Stats: 3,154,793 members, 7,824,313 topics. Date: Saturday, 11 May 2024 at 08:03 AM

Januzaj's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Januzaj's Profile / Januzaj's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 67 pages)

Sports / Re: Incredible Atlanta Mercedes Stadium (photo) by januzaj(m): 7:59pm On Jan 23, 2022
MissionaryArchi:

Yaa that's an Architectural 3D visual work
it’s real. My friend took this picture when we went there.

Politics / Re: BREAKING: Chief Of Staff, Abba Kyari Is Dead (Confirmed) by januzaj(m): 1:04am On Apr 18, 2020
Mehn
This is so serious
Health / The Grand Coronavirus Cover-up In Kwara By 'fisayo Soyombo by januzaj(m): 8:03pm On Apr 06, 2020
It appears this committee and some powerful forces at UITH are more concerned about painting Kwara as COVID-negative than enabling an environment for isolation and testing, so that contact tracing can commence in earnest if a positive case does surface and so that everyone around can take necessary precautions.

BY 'FISAYO SOYOMBOAPR 06, 2020

If you weren’t pressing away your phones or ogling the fine boys or girls during Logic classes in school, you would easily have noticed the grand cover-up of the circumstances of the death of Alhaji Muideen Obanimomo, a prominent Offa son, at the University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital. Oh, I forgot to add: if you’re not partisan, if you don’t believe Coronavirus is a death sentence and if you appreciate the importance of testing and contact tracing to our chances of overcoming this pandemic.

There are things that everyone agrees with, like Obanimomo’s arrival at the hospital on Wednesday and dying overnight, the suspicious background work that influenced the preferential medical attention he received at the hospital, the speed-of-light evacuation of his corpse from the hospital on Thursday and the failure to establish suspicions of COVID-19 up till his death. But that’s pretty much where the consensus ends. Almost everything else is contentious.

For example, while the state government claims the death was due to "respiratory illness”, the hospital says it was from "food poisoning". Also, all of the Kwara State Technical Committee on COVID-19, the UITH management, the Association of Resident Doctors (ARD) and the Medical and Dental Consultants' Association of Nigeria (MDCAN) say the deceased was first brought into the hospital on Wednesday night. Actually, that is not true. Since flying into the country on March 20 and relocating to Ilorin days later to self-isolate, Obanimomo first set foot on UITH on Sunday March 29, flanked by his wife, who was bogged down by — guess what — headache. First hint: a successful, widely-travelled accountant presenting his wife at a teaching hospital for headache is such an anomaly.

One more person who knew is Professor Kazeem Alakija Salami, otherwise called Professor AbdulSalam, the professor the UITH authorities are afraid to name despite dubbing his conduct “highly unethical”. Obanimomo briefly went into self-isolation in Lagos, sending his children away to relatives, before travelling to Ilorin to continue on the advice of Professor AbdulSalam, his ally whom the UITH management describes as his “relative”. Even a roadside mechanic knows that nobody shows up at a teaching hospital for headache; the deceased only took his wife there because they both knew the may have been exposed to the virus. First window to test the wife but it was passed up.

By Wednesday evening, the 13th day of isolation when the deceased became uncomfortable, they didn’t first send him to UITH. What a miracle that is, because these were the same people who wanted to treat headache at a teaching hospital. Instead, Professor AbdulSalam sent him to the Sobi Specialist Hospital — that hospital supposedly designed by the state government for isolating COVID-19 cases. Well, Sobi was under lock and key, not even open for operations — because the Kwara State government isn’t ready for the virus. Now, why would a professor of medicine waste his time sending a patient to Sobi if he didn’t have valid COVOD-19 suspicions? And, why, after sending such patient to a non-functioning isolation centre, would that professor make no attempt to test the patient?

From Sobi, he was moved to UITH, which has its own isolation centre; that’s where he should have been sent to, but Professor AbdulSalam used his influence to convince management to attend to Obanimomo at the Accident and Emergency (A&E) ward, where he “received VIP treatment”. Some of those who saw Obanimomo said he soon started showing “very strong COVID-19 symptoms”; he died less than an hour after. By this stage, he still hadn’t been tested. That’s really grave, because Professor AbdulSalam is not just a doctor, he is a teacher of respiratory medicine and HIV medicine, with research interest in infectious and non-infectious pulmonary diseases and core interest in tuberculosis, obstructive airways diseases and HIV/AIDS. A doctor of this calibre would have gotten Obanimomo tested if he genuinely wanted to. The failure to test Obanimomo for COVID-19 until his death and afterwards has cover-up written all over it.

In its comments about Obanimomo’s death, the Medical Advisory Committee of UITH made some admissions that further implicate the hospital. It claimed that after the death, the hospital received “several anonymous calls disclosing information of recent travels by the patient and his wife to the UK”. Who were these anonymous callers? How did they get the hospital’s number? A teaching hospital received such important calls and made no effort to document the informants, if just to be contacted for follow-up information? The hospital admitted that the corpse was “immediately released” for burial according to Islamic rights; how did these anonymous callers get wind of the travel details and the contact of the hospital all in the few hours of the corpse’s stay at the hospital?

The committee said: “Following the patient’s death and release of his corpse to the managing professor for immediate burial in accordance with Islamic rites, the hospital management received several anonymous calls disclosing information of recent travels by the patient and his wife to UK and having been on self-isolation on arrival to Ilorin prior to presentation at A&E.” This means the management is claiming that the corpse had already been released before they got information it may have been a suspected coronavirus case. This also means no COVID-19 test was conducted on the deceased, since corpse had been released before they knew the truth at all. Coup de grâce! As a matter of fact, it is not true that the hospital became aware of the patient’s travel history; the hospital had known since Sunday — four clear days before the death!

One other red flag. If the hospital is indeed convinced Obanimomo died of food poisoning, why did it prevent the ambulance that evacuated the corpse from reentering the hospital premises? Why were the doctors, nurses and pharmacists who potentially had contact with him isolated and placed on chloroquine prophylaxis? I mean, you didn’t just isolate them; you placed them on drugs! And why was the medical emergency shut down and fumigated? It’s not Coronavirus, right?

The state government claims to have collected samples from the “wife of the deceased and four others”. If these tests end up negative, this wouldn’t have absolved both the state and the hospital from the cover-up. I personally know at least one staff member of the hospital who came in contact with the deceased and hasn’t had samples taken. And I know, too, that the closest persons to the diseased knew his travel history and therefore observed necessary precautions around him. So, these four samples, whose are they? Hopefully not the children of the deceased, who were shielded from their father during the isolation.

Finally — and this is the most important sentence of this piece — why weren’t the deceased’s samples taken, even in the 45 minutes preceding his death when he displayed strong COVID symptoms? Why wasn’t a COVID-19 status-identifying post-mortem not conducted on the deceased? The state government’s social media defenders have been saying the deceased’s samples were collected. How were they collected if the hospital knew it was probably a COVID-19 case only after the body had already been sent for burial? Were they collected after burial?

The hospital admitted that the managing professor behaved in a “HIGHLY UNETHICAL” way by concealing the deceased’s travel history from the frontline medical personnel at first contact in the A&E. What’s going to happen to him — for potentially endangering staff and other patients at the hospital’s A&E?

The Kwara State Technical Committee on COVID-19 is keen to announce to every listening hear that there is there no case of the virus in the state. Quite worrying, considering that they made no effort to test someone who exhibited symptoms and at least presented himself at their ghostly isolation centre. It appears this committee and some powerful forces at UITH are more concerned about painting Kwara as COVID-negative than enabling an environment for isolation and testing, so that contact tracing can commence in earnest if a positive case does surface and so that everyone around can take necessary precautions. The Kwara example is proof many still see COVID as a death sentence, which isn’t true considering the numerous success stories emananting from Infectious Disease Hospital in Lagos. Without transparency, we won’t defeat this pandemic in good time.

Soyombo, former Editor of the TheCable, the International Centre for Investigative Reporting and SaharaReporters, tweets @fisayosoyombo

https://www.thecable.ng/the-grand-coronavirus-cover-up-in-kwara

Lalasticlala
Health / Re: Coronavirus:kwara Records 2 Cases- Sahara Reporters by januzaj(m): 7:52pm On Apr 06, 2020
Lalasticlala
Health / Re: USA Approves 5-Minute Test For Coronavirus by januzaj(m): 3:39pm On Mar 29, 2020
This is good. We are getting there. From testing kits, it will get to vaccine. African countries only wait for others to make breakthrough in everything without doing anything.

163 Likes 6 Shares

Crime / Re: What Police Did To Traders In Obalende This Afternoon by januzaj(m): 9:09pm On Mar 28, 2020
Nigerian police is one of the most useless institution in this country. 90% of them don't deserve to be called humans not to talk of being employed to protect the people.

Foreign Affairs / Re: Mallam Nasir El-rufia Kaduna State Governor Test Positive To Covid-19 by januzaj(m): 8:24pm On Mar 28, 2020
Shit getting real
Politics / Re: Nasir El-Rufai Tests Positive For COVID-19 by januzaj(m): 8:24pm On Mar 28, 2020
Omoh
Shit just got real. We are not ready for this sincerely

13 Likes 2 Shares

Politics / Re: Governors Scramble For Ventilators As They Brace Up For Coronavirus by januzaj(m): 9:17am On Mar 28, 2020
They saw no need for it because they could easily fly out of the country for treatment. They are buying the ventilators not because they care for the poor masses but because this virus doesn't have regards for any class. Don't be surprised if you hear they have kept two or three for themselves and families in case things get worse.We are in this together.

Travel / Re: Coronavirus: US To Evacuate Citizens From Nigeria by januzaj(m): 8:40am On Mar 28, 2020
That's good. They stand a better chance in US than Nigeria. We don't even have enough testing kits. We have less than 500 ventilators, if shit gets real,our top politicians will be the top priority. For now, we are still holding onto Jack Ma's donations.

72 Likes 1 Share

Health / Re: NIMR Offers Free Coronavirus Testing In Yaba, Lagos by januzaj(m): 8:25am On Mar 28, 2020
Good
We need all the help we can get to fight this Covid.

Health / Re: The Medical Profession Is A Scam by januzaj(m): 8:15am On Mar 28, 2020
shortgun:

How many people have died?
How many did they save?
919 people died in only Italy yesterday.....this is a big fail.
They only know how to prescribe big doses of antibiotics
So,you are judging them based on Corona virus alone? A novel disease,like seriously?
The same people found out how it spreads, developed testing kits,ventilators and so many things that give people hope. I am very sure you are wishing they find a cure asap. What are you presently contributing to curb the virus?
Hiding behind your keypad to blurt out trash.
Health / Re: The Medical Profession Is A Scam by januzaj(m): 8:04am On Mar 28, 2020
Are you not a failure in your profession?
What have you done for the world with what you are good at?
Tell us your profession and the value you have added to the world.
You are calling people that are working day and night, sacrificing a lot of things scam and other names.
So the world is all about corona virus?. What about malaria, Ebola and other things they take care of everyday. You have been saved more than 20 times by these same people you call scam.
You have fingers of 30 year old to type but brain of a 10 year old to reason.

Religion / Re: Corona Virus: TB Joshua Failed Prophecy Proves The Impotency Of Jehovah by januzaj(m): 7:57am On Mar 28, 2020
No ooooooo
We give him four more days

Health / Re: 5 Members Of US Congress Test Positive For The Coronavirus (photos & List) by januzaj(m): 7:21am On Mar 28, 2020
Davash222:

America will bounce back soon, but that cant be said about your shitthole!
They keep talking about how America has been humbled but not talking about what just hit us. While America is already making plans on how to come back stronger and taking care of her citizens in this hard time by giving out $1200 which is over #400k to her citizen,we are here struggling to get up to 20k test kits. Nonsense

Celebrities / Re: Please Help Me - IG Comedian, Sydney Talker Begs Govt, As He Battles Coronavirus by januzaj(m): 7:14am On Mar 28, 2020
His test has not come out positive. He is still awaiting his result.

Health / Re: COVID-19: New York Uses Refrigerated Trailers, Tents As Makeshift Morgue (Photo) by januzaj(m): 7:08am On Mar 28, 2020
And some people still believe this shit is a hoax in Nigeria. According ti report,only 200+ people have been tested so far in Nigeria with 81 confirmed cases. Just see the percentage that tested positive. Believe me,this shit has hit us so bad, we just don't know it yet.

34 Likes

Health / Re: Coronavirus: NMA Asks FG To Allow Other Laboratories Run Test by januzaj(m): 12:42am On Mar 28, 2020
chillex8:
Doctors wanna cash out. cheesy
It's not about cashing out. If we have more testing centres, more people will be tested and those that test positive will be isolated on time before they spread it more than it has been spread. Do you actually think if we are testing massively like developed countries we would not have gotten 10 times of what we have gotten so far?

110 Likes 3 Shares

Health / Re: 11 New Cases Of #COVID19 Have Been Reported In Nigeria by januzaj(m): 12:18am On Mar 28, 2020
If only we had testing kits like US or South Korea and carrying out massive testing,we would have had more confirmed cases.
Today is 28/03,instead of the virus to disappear as prophesized by T.B Joshua,it keeps appearing everywhere.

Health / Re: Coronavirus: U.S Overtakes China, Italy With 84,400 Confirmed Cases, 1093 Deaths by januzaj(m): 10:10pm On Mar 27, 2020
That's because they have tested more people than other countries.
People are talking without taking this fact into consideration. Let other countries test as many people as USA and let's compare the number of confirmed cases.
Most confirmed cases but number-six in the world for most deaths behind Italy,Iran and Spain with lesser confirmed cases. This should tell you something.

295 Likes 28 Shares

Religion / Re: RCCG GO Claims 'god' Using Covid-19 To Get Attention by januzaj(m): 12:50pm On Mar 23, 2020
When God revealed that this year the whole world would behave like a convulsing child, He also added that the whole world would be on compulsory holiday.
He revealed this to you but didn't reaveal the cure to you. I have never read how He revealed cure of any disease to you guys. You are all hoping the scientists He doesn't speak to find the cure. The scientists that speak with their experiments and all. Nonsense.

Religion / Re: Oyedepo: 'we Shall Hear Good News In Course Of The Week That Corona Cure Is Out by januzaj(m): 10:02am On Mar 23, 2020
And when scientists finally fins the cure,you guys will take the glory abi?
Why waiting for scientists to find the cure when you can just pray.

Health / Re: COVID-19: NMA Directs Members To Suspend Strike by januzaj(m): 6:39pm On Mar 20, 2020
They should have demanded for the necessary things they need to fight this deadly virus before they suspended the strike.No Dr should risk his/her life anyhow. No adequate equipment, no work.
CanadaOrBust:
Shameless people.
But at least they finally developed a bit of sense
They are not shameless,you should direct that to Buhari.
Politics / Re: Buhari: I Ran To TY Danjuma Due To My Shock At IDPs Camps by januzaj(m): 5:42pm On Mar 20, 2020
surgical:
The problem with this man is that he thinks everybody is as stupid and dumb as his supporters
So when he talks,he talks with his supporters in mind hence this kind of yeye talk wey no make sense
He blurts out words believe me. E no dey reason at all,e go just open mouth anyhow.

Politics / Re: Buhari: I Ran To TY Danjuma Due To My Shock At IDPs Camps by januzaj(m): 5:09pm On Mar 20, 2020
And you are busy wasting tax payers money on the people that put them in that condition.
People that killed their families.
People that displaced them are being treated like kings. I have never seen someone as shameless as this our President.

98 Likes 7 Shares

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / Re: Real Madrid Vs Barcelona : El Clasico (2 - 0) On 1st March 2020 by januzaj(m): 10:51pm On Mar 01, 2020
Barcelona grin grin grin

92 Likes 8 Shares

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / Re: Real Madrid Vs Barcelona : El Clasico (2 - 0) On 1st March 2020 by januzaj(m): 10:51pm On Mar 01, 2020
Real Madrid to Barca

112 Likes 8 Shares

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / Re: Real Madrid Vs Barcelona : El Clasico (2 - 0) On 1st March 2020 by januzaj(m): 10:50pm On Mar 01, 2020
Goalllllllll

Religion / Re: Church In Abuja Where Pastor Charges N50k To Swim In Miracle Swimming Pool by januzaj(m): 6:33pm On Nov 07, 2019
It's that bald headed Iginla.
I was able to decode he was the one before I saw the pix because of the way the ass he likes fvcking was described and his divorce saga.

45 Likes 1 Share

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by januzaj(m): 6:40pm On Oct 06, 2019
It took me 30 minutes to get to Man U's position from the top of the table. I will start from the bottom next time. Time is so precious to me.
Pass it around,this might help someone in the future. Don't check from the top.

Sports / Re: Nigeria Vs South Africa: AFCON Quarter Final (2 - 1) Full Time by januzaj(m): 10:20pm On Jul 10, 2019
flowx:
Never in your life mention me... You dey craz?

Sports / Re: Nigeria Vs South Africa: AFCON Quarter Final (2 - 1) Full Time by januzaj(m): 10:18pm On Jul 10, 2019
greggng:
Chukwueze is the messi of Nigeria ....Ronaldo is in big trouble
He should not be Messi of Nigeria ooooo,small thing now e go balloon the ball go Mars for Panelty shootout.
I want us to win this tournament abeg

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 67 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 54