Jucol's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Jucol's Profile › Jucol's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 10 pages)
![]() |
When men were men and strong ![]()
Forget the water from the exhaust aspect. Its pure elementary chemistry. Combustion products of hydrocarbons- CO2 and water vapour that condenses. Bad engines will drop water also especially when temperatures are low. For true state of the engine, it has to be running and load applied to it. |
Looks good. kindly send complete technical details Year and model? Mileage? Engine type?(Deutz air-cooled preferably) V8 or V10 jucol7000@yahoo.com |
Wow! Impressive road trip. I was counting the number of pictures you took. I somehow lost count around 39 . Back then in 1998/99 I had one of those Peugoet 505 SR cars. I always enjoyed the to and fro Lagos - Calabar trips.I love DO IT YOURSELF(DIY) guys. I carry all sorts of mechanical tools in my van. Saves time and lots of money. I noticed you drive on the left lane( that should be used during overtaking), even when you are not overtaking . I guess you got carried away.Apropos the bus driver that prevented you from overtaking, this is a very bad road habit in Nigeria. I will start a new thread to enlighten some of us on how to overtake. Enjoy your 505, remember to change the timing belt/chain in time. I saw some warning light ON below the temperature gauge on your dash. Wonder what that is ![]() Cheers1 |
![]() |
The Tachometer on the dashboard shows the revolutions per minute(RPM). Start the car and let the engine warm up gradually or drive around for about 10mins without AC. Park and allow engine run on its own. Check the Engine RPM reading.It should be between 0.7 and 1 (or 7 and 10) depending on your calibration. multiply by 1000RPM OR 100RPM as shown on your tach. Switch on the AC and watch the reading. If the car starts to vibrate increase the rpm to about 1.2 by depressing the throttle gently. If this helps, then ask your mechanic to tune up your engine. In local parlance " high de engine small". Apropos your second question, I mean the " engine and/or gearbox seating" About the exhaust question, I think the guy is asking you to check whether the exhaust pipe is vibrating and rubbing off somewhere underneath the chassis. I have experienced this kind of vibration after personally changing my car engine. It was caused by the engine not properly aligned on the mountings.The turbo charger was slightly rubbing off on the chassis, causing the car to vibrate like hell. Am not a mechanic though, but I hope this helps. picture from www.wisegeek.com
Sounds funny . I would suspect the idling speed(engine rpm)is low. If that is not the cause, then check all the engine and gearbox mountings(sittings). Hope this helps. |
Hello, I have this very sound haulage truck for sale. Click on the link below: https://www.nairaland.com/1140443/10-tyres-haulage-truck-refrigeration#13506824
Happy new year Nairaland ![]() |
PLS READ this tread on coolant guage: https://www.nairaland.com/1095651/what-does-coolant-gauge-read#12859477 |
Hello Guys, There are a few things you should understand before spending your cash on unnecessary repairs. The purpose of the calibrated temperature gauge on your dash is to tell you the engine coolant temperature. What do you mean when you say "the temperature starts rising" ? From what temperature to what temperature? Look at your car manual if you have one. The Normal working temperature is a 'RANGE OF VALUES' from COLD to around 110 degrees Celcius. The engine temperature should rise on application of a load e.g compressor, up hill driving etc. If you have not removed the thermostat( which I do not advice), and you have a good coolant/water ratio at least 30:70, all other components working well, your engine temperature should stay between 70 and 100 degrees on application of load. Some cars like the Peugoet brands must reach 89 degrees before the thermostat opens up to allow circulation of coolant. In such cars the temperature can rise to 100 degrees on application of AC, and in slow moving traffic. This is very normal. Note: If you use 100% water as coolant, its going to boil off. Not advisable. Changing to a 3 cell radiator is simply increasing the coolant volume and the surface area of the heat exchanger. Helps too but not always necessary. Watch your guage and find out what temperature the indicator rises to. Avoid the RED zone . HOPE THIS HELPS. |
Good and reliable trucks. Difficult to find around in Europe ![]() Some correction if you don't mind Sir. Your 1113, 1513 and 1519 ARE NOT LIKE 911. They are all STRONGER AND HAVE MORE ENGINE POWER than 911. They may all have the same engine series OM 352, but they are not the same technically. That is why Mercedes Benz gave them different names ![]() 911 means 9 ton chassis and 110 horsepower engine 1113 means 11 tons and 130 HP 1513 means 15 tons and 130 HP 1519 means 15 tons and 190HP . I can smell that that 1519 has a turbo charged OM352 or OM 366 six cylinder beast under the cab. Nice trucks. Hope some intelligent buyer out there would pick them up asap. Any Magirus Deutz 320 M33( 6X4 or 6x6)dumper with a V10 around? Am interested. Cheers! |
@Evico: Well, these are one of the basic theoretical lessons in a driving school before any practicals on the road. Unfortunately, our people rush into practicals without learning the basic theories and road courtesies. Somebody talked about honking the horn repeatedly. Be advised that in some cases the loud horn may cause unnecessary panic and someone may instead jump onto the vehicle. The brains of little children are not developed enough to detect the direction of sound. You scare the hell out of them and they may run into the car. Have you thought of why some motorists get a fine for using the horn? I mean in some developed countries of course! |
I would rather say that a good number of accidents are caused by over speeding and driving too close to the vehicle ahead. This results to wrong judgement or assessment of TOTAL STOPPING DISTANCE( Reaction distance + braking distance). When the driver applies the brakes in a danger situation, and the vehicle fails to stop contrary to the driver's expectations, the driver may think that brake failure was the reason for the accident. Understanding these basics could be very helpful. The reaction distance is the distance the car travels from when the driver perceives a danger to when the driver's brain tells him/her what action to take. This could take a fraction of a second. The braking distance is the distance the car travels from when the driver starts applying the brakes. This also could take a fraction of a second.(the driver's concentration,level of intoxication, condition of the vehicle's brakes and tyres , and road condition may increase the time). ALWAYS APPLY THE 2 SECONDS RULE OF THUMB. This simply means that you pick an object for example a tree ahead. Watch when the vehicle in front of you passes the tree. It should take AT LEAST 2 SECS BEFORE you drive pass the tree. That tells you that you are maintaining good distance with the vehicle ahead, and increases your chances of stopping before a danger. At 50km/h and using the 2 secs rule, you must maintain a distance of at least 27.8m from the vehicle ahead. Equating Einstein's kinetic equation and Newton's law d = v squared. Implying that doubling the speed means you are multiplying the car's braking distance by 4. Three things happen in a head on collision ( over 70km/h): 1. The car stops 2. You stop 3. Your heart stops( if you are unlucky). My advice: avoid over speeding; maintain good distance from the vehicle ahead; and stay focused. Merry Christmas |
ALL ENQUIRES TO THE CONTACT TELEPHONE NO. THANKS |
MODEL: SCANIA 143 M YEAR OF MANUFACTURE: 1997 ENGINE: 420 HORSE POWER TURBO-CHARGED V8 NON ELECTRONIC DIESEL PUMP. GEAR SYSTEM: MANUAL REFRIGERATION UNIT: THERMOKING TONNAGE: 27TONS TOTAL AS SPECIFIED BY MANUFACTURER. LEFT SIDE OF BOX CAN BE OPENED COMPLETELY FOR EASY LOADING AND OFFLOADING OF BULKY GOODS. HAS A TAIL LIFT. SERVICE HISTORY OF LORRY IS AVAILABLE. LOCATION : LAGOS. CALL 08066112414 FOR INQUIRIES. Or call +47-99339392 for technical information.
![]() |
Tokunbo Perkins diesel power generator in very good working condition for sale. It has served as stand-by power generator. Specifications: 4 cylinder turbo- charged Perkins engine. 75KVA Stamford generator. 3 phases. 220/400V output, 50 Hertz, 1500 rpm Year of manufacture 2001. Location Amuwo Odofin, Lagos If interested call or send sms to +47-99339392. I will then get back to you as soon as possible.
Hello! Pls call 08066112414 in Lagos for inspection and price. Thanks |
Hello Topend. I have sent it as requested. cheers |
Hellooooooooooooo! ![]() |
Hey Man, You don't have to give away that work horse. I can supply you with the original Mercedes Benz set of axles, gear/transmission to convert the truck to a 4X4. Think about it! mail: jucol7000@yahoo.com |
1113 Mercedes now in Lagos. Tip top standard ![]() |
In Lagos next week ![]() |
^^^ Jucol, there are lots of defects that could affect an engine's fuel consumption, and I could list a whole page on here,That is precisely what I am hammering on . People are interested in covering more kilometers per litre of fuel. You expressed that when you screemed "Good Lord" at Cretin's figures above. Sir, kindly list those defects. If all the system components in your Audi A4 are working perfectly and it does 8.2 km/L for example, it will be wrong for me to expect my Audi A4 with tampered components( themostat, plugs, sensors etc) to have thesame consumption. Anyone with that same Audi A4 will be tempted to go their mechanics to make unnecessary adjustments/ changes to reach the 8.2km/L. In comparison, you normally say "all things being equal" or under same conditions etc. I am expecting your list. I guess others are too. Cheers! ![]() |
@Siena: Jucol, wrong place to post this. Would you mind starting your own thread? Thanks!I am surprised that in all your wisdom you did not see any correlation between my posting and the subject matter. You very well know that a car is a piece of machinery- a system. There are components ( organs) that work together for efficiency of the system. So, if you want to achieve system efficiency, you must ensure the components are working as they should. Note: The type of spark plug also affects fuel consumption. This has to be discussed too ![]() Threads are meant to be commented on. If you do not entertain supplementary info on your postings, ok. I respect that. Cheers! ![]() |
Hello House! Most cars and trucks in Nigeria run below optimum engine working temperature. This is because the " mechanic" has removed the thermostat in the engines cooling system. Their reason is that " oga e dey cause overheating".The thermostat regulates the flow of coolant hence the engine temperature. Removing the thermostat allows the circulation of coolant as soon as the engine is started. Consequently, the engine does not get to its opt. performance temp. In most car manuals, the manufactures indicate the normal working temperature range, and the temp at which the thermostat is set. For Peugoet 306(1,8L petrol) , 1997 model, Station wagon A/C, the engine heats up to 89 degrees celcius( centigrade), before the thermostats opens up. I sent the above car to my family in Nigeria. It was cleared in Tin can. The agent and my bros called me on their way from the sea port, complaining that the car was "seriously over heating". The following dialogue took place: AGENT: Ah Oga the car dey overheat o! ME: what is the temperature? AGENT: Oga e don pass middle. ME: Did it get to the red zone? AGENT: No. But it has risen? ME: where do you expect the temperature indicature to be? Is the fluid in radiator boiling? AGENT: Ah! It is suppose to be very low. But it is not boiling. ME: Don't worry. It is ok. it will not boil. The thermostat will open soon. AGENT: Oga we go remove the themostat now. ![]() Me: Don't tamper with the themostat. The thermostat was not removed, and the coolant fluid is a mixture of water and radiator coolant(glycol) 70:30% ratio. The engine could get as hot as 110degress celcius without the coolant boiling off. If you fill the radiator of this car with water only, the water may boil and evaporate when the engine heats up to about 95degrees. Then you have problems. (user problem) The car has been performing perfectly. Before it was sent to Nigeria, the car was doing 14.5km/L on highway. ASK YOUR MECHANIC THE ROLE OF THE THEMOSTAT AND WHY HE REMOVED YOUR THEMOSTAT. Happy driving ![]() Correct me if am wrong somewhere ![]() |
;d ;d |
I have called both lines, they rang out without reply. Network problems as usual ?? |
thanks 4 your mail. Will call you this evening 7:15pm naija time zone |
Hello, Thanks for your interest. Send an email to me with your telephone no. I ring you up and we talk. Or drop your number here if you don't mind. My mail address is: jucol7000@yahoo.com JUCOL |

??