Stats: 3,152,999 members, 7,817,950 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 11:46 PM

GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 - Business - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 (6619 Views)

Nigeria’s Top 10 Highest-earning Ceos Received N3.5bn In 2019 / BUA Cement Releases Financial Results For Q1, 2020, Records N20.1 Billion Profit / Dangote Loses $2.5bn In One Month - Bloomberg (2) (3) (4)

GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by Cromartie: 9:58pm On Apr 21, 2021
Guaranty Trust Bank (GTBank) Plc has released its unaudited Financial Results for the period ended March 31, 2021, to the Nigerian and London Stock Exchanges.

A review of the result by Brand News Day shows a resilient performance across all key financial metrics in the face of unprecedented macroeconomic challenges, reflecting the quality of past decisions and reaffirming its position as one of the best managed financial institutions in Africa.

Key Financial Highlights

- Interest Income declined by -27% to N55bn from N75bn in the previous quarter.
- Profit before tax declined by 7.8% to N53.7bn.
- Profit after tax declined by 9% to N45.5bn.
- Net Assets grew by 2.8% from N814bn to N837bn

The Group reported Profit before tax of ₦53.7billion, representing a drop of 7.8% over ₦58.2billion recorded in the corresponding period of March 2020. Deposit Liabilities increased by 3.0% from ₦3.611trillion in December 2020 to ₦3.717trillion in March 2021, whilst the Group’s Loan book (Net) dipped by 1.4% from ₦1.663trillion recorded as at December 2020 to ₦1.639trillion in March 2021.

Guaranty Trust Bank’s Balance sheet remained well structured and diversified with Total assets and Shareholders’ Funds closing at ₦4.993trillion and ₦837.2billion respectively. Full Impact Capital Adequacy Ratio (CAR) remained very strong, closing at 26.1%, while Asset quality was sustained as NPL ratio and Cost of Risk (COR) closed at 6.1% (Bank: 5.6%) and 0.11% (Bank: 0.02%) in March 2021 from 6.0% (Bank: 5.9%) and 0.08% (Bank: 0.01%) in March 2020 respectively.

Commenting on the financial results, the Managing Director/CEO of Guaranty Trust Bank (GTBank) Plc, Mr. Segun Agbaje, said;

“We have started off the 2021 financial year on a fair footing, and our first-quarter results demonstrate our ability to continue delivering strong and sustainable returns, despite the macroeconomic uncertainties that persist in our business environment. This is a reflection of the resilience of our franchise, our prudent approach to risk management and the efficacy of our digital-first customer-centric business strategy.”

He further stated that;

“Looking forward, we are optimistic about the long-term value that we will continue to create as an organization. We strongly believe that our new growth strategy, together with the enduring loyalty of our customers, the hard work and dedication of our staff and the unwavering support we continue to enjoy from our shareholders, will enable us to drive and deliver best-in-class financial solutions for people, businesses and communities across Africa and beyond.”

Guaranty Trust Bank plc continues to post one of the best metrics in the Nigerian Banking industry in terms of all Financial Ratios i.e. Return on Equity (ROAE) of 26.0%, Return on Assets (ROAA) of 4.3%, Full Impact Capital Adequacy Ratio (CAR) of 26.1% and Cost to Income ratio of 42.6%.

Renowned for its forward-thinking approach to financial services and customer engagement, GTBank was recently ranked Africa’s Most Admired Finance Brand in the 10th-anniversary rankings of Brand Africa 100: Africa’s Best Brands, the pre-eminent survey and ranking of the Top 100 admired brands in Africa. The Bank was also awarded the Best Bank in Nigeria by Euromoney Magazine for a record-extending tenth time and the Euromoney Excellence in Leadership Africa Award for its swift reaction in responding to the Covid-19 crisis and for addressing the impact of the pandemic on its customers and communities.

https://brandnewsday.com/2021/04/21/gtbank-reports-profit-before-tax-of-n53-7bn-in-q1-proposes-n31-25k-dividend/

1 Share

Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by ursullalinda(f): 4:32am On Apr 22, 2021
I don't believe this news......banks hidden charges are so many.......so they can't be talking about less profit......unless there is something they will benefit from doing so

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by Nobody: 4:33am On Apr 22, 2021
tongue
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by driand(m): 4:33am On Apr 22, 2021

Abeg the thing affect me too, a significant drop in income...
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by kkkp: 4:34am On Apr 22, 2021
How e take concern me? They still made profit anyway

Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by meobizy(f): 4:34am On Apr 22, 2021
The coronavirus lockdown was to blame. Every company on the planet felt the pinch.
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by sotall(m): 4:35am On Apr 22, 2021
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by Tunasco4u(m): 4:35am On Apr 22, 2021
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by kenzysmith: 4:36am On Apr 22, 2021
Abeg o I no wan here make una no go fold up o make I go withdrawl my 15k before I here story that touch

Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by Antoeni(m): 4:36am On Apr 22, 2021
Wetin happen
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by udemzyudex(m): 4:37am On Apr 22, 2021
Their service have been poor lately, a lot of business men have stop using the bank due to their poor service.

16 Likes

Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by tillaman(m): 4:37am On Apr 22, 2021
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by superCleanworks(m): 4:38am On Apr 22, 2021
this yeye bank with awful service

just check this out....

when you call your bank customer care number and they start to ask you
to call out your internet banking number and password.

i mean, how do you expect me to have my internet banking number in my head?
how can my bank even expect me to give out such info?
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by Matheusmartin: 4:40am On Apr 22, 2021
No wonder the idiots have been deducting from me like hell.

Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by Solsix(m): 4:58am On Apr 22, 2021
This covid-19 affected them
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by karzyharsky(m): 5:02am On Apr 22, 2021
The way they handle this pandemic case affected them

Closing one branch and open another for crowd

Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by xcesspaschal(m): 5:15am On Apr 22, 2021
I have been using dis Bank for 16 yrs. Truth be told, I appreciate their services but sadly, their service charge is hrtbrkin. Am considering closing my account with dem.

Stamp duty---excessive charge
Card transactions---excessives charge
Transaction alart..... excessive charge
Message alart....... excessive charge
E-channel-----excessive charge
Card maintenance-----excessive charge
These n more. I swear, am hating GTBANK

Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by kolakolex: 5:17am On Apr 22, 2021
Effects of the pandemic
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by suremossty(m): 5:17am On Apr 22, 2021
Thieves everywhere
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by mrkels(m): 5:18am On Apr 22, 2021
karzyharsky:
The way they handle this pandemic case affected them

Closing one branch and open another for crowd

What you should know is that every bank made a killing during tha pandemic so don’t come here saying the pandemic was the cause of this dip

Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by GeneralPula: 5:25am On Apr 22, 2021
udemzyudex:
Their service have been poor lately, a lot of business men have stop using the bank due to their poor service.

A lot?

Mention some?
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by Dre183(m): 5:36am On Apr 22, 2021
I know definitely this is gonna happen...

They overused their staff last year and this lead to significant resignation of many staff which lead to their poor performance.

Look at where greediness took Dem to.

Very greedy bank.

Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by SweetVibe: 5:36am On Apr 22, 2021
Those who are business sensitive would have notice that bank is in distress since last year pandemic period.
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by BigBizzy(m): 5:41am On Apr 22, 2021
Money no dey
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by McGg: 5:48am On Apr 22, 2021
GeneralPula:

A lot?

Mention some?

You are not using GTB. They can be so annoying. What about the *737# USSD code? To even receive alert na wahala. I have concluded that I will have to try other bank

Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by Skyfornia(m): 5:50am On Apr 22, 2021
Yeye bank

Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by ofiko123(m): 5:59am On Apr 22, 2021
Is this good news or bad news...
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by rookidmart: 6:05am On Apr 22, 2021
xcesspaschal:
I have been using dis Bank for 16 yrs. Truth be told, I appreciate their services but sadly, their service charge is hrtbrkin. Am considering closing my account with dem.

Stamp duty---excessive charge
Card transactions---excessives charge
Transaction alart..... excessive charge
Message alart....... excessive charge
E-channel-----excessive charge
Card maintenance-----excessive charge
These n more. I swear, am hating GTBANK
All those charges are standard for all the whole banks in Nigeria.

In fact the stamp duty is mandatory by CBN, and it goes to the government coffers as tax, not to the banks at all.
So as you can see, you can't avoid the charges no matter where you bank.

Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by sammirano: 6:18am On Apr 22, 2021
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by sammirano: 6:20am On Apr 22, 2021
rookidmart:

In fact the stamp duty is mandatory by CBN, and it goes to the government coffers as tax, not to the banks at all.

Ogeni. Says who? Bank with kuda and enjoy life of freedom, bastard banks and cbn.ritualists.
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by Psychedelia(m): 6:23am On Apr 22, 2021
meobizy:
The coronavirus lockdown was to blame. Every company on the planet felt the pinch.

Pinch? The COVID-19 financial problem was more than a pinch.
It was an impalement.
Re: GTBank Records 9% Decline in Profit After Tax to ₦45.5Bn in Q1 2020 by peacenaija(m): 6:30am On Apr 22, 2021
rookidmart:

Perhaps you’ve not tried used standard chartered before,however, i quite agree to your submission on stamp duty being statutory

Withdrawing Less Than #5000 From Your Bet9ja Account Made Easy. / Sanusi Canvasses Islamic Banking / Banks Lost N12.3bn To Fraudsters In Four Years – NIBSS

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 28