Stats: 3,158,664 members, 7,837,460 topics. Date: Thursday, 23 May 2024 at 02:59 AM

Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed - Health - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed (11655 Views)

FG Moves To Replace Striking Doctors With Ad-hoc Staff / The 10 Demands By Striking Doctors — And ‘FGs Responses So Far’ / Replace Striking Doctors With Corpers - Ehanire, Minister Of Health To Hospitals (2) (3) (4)

Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by adenigga(m): 10:44pm On Aug 03, 2021
The Rivers State Government has threatened to invoke the no-work-no-pay policy against striking resident doctors in state-owned hospitals.

Secretary to the Rivers State Government, Tammy Danagogo, in a statement on Tuesday said the strike should be restricted to resident doctors that are directly under the payroll of the Federal Government.

Danagogo said resident doctors in the state are not owed and directed them under the employment of the state government to call off the strike and return to work within 24-hours or risk their salaries and sack.

The statement titled, ‘Government Special Announcement’ reads,” Sequel to the ongoing strike action by the Rivers State chapter of the National Association of Resident Doctors with respect to irregularities in the payment of salaries of house officers by the Federal Government, the Rivers State Government hereby directs all resident doctors under the employment of the state government to call off its strike action immediately.

“Whereas the NARD has a right to go on strike, we expect that such should be restricted to resident doctors that are directly under the payroll of the Federal Government, particularly as the Rivers State Government does not owe salaries or benefits to resident doctors in the state.

“We are, therefore, unable to decipher why resident doctors in the state will embark on sympathy strike with their counterparts in the employment of the Federal Government.

“To this end, the Rivers State Government having reaffirmed its position with respect to the above, will not tolerate further strike actions by resident doctors in Rivers State and will be compelled to invoke the ‘no work, no pay’ rule on striking house officers.

“We, therefore, direct all resident doctors to call off the ongoing strike in the State and return to work within 24hrs, or forfeit their salaries and risk being sacked.”

Recall that resident doctors in the Rivers State University Teaching Hospital joined the indefinite nationwide which started on Monday, saying the state government was yet to pay Covid-19 inducement hazard allowance, among others.
Source: https://punchng.com/Return-to-work-within-24-hours-or-be-dismissed-Rivers-tells-striking-doctors

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by inoki247: 10:47pm On Aug 03, 2021
lol Rivers state and Kaduna na same type of Governor dey rule dem...

42 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by Triangles1(m): 5:05am On Aug 04, 2021
Giving oder like military without proper approach, like father like son.

31 Likes 1 Share

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by mannobi(m): 5:06am On Aug 04, 2021
Some people are just naturally wicked. Why would some people put others lives at risk because you are sympathising with employees of another organisation.
Lazy docs.
Have you ever heard TVC staff going on strike because AIT is owing its staff?
Lazy and wicked docs.

38 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by seanwilliam(m): 5:06am On Aug 04, 2021
Doctor don suffer for Nigeria ..

Ok I’m buying all types of giftcards and PayPal funds

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by Kinterez(m): 5:06am On Aug 04, 2021
Wike takes no shit...funny you weren't owed salary why strike?..well I cum in peace

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by Jesuschristus: 5:07am On Aug 04, 2021
This country na scam
Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by Trustedpronet: 5:07am On Aug 04, 2021
Jega was right.

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by gigabyte13: 5:09am On Aug 04, 2021
Mtchewwww, wey Dem covid19 hazard allowance na, una don pocket am... Afterall president BUBU give each state 1billion each for it..... You are shouting salary salary, where was it written in their complain, that you were owing salary... Mtchewwww, wicked souls.

Oga wike do the needful and stop threatening fire and brimstone.... Nonsense people, same clinics and hospital that you guys can't attend...

Slight headache, like this, book next flight... Awon mad fellow.... All of una go jam una Waterloo soonest.

UNA NO FIT RUN PASS GOD NA...

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by cornoil(m): 5:12am On Aug 04, 2021
I bet many won't read or comprehend before posting

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by Misstittee: 5:13am On Aug 04, 2021
angry goverment cannot threaten her citizen you illiterate!

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by Nobody: 5:14am On Aug 04, 2021
mannobi:
Some people are just naturally wicked. Why would some people put others lives at risk because you are sympathising with employees of another organisation.
Lazy docs.
Lazy and wicked docs.

TVC and AIT are private organisations.

In the medical field, it is doctors in government hospitals that are on strike. Private hospitals are not on strike...because every day on strike means lost revenue, means salary would be impacted. Government hospital doctors salary is not dependent on how much their hospital actually makes...meaning their hospital could make a loss, and they would still be paid.(And I'll leave it at that)

Same happens for TVC and AIT. One day off air...lost revenue...salary soon gets problematic if it keeps up.Maybe NTA's RATTAWU chapter could go on strike on their behalf ....they would still get paid!

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by PrisonEscapee(m): 5:17am On Aug 04, 2021
And this is coming from a state government that donated N500 million to sokoto state less than a year ago.

Indeed, black people are not really mentally fit to govern themselves, that's why there's no black first world country in the world.
And don't even mention South Africa because it's government and economy is still very much controlled by whites.

The black race is a disgrace.

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by adioolayi(m): 5:17am On Aug 04, 2021
...and you will replace sacked Drs with tailors Nonsense grin grin grin

20 Likes 1 Share

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by chukwuibuipob: 5:23am On Aug 04, 2021
angry Wike is a BAZTARD

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by evansjeff(m): 5:29am On Aug 04, 2021

I’m just here imagining what the reactions will be especially from children of hate and perdition if Buhari makes this kind of statement.

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by esthel(f): 5:35am On Aug 04, 2021
What is Buhari what is Wike, autocratic rulers

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by greenie77: 5:35am On Aug 04, 2021
Going on "sympathy strike" is sheer stupidity, going on strike in solidarity of colleagues who work under the Federal government while they are under the payroll of the State government is an excuse to skip work.

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by Joetttimua1811(m): 5:36am On Aug 04, 2021
Which kind yeye threat be that, I go soon become doctor ooo no negative vibes
Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by Nobody: 5:40am On Aug 04, 2021
greenie77:
Going on "sympathy strike" is sheer stupidity, going on strike in solidarity of colleagues who work under the Federal government while they are under the payroll of the State government is an excuse to skip work.

It is kind of what happens with ASUU and universities..where both state and federal government doctors get the same deals.

Any deal that the Federal government doctors get may likely be extended to the state govt doctors...

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by MoIbrahim: 5:40am On Aug 04, 2021
The relationship between fg and state employees is not same with that of TVC and Channels employees, that is why state ministries work with national policies from federal ministries but TVC and Channels do not share policies.

mannobi:
Lazy docs.
Lazy and wicked docs.

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by Nobody: 5:47am On Aug 04, 2021
Imagine
Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by Qoko: 5:52am On Aug 04, 2021
You think say medical practitioners dey fear dismissal, this Bonny island man surprise me.

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by DamnNiggar: 5:59am On Aug 04, 2021
Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by MANNABBQGRILLS: 6:05am On Aug 04, 2021
mannobi:
Lazy docs.
Lazy and wicked docs.
Hmmmmm, this is deep!

3 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by money121(m): 6:14am On Aug 04, 2021
Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by MrFinbarr(m): 6:17am On Aug 04, 2021
This is more reason dozens of Nigerian doctors are leaving the country every week. We are governed by very stupid set of people in this country. Already there's shortage of Medical doctors in the country as a result of this. And the government still haven't learned yet.

This is absolute madness. How can you be owing doctors for Christ sake? Why even owe civil servants to start with? And this one is busy dishing out threats like he's talking to his housemaids.... Nonsense!!!

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by matm: 6:19am On Aug 04, 2021
But Rivers is an oil producing state with it's monthly juicy extra allocation.I suggest u go back to negotiation table b/c those are experience doctors.Sacking them will be fatal.For those u will employ mainly youth doctors will be using patients for laboratory experiments leading to higher hospital mortality rate.
Dialogue is the way out.
Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by Zenithpeak(m): 6:22am On Aug 04, 2021
This draconian approach will yield no good result... Rivers state government through Ministry of Health should engage the the state chapter of NARD with facts and figures and spell out in clear terms why they should opt out of the national industrial action. If they can't reach a compromise, they may proceed to court to obtain an injunction against such action to help relieve people of the state from the effects of such industrial action even in the future.

This threat sounds like El-Rufai and Buhari put together.

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by MrFinbarr(m): 6:24am On Aug 04, 2021
evansjeff:

I’m just here imagining what the reactions will be especially from children of hate and perdition if Buhari makes this kind of statement.

Are you just naturally dull or you just wanna be stupid? Everything has to be tribalism? What's wrong with you Nigerians?

If your darling daddy Buhari isn't owing, the strike wouldn't have happened in the first place. What sort of nonsense mentality is this?

Nigerians seems to deserve the kinda leaders we get. It's obvious we haven't learned yet.

Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by Hungarriman: 6:24am On Aug 04, 2021
Re: Rivers To Striking Doctors: Return To Work Within 24-Hours Or be dismissed by ecolime(m): 6:27am On Aug 04, 2021
mannobi:
Lazy docs.
Lazy and wicked docs.
You are a wise man.

Which kain stupid solidarity strike be this? Lazy bunch of people. I am with Wike on this.

Kano Records 5 COVID-19 Deaths, Discharges 2 / NAFDAC Arraigns Chinese National Over Import Of Fake Diapers / Hospital Bag Essentials -Newborn and Nursing mothers

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 39