGEST FRAUD in humanty bc, there is NO SINGLE verse in d entire bible, where christians are COMMANDED TO PAY 10% OF THEIR SALARIES/WAGES TO GOD, JESUS, PASTOR OR CHURCH. Some say, Abraham their father paid tithe to Melchizedek, ok, appart from d fact dat d once in a life time show of appreciation of Abraham to Melchizedek was not from Abraham's salary/wage but war spoil, why is it dat when Christ was on earth he DID NOT collect tithe in person or in proxy,(melchi colected from Abran in person) what does he (CHRIST) want to do with money(tithe) now dat he's in heaven? May b to buy longspan roofing sheet for d OP's section of mansion.please go back and read malachi 3:8.. open ur brain..cause you just dont have what to say.. |
Alwaystrue: Malachi 3:8thank you for saying the truth..all this anti tithers have misjudged the word of God.. are u people trying to say that we should not give our tithe to God..and rob God..when God blesses u, u have to pay your tithe and offering by faith..remember tithe and offering To GOD NOT TO MAN |
A vicious would-be suicide bomber is heading for Nigeria's vast metropolis of Lagos and only a down-on-her-luck prostitute can stop a horrific attack. This ominous fiction is part of "Boko Haram", a new movie by Ghanaian-Nigeria director Pascal Amanfo. The film has been banned by censors in Ghana and shunned by cinema owners in Nigeria. A movie inspired by the very real and brutal Islamist group active in Nigeria was potentially so inflammatory that it was released in the country with the title "Nation Under Siege" to avoid a backlash. |
The Newcastle forward is happy to finally turn out for his fatherland as he eyes a berth in Brazil 2014 ahead of the weekend’s qualifier Nigeria striker Shola Ameobi has said that the pride of putting on the green and white jersey in Addis Ababa would fire up the players to victory in Sunday’s first leg play-off 2014 World Cup qualifier. Ameobi, who made his competitive debut in September's game against Malawi, confessed that it took him long to finally get the opportunity to play for his fatherland, and he considers it a rare privilege and would risk anything to ensure the Super Eagles emerge victorious against the Walya Antelopes if he is fielded by coach Stephen Keshi. While reacting to President Goodluck Jonathan’s approval of funds to ferry 200 supporters of the team to Ethiopia, Ameobi said they will repay Nigerians’ faith by getting victory against Ethiopia. "We don't need any extra motivation whatsoever to beat Ethiopia. Every player in this squad knows the importance of being at the World Cup and I think that is the motivation we need to do our country proud," Ameobi told reporters in Abuja on Wednesday. "Everybody has tipped us to win the game but we must remember that Ethiopia are not pushovers. They topped their group like we topped ours and they want to be at the World Cup like we want. But we would go there and give our best for our country to ensure that the result is favourable." Ameobi has also dismissed speculations regarding his fitness ahead of this showdown. "I worked really hard to ensure that I’m fit for this game and I can tell you that I’m fully fit for the encounter. I am happy to be here," he said. |
its 45 |
waec 2013 results have been realeased. but failures are much. why is this happening in nigeria. post your own views |
C as them dey celebrate |
Goal |
Grey ideye |
Which kind musa be dis |
Oboy. 2nd half only. Page 41 |
Ogude take it easy |
Let see what will happen in the second half |
Tahiti don d learn |
Beautiful play by tahiti |